What is the action economy cost of using Bottled Breath?

The description of Bottled Breath from Princes of the Apocalypse says:

This bottle contains a breath of elemental air. When you inhale it, you either exhale it or hold it.

If you exhale the breath, you gain the effect of the gust of wind spell. If you hold the breath, you don’t need to breathe for 1 hour, though you can end this benefit early (for example, to speak). Ending it early doesn’t give you the benefit of exhaling the breath.

What is the action economy cost of using this item? Action? Object interaction? Is it different for "exhale it" and "hold it"?

Owl familiar capabilities while executing the Dragon’s Breath cone

I just had a session last night, when I was trying to execute Dragon’s Breath with my owl familiar for the extra damage of course. DM didn’t allow me to fly from one side of the room to the other and start my 15′ cone on the tile of my choosing.

They said the reason was that it was too intricate of a maneuver and that the owl couldn’t fulfill that type of action. The issue is where and how the owl will execute. They are stating that it only obeys commands and that it executes on its own accord basically. I was trying to start the cone on a tile with an enemy and the backspray not hitting my companions and the DM wouldn’t allow it.

Nothing written stated any drawback on this ability. Owl also has Flyby, which should tell you that it is capable of accurate maneuvers. Is my DM correct or can my familiar do this?


This question is not if the owl can perform the cone, that has been granted. But what remains is the intelligence needed to perform “more intricate maneuvers when executing the cone”. Dragon’s Breath should have something there if intelligence score was an issue, if a creature can be gifted the spell it should be able to perform the execution in any way the caster should see fit. IMO. Again all that was commanded of the Owl was to strafe from one side of the room to the other then deliver the cone on the tile of my choosing. How else should the placement of the cone work?

Gust of Wind vs Green Dragon Breath

I think this is similar to Can Warding Wind block the effect of a Green Dragon's Poison Breath? but the wording of Warding Wind seems more conservative than Gust of Wind.

I just ran a combat where a druid used Gust of Wind against a green dragon. I had the dragon retaliate by flying (slowly) towards the druid and using its breath weapon. The players were delighted, immediately declaring that the monster’s attack should have been nullified because:

[Green Dragon] The dragon breathes poisonous gas in a 30-foot cone

[Gust of Wind] The gust disperses gas or vapor…

However, I ruled that the breath weapon worked as normal through the line of the wind, using similar logic to the most upvoted answer on the linked question, that "dispersing gas" is for handling cloudkill, wall of fog and other lingering effects that explicitly describe being dispersed, and that breath weapons (or other instantaneous area effects) do not get cancelled through dispersal. Instead, I would argue, breath weapons may only get blocked by spells that say it more directly e.g. Wind Wall which says that it "keeps gases at bay".

It would not have been a big deal if the players were correct in my case, as the dragon had other tactical options – moving out of the of the gust of wind to attack from the side for instance – so the ruling did not change much about the outcome (although it disappointed the players because they were convinced they had outsmarted the dragon and made it lose an attack). And in the end the battle was won by the PCs.

Should I have allowed Gust of Wind to nullify gas-based breath weapon attacks made within it, according to rules as written? What exactly does "dispersing" mean in the Gust of Wind spell description?

Is the Adult Gold Dragon’s Weakening Breath considered a curse, disease, or poison?

In a fight with an Adult Gold Dragon today our delightful barbarian suffered from the effect of Weakening Breath. Our transmutation wizard used his Transmuter’s Stone for Panacea to restore hit points, and cure poison, disease, and curses. Would this cure the effect of Weakened Breath?

Breath of Life and cure spells

Clerics have the ability to spontaneously cast a cure spell if they have a spell slot of the same level to trade out for it. Does this mechanic apply to breath of life? Normally I would think not however the way the spell reads is very similar to that of the other cure spells and it even heals 1d8 more than the previous cure spell to keep the leveling trend going. "This spell cures 5d8 points of damage + 1 point per caster level (maximum +25)." emphasis on "cures".

Does the Monstrous Combat Options rule of breath weapons scaling with creature size apply to PC’s?

While discussing build options with a fellow party member (an Alchemist), they mentioned a rule granting breath weapons increased area when the user increases size category. After a bit of searching, I was able to find the rule in question:

Breath Weapon: The monster gains a breath weapon that deals 1d6 points of damage + 1d6 per CR. A target can attempt a Reflex saving throw to take half damage. If the breath weapon is a cone, it’s 30 feet long, increasing by 10 feet for each size category above Medium, and decreasing by 5 feet for every size category below Medium. If the breath weapon is a line, its area of effect is twice as long as a cone would be.

However, said rule was located in a section about monster creation/advancement, and now we’re debating whether or not it applies to PC’s changing size due to spells or buffs. Is there any other RAW indication whether or not gaining or losing a size category would generally affect breath weapon areas in this manner, or would this ultimately be a matter of GM fiat?