Artificer Eldritch Cannon and hands

The artificer class allows for the production of an eldrtich cannon at 3rd level.

[you] magically create a Small or Tiny eldritch cannon in an unoccupied space on a horizontal surface within 5 feet of you. A Small eldritch cannon occupies its space, and a Tiny one can be held in one hand.

If a player wants the tiny cannon to ‘attach’ to there shoulder (I’m fine with the flavour of this…or wrap it’s legs around it’s wrist etc), am I correct in ruling it still occupies (for lack of a better term) ‘hand slot’.

For example:

1) If the artificer has a Sheild in one hand and has this eldritch cannon on their shoulder, then would they no longer have a free hand to perform a spell casting that requires somatic components? Hold tools?

2) Would it be considered “worn or carried” with regards to being able to move with you?

Thanks! L

Must the Artillerist Artificer’s Tiny Eldritch Cannon be carried in their hand?

The Artillerist Artificer has the ability to make Eldritch Cannon(s). The rules for the cannon state that you can make two different sized versions of it:

you can take an action to magically create a Small or Tiny eldritch cannon in an unoccupied space on a horizontal surface within 5 reet of you. A Small eldritch cannon occupies its space, and a Tiny one can be held in one hand.

The wording is a little vague. Do the rules mean that the tiny version:

  1. Doesn’t occupy a space, therefore must be held in the artificer’s hand
  2. Can be held in one hand, unlike the small version, but otherwise functions like the small version with regard to space and movement if it is not.

Can the Artificer Artillerist’s tiny-sized Eldritch Cannon that is not held in hand still ride or be carried elsewhere on the body?

As an Artillersit Artificer, if I create a tiny-sized Eldritch Cannon with legs, can I place this cannon somewhere on my person and let it use its legs to hold on to my character (on my head, shoulder (Predator!), wrist, belt, top of my backpack, etc.)?

I understand that with RAW, it cannot move on its own into an occupied space, so it would not be able to climb up onto me, but I think that I should still be able to pick it up and place it somewhere as an object interaction. It could use its legs to hold on once in place. If I can control it from up to 60 feet away, I would think that it shouldn’t hinder the use of my hands for other actions once it is there.

Artificer Artillerist Eldritch Cannon questions

As an Artillerist Artificer, if I create a tiny Eldritch Cannon that has legs (in any of the three forms)…

  1. If I hold the tiny cannon in my hand, what happens to the cannon if I get hit by an AOE spell or effect? Does it make its own saving throw or does it use mine? Is it unaffected because it is a magical object and/or because I am holding it in my hand, or any other reason?

  2. Am I allowed to place the tiny cannon somewhere else on my person and have it hold on using its legs? On my head, shoulder, wrist, belt, on top of my backpack, etc. The rules seem to indicate that it cannot move into an occupied space, but what if I am willing or if I pick it up and place it there? Would that have any effect on my use of my hands or other actions? (I assume if I place it there, then that counts as my object interaction).

  3. If the tiny cannon is allowed to be somewhere on my person but is not in one of my hands, does that change the answer from #1 above about AOE effects and spells? Would that count as being carried or worn, or would it even follow rules of mounted combat (I hope I count as an intelligent mount)?

Does an Artificer (Artillerists) Eldritch Cannon provoke opportunity attacks? [duplicate]

This question already has an answer here:

  • Can you make an opportunity attack against a moving object? 3 answers

The rules for the eldritch cannon state:

The cannon is a magical object. Regardless of size, the cannon has an AC of 18 and a number of hit points equal to five times your artificer level.

The rules for an opportunity attack state:

You can make an opportunity attack when a hostile creature that you can see moves out of your reach.

Does this mean that an eldritch cannon cannot provoke opportunity attacks?

Cannon see subcategory in permalink

There are a lot of articles (old one, though because I use new WordPress 5.3.1) about how to include category and subcategory in WordPress URLs. I followed those articles (pretty much are the same), but something is wrong.

I checked Settings > Permalinks > Custom Structure and added /%category%/%postname%/, and all I can see is parent category, not child category.

It’s the same issue whatever template I use, so I guess template is not a problem.

What is wrong?

When an artificer uses its action to create two Cannons, how can it easily expend a spell slot between the creation of the first and second cannon?

While writing an answer for this question I came across a problem with how the Eldritch Cannon and the Fortified Position features interract.

Eldritch Cannon states:

Once you create a cannon, you can’t do so again until you finish a long rest or until you expend a spell slot of 1st level or higher.

Fortified Position states:

You can now have two cannons at the same time. You can create two with the same action (but not the same spell slot), and you can activate both of them with the same bonus action.

I use an action to create two cannons:

  • Cannon#1 is not a problem. It’s either the first cannon I’m creating since I took a long rest, or I expended a 1st level spell slot some time prior to the current action.
  • Cannon#2 is a problem. I have not taken a long rest, nor have I expended a 1st level spell slot since creating cannon#1.

The Eldritch Cannon feature doesn’t provide me with a way to expend a spellslot, but it prevents me from creating a second cannon before I expend a spellslot.

The Artificer has no means to expend a spell slot other than to cast spells. So I need to somehow cast a spell in the middle of my action.

My understanding is that I cannot generally break up my action with a bonus action, so I cannot expend a spell slot by casting a bonus action spell between the creation of two cannons.

A reaction can interrupt an action so it could occur between the creation of two cannons, but getting the opportunity to cast a reaction spell at the right time seems excessivily unlikely and difficult.

Therefore my question is:

When an artificer uses its action to create two Cannons, how can it easily expend a spell slot between the creation of the first and second cannon?

When does an Artillerist’s Cannon have disadvantage?

The new Artillerist subclass for the Artificer has a feature that creates an Eldritch Cannon with one option for the cannon being to create a Force Ballista that can fire at enemies by making ranged spell attacks. Under what circumstances would the ranged attacks be made at disadvantage?

For example, if an enemy is within 5 ft of the cannon, would the attack be at disadvantage? What if the enemy is standing within 5 ft of the Artificer but not next to the cannon, would that be at disadvantage?

What if the cannon is surrounded by Darkness but the Artificer can see the target just fine. Would that be at disadvantage? Or vice versa?

I’d also be interested in knowing about other scenarios like these that I haven’t thought of.

Is the Artillerist artificer’s Eldritch Cannon a carryable weapon?

In Eberron: Rising from the Last War, the Artillerist subclass for the Artificer gets a feature called Eldritch Cannon. When you summon the cannon you can choose to summon it as either a Small object or a Tiny object:

[you] magically create a Small or Tiny eldritch cannon in an unoccupied space on a horizontal surface within 5 feet of you. A Small eldritch cannon occupies its space, and a Tiny one can be held in one hand.

Does this mean that my character can walk around with a Tiny-size eldritch cannon, carrying and using it as a weapon? Or does it still just sit and move on its own?

Mythic Arcane Cannon and multiple energy spell

If I cast mythic arcane cannon and use its conducting ability by casting a spell with multiple energy types say shocking grasp thats been metamagiced to do half electricity and half fire. What does the cannon damage become?

If the half is split between the energy types, it would be 3d10 normal and 1d10 electricity and 1d10 fire (due to pathfinders rounding down).

If the half is equally given to both other half is energy damage of the spell’s type, it could become 3d10 untyped and 3d10 electrical and 3d10 fire.

But which choice is the correct one when a spell has two (or more) energy descriptors?