Dragon Age RPG: Can a Mage Bind Spirits to Items Like Cannons?

My experience is limited to the Dragon Age games and a few RPG books (namely, a 2015 Core Rulebook, Players’ and GM’s Guide v1.2) and I’ve played Inquisition as an attempt to prime myself to write an adventure in the setting.

I want a Tevinter Mage to assault a Qunari-held Fortress with the aid of magic shell-loaded gunpowder cannons. In essence, it’d be Magical Spellslinging, except mortar-sized… with a potential endgame being a rush to prevent the development and application of Artillery-sized weapons. … Possibly, "Big Bertha" level arms’ race escalation.

My question is this: I’ve seen that Rebel Mages in Inquisition would carry spellbooks upon which they had trapped spirits of the Fade and commanded them. Could spirits be bound to a cannon? Or to the shells themselves? What sort of repercussion would the developer of such devices have to contend with? Would the Chantry put a Holy Crusade against him/her/it? Would Tevinter back, either officially or unofficially, such an idea? And would the Qunari in particular employ any and all methods to cease such research, due to their innate distrust of all things magical?

Artificer Artillerist: Can multiple Eldritch cannons be activated on the same bonus action?

So in my understanding eldritch cannons can be created during a battle with an action. The first one of the day doesn’t require expending a slot.

But what about activation and movement during a battle? Can you activate and move all cannons during bonus action?

Can a 15th Artificer make two Eldritch Cannons for free on the first Action?

At 3rd level, Artificers get the Eldritch Cannon feature, allowing them to create one of three different Eldritch Cannons. It costs a spell slot to make one, but you also get one free usage of it each day.

Come level 15, you’re allowed to create 2 Eldritch cannons with the same action, but it specifies that it’s not with the same spell slot.

Would you get 2 free cannons on the first creation of the day for the Eldritch Cannon, since you use the same action, and you’re not using a spell slot? Or would you be required to use a spell slot for the second casting?

When an artificer uses its action to create two Cannons, how can it easily expend a spell slot between the creation of the first and second cannon?

While writing an answer for this question I came across a problem with how the Eldritch Cannon and the Fortified Position features interract.

Eldritch Cannon states:

Once you create a cannon, you can’t do so again until you finish a long rest or until you expend a spell slot of 1st level or higher.

Fortified Position states:

You can now have two cannons at the same time. You can create two with the same action (but not the same spell slot), and you can activate both of them with the same bonus action.

I use an action to create two cannons:

  • Cannon#1 is not a problem. It’s either the first cannon I’m creating since I took a long rest, or I expended a 1st level spell slot some time prior to the current action.
  • Cannon#2 is a problem. I have not taken a long rest, nor have I expended a 1st level spell slot since creating cannon#1.

The Eldritch Cannon feature doesn’t provide me with a way to expend a spellslot, but it prevents me from creating a second cannon before I expend a spellslot.

The Artificer has no means to expend a spell slot other than to cast spells. So I need to somehow cast a spell in the middle of my action.

My understanding is that I cannot generally break up my action with a bonus action, so I cannot expend a spell slot by casting a bonus action spell between the creation of two cannons.

A reaction can interrupt an action so it could occur between the creation of two cannons, but getting the opportunity to cast a reaction spell at the right time seems excessivily unlikely and difficult.

Therefore my question is:

When an artificer uses its action to create two Cannons, how can it easily expend a spell slot between the creation of the first and second cannon?

How does the consumption of spell slots affect an Artillerist Artificer’s ability to create Eldritch Cannons?

The Artillerist subclass for the Artificer class has the ability to summon an “Eldritch Cannon” to support them in combat:

At 3rd level, you learn how to create a magical cannon. Using woodcarver’s tools or smith’s tools, you can take an action to magically create a Small or Tiny eldritch cannon in an unoccupied space on a horizontal surface within 5 feet of you. A Small eldritch cannon occupies its space, and a Tiny one can be held in one hand.

Once you create a cannon, you can’t do so again until you finish a long rest or until you expend a spell slot of 1st level or higher.

Eldritch Cannon, Eberron: Rising from the Last War, pg. 59

The way this feature is written seems to imply that the ability to summon the cannon becomes “unlocked” after consuming a spell slot, which would mean that an Artificer could cast a spell like Cure Wounds and thusly regain the ability to summon their cannon using their action.

Is this a correct interpretation of these rules? Or are Artificers required to spend that spell slot as part of the action used to summon the Cannon (a la Sorcerers burning spell slots for their Font of Magic feature)?