D&D 5e does a fiend drop any items carried when it is killed and returned to Avernus?

I had a bearded devil carrying some keys that would open a jail cell, tied to his belt and was slain. My question is, does it drop the keys and can be retrieved by my players or would they go with it back to Avernus?

I am not too concerned if I have to make my own ruling but if this has been answered somewhere I would prefer to use that rule.

Many Thanks.

Can the Ollamh Harp and the Anstruth Harp be carried like a lute?

The party stumbled over an old elven city and found an Instrument of the Bards. It is the Anstruth Harp. The scale in the picture is ambiguous. The initial take is that it isn’t a hand held harp (of the kind often seen in pictures of angels playing harps, or something like this 16 string lap harp), but rather like a concert hall harp.
enter image description here
All other Instruments of the Bards – mandolin, lute, cittern – are obviously hand carriable (roughly the size of an acoustic guitar).

Is the illustration deceiving, in that it appears to be a concert hall harp but is actually of a size comparable to a lute-mandolin-cittern, or is this thing as big as a concert hall harp? The detailed item description seems to indicate that it’s something one can use in combat. Our table’s sense of verisimilitude is being strained, a bit.

Is the Anstruth harp ‘guitar sized’ or ‘concert hall sized’?

The problem to solve: can the bard carry it around without needing a few roadies to help him out? (Asking as a player, DM’s initial take was concert hall sized harp).

Would the spell Disintegrate affect a carried creature?

During a recent D&D 5e session, a Retriever picked up a player character and started to move, using this ability:

If the paralyzed creature is Medium or smaller, the retriever can pick it up as part of the retriever’s move and walk or climb with it at full speed. (Mordenkainen’s Tome of Foes)

Another player character then cast Disintegrate on the Retriever. The text of disintegrate includes:

A creature targeted by this spell must make a Dexterity saving throw. On a failed save, the target takes 10d6 + 40 force damage. The target is disintegrated if this damage leaves it with 0 hit points. A disintegrated creature and everything it is wearing and carrying, except magic items, are reduced to a pile of fine gray dust. (Basic Rules, pg. 233)

If the Retriever was successfully disintegrated, would the character being carried also be disintegrated?

Should we think of 5e’s greatsword as an especially beefy longsword, still able to be carried at the hip?

Historically, greatswords were so long they were impossible to carry at your hip, so you typically carried one around with it resting, point-up, against your shoulder. One benefit justifying this inconvenience was their reach. However, in 5e, greatswords are not “reach” weapons. Should we therefore think of the 5e greatsword as just an especially beefy longword–twice as heavy, but still short enough to be carried at the hip? Or, since we’re telling fantastical stories about fictional epic heroes, do we simply buy into the Hollywood back sheath, no matter how unreasonable that’s been shown to be in real life?

Bonus Question: Does your same answer apply to 5e’s other heavy and 2-handed but non-reach melee weapons, the maul and battleaxe?

Does the limitation on the Cave Fisher’s Filament action include the weight of carried equipment?

The Cave Fisher from Volo’s Guide to Monsters (pg. 130) has an action called Filament which says:

One creature grappled by the cave fisher’s adhesive filament must make a DC 13 Strength saving throw, provided that the target weighs 200 pounds or less. On a failure, the target is pulled into an unoccupied space within 5 feet of the cave fisher, and the cave fisher makes a claw attack against it as a bonus action.

Emphasis mine. I imagine its pretty uncommon for a medium sized PC’s bodyweight and carried equipment combine for a weight under 200 lbs. Does the Cave Fisher’s attack limitation include the weight of carried equipment?

data carried during TCP control flow

I am learning about TCP control flow and came across a question about how much data is carried by the 4th segment. The answer is supposed to be 1200 (2230 – 1030) but I don’t quite understand why.

By definition, I know that the acknowledgement number is telling the other side what is next expected from it. Thus 5 is the server acknowledging everything up to 2230 and telling the client that the server is expecting 2230 next, while 3 is the client acknowledging everything up to 3848 and telling the server that it next expects 3848. But I still don’t understand why we’re considering segment 5 and segment 2? If it’s only “expecting” then how do we know how much data is being carried?

enter image description here

Where is a grappled and carried creature placed when the grappler stops moving?

The Grappled condition states (from the point of view of the grappler):

Moving a Grappled Creature: When you move, you can drag or carry the Grappled creature with you, but your speed is halved, unless the creature is two or more sizes smaller than you.

I have no issue with the dragging portion of moving with a grappled creature but when carrying the creature where does it find itself on the end of your turn?

Can the grappling PC place the carried target down into whichever square in range they choose?

I have some issues with that, namely the ability to pass the grappled creature into a hazard with no difficulty. Imagine moving to the edge of a cliff and simply holding the grappled creature over the edge and then releasing the grapple. It seems too simple.

Other options include holding them in a fire, dropping them into a known trap, etc or simply stating that you’ve lifted the grappled creature over your head and placed them down on the other side of you so your allies can attack it.

None of seems right to me but I find anything to explicitly state how to handle carrying a grappled creature.

Must the Artillerist Artificer’s Tiny Eldritch Cannon be carried in their hand?

The Artillerist Artificer has the ability to make Eldritch Cannon(s). The rules for the cannon state that you can make two different sized versions of it:

you can take an action to magically create a Small or Tiny eldritch cannon in an unoccupied space on a horizontal surface within 5 reet of you. A Small eldritch cannon occupies its space, and a Tiny one can be held in one hand.

The wording is a little vague. Do the rules mean that the tiny version:

  1. Doesn’t occupy a space, therefore must be held in the artificer’s hand
  2. Can be held in one hand, unlike the small version, but otherwise functions like the small version with regard to space and movement if it is not.

Can the object created by Minor Illusion be carried or worn?

Looking at the RAW for Minor Illusion (PHB, page 260) and other questions, I recognize that Minor Illusion is very limited in its ability to move on its own or change its appearance. However, I’m wondering if the illusory object can be carried or worn as demonstrated in two examples:

  1. I want to convince a visiting noble that I’m the ruler of this small town, so before I meet him in the city center, I cast Minor Illusion to create a crown on my head. Assuming he doesn’t investigate (or fails) does it continue to sit naturally upon my head through normal movements?

  2. I’ve just stolen a historical battleaxe and the guard have been alerted to its absence. Can I choose someone who is rapidly walking away and cast an illusory version of the battleaxe strapped to his back as a diversion? Does this usage work until the illusion is investigated or interacted with (as normal.)

Can the Artificer Artillerist’s tiny-sized Eldritch Cannon that is not held in hand still ride or be carried elsewhere on the body?

As an Artillersit Artificer, if I create a tiny-sized Eldritch Cannon with legs, can I place this cannon somewhere on my person and let it use its legs to hold on to my character (on my head, shoulder (Predator!), wrist, belt, top of my backpack, etc.)?

I understand that with RAW, it cannot move on its own into an occupied space, so it would not be able to climb up onto me, but I think that I should still be able to pick it up and place it somewhere as an object interaction. It could use its legs to hold on once in place. If I can control it from up to 60 feet away, I would think that it shouldn’t hinder the use of my hands for other actions once it is there.