If you have cast Spiritual Weapon and then you are polymorphed, can you make melee spell attacks?

I have a player that would like to cast Polymorph on the party’s cleric.

If the cleric has already cast Spiritual Weapon on himself (this is not a concentration spell) and he is Polymorphed into say a Giant Ape, does he still have the ability to make Melee spell attacks as a bonus action?

I know that you can continue to concentrate on spells that you cast before you Polymorph, and that you cannot cast new spells. But would a great ape be able to make a “melee spell attack”?

If a dragon becomes a shadow dragon, would it still be subject to a previously cast True Polymorph’s reversal?

Story / example: A Harpy gets Truly Polymorphed into a wyrmling Brass dragon. Over eight centuries she eventually becomes ancient and powerful – albeit a bit weird with her harpy-like personality and alignment.

As an avid reader of StackExchange she becomes a bit paranoid. She is concerned: should a Magical Dispelling get past her three daily uses of Legendary Resistance she would, once again, be that stupid, nasty, dirty little girl with those grimy-grubby wings… that happens to sing quite well. As such, she plots.

She sends herself into some Shifting Planes, ending up in Fell Shadows. Assuming success, she becomes one Shadow Dragon creature / template / archetype / true dragon / thingy.

"Aha!" she shrieks with delight, "Now i am genuinely a dragon… a DRAGON FOREVER!! Take THAT, Exchangers of Stack!" The cold hard rain falls as lightning cascades in the distance ominously. Indeed, has this mere harpy of a girl outwitted us?


Question: Does a transformation into an entirely different creature (such as changing types &/or transforming bodies) mean that Dispel Magic cannot undo a ‘permanent’ True Polymorph spell? Or does this apparently-totally-‘new’-creature take this polymorphic-dispelability along with them?

Can a D&D5e Wizard cast a Ritual Spell as many times as he wants during the day?

I’m a newbie D&D5e Wizard player and was intrigued by the Ritual tag and it’s major benefits for Wizards.

I’d like to ask if a Ritual Spell in my Spellbook can be cast multiple times a day, without the need for a rest, assuming I have plentiful components to cast said spell? … Thanks, Walts

What is the maximum number of known spells (that can be cast with spell slots and use Charisma) a character can have?

I often find it frustrating how few spells sorcerers have. This has led me to trying to increase the number of spells they have with a few multiclassing dips. I was then inspired to ask this question:

What is the maximum number of spells known a character can have?

I want this to be achieved primarily through multiclassing, so there are a few restrictions:

  • The spells must be cast using Charisma as the spellcasting modifier, so multiclassing into Wizard or Druid doesn’t help;
  • I’m not including features you’d get through subclasses (i.e. Eyes of the Dark gives you darkness for free), since I want this solution to be a template I can stick any subclasses onto;
  • A bard’s Magical Secrets is allowed, since that’s a base class feature, but Additional Magical Secrets is not, since that’s Lore bard only;
  • Feats are allowed, but Epic Boons and magic items are not;
  • I’ll allow Unearthed Arcana for this one, for example UA feats;
  • The spells known must be cast via your spell slots that you have via your class features;
  • Polymorphing into something else that can cast spells is not allowed;
  • Assume a level 20 character, and whatever ability scores are necessary (although I imagine that’ll just be Charisma 20);
  • Also note that this question has nothing to do with the number of spell slots, only spells known.

Can I use Empowered Spell on spells cast with a Wand of Magic Missile? [duplicate]

The Sorcerer’s metamagic features has the following general rules:

At 3rd level, you gain the ability to twist your spells to suit your needs…You can use only one Metamagic option on a spell when you cast it, unless otherwise noted.

The Empowered Spell metamagic states:

When you roll damage for a spell, you can spend 1 sorcery point to reroll a number of the damage dice up to your Charisma modifier (minimum of one). You must use the new rolls.

The Wand of Magic Missiles states:

While holding it, you can use an action to expend 1 or more of its charges to cast the magic missile spell from it.

My question is does the process of activating the Wand equate to the sorcerer casting the Magic Missile spell and thus it becomes a suitable target spell for enhancement using the Empower Spell metamagic? Or does the casting occur from the wand and not from the sorcerer, thereby rendering the spell invalid for metamagic enhancement?

If I twinned spell cast Glyph of Warding as a spell glyph, can I store two different spells, or does it need to be the same one?

I have a sorcerer wizard. He wants to use twinned spell metamagic to cast glyph of warding as a spell glygh, twice on two different surfaces.

Spell Glyph. You can store a prepared spell of 3rd level or lower in the glyph by casting it as part of creating the glyph.

Can he cast two different spells to be stored in the spell glyph, or would it be the same spell twice?

Do I need to have the “deity” class feature to cast Spiritual Weapon?

In Pathfinder 2, the spell Spiritual Weapon (https://2e.aonprd.com/Spells.aspx?ID=306) has, as a requirement, "you have a deity".

What does it mean exactly? My guesses (from the most to the least likely imho)

  • You need the "deity" class feature (that you get as a cleric)

  • You need to be a follower of a specific deity

  • You need to be the owner of a deity (ok, this one is so unlikely that I only put it here for the joke)

Any way to cast dragonmark SLAs in a rage?

Pretty obvious dual to this question, but now for (dragonmark) spell-like abilities.

While raging, a barbarian cannot use any Charisma-, Dexterity-, or Intelligence-based skills (except for Balance, Escape Artist, Intimidate, and Ride), the Concentration skill, or any abilities that require patience or concentration, nor can he cast spells or activate magic items that require a command word, a spell trigger (such as a wand), or spell completion (such as a scroll) to function.

Spell-like abilities require concentration, though obnoxiously they don’t just come out and say it. Instead we have this:

Spell-like Abilities

[…] In all other ways, a spell-like ability functions just like a spell: […] It is possible to make a Concentration check to use a spell-like ability defensively and avoid provoking an attack of opportunity. A spell-like ability can be disrupted just as a spell can be.

The spell-disruption mechanics are all about your concentration on the spell being disrupted, with Concentration checks made to maintain your concentration and complete the spell despite the disruption.

Dragonmarks are feats that grant spell-like abilities, and since there are a number of feats that tie dragonmarks in with action points and those are something my rage-cycling build has in great quantity, being able to cast them while raging would be very effective.

There’s an argument to be made that rage also says “He can use any feat he has except Combat Expertise, item creation feats, and metamagic feats,” immediately after the first quote above, so you can use spell-like abilities from feats. But dragonmark feats aren’t themselves spell-like; they just have the effect of granting a spell-like ability. That is, I might buy this if the dragonmarks said “This feat is a spell-like ability,” but instead they say “You gain the use of […] one spell-like ability.” So I consider this dubious, and for the purposes of this question we’ll assume the DM doesn’t go for it.

Righteous Wrath is another one that sounds like it might help but then probably doesn’t: though it says “While raging, you retain clarity of mind unusual among barbarians,” it doesn’t go on to describe that how far that goes—and the examples it gives are all things barbarians never had any problem with in the first place. There’s no suggestion that it goes as far as allowing spell-like abilities—and at least one prestige class that requires Righteous Wrath has “You can cast this class’s spells while raging” as a specific class feature, so we can be pretty sure it doesn’t go as far as allowing spellcasting.

Finally, there’s the rage mage’s spell rage and the Rage Casting feat, which allow casting spells under certain conditions. Spell-like abilities are not spells, however, and it’s not at all clear that those features should apply here. Normally we would expect spell-like abilities to be separately listed if they were to be included. The description of spell-like abilities does say “In all other ways, a spell-like ability functions just like a spell,” but in reality this is a problematic description because there are so many ways in which spell-like abilities don’t function like spells. (It would be more accurate to say that a particular spell-like ability functions quite like the spell that it is “like,” excepting that it’s a spell-like ability with all the differences that entails.) In any event, the restrictions on both spell rage and Rage Casting make them really poor choices for my goals.

So, without making assumptions about these things being interpreted generously, does anyone know of a way to activate a (dragonmark) spell-like ability while raging? Tricks to exit the rage and re-enter it are not answers; I want to cast the spell-like ability while raging.

E6 is preferred; Epic is not allowed at all. Otherwise, any Wizards-of-the-Coast-published 3.5e materials, as well as 3.5e issues of Dragon and Dungeon, are acceptable. Third-party material, regardless of its licensing status, and homebrew material, regardless of its quality, are not acceptable (I am already aware of options that fit the bill from those categories; the point of this question is to avoid that). The form of the option doesn’t matter: feat, class feature, magic item, spell, whatever. I’d prefer not to have to multiclass for it but if that’s a way to do it, I want to know.

I’m not really looking for shenanigans; I’m hoping to find something that just says “you can use spell-like abilities in a rage,” or “you can use dragonmarks in a rage,” or something. I guess there could also be “you can concentrate in a rage” would probably get us there, or get us there in combination with forms of spellcasting during a rage, but I’d want to see the case pretty fleshed out for that because it gets into the weeds a bit.

I may accept RAW shenanigans, but only if they’re particularly air-tight and require neither DM assistance out-of-character, nor NPC assistance in-character. In short, please avoid anything that starts going “ask your DM to accept this dubious interpretation that might be there, if you squint.” Greater uses of wish and stuff like that are right out.

How to cast 5e / 5th lvl ‘Awaken’ (spell) on ‘highly intelligent’ plants and beasts?

The 5e Awaken spell allows a gain of intelligence and ability:

After spending the casting time tracing magical pathways within a precious gemstone, you touch a Huge or smaller beast or plant. The target must have either no Intelligence score or an Intelligence of 3 or less. The target gains an Intelligence of 10.

How does one get this Awaken spell to work on plants or animals with more than three (3) intelligence score?


The baboon and some giant creatures have four (or more) intelligence. Even the Shambling Mound would be an amazing pet (for a month) were it not so deeply clever. Yet, if high school taught us anything, baseline and expected intelligence is NOT guaranteed. Perhaps there is a work-around?

  • Give the target a Feeblemind spell first.

  • Enroll them in high-contact American sports.

  • Polymorph them into a more-stupid beast, then they change back smarter! Though StackExchange gave this one a complicated answer.

  • Admit that the author is probably making a bigger deal out of this than necessary and just House Rule the damn thing.

Repeat of Question for Exchangers of Stack: how does one imbue bonus intelligence (and myriad abilities) to plants &/or beasts with a wee bit ‘too much’ intelligence?

Can a Light Domain Cleric cast Burning Hands while carrying a shield?

I have a Light Domain Cleric who gets, as part of the Light Domain, the Burning Hands spell. Can I cast this spell while carrying a shield?

I subscribe to the idea that one physically must touch one’s thumbs together and spread one’s fingers per the spell as the somatic component of the spell. Is it reasonable to think that a Cleric with a shield strapped to their arm is able to make such a gesture and not burn their own shield?