Can one close one’s eyes when casting a Hypnotic pattern spell around oneself?

A caster is surrounded by enemies. He casts Hypnotic pattern, centering the 30-foot cube on himself in order to target a maximum of foes.

Hypnotic pattern:

Each creature in the area who sees the pattern must make a Wisdom saving throw. On a failed save, the creature becomes charmed for the duration.

Being a creature in the area, the caster should be subject to the effect if he sees the pattern.

Can he shut his eyes in order to avoid being affected by his own spell?

Does the feat Mobile Spellcasting allow movement when casting during a grapple?

If a character is engaged in a grapple and has the feat Mobile Spellcasting (Complete Adventurer, p.111), are they allowed to make a grapple check to perform the Move action alongside their spellcasting?

Mobile Spellcasting reads, in-part:

You can make a special Concentration check (DC 20 + spell level) when casting a spell. If the check succeeds, you can cast the spell and move up to your speed as a single standard action.

For an Arcane Bloodline Sorcerer, does casting a spell with your bonded item cost a spell slot?

I’m helping a friend build their first Sorcerer in Pathfinder. We have decided to take the Arcane Bloodline. While I am not used to playing a magic user, I am GM every other weekend with my group. I have always been a little shaky on the way some of the magic works.

The Arcane Bloodline gets an Arcane Bond like a Wizard does. This allows a wizard to cast a spell from his spell book without having to prepare it in one of his spell slots ahead of time. The sorcerer is a spontaneous caster. The Sorcerer’s bloodline Arcane Bond says:

Once per day, your bonded item allows you to cast any one of your spells known.

Then what is the point of that feature, and how does it work? My player has a choice between using a familiar or a bonded item.

Can the sorcerer cast a spell they know without using a spell slot? They already cast any spell that they know at will, as long as they have the slot to use it. What’s the benefit?

Can you cast bonus action and reaction spells while already casting a spell?

Can a bonus action or reaction spell be cast while already casting a spell with a casting time of more than one action? (If the bonus action or reaction spell is not a concentration spell.)

I found this on D&D Beyond:

Certain spells (including spells cast as rituals) require more time to cast: minutes or even hours. When you cast a spell with a casting time longer than a single action or reaction, you must spend your action each turn casting the spell, and you must maintain your concentration while you do so. If your concentration is broken, the spell fails, but you don’t expend a spell slot. If you want to try casting the spell again, you must start over.

Since this only mentions requiring your action each turn, not bonus actions and reactions, it seems you can still take such actions.

Does maintaining a spell with a longer casting time count as casting a spell?

The section on “Longer Casting Times” states:

When you cast a spell with a casting time longer than a single action or reaction, you must spend your action each turn casting the spell

I am wondering whether spending your action like this actually counts as casting a spell for the purposes of features like the following:

The Abjuration Wizard’s Arcane Ward feature states:

Whenever you cast an abjuration spell of 1st level or higher, the ward regains a number of hit points equal to twice the level of the spell…

The Valor Bard’s Battle Magic feature states:

When you use your action to cast a bard spell, you can make one weapon attack as a bonus action…

The Sorcerer’s Elemental Affinity feature states:

Starting at 6th level, when you cast a spell that deals damage of the type associated with your draconic ancestry, add your Charisma modifier to that damage.

The Life Cleric’s Blessed Healer feature states:

When you cast a spell of 1st level or higher that restores hit points to a creature other than you, you regain hit points equal to 2 + the spell’s level.

The Wild Magic Sorcerer’s Wild Magic Surge feature states:

Immediately after you cast a sorcerer spell of 1st level or higher, the DM can have you roll a d20.

Does this mean that Arcane Wards are healed several times, Valor Bards can make a weapon attack each turn, Sorcerer’s can add their Charisma modifier multiple times to a damage roll, Life Clerics are healed multiple times, and that multiple Wild Magic Surges may occur?


In terms of the odd cases of Elemental Affinity and Blessed Healer happening multiple times I parse their paragraphs so that the spell doesn’t actually have to deal damage or restore hit points, it only to be a spell that usually does those things.

This is supported in the question on “When must the wizard choose to overchannel? ” where the following is said:

The timing for using Overchannel is “when you cast”, and a spell you can use it on is “a wizard spell of 5th level or lower that deals damage”. This is merely meant to specify that you can only use it on spells that include damage as part of their effects (like fireball), as opposed to spells that don’t deal any damage (like invisibility).
If it was meant to be decided after it had dealt damage, it would have to use wording like “When you cast a wizard spell of 5th level or lower and deal damage”.

Casting a reaction spell with a sword in hand [duplicate]

This question already has an answer here:

  • Can a character drop a weapon in order to cast a spell that is a reaction? 8 answers

I have a lvl 1 hexblade warlock who carries a shield and a longsword. I also have the shield spell, which can be cast as a reaction but has a somatic component. Can I drop/sheath the sword before casting the spell or does my hand need to be free before the attack against me takes place?

How does targeting work when casting Call Lightning through Glyph Of Warding

Call Lightning targets area, then caster choose point in that area and anybody in 5ft radius of that point is damaged, then on each turn caster can use action and choose another point for another lightning.

Casting it through glyph of warding has the benefit of not using concentration and getting whole 10 minutes (100 turns) of duration. But would it work?

Glyph of Warding works with spells that target area by autotargetting the area centered on the triggering creature – that’s fine, the cloud appears above an enemy. But then what happens – would glyph also choose the point in that area to target that enemy? Would the glyph do it every turn? What if the enemy that triggered the spell died on the second turn and there’s still 98 turns more of the spell duration – would the glyph target another enemy?

Or maybe since the caster is still “me” – I get to choose the points where the lightnings fall each round?

Do ability scores have any effect on casting Wish spell

Is a sorcerer able to cast wish in the same way and as effectively as a wizard can?

I had a friendly argument lately. I wrote my hypothetical wish somewhere around draconic sorcerer level 3. Being a lawyer I wrote about page long Wish with the intention to become a real dragon.

Recently I get into a theoretical discussion with my Dungeon master and his position about the matter was that my sorcerer wouldn’t be able to cast this spell this way (meaning with my page-long wording) because he wouldn’t be intelligent enough to phrase it in that way. My Dungeon master would let a wizard cast it in that way though. Implications of this are that in this way a sorcerer is straight-up weaker casting wish than a wizard is.

My argument was that when we look at sorcerer versus wizard their casting abilities differ and sorcerers are probably not as smart as wizards but while casting a Wish sorcerer can offset this by the fact that the magic runs through their blood. Their casting is natural, innate. They might not be able to phrase the Wish that well but that nature of their casting should offset that (basically sorcerers should be able to use their charisma for formulating Wish or at least). And both classes have the spell in its corresponding spell lists.

“You might be able to achieve something beyond the scope of the above examples. State your wish to the DM as precisely as possible.”

Considering above highlighted part of the spell does Intelligence of caster or any other of his ability scores affect how well is that said caster able to cast Wish spell?

Bardic abilities requiring concentration with respect to the Melodic Casting feat

According to the feat Melodic Casting in Complete Mage on page 44 it states:

…In addition, you can cast spells and activate magic items by command word or spell completion while using a bardic music ability. Bardic music abilities that requite concentration still take a standard action to perform.

Normal: A bard can’t cast spells or activate magic items by command word or spell completion while using bardic music.

Now I don’t know if there has been any statement as to which bardic music abilities require concentration and which that don’t other than to infer from what is presented in the descriptive passages of bardic music abilities on page 29 of the Player’s Handbook. I have read through the text and have assumed from these descriptions only the following require concentration:

  • Song of Freedom

  • Inspire Competence

  • Fascinate (and by extension suggestion and mass suggestion)

Is this correct, is there any official ruling on the issue?