Is a Pact of the Chain Warlock’s quasit familiar really this effective as a spy?

One of my players has a Warlock with the Pact of the Chain. This PC has a quasit familiar. If we are applying the rules correctly…

Pact of the Chain

You learn the find familiar spell and can cast it as a ritual. The spell doesn’t count against your number of spells known. When you cast the spell, you can choose one of the normal forms for your familiar or one of the following special forms: imp, pseudodragon, quasit, or sprite. […]

Find Familiar

[…] While your familiar is within 100 feet of you, you can communicate with it telepathically. Additionally, as an action, you can see through your familiar’s eyes and hear what it hears until the start of your next turn, gaining the benefits of any special senses that the familiar has. During this time, you are deaf and blind with regard to your own senses. As an action, you can temporarily dismiss your familiar. […]

VARIANT: QUASIT FAMILIAR […] Familiar. The quasit can serve another creature as a familiar, forming a telepathic bond with its willing master. While the two are bonded, the master can sense what the quasit senses as long as they are within 1 mile of each other. While the quasit is within 10 feet of its master, the master shares the quasit’s Magic Resistance trait. At any time and for any reason, the quasit can end its service as a familiar, ending the telepathic bond.

… then he can communicate with it within 1 mile and see what it is seeing.

For example, in a mission where PCs have to peek at the enemy camp, he could just stay hidden and send the quasit exploring the camp. The quasit can turn invisible and polymorph into a centipede, so it can go anywhere (even inside a building), and the Warlock can see everything.

Now, is this correct? It would seem really overpowered to me.

If it’s correct, how can I limit this power in an acceptable way?

How many times do you roll damage for Chain Lighting?

Chain Lightning has the following description:

You create a bolt of lightning that arcs toward a target of your choice that you can see within range. Three bolts then leap from that target to as many as three other targets, each of which must be within 30 feet of the first target.

The rules for damage rolls state:

If a spell or other effect deals damage to more than one target at the same time, roll the damage once for all of them. For example, when a wizard casts fireball or a cleric casts flame strike, the spell’s damage is rolled once for all creatures caught in the blast.

Assuming four available targets which of the following is correct?

  • Roll once for damage for all of the targets
  • Roll twice for damage, once for the first target, and once for the three subsidiary targets.
  • Roll damage separately for each targets

Does Voice of the Chain Master allow casting certain spells from an isolated space?

An interesting question popped into my brain recently while researching the Pact of the Chain for a Genie Patron Warlock. Casual shenanigans aside, I was wondering if taking Voice of the Chain Master allowed me to cast certain spells while safely tucked in my vessel but, maybe not in the way you think I’m going to ask about. Allow me to elaborate;

As per Voice Of The Chain Master

You can communicate telepathically with your familiar and perceive through your familiar’s senses as long as you are on the same plane of existence. Additionally, while perceiving through your familiar’s senses, you can also speak through your familiar in your own voice, even if your familiar is normally incapable of speech.

I’m led to believe that Bottled Respite is NOT another plane of existence, since similar items like a Portable Hole specifically mention when they are.

You can use an action to unfold a portable hole and place it on or against a solid surface, whereupon the portable hole creates an extradimensional hole 10 feet deep. The cylindrical space within the hole exists on a different plane, so it can’t be used to create open passages.

I think it’s safe to assume then, that the interior of the Vessel is simply ‘bigger on the inside’ and not an isolated dimension that you’re teleported to. With this in mind, let’s clarify one more subject before moving on.

I want to be clear; I’m not using my Familiar to ‘carry’ the spell. I understand those limitations. I’m using them purely for approximating my own visual range and my interest is in the wording of certain spells that require you to target ‘a creature you can see within range,’which also don’t otherwise state the spell ‘traveling’ through space in any specific fashion. Let’s set up our hypothetical from here, and pick a spell I personally think would have suitable water retention for this argument.

My Warlock is safely within a collar or ring (The Vessel) worn by my familiar (standing or sitting against nearest wall in the forward facing direction of the ring, to avoid losing as much spell range as possible), through which, I am perceiving through their sight as though I’m in their space (technically, I am, since they are carrying me.) I want to cast Flesh to Stone and I see a creature within 60ft of me (and am confident the range is correct because me and my familiar are occupying the same space). I cast Flesh to Stone which has a range of 60ft and, has the following description;

You attempt to turn one creature that you can see within range into stone. If the target’s body is made of flesh, the creature must make a Constitution saving throw. On a failed save, it is restrained as its flesh begins to harden. On a successful save, the creature isn’t affected.

A creature restrained by this spell must make another Constitution saving throw at the end of each of its turns. If it successfully saves against this spell three times, the spell ends. If it fails its saves three times, it is turned to stone and subjected to the petrified condition for the duration. The successes and failures don’t need to be consecutive; keep track of both until the target collects three of a kind.

If the creature is physically broken while petrified, it suffers from similar deformities if it reverts to its original state.

If you maintain your concentration on this spell for the entire possible duration, the creature is turned to stone until the effect is removed.

RAW it seems pretty sound from my point of view but, I also just really like this combat tactic so, I may be overlooking something. Thoughts?

Failover in MySQL Chain Replication

We have a 4 server setup, 1 master, 3 daisy-chained slaves, in the following setup:

A (master) -> B (slave) -> C (slave) -> D (slave)

(the servers B and C and D are running with log-slave-updates)

In normal operation everything works as expected: if we add new data to A, we see it show up quickly in B and C and D

Now we want to create a failure scenario — we shutdown A and want to make B the new master:

B (master) -> C (slave) -> D (slave)

It seems like what we want to do is fairly simple — switch B from Slave to Master

We are trying to follow the documentation "Switching Sources During Failover" https://dev.mysql.com/doc/refman/8.0/en/replication-solutions-switch.html

The doc says " On the replica Replica 1 being promoted to become the source, issue STOP REPLICA | SLAVE and RESET MASTER."

So if we’re reading correctly, to switch B from Slave to Master all we have to do is run:

STOP SLAVE RESET MASTER 

Running "STOP SLAVE" causes no issues, but running "RESET MASTER" breaks the replication to downstream staves C and D. This is the error on C:

Last_IO_Error: Got fatal error 1236 from master when reading data from binary log: 'Client requested master to start replication from position > file size'

So what is the point of "RESET MASTER" and why does it break the chain? Is there any harm in omitting it/how does one properly do a failover in MySQL chain replication?

Pact of the Chain, Sprite Familiar. What does it mean that a “saving throw result is 5 or lower”?

I’ve been looking into the warlocks Pact of the Chain, which states that your allowed to pick from the normal familiars as well as a select few Warlock-Only familiars, including the Sprite.

When you cast the spell, you can choose one of the normal forms for your familiar or one of the following special forms: imp, pseudodragon, quasit, or sprite.

Then invocation Investment of the Chain Master states that:

If the familiar forces a creature to make a saving throw, it uses your spell save DC.

And the Sprite has a Shortbow attack that forces a creature to make a saving throw:

Shortbow. Ranged Weapon Attack: +6 to hit, range 40/160 ft., one target. Hit: 1 piercing damage, and the target must succeed on a DC 10 Constitution saving throw or become poisoned for 1 minute. If its saving throw result is 5 or lower, the poisoned target falls unconscious for the same duration, or until it takes damage or another creature takes an action to shake it awake.

From what I gather that means that the initial save for the poison should use the players save DC? So for a lvl 7 character with 20 charisma, that would be a save of 16?

Spell save DC = 8 + your proficiency bonus + your Spellcasting modifier

However the second part of the Shortbow attack states that:

If its saving throw result is 5 or lower, the poisoned target falls unconscious for the same duration

What does "saving throw result is 5 or lower" mean? Would that be the rolled number for the save + the save modifier?

saving throw result = save dice roll + save score modifier

Or would it be the resulting rest from removing the spell save DC from the rolled total?

saving throw result = Spell save DC – (save dice roll + save score modifier)

I haven’t seen the phrase "saving throw result" referring to a number before, usually it just refers to "did the creature roll over or under the spell save DC? Yes or No."

How to add the weights to the transition graph of a Markov chain?

The following working program uses Graph and Markov Chain

P = {{1/2, 1/2, 0, 0}, {1/2, 1/2, 0, 0}, {1/4, 1/4, 1/4, 1/4}, {0, 0,     0, 1}}; proc = DiscreteMarkovProcess[3, P]; Graph[proc, GraphStyle -> "DiagramBlue",   EdgeLabels ->    With[{sm = MarkovProcessProperties[proc, "TransitionMatrix"]},     Flatten@Table[DirectedEdge[i, j] -> sm[[i, j]], {i, 2}, {j, 2}]]]  sm = MarkovProcessProperties[proc, "TransitionMatrix"] sm == P 

Since I couldn’t make it work for larger matrices, I clarified in the last two lines that sm is just P. But, if I try to replace sm by P in the first part, all hell breaks loose. So, I tried copy paste changing just P to a larger matrix, but this does not work. Why?

P = {{0, 1/4, 1/2, 1/4, 0, 0}, {0, 1, 0, 0, 0, 0}, {0, 0, 1/3, 0, 2/3,      0}, {0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 1},    {0, 0, 1/4, 0, 3/4, 0}, {1/4, 0, 0, 0, 3/4, 0}}; P // MatrixForm proc = DiscreteMarkovProcess[1, P]; Graph[proc,   EdgeLabels ->    With[{sm = MarkovProcessProperties[proc, "TransitionMatrix"]},     Flatten@Table[DirectedEdge[i, j] -> sm[[i, j]], {i, 6}, {j, 6}]]] 

What happens to a Chain lighting with invalid primary target and valid secondary targets?

This question asks what happens when a single-target spell has an invalid target. (A target that is not legitimately permissible, not a target that is weak from illness or injury).

The answer appears to be: that depends on whether one wishes to implement an older Sage Advice segment of a Dragon Talk podcast, or the more recent but optional written rules in Xanathar’s Guide to Everything.

Assume for this question that I prefer XGtE.

The rule for resolving invalid spell targets states (XGtE 85-86):

If you cast a spell on someone or something that can’t be affected by the spell, nothing happens to that target, but if you used a spell slot to cast the spell, the slot is still expended.

Now consider the chain lightning spell, in which

You create a bolt of lightning that arcs toward a target of your choice that you can see within range. Three bolts then leap from that target to as many as three other targets, each of which must be within 30 feet of the first target. A target can be a creature or an object and can be targeted by only one of the bolts.

Suppose my primary target for the spell is invalid, because it is not a creature or an object. If an example must be given, suppose it is an illusion. However, each of the three secondary targets of the spell are valid, being either creatures or objects.

Do I spend the spell slot with nothing happening at all, or does the slot get spent, the chain lightning impact the illusion but do nothing to it and then leap to the three valid targets with the full effects given in the spell description?

Note: I am assuming that an illusion is not an object, based largely on my interpretation that an illusion is not an "item" and on the text of the 14th-level School of Illusion wizard feature, Illusory Reality. I am open to frame challenges that demonstrate that illusions are, in fact, objects, but such answers will be better if they then either provide a more appropriate example of something that is not a creature or an object, or demonstrate that the question is moot since everything is at least either a creature or an object.

If you use the Investment of the Chain Master Eldritch Invocation, does your familiar get a bonus to its saving throw DC from your own magic items?

The Investment of the Chain Master Eldritch Invocation states:

[…] When you cast find familiar, you infuse the summoned familiar with a measure of your eldritch power, granting the creature the following benefits: […]

[…] * If the familiar forces a creature to make a saving throw, it uses your spell save DC. […]

My question is, if the warlock has a Rod of the Pact Keeper, or Wand of the War Mage or something else which raises their saving throw DC, does the familiar inherit this when it triggers a saving throw? For example: If I had a DC 14 save with no gear and a DC 15 save with my +1 magic item, would the familiar use a 14 or a 15 for its save DC?

[VPS Chain] Windows VPS From 6€ /MO +1 Month FREE!

VPS Chain Offering Windows & Linux VPS

Locations: Germany – Finland
Operating System: Windows / Ubuntu / Debian / Centos

VPS Control panel

VPS 1 (+Month FREE!)​
1 CPU Core | 2 GB RAM | 20 GB SSD | 20 TB Bandwidth –>> 5.99€
Order Now https://vpschain.com/pricing

VPS 2 ​
2 CPU Core | 2 GB RAM | 40 GB SSD | 20 TB Bandwidth –>> Order Now 6.99€
Order Now https://vpschain.com/pricing

VPS 3​
2 CPU Core | 4 GB RAM | 40 GB SSD | 20 TB Bandwidth –>> Order Now 9.99€
Order Now https://vpschain.com/pricing

VPS 4​
3 CPU Core | 4 GB RAM | 80 GB SSD | 20 TB Bandwidth –>> Order Now 13.99€
Order Now https://vpschain.com/pricing

VPS 5​
4 CPU Core | 8 GB RAM | 160 GB SSD | 20 TB Bandwidth –>> Order Now 17.99€
Order Now https://vpschain.com/pricing

(More VPS)
https://vpschain.com/pricing