number of attacks for Mythic Champion

Talking about Mythic: 2° tier common ability:

Amazing Initiative (Ex):

At 2nd tier, you gain a bonus on initiative checks equal to your mythic tier. In addition, as a free action on your turn, you can expend one use of mythic power to take an additional standard action during that turn. This additional standard action can’t be used to cast a spell. You can’t gain an extra action in this way more than once per round.

And then the Champion feature says:

Sudden Attack (Ex):

As a swift action, you can expend one use of mythic power to make a melee attack at your highest attack bonus. This is in addition to any other attacks you make this round. When making a sudden attack, you roll twice and take the better result, adding your tier to the attack roll. Damage from this attack bypasses all damage reduction.

Can I stack both? My head says Yes, but Im not sure and then:

At least at 19° level, with 4 mythic tiers, a 2-hand-weapon fighter and Champion can do each round: 4 normal attacks + 1 "haste" attack (from boots or other) + 1 attack from Amazing Initiative (1 Mithic power used) and +1 from Sudden Attack (2 Mythic power used) =7attacks.

Can I say: all of this is correct? Cause it’s a bit confused to me but I’m not english native.

Aren’t 2 questions cause the first question can delete the latter. Thanks

Difference between a Magus Variant, and a Skeletal Champion variant

So, while looking through the template options for skeletons and animate dead, one of the listed options is the magus.

Magus: These variant skeletal champions and zombie lords are minor spellcasters (typically 5th-level or less) that have retained both their intelligence and their spellcasting abilities. Magus skeletons and zombies gain Silent Spell as a bonus feat. (CR +1 plus caster level)

This variant is the only one without an example. Looking at it, it seems pretty abstract. It looks like it may even be argued to fall under Create Undead instead of animate dead. However Create undead has the Skeletal champion template, which already retains class levels and intelligence and even gives extra HD that the magus doesnt seem to.

My question is, which spell creates a Magus skeleton, and if it is create undead, are they basically an extra free feat for the champion? If its animate undead, are they mostly mindless save for their spell casting ability? What is retained?

How does the Dhampir heritage interact with features from the tyrant champion cause?

A character that selects the Dhampir versatile ancestry gains the Dhampir trait, and gains negative healing "as if you were undead."

The tyrant’s focus ability Touch of Corruption states the following:

You infuse the target with negative energy. If the target is living, this deals 1d6 negative damage (basic Fortitude save); on a failed save, the target also takes a –2 status penalty to AC for 1 round.

If the target is a willing undead creature, the target instead regains 6 Hit Points, and if you are the undead target, you also gain a +2 status bonus to damage rolls for 1 round.

The Dhampir heritage doesn’t appear to make the character actually undead – they just gain negative healing. If a Dhampir tyrant casts this spell on themselves, which of the following is the case?

  1. The Dhampir is still a living creature, so the first part of the spell is triggered. They take 1d6 negative damage, meaning they heal for 1d6. However, they must then make a fortitude save or receive a penalty to AC.

  2. The Dhampir is healed for the full 6hp, and gains the status bonus to damage

RAI, I believe the second option makes sense, and it’s certainly the ruling I would take as a DM if a player did this. But RAW, it appears that the Dhampir will basically shoot themselves in the foot if they use this on themselves, as the Dhampir only gains negative healing "as if" they were undead, but they are actually still living.

Thanks.

Can 2 different martial fighting styles used together at the same time? for example protection and defense from a fighter champion lvl 10+

A champion fighter gets a second fighting style at 10th level. Can the 2 different martial fighting styles be used together at the same time? For example protection and defense from a champion fighter, would it gain both bonuses?

How many attacks does does a level 8 Champion fighter using Two-Weapon Fighting get?

A new player would like to join a group I’ve been DMing for a while. His player character has the following characteristics:

  1. He is a fighter who chose Two Weapon Fighting fighting style when he created his character. Two Weapon Fighting Style says, “When you engage in two-weapon fighting, you can add your ability modifier to the damage of the second attack.”
  2. He obviously has Second Wind once per long or short rest, so he gets a Bonus Action on his turn to regain Hit Points equal to 1d10 + his Fighter level.
  3. He has Action Surge once per long or short rest, as well, of course so that on his turn, he can take one additional action on top of his regular action and a possible Bonus Action.
  4. He chose the martial archetype Champion at level 3.
  5. At level 4, he chose the Sentinel feat instead of an ability score improvement.
  6. Beginning at 5th Level, he became able to attack twice, instead of once.
  7. As an aside, starting at 7th level, he became able to add half his proficiency bonus rounded up to any Strength, Dexterity, or Constitution check he makes that doesn’t already use his proficiency bonus. He also could jump further doing running long jumps, but I don’t think this part matters here.

Here’s my question.

I’m very confused about how many attacks he would get per turn if he’s using two warhammers, two longswords, one of each, a longbow, or a hand crossbow. He himself seems to be confident that he gets 4 or 6 attack rolls, which he said are associated with 2 actions – the usual action and one extra one – but, he said, since he wields two weapons, he gets a lot of “swings” with his weapon.

I can see several sides here and just don’t want to get off on the wrong footing right at the beginning.

It seems to me that he gets maybe 3 or 4, depending on whether both “swings” with a sword, for example, count as one action or two actions.

Anyway, there was a disagreement among my players about it, some claiming he gets 3 or 4 attacks if he doesn’t use action surge, and 4 or 5 if action surge is included. That’s less by 1 than the fighter himself believes he gets, and since I myself am not sure at all, I want to think this through carefully. Any ideas?

Can a Champion Lay on Hands when using a Shield and One-handed weapon?

Hoping for a rules clarification, can a champion use Lay on Hands if they are using a Shield and One-handed weapon? If you can’t use a shield and Lay on Hands would you have to release the shield, LoH, then use manipulate to get it back?

Shield Rules:

A shield can increase your character’s defense beyond the protection their armor provides. Your character must be wielding a shield in one hand to make use of it, and it grants its bonus to AC only if they use an action to Raise a Shield. This action grants the shield’s bonus to AC as a circumstance bonus until their next turn starts. A shield’s Speed penalty applies whenever your character is holding the shield, whether they have raised it or not.

What are my odds of a critical hit with my level 20 Champion?

I’m trying to calculate what my odds are as a level 20 Champion to score at least one critical hit on my turn, and how many I can expect.

I make four attacks per attack action I take, and can Action Surge for another four, bringing my total to 8. I score a critical hit on a roll of 18-20, and if I get even one, my Great Weapon Master feat lets me make a fifth (or in this case ninth) attack.

I’d also be curious to know what my odds are if I’m rolling with advantage.

Is the Oath of the Ancients Paladin’s Elder Champion feature intended to still work while unconscious?

The Paladin’s Oath of the Ancients Level 20 Elder Champion feature states:

Using your action, you undergo a transformation. For 1 minute, you gain the following benefits:

  • At the start of each of your turns, you regain 10 hit points.

  • Whenever you cast a paladin spell that has a casting time of 1 action, you can cast it using a bonus action instead.

  • Enemy creatures within 10 feet of you have disadvantage on saving throws against your paladin spells and Channel Divinity options.

Once you use this feature, you can’t use it again until you finish a long rest.

What it does not state is that the transformation ends or you lose the benefits of the transformation when you are unconscious or incapacitated.

If the Paladin is knocked unconscious while it is transformed, does that mean the Paladin will be able to regain consciousness at the start of next turn?

To contrast, the Oath of the Crown’s Exalted Champion includes this statement:

This effect ends early if you are incapacitated or die. Once you use this feature, you can’t use it again until you finish a long rest.

Emphasis mine.

The Paladin’s Auras of Protection specifically state that:

Starting at 6th level, whenever you or a friendly creature within 10 feet of you must make a saving throw, the creature gains a bonus to the saving throw equal to your Charisma modifier (with a minimum bonus of +1). You must be conscious to grant this bonus.

Emphasis mine.

Aura of Courage states:

Starting at 10th level, you and friendly creatures within 10 feet of you can’t be frightened while you are conscious.

Emphasis mine.

This seems to imply most of the Paladin’s Level 20 features continue working even while unconscious. The Oath of Ancients Paladin would be able to regain consciousness at the start of the turn. Similarly, the Oath of Vengeance Paladin would still frighten their enemies despite being unconscious on the ground. The Oath of Devotion Paladin would still give off sunlight and damage enemies despite being unconscious.

Is this Rules as Written and/or Intended?

Would a level 18+ Champion Fighter recover HP outside of combat?

At level 18 a fighter with the champion archetype gains the survivor ability which lets them recover HP at the start of each turn provided they have more than 0 HP:

Survivor

At 18th level, you attain the pinnacle of resilience in battle. At the start of each of your turns, you regain Hit Points equal to 5 + your Constitution modifier if you have no more than half of your Hit Points left.

You don’t gain this benefit if you have 0 Hit Points.

Does this still apply even if they are not currently in combat?

Is an Elven Champion faster without a horse?

He has a speed of 30, while his Steed Ally a speed of 40. If the enemy is within 80 feet, he can use the Command an Animal action to direct his horse to use two of its actions close the distance, and his remaining two actions to Strike.

However, should the enemy fire arrows from 300 feet, he is better off without his horse:

  • On foot: In the first 3 rounds he closes 3 times 30 feet, and in the foruth he Strides one last time before Striking twice
  • Mounted: It takes 4 rounds just to get there

Did I misunderstand something? If not, is this intentional, or just an unfortunate edge case?


I know that with the Imposing Destrier feat from level 10 the horse is actually faster, but that is beside the point right now.