What happens when a Changeling dies on the Dreaming?

On Changeling: The Dreaming 20th Anniversary, I find two seemingly contradictory texts. On page 291, speaking of chimerical death:

Those who suffer a chimerical death while in the Dreaming are expelled from it, waking up in the Autumn world with no memory of how they got there.

I understand in this that you die in the Dreaming, and wake up on the normal world (autumn world) having lost your fae memories, just as any chimerical death.

But on the Dreaming chapter, something much more dangerous is described (page 300):

The Dreaming makes no distinction between chimerical damage (and death) and physical death. A changeling that suffers either form of death in the Dreaming dies, their soul passing on to a new incarnation (or, in the case of Arcadian sidhe, disappearing for parts unknown). For someone with an anchor in the Autumn world, death means that the physical body falls into a coma and wastes away.

The first sentence says that once you die in the dreaming, that’s it. You’re as dead as if you had mundane bullet in your brains. You go to your next reincarnation. I understand the second sentence as referred to people to people that are not changeling, enchanted, and maybe prodigals that found their way into the Dreaming.

For me it seems that both chapters contradict themselves. Is there an official explanation on this? How did death happen on previous editions?

What bonus would be balanced against a restriction on a changeling powers?

I am playing as a changeling in a new campaign where every officially published races are accepted. We told the DM the races and classes we wanted to play in advance and he was OK with it. However, during the first session, he said that my changeling will only be able to change their appearance once per day, during a long rest.

I am going to try to negotiate a bonus in exchange for this restriction.
There are two options I’d like to propose, but don’t know which one would be fair :

  1. The actor feat – So even if my character can’t change very often, they are very good at it.

  2. Unsettling visage, from the UA version of the changeling – It’s in theme and could be fun to describe.

I like "Actor" more, but would it be balanced to get it at first level?

(Please tell me if there are any mistake, English isn’t my first language)

Can a changeling increase their Charisma by +3 at character creation?

In Eberron: Rising from the Last War, the changeling race says the following (p. 18):

Ability Score Improvement. Your Charisma score increases by 2. In addition, one ability score of your choice increases by 1.

Is there anything stopping you from choosing Charisma again for your additional +1? It seems a bit cheeky to me, since no other race can have a +3 at character creation, but on the other hand, the two sentences do seem to be rather deliberately disjointed. It’s not like the wording of the half-elf’s ability score improvement, as this Q&A explains, so does that mean that gaining a +3 to Charisma is a legitimate choice?

Obviously this is assuming that a DM doesn’t insist otherwise, and we are also assuming that this won’t allow an ability score to go above 20

Can a Changeling with the actor feat have permanent advantage and performance and Deception checks?

So the changeling’s shapeshift ability says that

As an action, you can change your appearance and your voice. You determine the specifics of the changes, including your coloration, hair length, sex, height and weight. You can make yourself appear as a member of another race, though none of your game statistics change. You can’t duplicate the appearance of a creature you’ve never seen, and you must adopt a form that has the same basic arrangement of limbs that you have. Your clothing and equipment aren’t changed by this trait.

So basically, as long as the person you are changing into is/ was a real person, you are always passing yourself off as a different person.

The Actor feat says

You gain +1 CHA, you have advantage on Deception and Performance checks when trying to pass yourself off as a different person, and you can mimic the speech of another person or the sounds made by other creatures that you have heard (for at least 1 minute).

So the way I read it, a changeling would always have advantage on Deception and Performance checks because they are always trying to pass themselves as a different person. Or is the meaning of the Actor feat that they only have advantage when they are trying to prove that they are a different person not in other situations? Really curious if this is kinda broken because a bard or rogue with expertise and advantage on all deception checks could be a crazy good liar.

Can a naked Changeling use its Shapechanger feature to duplicate the appearance of clothing?

Can a naked Changeling use its Shapechanger feature to duplicate the appearance of clothing or equipment, similarly to Mystique from the X-Men?

As an action, you can change your appearance and your voice. You determine the specifics of the changes, including your coloration, hair length, and sex. You can also adjust your height and weight, but not so much that your size changes. You can make yourself appear as a member of another race, though none of your game statistics change. You can’t duplicate the appearance of a creature you’ve never seen, and you must adopt a form that has the same basic arrangement of limbs that you have. Your clothing and equipment aren’t changed by this trait. You stay in the new form until you use an action to revert to your true form or until you die.

The feature states that it can’t change your clothing and equipment, but doesn’t mention anything regarding changing your body to duplicate the appearance of clothing or equipment.

It also states that you can turn into other races. So if a Changeling can turn into, for example, a Yuan-ti Pureblood and duplicate the appearance of scales, then I see no reason why it wouldn’t be able to duplicate the look of leather, or silk, or other clothing materials.

Can a changeling player character look like a skeleton?

I have an for a changeling character, but instead of appearing in a human form or stuff like that, I want them to look like a skeleton. I’m thinking a grim reaper-type character, but I know I can’t really pick skeleton as a race option. I would be using the changeling from Eberron: Rising from the Last War.

Can a changeling PC use the Shapechanger trait to look like a skeleton?

How well can a Changeling copy voices?

A Changeling’s shapechanger feature allows them to change their voice as an action. But unlike Kenku, the actor feat, and Rogue(Assassin)’s impostor feature, “mimicry” isn’t mentioned.

Are Changelings able to innately mimic voices or is some check required when trying to imitate a voice/vocal mannerisms?

If no check is required, what is the upper limit? Could they transform into a Kenku and use their actions to replicate that race’s mimicry of any sound (e.g changing one’s voice to sound like an animal).

Can a Changeling shift directly from one temporary form to another?

In the Eberron: Rising from the Last War book the Changeling “Shapechanger” ability (page 18) begins by stating that:

As an action, you can change your appearance and your voice.

However it ends by stating that:

You stay in the new form until you use an action to revert to your true form or until you die.

Were one to be in an adopted form and wish to use an action to change into another a literal reading of these two quotes seems contradictory. At the very least it seems ambiguous whether the latter rule is intended to limit the prior.

On the one hand it seems obvious that at least one of the intentions of the second passage is to make it clear that only death can undo your “disguise”. On the other hand it may also imply that shapechanging from an adopted form requires turning to your true form (“pale, with colorless eyes and silver white hair” as per the description on page 18 of the same book), and then turning into a new form.

Since this would require briefly being in a distinctly changeling form (giving away to observers the source of your shifting ability) and require an extra action, it would be a slight limitation on what is obviously a rather strong racial ability. Also it seems like the second quote could easily have been written “you stay in the new form until you use an action to change into another form” rather than “to revert to your true form”. But once again, it also just seems like the concern might be about whether you can be forced to revert or whether you do when you fall unconscious or some such, and the first thing the ability says is that you can shift “[a]s an action”. Basically I’m stumped.

My personal interest is that I have a Changeling character who identifies primarily as human, keeps roughly the same human form unless there is a specific reason to do otherwise, at which point I’ve always had her shift directly to a new form rather than into a pale changeling “true form”. I’ve played the character for about four months but am trying to follow the published E:RftLW rules now that they have been published.

Can a changeling transform into races with a tail/horns?

I have read that a changeling can transform into any creature they have seen, unless it’s larger/smaller then their size and they can’t change into something that has a different body shape than them. So no extra limbs or such. So my question is, can a Changeling transform into a Tiefling for example? Seeing as they have horns and a tail. I would think the horn won’t be a problem, but maybe the tail would. Idk, that’s why i’m asking