What’s the extent of things that a charmed creature would do for you under the effects of the *awakened* spell?

Unlike other charms, with awaken you can literally transform a beast or plant into higher-intelligence form of life. For example, an awakened tree gets to have intelligence like humans, limbs, ways to communicate and so on. It gives them freedom they never had.

Do they see the caster as their creator or something? If the caster asks the awakened tree to help in combat, or fight monsters as an ally, would they do it?

Can charmed foes be considered “allies”?

I’m researching specifically the Arcana Domain cleric feature, Spell Breaker (SCAG, p. 126):

Starting at 6th level, when you restore hit points to an ally with a spell of 1st level or higher, you can also end one spell of your choice on that creature. The level of the spell you end must be equal to or lower than the level of the spell slot you use to cast the healing spell.

If I charm an enemy and then cast a healing spell on them, would I be able to remove a beneficial spell on them (like crown of stars or stoneskin)?

There may be a circumstance where I didn’t prepare dispel magic or have a level 3 spell slot to use for it, so I’d like to know what my options are.

If a charmed enemy is considered an ally, please include whether that extends to enemies charmed not by you, but by your allies as well.

What happens when a charmed target becomes unable to be charmed?

So a bard charms monster 1. Monster 2 uses an action ability (such as Infernal Command) where it can make it so monster 1 can’t be charmed.

Does Monster 1 lose the original charmed status or does it keep the original charm?

Does Infernal Command, for example, only prevent the target from being charmed again by something else while the ability time is active? My line of thinking is like putting on a bullet-proof vest after you have already been shot.

Does someone realize they were charmed after the effect of the Glamour bard’s Enthralling Performance wears off?

I have been playing a College of Glamour bard in the Tomb of Annihilation module. They get the Enthralling Performance feature at 3rd level when they choose the subclass (Xanathar’s Guide to Everything, p. 14):

If you perform for at least 1 minute, you can attempt to inspire wonder in your audience by singing, reciting a poem, or dancing. At the end of the performance, choose a number of humanoids within 60 feet of you who watched and listened to all of it, up to a number equal to your Charisma modifier (minimum of one). Each target must succeed on a Wisdom saving throw against your spell save DC or be charmed by you. […] This effect ends on a target after 1 hour, if it takes any damage, if you attack it, or if it witnesses you attacking or damaging any of its allies.

If a target succeeds on its saving throw, the target has no hint that you tried to charm it.

According to the description, the target does not become aware of the fact that someone attempted to charm them if they succeed at their saving throw. However, it doesn’t say anything about what happens if they fail their save and the charm wears off.

Once the effect of Enthralling Performance wears off, do those that were previously affected by it know they were charmed?

Does the creature know it was charmed if it succeeded the saving throw?

The Charm Person spell description says:

When the spell ends, the creature knows it was charmed by you.

There is an ambiguity here — what happens if the target succeeded the saving throw? On the one hand, the spell ends, so the target should know it was charmed. On the other hand, one might argue the spell wasn’t actually “started”, so literally nothing happens when the saving throw is succeeded.

Can Barbarian’s Rage ability break the Charmed condition?

Can a Barbarian enter a Rage on his turn in combat if he’s charmed by Charm Person, or similar spells?

Last week during one of my games, our DM had a Cambion use a charm on the Barbarian, which he failed the saving throw and was ‘charmed’.

On his turn, he used his bonus action to enter a rage and ‘break’ the charm. The DM didn’t agree on this. Who is right? The Barbarian then continued on to attack with his normal action.

Does Charm Person break if the charmed person’s minions are attacked?

I’m trying to clarify with my players what is the effect of charm person on a very particular situation:

  1. Combat starts, player engage some zombies in battle and kill one of them via arrows.
  2. Fighter goes into the room and discovers a Necromancer and some zombie minions under its control.
  3. Druid wants to cast Charm Person spell on the Necromancer.

Assuming the necromancer fails the save, I’m having doubts about ruling how it will work.

According to answers to this question, charm person would only protect the druid, allies would still be attacked.

But the doubt here is about the part that says:

If it fails the saving throw, it is charmed by you until the spell ends or until you or your companions do anything harmful to it.

If anyone attacks the necromancer’s zombies, would that be regarded as “doing something harmful to” the necromancer? Or would it not break the spell because the attack is directed at one of his minions and not the necromancer himself?

Additionally, since the Druid has already attacked one of the minions, would the charm spell even work?

Paladin was charmed and convinced the rest of the party to accept a quest from an evil character,

So it’s my first time DMing, and I’m running a group of 7 first time players through Lost Mines of Phandelver (Sort of scaled it so it’s still difficult). I’ve gotten them to the point where they run into the Redbrand leader, the mage Glasstaff. He attempted to talk to them but our fighter shot him in the foot, so he teleported behind them and while they fought the nothic he snuck up and charmed our Paladin, the verbal part of the spell was a plea that he was just trying to defend himself and that he only wants to talk. So, while charmed, the Paladin used his turn to convince the rest of the party with a sort of persuasion check that maybe Glasstaff was right, they had been the instigators in every situation with the Redbrands so maybe they were in the wrong. After all, the only information they were going on was from Sildar Hallwinter, and they were always suspicious of him. They should at least hear Glasstaff out.

So after they’ve all stopped fighting, they heal and start talking to Glasstaff. I had been roleplaying him pretty smarmy, calling them guests and acting like he’s really happy they’re here. He said it’s unfortunate that all of his men were killed, but they only did it because they had been deceived by Gundren Rockseeker and the leaders of Phandalin. He lied and said they had been ambushing caravans along the road meant for Neverwinter, where the whole party is from, and they were low class bandits disguised as a quaint town. The Wave Echo Cave thing was just a ploy to get more greedy adventurers to come to the area so they could rob them. All lies, but the party believed him.

I just wanted to give you some background to why they would accept this quest: Glasstaff wants them to purge the town of corruption by assassinating the leaders of Phandalin, namely the townmaster Harbin Wester (who was rude to them) and Toblen Stonehill (who refused to give them a room because of how many there were), and they’ll get three times the amount Gundren was promising to pay. They took a long rest and Glasstaff made them eggs for breakfast (he’s very cunning, they love eggs), so the Paladin is no longer charmed.

So my question is: how do I help the paladin properly roleplay this, and if he goes through with it what does that mean for his Oath? He took the Oath of the Ancients, if that means anything. He isn’t very charismatic, so the morally grey party may not be too quick to accept his second change of mind even with persuasion, he got seriously lucky on the first throw. I’m getting more comfortable with doing things on the fly so I don’t care about railroading, like getting them back to finding out who the Spider is.

How to confirm that party member hasn’t been replaced or charmed?

How can my PC confirm that the other PCs haven’t been replaced by a shapechanger such as an incubus or doppelganger, and haven’t been charmed/controlled in some way to work against the party?

One idea is have a password/code to check for shapechangers, but that only goes so far as if a PC is controlled but not replaced they would know the code.

Ideally answers would be methods a Bard could use.

What can I do in combat when charmed?

So, recently our party went up against a Death Tyrant and it hit me with Charm Ray; even with an impressive WIS I failed and was charmed.

The Charmed condition says:

  • A charmed creature can’t attack the charmer or target the charmer with harmful abilities or magical effects.

  • The charmer has advantage on any ability check to interact socially with the creature.

I understand that this means I cannot attack the Death Tyrant. I also understand that the charmed condition is not a form of domination, so I’m not dominated by the Death Tyrant and therefore won’t necessarily suddenly start attacking my party or anything.

So assuming there are no other enemies, what can I do?

There’s no re-rolled save (unless the Death Tyrant hurts me, but let’s assume it won’t do that whilst my fellow party members are still fighting it) so this condition is lasting for the rest of this fight.

Can I still heal my friends (I’m a Cleric in this party, by the way)? Can I still use the Help action to allow them to gain advantage on attacking the Death Tyrant?

These things, whilst they aren’t attacking “the charmer” or targetting with harmful abilities or magical effects, are enabling others to harm it, so isn’t that against the spirit of being charmed? What can I do in this situation without cheesing against the Rules as Intended here?