My D&D group is new and we are all still getting used to playing the game and are running through the Starter Set adventure.
During this adventure we end up capturing a Wizard and we bound and gag him. My character being paranoid made sure to attach manacles to him and also to use two different lengths of 50ft rope to ensure that he would not be able to break free. During the return back to town the DM had him keep rolling strength checks against the manacles and rope and one by one he kept breaking through them and I ended up having to borrow the entire party’s supply of rope to keep him secure because he kept breaking through them. By the time I was able to deliver him he was wrapped in 200 ft of rope and looked like more rope than man after breaking my manacles and two different lengths of rope.
I know that the rules say that the DC of Hempen rope is 17 but I still think that in any real world sense it is ridiculous to think that this Wizard can Samson his way through each individual rope while also being held by several other lengths of rope and a set of manacles. One would think that the weight of the ropes alone would keep him in check.
I guess my question is that is there any precedent for the DC being raised when you are attaching multiple different factors into keeping a prisoner secure or are you just supposed to roll each rope individually?
Edit: My DM has responded to my post and it looks like I didn’t have all of the information originally
“I rolled 2 rolls per day of travel. This was his daily attempt to free himself from his bindings with disadvantage. He got 2 Nat 20’s the day he broke the manacles and a 19 & 20 to break free of the rope. His Str modifier is -1, but 18 still clears the rope’s DC. He had disadvantage due to the leather armor and sheer volume of rope around him He also had to break the manacles before he could even start trying to work at the rope, since you did put those on him first”
The PHB mentions how it is possible to make ability checks based on different abilities, a variant "Skills with Different Abilities" rule.
In some situations, though, your proficiency might reasonably apply to a different kind of check. In such cases, the GM might ask for a check using an unusual combination of ability and skill, or you might ask your GM if you can apply a proficiency to a different check. For example, if you have to swim from an offshore island to the mainland, your GM might call for a Constitution check to see if you have the stamina to make it that far. In this case, your GM might allow you to apply your proficiency in Athletics and ask for a Constitution (Athletics) check.
Some answers here in RPG provide a similar solution, and even provide a custom sheet which decoupled those.
I wonder how, in long-running games, implementing this variant rule for all skills (by using the aforemented sheet, for example) affects the game and its pace.
- Does it slow down the game considerably as all players try and suggest which ability they use for something?
- Do you end up with players trying to cheese EVERY check to use a specific ability "I climb the wall by leveraging my weight and the above counter-weight and choosing the simplest path, so I can use Athletics (Intelligence)"?
- Does it encourage players to RP more, which despite the slower game pace, makes the game enjoyable (for tables that like RP)?
The Natural Explorer class feature is sort of vague about what skill checks count
When you make an Intelligence or Wisdom check related to your favored terrain, your proficiency bonus is doubled if you are using a skill that you’re proficient in.
I emphasized related to, because it doesn’t say "while in," so I’m wondering whether keeping watch in your favored terrain counts as related to your favored terrain. This could represent something like being more familiar with what’s naturally around, and so you have an easier time spotting what shouldn’t be — i.e. the approaching enemy.
Does it apply?
For spells that require a powers check when cast in Ravenloft, when should the check happen for scrolls: during creation, at the time of the scroll’s use, or both?
Let’s say an Inquisitive is in a fog cloud. By my understanding, advantage and disadvantage cancels out if you are fighting someone else in that cloud. But if you were able to make a bonus perception check (and succeed) before attacking, could that negate your disadvantage?
As far as I can tell, there are no direct rule applications but I just wondered if someone had any thoughts on it. I guess in my head, using your action to search for someone when you can’t see due to environmental conditions them isn’t that useful for attacking purposes. But if you were to use a bonus action (in effect searching and attacking near simultaneously) would that change anything?
Same question for attacking from outside said hazard. I search, find, and shoot arrow – negate disadvantage?
is there a way to a way to reduce the amount of times it checks emails ?
i have changed the “login intervals” from 900 seconds to 1800 seconds,
under “email verification” “time to wait between 2 logins”
and ticked “per account (else pop3 server)”
i wanted to reduce the amount of times it was logging in to check the emails to increase performance,
as well i was getting loads of errors such as –
“pop3 login failed sock error connection timed out”
“pop3 login failed sock error host not found”
but its still bringing loads of messages “skipped email checking”
how to take these off as well to improve performance ?
Once on each of your turns as a bonus action, you can mentally command the servant to move up to 15 feet and interact with an object. The servant can perform simple tasks that a human servant could do, such as fetching things, cleaning, mending, folding clothes, lighting fires, serving food, and pouring wine. Once you give the command, the servant performs the task to the best of its ability until it completes the task, then waits for your next command.
(PHB p. 284)
What happens if the Unseen Servant e.g. tries to steal gold out of a pocket? Or if he is commanded to pick a lock? I would consider those as “simple tasks that a human servant could do”.
Can an Unseen Servant do actions that require ability checks (apart from attacking, which is explicitely prohibited) and if yes, does the caster add his relevant modifier and proficiency bonus?
In Tomb of Annihilation the prospect of getting lost/turned around in the jungle is written explicitly into the rules: “The Land of Chult” and its “Navigation” section have the party navigator making a check every day, and they may become lost if the check goes awry.
But my party has a ranger, favored terrain of forest. Whose group, due to Natural Explorer, “can’t become lost except by magical means.”
Nothing suggests that difficulty finding one’s way in the
lion’s Tyrannosaurus’ share of Chultan jungles is magical. It’s just mundane bushwhacking-sometimes-goes-awry.
So do groups playing Tomb of Annihilation who include a (forest) ranger simply dispose of the whole “Navigation” section while in the jungle?
(We’ve ruled that forest==jungle for Natural Explorer’s purposes. As does Jeremy Crawford. If you disagree hold your ire and imagine we were talking about coast, or swamp, or mountain; all of these are Natural Explorer candidates and might be where navigation checks would be indicated in ToA.)
I’m doing a melee sorcerer, but I’m afraid of losing my concentration in combat because in the higher levels the damage is too big and the concentration check is too difficult.
My campaign dosen’t allow feats and multiclassing, only ASI.
Is the haste spell worth it at higher levels?
not worth it to cast only to lose it in one round because I was hit and lost concentration – that’s what I mean by "Is it worth it?"
dex- (+2) str- (+2) / int – (0) / wis- (-1) / const (+5)
Using the specific example of Attack Bonus v Effect Ranks, the rules state that when added together your attack bonus and the effect ranks of your attack cannot exceed twice the series power level. And for the sake of this question lets assume the power level is 10 for easier math, so the attack bonus+effect ranks = 20.
Now, let’s consider a character who has an 11 Strength AND 11 Fighting, who goes to punch an enemy. The attack bonus’s base would be 11 (close combat skill is based on fighting) and the damage from a punch is also 11 as it’s strength based damage. However, the effect+attack bonus is 22, and this isn’t even considering everything else that could raise either number.
How then do you calculate the numbers for the actual attack as you cannot have a +11 to the attack roll and have a rank 11 damage effect? Do you choose which stat isn’t used to its full potential and would it be a choice for the player to make, or the DM? Or is there a sentence I am forgetting in the rules that state what to do in this case? Nothing prevents you from having 11 STR and 11 FGT in a PL10 game, yet you cannot make a Damage 11 attack with an attack bonus of +11. So which stat isn’t utilized fully?
As a related question: would an attack with 10 ranks of damage and 10 ranks of affliction be considered a 10 or 20 effect rank power? I’m assuming it’s 20, and therefore in a PL10 game would not be able to have an attack bonus (or effectively a +0 to the d20 roll).
I would prefer an answer based on RAW, with citations. Failing RAW, I’d like the community’s take on Rules As Intended – as an educated guess as to what the creators of the game intend you to infer from any vaguely worded passages. An explanation of why/how you came to your conclusions would be appreciated as well.