The lance description says:
a lance requires two hands to wield when you aren’t mounted.
Note that the lance lacks the two handed property but still need 2 hands to wield.
The Hexblade warlock’s Hex Warrior feature description (Xanathar’s Guide to Everything, p. 55) says:
Whenever you finish a long rest, you can touch one weapon that you are proficient with and that lacks the two-handed property.
Can I use the Hex Warrior feature with a lance?
I know that if a class would make you trained in a skill you’re already trained in, you can select another skill to become trained in.
My question is about classes that let you pick between certain skills to be trained in, for example the Fighter lets you pick between Acrobatics and Athletics.
If I’m already trained in Athletics because of my background, can I choose Athletics as my Fighter skill, so that I gain another free skill choice, thus having 4+Int skill choices, instead of the usual 3+Int for a Fighter? Or would I be forced to choose Acrobatics?
Aspect of the Moon (an eldritch invocation for the Pact of the Tome warlock) grants this benefit:
You no longer need to sleep and can’t be forced to sleep by any means.
This seems to leave open the option to sleep if the warlock wants to. Normally characters (or real people) can’t just decide to fall asleep, though, they have to be sleepy/tired. But presumably the warlock does not get this kind of sleepy, ever, at least not so much that they’d need to sleep.
If a warlock wants to go to sleep for some reason, how does this work? Can they just choose to fall asleep at any time (if it’s quiet enough etc), despite not needing to sleep?
The Faerie Dragon bestiary entry is unusual among monsters eligible to be Improved Familiars. Notably, it’s unusual because unlike all of the other available options, the Faerie Dragon has a list of Spells in addition to it’s Spell-Like Ability.
Specifically, the Faerie Dragon is explicitly called out as casting spells as a 3rd-level sorcerer.
To me, this implies that the Faerie Dragon’s list of spells known is capable of being determined at the time of ‘creation’, and isn’t fixed across all creatures of the type. Thus, if I wanted my Faerie Dragon Familiar to know Color Spray instead of Grease, or Detect Magic instead of Open/Close, that ought to be possible.
However, I fear that my interpretation might be more permissive than is intended, and that the spell list ought to be fixed to those listed in the bestiary.
Either way, it seems very clear that this spell casting does not scale with hit dice/character level as most SLA’s do. That said, I also find myself wondering how this affects the Faerie Dragon’s access to magic items. Can it use Wands and Scrolls as a 3rd level sorcerer (i.e. without a UMD check if the spell is on the proper list)? Could it use a Page of Spell Knowledge to learn an additional spell?
Inspired by Can I use deflect missile if I get an ally to shoot me? and Can a monk catch and throw an Arcane Archer's active Arcane Shot back at them with Deflect Missiles?, can a (friendly) Arcane Archer choose not to activate their Arcane Shot when it hits their ally, but then activate it when it hits the new target?
Once per turn when you fire an arrow from a shortbow or longbow as part of the Attack action, you can apply one of your Arcane Shot options to that arrow. You decide to use the option when the arrow hits a creature, unless the option doesn’t involve an attack roll.
So in this scenario, the Monica the Monk runs on ahead, in a position where she can see Edwin the enemy mage. Archie the Archer does not have line of sight to the enemy caster. He fires his arrow at Monica the Monk, who uses her reaction to deflect it successfully.
If you catch a missile in this way, you can spend 1 ki point to make a ranged attack with the weapon or piece of ammunition you just caught, as part of the same reaction.
Let’s say the arrow (thrown as an attack by Monica the monk) now hits Edwin the enemy mage, can Archie the Arcane Archer then activate the Arcane Shot to try and affect Edwin the enemy mage with it?
I am a Blood Hunter (Critical Role class here) with the Sharpshooter and Crossbow Expert feats wielding two hand crossbows. My Crimson Rite allows me to deal an additional 1dx magical damage of some element when I make an attack with a targeted weapon. Sharpshooter simply says that you can add 10 damage to the attack, but it doesn’t specify type. I see a direct comparison to Jeremy Crawford’s ruling on Hunter’s Mark, implying I could choose the damage type of the extra damage. Am I missing some rule that contradicts my assumption?
Can a Divine Crusader that have more domains choose different spells of the same level from different domains?
For example: if I have 3 level one slots and I have the domains of Strength and Protection, can I choose to prepare two Enlarge person and one Sanctuary?
Here are the rules on underwater movement:
While climbing or swimming, each foot of movement costs 1 extra foot (2 extra feet in difficult terrain), unless a creature has a climbing or swimming speed.
I have a question related to the highlighted passage: if a creature has a swimming speed, but chooses not to use it, would their movement be penalized as per the above rules, or would they get the same benefit [no speed reduction] that creatures using their swimming speed have?
One case where this would be useful is if a character has a walking speed of 50 feet and a swim speed of 30 feet. Since the character has a swim speed, can it use its walking speed to move faster (since it no longer has to spend extra movement)?
If you multiclassed into two different spell casting classes, would the level of spells you are allowed to choose depend on your total level of spell slots or the highest you could have from the specific class? I always though it was the former but Matt Mercer disagrees. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=100wR825ImI&list=PLjJ7eKdrLY350toi0TdYGri-puOdyYCZH&index=27&t=0s
For example, if you were a wizard 3 cleric 2, would you be able to have level 1 or 2 wizard spells, and level 1 cleric spells, or up to level 3 of both.
I know a player can hold an action as per the hold action rules, but can they decide to take entire turn further down the initiative order?
If they do is this there initiative position for all subsequent turns or do they go back in order the next round?