What spells can an Arcane Trickster Rogue choose from when gaining levels?

Trying to understand how an Arcane Trickster Rogue works with regards to spell selection. In the Player’s Handbook, page 98, it says (emphasis mine):

You know three 1st-level wizard spells of your choice, two of which you must choose from the enchantment and illusion spells on the wizard spell list.

Then it goes on to say:

The spells known column of the arcane trickster spell casting table shows when you learn more wizard spells of 1st level or higher. Each of these spells must be either an enchantment or illusion spell of your choice.

Can I have spells of the other types starting at level 3 or not?

If I can only cast spells from any school at 8th level, what are the acceptable types of spells that I start out with (besides mage hand)?

How do you choose active effects when two instances of the same spell/feature overlap?

There are two slightly different rules when it comes to overlapping game features, one from the PHB (post-errata) and one from the DMG (post-errata):

PHB:

The effects of different spells add together while the durations of those spells overlap. The effects of the same spell cast multiple times don’t combine, however. Instead, the most potent effect – such as the highest bonus – from those castings applies while their durations overlap, or the most recent effect applies if the castings are equally potent and their durations overlap.

DMG:

Different game features can affect a target at the same time. But when two or more game features have the same name, only the effects of one of them—the most potent one—apply while the durations of the effects overlap.

The current answer to my question “Do the Stone Golem's Slow feature and the Slow spell combine?” states the following:

[…] Backed by the PHB’s mention of effect-based potency, I compare each individual effect two features of the same name have and then pick the strongest for each. That also constitutes that the unique parts of one feature are compared against “nothing”, meaning by virtue of existing they’d trump the lack of any counterpart in their twin […]

And goes on to apply this method to blindness/deafness allowing both effects to persist simultaneously in direct contrast to the current answer to the following: “If you cast Blindness/Deafness on the same creature twice, what conditions are applied?”

Which method of comparing two features is correct:

  1. One feature/spell is determined to be “more potent” and all effects of the other feature/spell are ignored.

  2. The effects are compared one-by-one, thus different parts of each feature/spell can be active at once.

Choose all the Reduce function solutions

I have a simple question that is related to the way to extact and use the values i obtain to plot!

I have a variable A and depending the value the following reduce operation returns 1 or 2 values.

 A = 0.5; Reduce[  {D[-A Cos[\[Theta]] + 0.5 Sin[\[Theta]]^2 -       0.01 Cos[\[Theta]], {\[Theta], 1}] == 0,   D[- A Cos[\[Theta]] + 0.5 Sin[\[Theta]]^2 -       0.01 Cos[\[Theta]], {\[Theta], 2}] > 0,    2 Pi >= \[Theta] > 0}, \[Theta], Reals]  A = 2; Reduce[  {D[-A Cos[\[Theta]] + 0.5 Sin[\[Theta]]^2 -       0.01 Cos[\[Theta]], {\[Theta], 1}] == 0,   D[- A Cos[\[Theta]] + 0.5 Sin[\[Theta]]^2 -       0.01 Cos[\[Theta]], {\[Theta], 2}] > 0,    2 Pi >= \[Theta] > 0}, \[Theta], Reals] 

RETURNS:

\[Theta] == 3.14159 || \[Theta] == 6.28319 \[Theta] == 6.28319 

If i want to plot the result of the reduce operation as function of A, how can i extract the values?

Plot[    Reduce[      {D[-A Cos[\[Theta]] + 0.5 Sin[\[Theta]]^2 -           0.01 Cos[\[Theta]], {\[Theta], 1}] == 0,       D[- A Cos[\[Theta]] + 0.5 Sin[\[Theta]]^2 -           0.01 Cos[\[Theta]], {\[Theta], 2}] > 0,        2 Pi >= \[Theta] > 0}, \[Theta], Reals][[2]], {A,-20,20}] 

If i use the [[2]] it only will plot the values obtained when there is only one solution. how can i plot all the solutions? 1 when there is only 1 and 2 when there are 2 solutions?

Thanks in advance

how we choose gradient and flat colors for creatives based on the image used or attractive color?

Creating creatives for social media or blog,

we using gradient colors or flat colors for creatives.

My question is which is the correct way to do, based on the image we need to select the color or random colors we will pick.

My Answer:

In my view is I selected colors based on the image we used in the creative.

If a Ranger chooses “fey” as their Favored Enemy, what languages can they choose from?

The ranger’s Favored Enemy feature description says:

When you gain this feature, you also learn one language of your choice that is spoken by your favored enemies, if they speak one at all

I am confused. What language options does the PHB give you to choose from?

Are you supposed to choose a respective language from the Languages table (PHB, p. 123)? Or can you pick any language that at least one type of your favored enemies speaks?

For instance, for Fey, do you have to pick Sylvan, or can you choose the Blink Dog language (since Blink Dogs are fey), Aquan or Giant (Sea Hags are fey too), Elvish (since Dryads speak Elvish), etc.?

On the one hand, Aquan/Giant/Elvish are definitely languages “spoken by your favored enemies”. On the other hand, the Languages table specifies Fey as the “typical speakers” of the Sylvan language. Also, the latter doesn’t work well with the “language of your choice” part, turning the “choice” into a moot point.

Does the multilingual feat allow me to choose a language I don’t have access to?

The Pathfinder 2e multilingual feat says:

You easily pick up new languages. You learn two new languages, chosen from common languages, uncommon languages, and any others you have access to.

Uncommon character options, including languages, require some special feature to access. For example, Gnome Weapon Training grants access to Gnome weapons.

Does the multilingual feat allow a player to access an uncommon language that they don’t have access to? The text of the feat says you can choose from “uncommon languages”, it’s just surprising to me that a player could get carte blanche access to any language they want.

While riding a mount summoned by Find Steed, when does the caster choose whether the mount is controlled or independent?

Other Q&As on RPG.SE have discussed the by-now-familiar rules for mounted combat, including the differences between controlled and independent mounts. See, e.g., When can you choose to control a mount? Mounts summoned via find steed, however, are a special case. Per this 2018 guidance from Jeremy Crawford,

when you ride the mount [summoned via find steed] in combat, you decide whether it follows the rules for a controlled or an independent mount.

What remains unclear, however, is precisely when a caster who is already mounted on the summoned steed may, or must, make that choice. For example, it could be:

  • When the DM calls for initiative rolls.
  • Only on the caster’s first turn.
  • Only the mount’s first turn.
  • On any turn the caster takes.
  • On any turn the mount takes.
  • On any turn whatsoever.

Some of these options would require the caster to choose only once and stick with it. Others would conceivably let the caster change her mind each round, or even multiple times each round. Which (if any) is the correct way to handle mount control using find steed?

Does an envoy warforged have to choose a specific vehicle?

We know from the accepted answer to this question that envoy warforged can choose a vehicle for their integrated tool. However, on the table on page 154 of the Player’s Handbook, “Vehicles (land or water)” is listed as one type of tool.

So, question(s):

  1. Can the warforged choose the vehicle type each time they use the ability(longboat, rowboat, etc.)

  2. If the answer to the previous question is yes, does the warforged have to choose land or water vehicles at character creation, or can they use both interchangeably (because “Vehicles (land or water)” is listed as one type of tool, but uses “or”, which can be inclusive or exclusive)?