Who chooses how a course of action given by Suggestion is pursued when cast on PC? Player or DM?

Sub-questions:

Do Suggestion’s suggested activities need to be pursued immediately, at the expense of anything else?

Can the DM decide that the influence of Suggestion sets limits on action economy, like some conditions?

My scenario:

I’m a player. Party is surprised by a group of enemies. I’m on watch outside, rest of the party’s inside asleep. After being hit with three arrows and yelling the party awake, I fail the check against the caster’s Suggestion, who says “you’ve been invited to meet our leader, accept the invitation and come with me to the palace.” Being a loyal group-oriented type, my character asks if he can bring his friends. Caster says yes. Meanwhile, baddies are laying into the folks inside pretty hard, some of which I can see.

Now, I’m into it and ready to role-play trying to get the party to leave with our “escorts”, but when my turn comes, DM says that I cannot take any actions or move in any direction other than towards the palace (wherever that is) or to get within 5ft of the caster (who is already next to me). Instead I must hold an action to Dash towards the caster if she moves, apparently because she said “come with me.” What I think my character understood from her words (i.e. that we were getting ready for a trip together) and how they would pursue it (go in to break up camp, admonish my imperiled friends for dallying), does not sway DM, who calls this a “judgement call.”

This kinda killed the session for me, and it continues to irk me for a few reasons:

  1. As a player I totally rolled with a borderline unreasonable suggestion (i.e. stop fighting and cooperate with people who pincushioned me seconds before and were actively firing on my allies), had a character-specific plan for pursuing it, and was denied the opportunity to role-play;

  2. The idea that “come with me to the palace” means “cleave to my side and do nothing else” is ridiculous (is it normal to get next your companions, even when they aren’t leaving yet?), especially after my character got permission to bring a friend.

  3. I have just never encountered Suggestion being used this way – as in, having a specific mechanical effect with consequences for action economy like the Command spell or Fear does, and there’s no language about it in the spell as written.

Now, there is the “rule of fun” which was obviously broken for me, but there is also the more objective question of the actual rules of the spell, and it seems to come down to a lack of clarity on who gets to decide how a Suggestion is resolved. I’ve found a lot of discussion on what’s a “reasonable” suggestion to begin with, but no satisfying answers on this part. When PCs cast on NPCs, DM obviously decides NPC’s interpretation and any behavior that isn’t made explicit by the PC, but what about the other way around?

I get preventing players from specifically counteracting the suggestion or delaying it too long, but this seemed absurd. What if I had left all my weapons and money inside, could I not go fetch them? What if some gnolls attacked on the way there? Should I not take any attack actions then? In combat, even if a player’s whole turn should be used with the suggestion as the main goal, should the player still get to select an action/movement that they think achieves it (and therefore possibly go get the money or kill the gnolls blocking the way)?

And can a player supply their character’s interpretation of the Suggestion, provided they do so in good faith? I know there’s a degree of DM discretion in all things, but this scenario seemed to me like a straight-up wrong interpretation of the spell and I would like to know if this is the case or if it really is just a judgement call.

Dijkstra’s algorithm chooses the closest unvisited node to visit next, what would happen if we didn’t do this?

Why is it necessary to always choose the closest vertex to the source to visit next?

Say instead of picking the closest vertex I pick the furthest. Can someone give an example of a graph where this would give the wrong answer?

If a Ranger chooses “fey” as their Favored Enemy, what languages can they choose from?

The ranger’s Favored Enemy feature description says:

When you gain this feature, you also learn one language of your choice that is spoken by your favored enemies, if they speak one at all

I am confused. What language options does the PHB give you to choose from?

Are you supposed to choose a respective language from the Languages table (PHB, p. 123)? Or can you pick any language that at least one type of your favored enemies speaks?

For instance, for Fey, do you have to pick Sylvan, or can you choose the Blink Dog language (since Blink Dogs are fey), Aquan or Giant (Sea Hags are fey too), Elvish (since Dryads speak Elvish), etc.?

On the one hand, Aquan/Giant/Elvish are definitely languages “spoken by your favored enemies”. On the other hand, the Languages table specifies Fey as the “typical speakers” of the Sylvan language. Also, the latter doesn’t work well with the “language of your choice” part, turning the “choice” into a moot point.

Can I set the value of field for a custom list based on which custom form a user chooses?

New developer. Be gentle, please.

Constraints: I am using SharePoint Designer and SharePoint 2010 behind a firewall so I can’t upload pretty much anything without going to my helpdesk and getting a tech person to do it for me.

Situation: We track “Activities”. There are many points of origin for an Activity request. Different clients give us different information and are going to need custom forms (custom new item forms created through SPD). However, all these forms will create new items for the same custom list, “Activity Management”, and I have workflows already in place to create a new Activity Number each time one is created based on a batch of other stuff that is probably not super relevant. All these workflows were designed for only 1 custom form, though.

I need to create a second form and have it not trigger some of my workflows at this time. My idea is to have my new custom New form auto-fill/pre-populate on load/etc a field that identifies which form it is. Then I just have to make a condition at the top of my workflow to not activate for that form. Then we can do it later by changing that field to a value of my choice, now triggering the desired workflow.

I just can’t figure out how to simply set the value of a field within the html of the form – not hiding anything, not making the field a cascading anything, nothing fancy. I have a default inside the SharePoint List Settings that is “No Form” for when I do things manually. Once I figure this out for this form, I’ll imitate it for each custom Change or Activity request. And we can have as many entry points as my bosses need…

Potential Paths to a Solution: Can I do this within table row itself?

               <tr>                     <td width="190px" valign="top" class="ms-formlabel">                         <H3 class="ms-standardheader">                             <nobr>Form Used</nobr>                         </H3>                     </td>                     <td width="400px" valign="top" class="ms-formbody">                         <SharePoint:FormField runat="server" id="ff95{$  Pos}" ControlMode="New" FieldName="Form_x0020_Used"  __designer:bind="{ddwrt:DataBind('i',concat('ff95',$  Pos),'Value','ValueChanged','ID',ddwrt:EscapeDelims(string(@ID)),'@Form_x0020_Used')}"/>                         <SharePoint:FieldDescription runat="server" id="ff95description{$  Pos}" FieldName="Form_x0020_Used" ControlMode="New"/>                     </td>                 </tr> 

Or, maybe there is a really nifty javascript thing that could be used…

<script type="text/javascript" language="javascript">     function setff95() {         Something     } </script> 

Clarification: Paladin falls and chooses not to take the oath breaker class

tl;dr: How do you handle a fallen paladin who wants to take a new class rather than the oathbreaker devotion.

I have a level 6 player who wanted to play a lawful good aasimar paladin (oath of devotion). Then they decided they wanted to be an alchemist (fine, no problem). Then they decided they wanted to be a serial killer who murders anyone who annoys them for alchemy components (wait, what??)

I got them to agree to go from lawful good to lawful neutral IF they agreed only to kill evil people (murderers, etc) AND they could justify that their alchemy was to achieve the main goal of stopping the great evils of the world, and not just for personal gain. But that’s not really what they want the character to be…and they don’t want to create a new character.

They also agreed that they’re ok not being a paladin anymore. So most paladin’s can either choose a new class or become an oathbreaker, if they break their oath.

So my question is, if they pick a new class (say wizard), should it be treated like multiclassing where they’re a level 6 paladin that can’t do oath or paladin spells (but still have the proficiencies and stuff) and a level 1 wizard (when they level up to 7, of course). Or should they lose all proficiencies, abilities, etc. from being a Paladin and become a level 6 wizard (makes less sense). Or should they be dropped to a level 1 wizard and be stripped of all paladin stuff?

Clarification: Paladin falls and chooses not to take the oath breaker class

tl;dr: How do you handle a fallen paladin who wants to take a new class rather than the oathbreaker devotion.

I have a level 6 player who wanted to play a lawful good aasimar paladin (oath of devotion). Then they decided they wanted to be an alchemist (fine, no problem). Then they decided they wanted to be a serial killer who murders anyone who annoys them for alchemy components (wait, what??)

I got them to agree to go from lawful good to lawful neutral IF they agreed only to kill evil people (murderers, etc) AND they could justify that their alchemy was to achieve the main goal of stopping the great evils of the world, and not just for personal gain. But that’s not really what they want the character to be…and they don’t want to create a new character.

They also agreed that they’re ok not being a paladin anymore. So most paladin’s can either choose a new class or become an oathbreaker, if they break their oath.

So my question is, if they pick a new class (say wizard), should it be treated like multiclassing where they’re a level 6 paladin that can’t do oath or paladin spells (but still have the proficiencies and stuff) and a level 1 wizard (when they level up to 7, of course). Or should they lose all proficiencies, abilities, etc. from being a Paladin and become a level 6 wizard (makes less sense). Or should they be dropped to a level 1 wizard and be stripped of all paladin stuff?

Clarification: Paladin falls and chooses not to take the oath breaker class – D&D 5e

tl;dr: How do you handle a fallen paladin who wants to take a new class rather than the oathbreaker devotion.

I have a level 6 player who wanted to play a lawful good aasimar paladin (oath of devotion). Then they decided they wanted to be an alchemist (fine, no problem). Then they decided they wanted to be a serial killer who murders anyone who annoys them for alchemy components (wait, what??)

I got them to agree to go from lawful good to lawful neutral IF they agreed only to kill evil people (murderers, etc) AND they could justify that their alchemy was to achieve the main goal of stopping the great evils of the world, and not just for personal gain. But that’s not really what they want the character to be…and they don’t want to create a new character.

They also agreed that they’re ok not being a paladin anymore. So most paladin’s can either choose a new class or become an oathbreaker, if they break their oath.

So my question is, if they pick a new class (say wizard), should it be treated like multiclassing where they’re a level 6 paladin that can’t do oath or paladin spells (but still have the proficiencies and stuff) and a level 1 wizard (when they level up to 7, of course). Or should they lose all proficiencies, abilities, etc. from being a Paladin and become a level 6 wizard (makes less sense). Or should they be dropped to a level 1 wizard and be stripped of all paladin stuff?

Clarification: Paladin falls and chooses not to take the oath breaker class – D&D 5e

tl;dr: How do you handle a fallen paladin who wants to take a new class rather than the oathbreaker devotion.

I have a level 6 player who wanted to play a lawful good aasimar paladin (oath of devotion). Then they decided they wanted to be an alchemist (fine, no problem). Then they decided they wanted to be a serial killer who murders anyone who annoys them for alchemy components (wait, what??)

I got them to agree to go from lawful good to lawful neutral IF they agreed only to kill evil people (murderers, etc) AND they could justify that their alchemy was to achieve the main goal of stopping the great evils of the world, and not just for personal gain. But that’s not really what they want the character to be…and they don’t want to create a new character.

They also agreed that they’re ok not being a paladin anymore. So most paladin’s can either choose a new class or become an oathbreaker, if they break their oath.

So my question is, if they pick a new class (say wizard), should it be treated like multiclassing where they’re a level 6 paladin that can’t do oath or paladin spells (but still have the proficiencies and stuff) and a level 1 wizard (when they level up to 7, of course). Or should they lose all proficiencies, abilities, etc. from being a Paladin and become a level 6 wizard (makes less sense). Or should they be dropped to a level 1 wizard and be stripped of all paladin stuff?

A bard who chooses to prepare a spell?

This question is asked out of curiosity as I’m considering whether to place a high level magic item in my epic level game. On page 28 of the PHB under the bard ‘spells’ section it states

As noted above, a bard need not prepare his spells in advance.

Emphasis ‘need not’, could a bard choose to prepare spells in advance and thereby gain the benefit of Vest of the Archmagi page 145 Magic Item Compendium:

…and that it allows him to recall up to three arcane spells that he had previously prepared and cast (as a pearl of power, except that it can be used for any spell up to 9th level and activating it requires only a swift action).

Pearl of Power page 263 DMG states:

…Once per day on command, a pearl of power enables the possessor to recall any one spell that she had prepared and then cast. The spell is then prepared again, just as if it had not been cast.

Note I’m aware of ‘Memento Magica’ from the Magic Item Compendium, this is not an ‘asking for solutions’ type question, instead I am interested to determine if by RAW that a) A bard may choose to prepare spells? and b) Is that sufficient to enable the benefit of items such as a pearl of power and a vest of the archmagi?