Warforged Cleric of the Forge starting with too much HP… why?

Created a Warforged Cleric of the Forge, Using the official D&D Beyond tool. It came out with 15hp at level 1. Where did the extra 4hp came from? I have a 17 CON for a +3 bonus, so it should be 8+3=11, yeah? I also re-made him using the Fight Club iOS app, and in there he shows up with 11hp. What am I missing?

Here’s a link to my character sheet: https://ddb.ac/characters/31270418/bpyQtf

Warding Bond: What is the Order of Operations for calculating cleric damage taken?

The warding bond spell allows a support character (cleric) to buff another creature (Basic Rules p. 105):

While the target is within 60 feet of you, it gains a +1 bonus to AC and saving throws, and it has resistance to all damage. Also, each time it takes damage, you take the same amount of damage.

What is the Order of Operations used to arrive at the final damage that the cleric receives as his share?

Resistance rules brought this up (Basic Rules, p. 75) as we hoped to Ward a raged Barb – MEGA Tank – until our DM reminded us that you don’t double stack like resistances (PHB, p. 197).

If a creature or an object has resistance to a damage type, damage of that type is halved against it.

I’ll be buffing our Paladin.
Two cases:

  1. Weapon damage (a hammer blow, a claw strike, gored by a gorgon …)
  2. Damage where a saving throw versus magical damage (usually a spell or spell like effect) is required.

Case 1. I stay 30′ behind Paladin. Giant scores a hit, doing 16 points of bludgeoning damage. Warding Bond (resistance) reduces that to 8. I take 8 HP.

Case 2. The Wizard whom the Giant serves fireballs the Paladin on his action. (I am outside blast radius). Rolled damage is 24, Fire. Paladin has resistance to all damage (from Bond) thus 24 is halved to 12. He rolls a saving throw, and succeeds with a 17. He takes 6 damage. I take 6 damage.

My view is that we can’t assign damage to Cleric until we know total damage to Paladin.

Paladin and I weren’t sure about the case of fireball: should it be different from the Giant’s hammer, since you don’t get a save versus melee weapon damage? With fireball reduced damage (from resistance) at 12, do I take 12 unless I too save versus fire as the Paladin did?

I don’t think so. It seems to violate the KISS principle. But, the Bond ties the cleric magically to the Paladin. Is magic going to follow that path of least resistance?

Do I have the order of operations right?

  1. First resolve all damage to Paladin.
  2. Then apply that amount to Cleric.

Is there something we missed that would support the other order of operations?

Would it be unbalanced to let a Tempest Cleric replace one of their domain spells for the 4th-level spell Storm Sphere?

I wanted to pick your DM brains about allowing a Cleric of the Tempest domain to swap one of their domain spells.

One of the players in our campaign would like to swap Control Water (PHB, p.227) for Storm Sphere (XGtE, p.166). It seems to be in line with the whole flavour of a Tempest Cleric and they are both 4th-level spells.

Note: Storm Sphere appears in Xanathar’s Guide to Everything, so it had not been published at the time when the Tempest domain was published.

Would it be unbalanced to allow this spell swap for the Tempest cleric’s domain spells?

I would really appreciate any answers that draw on own experience of allowing tweaks for a Cleric domain spells.

Can a level 17 Aasimar Light Domain Cleric cause every saving throw for their damaging spells to be made with disadvantage?

Reading through the features of the light domain Cleric I’ve discovered:

Corona of Light which states (Emphasis added):

Starting at 17th level, you can use your action to activate an aura of sunlight that lasts for 1 minute or until you dismiss it using another action. You emit bright light in a 60-foot radius and dim light 30 feet beyond that. Your enemies in the bright light have disadvantage on saving throws against any spell that deals fire or radiant damage.

Now the Aasimar race has subrace racial features that allow them to add radiant damage to any spell that deals damage, which causes that spell to now do radiant damage as well as their normal damage.

These features are: Radiant Soul and Radiant Consumption

Which both state (Emphasis added):

You can deal extra radiant damage to one target when you deal damage to it with an attack or a spell

So if you combine these two features you can cause any damage dealing spell saving throw to be made at disadvantage. As far as I know this all perfectly works RAW. What I want to know is if there is any rule (excluding adventure league rules) I am forgetting that would prevent me from using this combination in games?

Does taking the Domain Initiate cleric feat a second time give a second focus point?

Under Focus Points from Multiple Sources the book reads:

It’s possible, especially through archetypes, to gain focus spells and Focus Points from more than one source. If this happens, you have just one focus pool, adding all the Focus Points together to determine the total size of your pool. (Remember that the maximum number of Focus Points a pool can have is 3.) If you have multiple abilities that give you a focus pool, each one adds 1 Focus Point to your pool. (Core Rulebook pg. 300)

It’s not clear to me if taking the same feat multiple times counts as more than one source, or multiple abilities, for the sake of getting an additional focus point. Specifically, the Domain Initiate cleric feat doesn’t seem to mention anything on the issue.

The Domain Initiate cleric feat reads:

Special You can select this feat multiple times, selecting a different domain each time and gaining its domain spell. (Core Rulebook pg. 121)

Can a Trickery Cleric cast spells through their duplicate when the Cleric would normally be unable to cast spells?

Inspired by this question, can a Trickery Domain Cleric get around effects that would normally prevent the Cleric from casting if they move their Invoked Duplicate outside of the effect?

As a concrete example; the Cleric (Bob) gets into a battle with another spell caster (Daryl). Daryl wants to keep Bob at bay and casts Silence trapping Bob in a soundproof area. Daryl invokes his duplicate (no sound required) and has the duplicate run out of the range of the Silence spell to attack Daryl.

So with Bob in the radius of a Silence spell, can he cast spells via his duplicate that is outside of the spell effect?

Per the spell description:

For the duration, you can cast spells as though you were in the illusion’s space, but you must use your own senses.

So Bob casts as if he was in the illusion’s space, not effected by Silence. And “talking” isn’t a “sense” like vision or hearing. So that should not be an issue.

Can Bob hit Daryl with an Inflict Wounds to try and break Daryl’s concentration and lower the Silence spell?

Can you (as a druid/trickery domain cleric) invoke duplicity, wild shape, and then cast spells through the illusion?

I am Dming a DnD 5e game. I have a player who is trying this out. My thoughts are wild shape says you can’t cast spells, and tricky domain says you cast spells as though you were in their space. So RAW it seems you can’t. Their argument was…

I was thinking you can’t cast spells because you don’t have hands or a way to do the verbal components, but since you control the duplicate at will, then you should be able to have IT do the Verbal/Somatic stuff.

Thoughts? I’m pretty sure RAW its not allowed, do you think it would create an unbalance to allow it?

Catalogues of Enlightenment: What’s a creature’s cleric level when it has none?

The touchstone site Catalogues of Enlightenment (Planar Handbook 166-7) grants this as its base ability: “Choose a cleric domain; you gain the granted power of that domain.” Further, the Catalogues grants this as its higher order ability:

Once per day, you may cast a spell from the cleric domain you have chosen, as though you had prepared the spell normally. You must be of sufficient character level to cast the spell and have a Wisdom equal to 10 + the spell’s level. (167)

(So you know, while that could be awesome (see below), a creature can employ this higher-order ability only 3 times—ever—before needing to go back to Mechanus’s Fortress of Enlightenment and spend, usually, several weeks recharging the special ability.) Earlier the text says, “All higher-order abilities are considered either supernatural or spell-like, as indicated in each ability’s description” (154). Obviously, this higher order ability’s description doesn’t indicate it’s a spell-like or supernatural ability, and, instead, the creature appears to be casting spells normally. But I don’t know.

Questions

  1. Is a creature’s effective cleric level for the granted power of the picked domain its hit dice (as per a typical spell-like and supernatural ability: “If no caster level is specified, the caster level is equal to the creature’s Hit Dice” (MM 315)) or is the creature’s cleric level its actual cleric level (which, in most cases, is nonexistent)? Or is there another option?

    For example, a creature with no cleric levels picks for its feat Planar Touchstone1 the touchstone site Catalogues of Enlightenment and picks the domain Travel (PH 188-9). Does the domain’s granted power—the freedom of movement-like effect against magical effects—occur automatically for a number of rounds per day equal to either the creature’s Hit Dice or the creature’s cleric level (hence no rounds)?

  2. Is the higher order ability a spell-like or supernatural ability? Is the higher order ability, instead, the ability to actually cast spells? Or is the higher order ability merely granting access to different spells?

    If the higher order ability is spell-like or supernatural, this becomes much less of an issue. As mentioned above, a creature’s Hit Dice then equals its caster level. But, when the higher order ability says that a creature must be of “sufficient character level to cast the spell,” is that just code for the creature possessing, for example, at least 1 HD to cast a 1st-level spell, 3 HD to cast a 2nd-level spell, 5 HD to cast a 3rd-level spell, and so on, as if the creature were using its Hit Dice as its virtual cleric level? (That is, alternatively, for example, can a creature Dumpster-dive through standard and prestige classes that get access earlier to spells the picked domain grants and cast such spells earlier than likely expected if the creature possesses sufficient Wisdom?)

    But I don’t know if the phrase as though you had prepared the spell normally is descriptive or prescriptive. If it’s descriptive, that’s fine, and these virtual spells can go back to being spell-like or supernatural abilities. But if it’s prescriptive, a creature might, instead, need to have already the ability to cast spells (that is, its own casting class, caster level, and spell slots), and the Catalogues’ spells can be cast only as substitutes for the creature’s existing spells.

    For example, the creature above possesses 17 Hit Dice and Wisdom 19 yet no capacity to cast spells.2 Can the creature cast 1/day three times per recharge employ the spell astral projecton?

Context: The creature in question is an advanced marut inevitable (usually 15 HD and Wis 17, this one 22 HD and Wis 19) that’s an opponent for some (surprise!) high-level PCs. I wanted to give it a bit more oomph by providing the creature with some spells. I was considering the Spell Compendium domain Inquisition (275-6).


1 Or, more likely, the feat Touchstone (Sandstorm 53) because it’s easier to meet that feat’s prerequisites (i.e. break a 250 gp object).
2 Obviously, the creature is an NPC.

Is this “Fortune Domain” Cleric subclass balanced?

This subclass was initially conceived of as a complement to the Order domain. It evolved from being focused around chaos and disorder to emphasizing luck and randomness, instead. The end result is a subclass with several features revolving around advantage and disadvantage, meant to be a reflection of modifying the odds of a particular outcome.

Most of the features were created as modified versions of other cleric domain features. However, I’m not very experienced in creating homebrew content, and would like to know if the overall subclass is balanced.


Fortune Domain

Fortune domain spells

Cleric level     Spells 1                Chaos Bolt, Ray of Sickness 3                Enhance Ability, Mirror Image 5                Bestow Curse, Blink 7                Confusion, Freedom of Movement 9                Contagion, Skill Empowerment 

Most spells were taken for flavor reasons, involving rolling extra dice or improving ability rolls. Ray of Sickness, Bestow Curse, and Contagion were selected as sources of disadvantage, which are important for other class features.

Unfortunate Itch

When you choose this domain at 1st level, you learn the Infestation cantrip. For you, it counts as a cleric cantrip, and doesn’t count against the number of cleric cantrips you know. Also, when you cast Infestation, the movement caused can provoke opportunity attacks.

I added a bonus cantrip in order to match with the Light and Grave domains. Infestation deals less damage than Toll the Dead on average, although on a separate save ability. The ability to trigger opportunity attacks should not happen very often.

Luck In

At 1st level, you gain the ability to bend the odds in a favorable way. You can spend a bonus action to give a creature within 30 feet of you that you can see advantage on their next attack roll before the start of your next turn.

You can use this feature a number of times equal to your Wisdom modifier (minimum of once). You regain all expended uses when you finish a long rest.

This feature was created as a heavily modified version of Warding Flare, from the Light domain. I figured that giving advantage on one attack is slightly better than giving disadvantage on one attack, but the cost being a bonus action instead of an action is slightly higher.

Channel Divinity: Fortune’s Favor

Starting at 2nd level, you can use your Channel Divinity to change ill fortune into good.

When you roll damage for a spell, you can use your Channel Divinity to roll an extra damage die for each damage die that shows a 1 or a 2. For each extra damage die that rolls a 1 or a 2, roll another extra damage die. You can use this ability after the damage is already rolled, but only once per damage roll.

This feature was intended to act similarly to Destructive Wrath, from the Tempest domain. Fortune’s Favor is less situational, applying to any damage roll, but does not increase the damage as much on average. The specification for spell damage is to avoid any strange interactions with Great Weapon Fighting.

Luck Out

Starting at 6th level, you gain the ability protect yourself and others by altering the odds. When a creature within 30 feet of you that you can see has disadvantage on an attack roll, you can spend your reaction to use your Luck In feature and cause that attack to miss.

This is again based off of the Light domain feature of similar level. Luck Out is meant to be a more situational version of Improved Warding Flare that is slightly more powerful.

Potent Spellcasting

Starting at 8th level, you add your Wisdom modifier to the damage you deal with any Cleric cantrip.

All cleric subclasses that I have seen have either potent spellcasting or divine strike as their 8th level feature. As I expect this subclass to rely more upon cantrips than melee, I selected potent spellcasting.

Fortune’s Fury

Starting at 17th level, you can use your action to activate an aura of misfortune that lasts for 1 minute or until you dismiss it using another action. The aura extends 30 feet out from you, and your enemies within this aura have disadvantage on all attack rolls and ability checks.

Once you use this feature, you can’t use it again until you finish a long rest.

This is yet again based on the Light domain feature of similar level. The ability is significantly more powerful, but is only usable once per long rest.


There are several features that I am concerned about the balance of in this subclass. Luck Out and Fortune’s Favor trade what I believe are approximately equivalent values between situationality and power, but I am unsure of my evaluation. Luck In and Fortune’s Fury are very different from the original features they were based upon, which makes evaluating them difficult for me. Beyond that, I don’t know how well these features interact with each other, or with other class features.

Is this subclass balanced, compared to other cleric subclasses?