How does a cleric’s Destroy Undead work in 5e?

Just to make sure this is all RAW:

A level 5 Cleric uses it’s one channel divinity to cast Turn Undead. The zombies in the area that fail the save are instantly destroyed. The zombies that passed are now turned and will move as far away as possible during their turn.

My question is if a higher challenge rating undead is in the area which of these statements are correct?

  1. The higher CR undead fails the save and starts turning/The higher CR undead passes the save and is unaffected.

  2. The higher CR is unaffected either way.

Former or latter?

Does the Grave Cleric’s “Path to the Grave” feature override an immunity of a creature?

Let’s say a creature (like a devil) is normally immune to fire damage. The unfortunate devil is within 30ft of a Grave Cleric and their Sorcerer friend.

The Grave Cleric uses their Path to the grave feature:

As an action, you choose one creature you can see within 30ft of you, cursing it until the end of your next turn. The next time you or an ally of yours hits the cursed creature with an attack, the creature has vulnerability to all of that attack’s damage, and then the curse ends.

Is the devil still immune? Or are they instead vulnerable to the damage?

To put it another way, does the Path to the Grave replace the immunity with a vulnerability? Or does it add a vulnerability on top of the immunity?

Clerics and Shields Part II: a question about casting a spell while wielding a shield

Clerics and Shields Part II: a question about casting a spell while wielding a shield.

I have a doubt about this. I have had various answers and they contradict each other so I would like some clarity on this.

I am a Cleric, I have a shield, I want to wear my shield in battle to benefit from the +2 AC and I want to be able to cast spells.

Is a Cleric who is a) proficient in Shields and b) trying to cast a spell with a somatic component able to do so, if they only have one hand free?

That is, without having to doff the shield and suffering an AC penalty. I seem to remember there being a rule about needing to have at least one hand free to cast spells?

Thanks for your help with this.

Clerics and Shields: a question about casting spells and shoving in the same turn while wielding a shield

Clerics and Shields: a question about casting spells and shoving in the same turn while wielding a shield.

I have a doubt about this. I have had various answers and they contradict each other so I would like some clarity on this question please. Some said “yes to shove, no to casting”, others said “yes to both” and someone said “yes to either, but not both”. I’m confused.

The crux is that I am a Cleric, I have a shield, I want to wear my shield in battle to benefit from the +2 AC and I want to use my feat in the same turn as casting a spell, without getting penalised.

Is a Cleric who is a) proficient in Shields, and b) trying to cast a spell with a somatic components, able to do so?

That is, without having to doff the shield and suffer the AC penalty. I seem to remember there being a rule about needing to have at least one hand free to cast spells?

Secondly, while having the Shield Master feat, would being able to shove a creature still work?

For example, I cast a cantrip with my action, use my bonus action to shove the creature which is 5 feet from me, and then use my movement to get away without triggering an attack of opportunity.

Thanks for your help with this.

SHIELD MASTER

You use shields not just for protection but also for offense. You gain the following benefits while you are wielding a shield:

• If you take the Attack action on your turn, you can use a bonus action to try to shove a creature within 5 feet of you with your shield.

• If you aren’t incapacitated, you can add your shield’s AC bonus to any Dexterity saving throw you make against a spell or other harmful effect that targets only you.

• If you are subjected to an effect that allows you to make a Dexterity saving throw to take only half damage, you can use your reaction to take no damage if you succeed on the saving throw, interposing your shield between yourself and the source of the effect.

(PHB p. 170)

If I learn Chill Touch from the Death Cleric’s Reaper ability, does it count as a Cleric cantrip?

The first level feature of the Death Cleric, called Reaper, does the following:

At 1st level, you learn one necromancy cantrip of your choice from any spell list.

If the Death Cleric takes Chill Touch from the Sorcerer/Wizard/Warlock spell list, does Chill Touch become a Cleric cantrip that uses WIS as the spellcasting ability?

How does Healing Spirit interact with a Cleric’s Disciple of Life feature?

How does Healing Spirit interact with a Cleric’s Disciple of Life feature?

This is a multi-class question regarding the possibly synergy between the Druid/Ranger spell Healing Spirit and the domain feature Disciple of Life (DoL) from the a Cleric’s Life Domain.

Can Healing Spirit benefit from a Cleric’s DoL domain feature? – i.e. an additional 2 + spell level.

Disciple of Life Also starting at 1st level, your healing spells are more effective. Whenever you use a spell of 1st level or higher to restore hit points to a creature, the creature regains additional hit points equal to 2 + the spell’s level. (PHB p. 60)

Healing Spirit “Until the spell ends, whenever you or a creature you can see moves into the spirits space for the first time on a turn or starts its turn there, you can cause the spirit to restore ld6 hit points to that creature (no action required).” (XGE p. 157)

I appreciate suggestions, including whether it is a DM’s call on how to interpret the interaction.

Can a Sentinel Shield Be Painted With A Cleric’s Holy Symbol?

In a campaign I’m DM’ing, I’m planning to leave out some good loot for the players next week to reward them for completing the first part of the campaign. I want some of the loot to also be helpful to them with a difficult challenge in the next part of the campaign.

One of the players is a Life Cleric.

I’m thinking about giving the party a Sentinel Shield.

Since the Life Cleric is the only one in their party who can wield a shield, the party will almost definitely give the Sentinel Shield to the Life Cleric.

Honestly, the cleric is the main reason I’m thinking of giving it to them, though I recognize that they can do whatever they want to with it.

Here’s the question I expect will come up right away.

The cleric picked up the War Caster feat as soon as he could and then he had his holy symbol painted on his starter shield. The Sentinel Shield is described as having an “eye” emblazoned on it. I assume the eye represents the watchful alertness provided by the shield that results in the advantage on Initiative rolls and Perception checks that result when the shield is equipped.

Can the cleric paint his holy symbol on the Sentinel Shield?

On the one hand, it’s magical and maybe it can’t be easily defaced with paint, particularly not if the eye on a Sentinel Shield is what’s being painted over.

On the other hand, a divine holy symbol would be what’s being painted on the shield.

I suspect they’ll assume it’s doable.

If it is doable, will defacing the eye with a divine symbol damage the watchful alertness provided to the user of the shield?

Maybe the cleric can paint his symbol on the non-Eye side, but isn’t that side still magical so that it can’t be easily defaced?

Can clerics use swords?

My DM, who hasn’t played newer versions of D&D, was asking if my cleric was allowed to use sharp weapons. I double checked the descriptions and didn’t see anything like this written there, but now I am doubting myself.

Can my wood elf cleric use a sword?

Would the Life Cleric’s Disciple of Life feature work with the Necromancer Wizard’s Grim Harvest feature?

The Life Domain cleric’s Disciple of Life feature (PHB, p. 60) says:

Also starting at 1st level, your healing spells are more effective. Whenever you use a spell of 1st level or higher to restore hit points to a creature, the creature regains additional hit points equal to 2 + the spell’s level.

The School of Necromancy wizard’s Grim Harvest feature (PHB, p. 118) says:

At 2nd level, you gain the ability to reap life energy from creatures you kill with your spells. Once per turn when you kill one or more creatures with a spell of 1st level or higher, you regain hit points equal to twice the spell’s level, or three times its level if the spell belongs to the School of Necromancy. You don’t gain this benefit for killing constructs or undead.

Would the Life Cleric’s Disciple of Life feature work with the Necromancer Wizard’s Grim Harvest feature?

For instance, if I’m due to get 8 HP from Grim Harvest for killing a mob with a level 4 Spirit Guardians spell, do I get an extra 6 HP thanks to Disciple of Life?