Does this build make it possible to use two concentration spells at once? [closed]

My DM told me to make a 2nd level character, which he approved, and it was a wizard 1, sorcerer 1 with draconic bloodline. I was a dragonborn so I thought I could be a melee wizard with some fun little caster tricks when I stumbled upon this new trick.

I planned to make the character Wiz10/Sor10, using tenser’s transformation. I wanted a weapon to enchant myself, so I planned for a greatsword, with glyph of warding. Of course the glyph can only move 10 ft, so it didn’t seem very practical at the time… until I thought of something.

The bag of holding. It seemed like the perfect idea, but it was too big, eventually I came across the handy haversack, and since it makes an extra-dimensional space, the glyph wouldn’t technically move.

So if you have a weapon enchant it and its hilt with Tenser’s transformation and another self-concentration spell, quicken-step metamagic another concentration spell, could you use three different concentration spells at once. Given that you set the activation requirement to a command word and drawing the sword?

Can you maintain concentration through a short rest?

Due to the long duration on Hex, it is clearly intended to function across multiple encounters as described in this answer.

Due to the extended duration, it seems feasible that a warlock could take a short rest to recover their spell slot and thus go into a future combat with a Hex at the ready and a full assortment of spell slots. Is this correct? RAW do not appear to prohibit this.

as a Sorcerer, given that I can’t multiclass or take feats, how successful can I be at passing concentration checks starting at level 15 [closed]

I’m doing a melee sorcerer, but I’m afraid of losing my concentration in combat because in the higher levels the damage is too big and the concentration check is too difficult.
My campaign dosen’t allow feats and multiclassing, only ASI.
Is the haste spell worth it at higher levels?

not worth it to cast only to lose it in one round because I was hit and lost concentration – that’s what I mean by "Is it worth it?"

dex- (+2) str- (+2) / int – (0) / wis- (-1) / const (+5)

prof- (+5)

Can a targetted Dispel Magic end a spell with a duration of concentration?

There are only a handful of spells with a duration of concentration and most of them.

While these spells are active, can the caster be subject to a Targeted version of Dispel Magic that does not aim at a spell, but rather the creature (presumably with the intention of ending all spells on that creature). Ostensibly, is the Concentration spell considered to be ‘on’ the caster?

For example, the Implosion spell has a duration of Concentration, which suggests that the caster is actively maintaining a magical effect (which they’re using to smush others into goo). Given that others may be averse to being smushed into goo, could another character target the caster of Implosion with Dispel Magic to end that spell along with any other beneficial spells that the caster may’ve set up?

Reverse Gravity: dropping concentration mid fall

When you cast the spell Reverse Gravity, creatures start falling upwards into the air. Assuming that there is nothing in their way the spell must somehow halt their momentum when they reach the top of it, as the spell says "If an object or creature reaches the top of the area without striking anything, it remains there, oscillating slightly, for the duration." If it didn’t halt their momentum somehow, they would fall up into normal gravity for another 100 feet or so, and then almost all the way back to the ground (with real world physics anyway; air resistance would be the only thing that slowed them down, and that would only remove about 5 feet worth of momentum per 100ft fall- I did the math).

Because of this I’m assuming that the spell stops momentum when the creatures hit the top of the spell area somehow.

But what happens if you drop concentration on the spell while they are falling upwards? The condition "If an object or creature reaches the top of the area without striking anything" no longer applies, as the spell isn’t in effect anymore. Physics tells us that the creature falling upwards 100 feet in a reversed gravity field would then have enough momentum to ‘fly’ another 100 feet upwards beyond that until slowing to a stop and falling back down (discounting air resistance). So lets say you dropped concentration just before they reached the top of the spell area; would they then fly up to a height of 200ft off the ground before then falling to the ground for 20d6 damage?

I know you can drop concentration as a free action anytime, but this spell doesn’t seem to indicate how it works exactly regarding the momentum gathered while falling upwards. I’m wondering if the above interpretation is reasonable.

Is a concentration check required for each of my following spells if I buff myself with Mage Armor

Player’s Handbook 1, p. 170, "Concentration" – "Spell" says:

"If you are affected by a spell while attempting to cast a spell of your own, you must make a Concentration check or lose the spell you are casting."

Now I have the feeling I played DnD wrong for years – this means if I buff myself with e.g. "Mage Armor" and try to cast "Magic Missiles" the next round, I have to do a concentration check, correct? And someone I buff with another spell, too?

There is no mentioning of the spell affecting me being from someone else or hostile.

Does holding class abilities require concentration?

This question is about any class abilities, but the specific case that came up for me was the following: a Grave domain cleric chose to ready Path to the Grave to use before another players turn. They took some damage while they were readying and so we ruled that they need to make a concentration saving throw. Was this correct to do?

Does using a draconic sorcerer’s Draconic Presence break concentration for a spell?

The feature Draconic Presence states

As an action, you can spend 5 sorcery points to draw on this power and exude an aura of awe or fear (your choice) to a distance of 60 feet. For 1 minute or until you lose your concentration (as if you were casting a concentration spell), each hostile creature that starts its turn in this aura must succeed on a Wisdom saving throw or be charmed (if you chose awe) or frightened (if you chose fear) until the aura ends.

Which would obviously mean that casting a spell after using Draconic Presence would break concentration.

However, the rules for spell concentration states

Casting another spell that requires concentration. You lose concentration on a spell if you cast another spell that requires concentration. You can’t concentrate on two spells at once.

But if you were to cast a concentration spell and use Draconic Presence, would the Spell effect end?

Draconic Presence isn’t a spell and it isn’t even magical. It states the condition to losing Draconic Presence’s concentration but it doesn’t change that only concentration spells break a creature’s concentration on another spell (that isn’t damage).

Is this correct or am I missing something?

Do you lose concentration on a Readied spell when you use your reaction for something else?

The War Wizard gets the Durable Magic feature at 10th level which states:

[…] While you maintain concentration on a spell, you have a +2 bonus to AC and all saving throws.

The Ready action states:

[…] When the trigger occurs, you can either take your reaction right after the trigger finishes or ignore the trigger. Remember that you can take only one reaction per round.

When you ready a spell, you cast it as normal but hold its energy, which you release with your reaction when the trigger occurs. To be readied, a spell must have a casting time of 1 action, and holding onto the spell’s magic requires concentration. If your concentration is broken, the spell dissipates without taking effect. […]

Thus a War Wizard with a Readied spell would gain bonuses to their AC and saving throws. But what happens if the Wizard chooses to make an opportunity attack or use their reaction on something else? Do they maintain concentration on fire-bolt or do they drop concentration; Do they continue to benefit from Durable Magic or not?


The only thing I was able to find was that the Sage Advice Compendium document (pdf link) states the following (emphasis mine):

Q. I have a readied action. Can I stop readying to take an opportunity attack? Or is ready a full turn commitment?

A. If you have an action readied, you can make an opportunity attack, which causes you to stop readying.

Notably, this only addresses opportunity attacks and doesn’t give any justification, so part of my question is this: Is there support for the conclusion made in the Sage Advice Compendium anywhere in the rulebooks themselves?

What is the lowest-level spell combo to give disadvantage to an enemy’s specific save, without running into follow-up concentration issues?

What I’m trying to do is debuff an enemy’s stat so that I can hit them with a “save or suck” spell like dominate monster, and be more likely to succeed.

The problem is, I’m running into concentration issues because most spells that debuff a single stat like Bestow Curse use concentration, and thus I cant use them in conjunction: The moment I cast Dominate Monster, Bestow Curse is removed.

Hex also will not work because it only impacts ability checks, and not saves.

To clarify, I am a Warlock who wants to cast powerful disabling spells only when they have a high chance of success (so typically Wisdom has to be the weakened modifier). However, I am open to answers outside of that class, as well as any spell combos that specifically function as

  1. Weakening the the ability save for the second spell without utilizing concentration, and

  2. The second spell being a powerful, one-save spell of concentration.

What spells would be the best for this kind of combo, given that only I can cast the spells?