Can the School of Conjuration wizard’s Minor Conjuration feature be used to summon rare, expensive, and/or consumable spell components?

Can the School of Conjuration wizard’s Minor Conjuration feature (PHB, p. 116) be used to summon rare, expensive, and/or consumable spell components?

It seems to fit within the scope of the feature in a rules-as-written manner, and I am inclined to allow it – but not having fully experienced the dynamics of higher level play where it might come more strongly into play, I have some uncertainty.

Leomund’s Tiny Hut and Conjuration

(Leomund’s) Tiny Hut says

The spell ends if you leave its area…The spell fails if its area includes a larger [then Medium] creature or more than nine creatures. Creatures and objects within the dome when you cast this spell can move through it freely. All other creatures and objects are barred from passing through it. Spells and other magical effects can’t extend through the dome or be cast through it.

Interactions between the Hut, a caster capable of conjuration (eg, Summon Monster, Find Steed, Find Familiar), and a creature conjured after the creation of the hut include:

The same person casts the hut as conjures the creature:

The caster has to remain inside the hut (or else the hut is dispelled).

Creatures may not be conjured outside the hut (since the ranged casting would count as casting "though" the hut).

Creatures may be conjured inside the hut (since reaching out to the plane from which they are summoned does not count as casting through the hut?)

Creatures may be conjured inside the hut (but will dispel the hut upon arrival if they are larger than Medium or bring the total of creatures inside to more than nine)

Creatures successfully conjured inside the hut cannot leave (since they were not present at the time of casting)

A different person casts the hut as conjures the creature:

The hut-caster has to remain inside the hut (or else the hut is dispelled), but the creature-summoner (present at the time the hut was cast) can come and go.

Creatures may be summoned to the same "side" of the hut (inside or out) as the summoner, but not the other side (if summoned inside, they could dispel the hut as above). Once summoned, creatures cannot move to the other side of the hut, even if their summoner does so.

Questions

  1. Is my understanding of all this correct?
  2. What support exists for my assumption that summoning creatures to the inside of the hut while you are inside it does not count as casting through the hut? I have looked for this but not found any explicitly. I have found a lot about the Ethereal Plane mapping to locations on the Prime, but I don’t think most things are conjured from the Ether. I have seen the distinction between spells like Dimension Door not allowing travel through the hut (because of its range) while Misty Step and Teleport do. But I haven’t found any explicit support saying that drawing a creature from another plane does not count as casting through the hut.

Related: Can Dimension Door be cast into Leomund's Tiny Hut?

Leomund's Tiny Hut and familiars

Limitations on the Conjurer’s Minor Conjuration ability

There are some clearly defined limitations already on the Wizard School of Conjuration’s Minor Conjuration feature, however…

Does normal “wear and tear” count as damage? (e.g. I’m in a fight without a weapon, and create, say, a dagger or club. Will it hold up through the fight?). How about a bottle of ink? Does dipping my pen into it and writing a quick note “damage” the ink?

Is it one piece? ( e.g., can I use it to make a temporary replacement for a set of Thieves’ Tools (which is ‘an item’ on the equipment list) or is it limited to one contiguous item, such as a skillet, or a coil of rope?)

Could you replicate a spell book using minor conjuration?

The Minor Conjuration ability given to Conjuration Wizards allows you to replicate non-magical object you have seen, so could you theoretically create your own spellbook, or even the spellbook of a powerful wizard, and prepare spells of of it? To bypass the “You would have to remember the whole book” solution, assume this wizard took the keen mind feat.

Can you conjure a small version of a vehicle with Minor Conjuration and use Enlarge/Reduce to grow it into a copy of the original vehicle?

Say your friend allowed you to take apart and see the internal workings of a nice SUV you liked. If you studied everything outside and inside the car intensively, could you create a hotwheels-esque replica with full-working motors and everything? The Minor Conjuration feature states (PHB pg. 116):

Starting at 2nd level when you select this school, you can use your action to conjure up an inanimate object in your hand or on the ground in an unoccupied space that you can see within 10 feet of you. This object can be no larger than 3 feet on a side and weigh no more than 10 pounds, and its form must be that of a nonmagical object that you have seen. The object is visibly magical, radiating dim light out to 5 feet.

So, what I want to do is conjure the SUV I studied, and cast Enlarge/Reduce on it.

Enlarge/Reduce (PHB pg. 237):

You cause a creature or object you can see within range to grow larger or smaller for the duration. Choose either a creature or an object that is neither worn nor carried… Enlarge. The target’s size doubles in all dimensions, and its weight is multiplied by eight. This growth increases its size by one category–from Medium to Large, for example…

Since the car is 3 feet in any given dimension, I could compare it to a halfling, whose size states:

Halflings average about 3 feet tall and weigh about 40 pounds. Your size is Small.

Meaning that the car is therefore the Small size and able to be transformed into a Medium size.

TL;DR, can I do it like Hank Pym and Enlarge a small conjured car into a Medium car and drive around in it? (at least for 9-10 rounds at a time, or using some sort of spell extension technique to extend that 9-10 rounds)

Can you conjure a small version of a vehicle with Minor Conjuration and use Enlarge/Reduce to grow it into a copy of the original vehicle?

Say your friend allowed you to take apart and see the internal workings of a nice SUV you liked. If you studied everything outside and inside the car intensively, could you create a hotwheels-esque replica with full-working motors and everything? The Minor Conjuration feature states (PHB pg. 116):

Starting at 2nd level when you select this school, you can use your action to conjure up an inanimate object in your hand or on the ground in an unoccupied space that you can see within 10 feet of you. This object can be no larger than 3 feet on a side and weigh no more than 10 pounds, and its form must be that of a nonmagical object that you have seen. The object is visibly magical, radiating dim light out to 5 feet.

So, what I want to do is conjure the SUV I studied, and cast Enlarge/Reduce on it.

Enlarge/Reduce (PHB pg. 237):

You cause a creature or object you can see within range to grow larger or smaller for the duration. Choose either a creature or an object that is neither worn nor carried… Enlarge. The target’s size doubles in all dimensions, and its weight is multiplied by eight. This growth increases its size by one category–from Medium to Large, for example…

Since the car is 3 feet in any given dimension, I could compare it to a halfling, whose size states:

Halflings average about 3 feet tall and weigh about 40 pounds. Your size is Small.

Meaning that the car is therefore the Small size and able to be transformed into a Medium size.

TL;DR, can I do it like Hank Pym and Enlarge a small conjured car into a Medium car and drive around in it? (at least for 9-10 rounds at a time, or using some sort of spell extension technique to extend that 9-10 rounds)

Is this conjuration spell balanced?

I have been looking at playing a conjuration wizard, but annoyingly the only spells that I am interested in are Unseen Servant and Tenser’s Floating Disk neither of which have any real use beyond RP (IE: No combat effectiveness).

So I have been looking at homebrew spells to try and propose to my DM and for ease I would like one scaling spell that covers enough bases, but doesn’t get overpowered.

The spell below is my attempt:

Name: SeriousBri’s magnificent summoning (Requires concentration)

Level: 1st

Casting time: 1 Action

Range: 90 ft

Components: V, S, M (Something irrelevant)

Duration: 1 Minute

School: Conjuration

You call forth a creature, or group of creatures to serve you. Choose a single type of aberration, monstrosity or slime that you have either seen before, or researched to become aware of with a combined DC of 1 or lower. The summoned creatures appears at a point on the ground within range and disappear when reduced to 0 hit points of when the spell ends.

The creatures are friendly to you and your companions for the duration. Roll initiative for all the creatures at once and they have share a single turn turn. The creatures obey any verbal commands that you issue to them (no action required by you). If you don’t issue any commands to the creatures, they defend themselves from hostile creatures but otherwise take no actions.

At Higher Levels: When you cast this spell using a spell slot of 2nd level or higher, the challenge rating increases by 1 for each slot level.

Other than possibly summoning a set of niche creatures (which I would avoid) how balanced is this spell?

A point of clarification is that I intend for the spell to allow summoning groups of creatures, but only when they are all the same, so I could summon 2 gibbering mouthers, but not a gibbering mouther and a black pudding together.

Does a fluid substance (a beer), created with Minor Conjuration, disappear from one’s body after drinking it when this class feature is used again?


Context

In our game my wizard frequently casts Minor Conjuration to create a beer (in a mug) for our dwarf barbarian, as a friendly gesture. Every six seconds I would do the same thing, and he would chug it, offering our bulky frontliner a cycle of countless beers.

The DM asked me, “is this an illusion?” I said, “No, the real deal but it’s visibly magical.” DM, laughing: *”Does the fluid disappear after consumption?” Me, quoting the feature:

The object disappears after 1 hour, when you use this feature again, or if it takes any damage.

“So do you count drinking it as damaging the object? And what does ‘disappearing’ mean to you?”

Interpretation

The DM ruled that the dwarf could drink countless conjured (though tasteless) beers but would never get drunk for it, since the toxins that create that mental state also leave his body whenever I conjure another one. The dwarf would fully believe it works though, due to the Placebo effect. I’m happy with this interpretation, and it led to some fun times.

I’m still curious though if someone can give me a clear answer on this question, on how it’s written to work. Or will the interpretation of such wording always be at DM’s discretion?

Question

In other words, could the dwarf get physically drunk on conjured beers? Placebo is sort of a way, but I’m mostly interested in whether the substance actually has enough time to influence a body. The same answer could be applied if I would conjure a poison for someone else instead, for example. Would that poison still work if I conjure something else, after injection of mentioned poison.

  • How I see it:

The class feature does what it says it does, and nothing more. Meaning, drinking a conjured beer would look visibly magical but other than that, it would behave like a real beer. And drinking a substance would move it (not destroy it) and change the beer’s chemical properties once the body takes them in, so the original object can’t disappear anymore when I cast Minor Conjuration again after he drank the first one. However, I can’t find anything to back up my interpretation (nor his).

If you can clarify, that would be very helpful.


Related:

  • Limitations on the Conjurer's Minor Conjuration ability

  • Can "Minor Conjuration" be used as often as a wizard wants?