Can a single casting of Dispel Magic dispel every creature conjured by a Conjure Animals spell?

Yesterday in a game, my character cast Conjure Animals and summoned 8 wolves†. On the baddies’ turn, one cleric was about to cast Dispel Magic, but the DM changed his mind, deciding that the 8 wolves could not be considered a single magical effect. Personally, I agree with this, but I’m wondering if that stands up to the rules:

Can a single casting of Dispel Magic dispel every conjured creature from one spell at once?


† I’m aware of the debate over who picks the animals; my DM ruled that I could pick.

Are the effects of a conjured object or creature nonmagical?

Spells like Conjure Animals and Web can conjure creatures (a wolf) or objects (a sticky web). While the conjuration itself is magical (it was created by a spell), the effects of a conjuration are not necessarily magical. For example, this answer to “Do attacks from Conjure Animals creatures count as magical?” explains why an attack from a conjured owl is nonmagical.

According to the standard criteria, It seems like most effects caused by conjurations are nonmagical. For example, slipping on a pool of grease created by the Grease spell seems nonmagical:

  • Is it a magic item? No, it’s a pool of grease
  • Is it a spell? Or does it let you create the effects of a spell that’s mentioned in its description? No, it’s a pool of grease
  • Is it a spell attack? No, it’s a pool of grease
  • Is it fueled by the use of spell slots? No, it’s a pool of grease
  • Does its description say it’s magical? No, it’s a pool of grease

However, a similar argument could be applied to evocation spells, like Spirit Guardians and Wall of Fire. But intuitively, the effects a wall of fire (and most evocations spells) should be magical.

Are the effects of a creature or object created by conjuration magic always nonmagical? For example, does a creature with magic resistance get advantage on save against falling grease?

  • If so, does a similar argument apply to evocation spells?
  • If not, how do we determine which conjurations can have nonmagical effects?

When are verbal commands issued to conjured animals?

I’m losing a lot of actions by my (Druid) conjured animals, especially when there are lots of actions , and the battle is fluid.

So much changes during a turn, so that my verbal command (issued during my turn) has typically long since been obsoleted or is far less optimal. For example, an invisible enemy is exposed, or a charmed target needs to be hit, or an innumerable more circumstances arise.

Can I issue the “verbal command” on the conjured animals’ turn? Or does the verbal command need to be issued on my turn?

(And is the answer an “official” answer? The DM might overrule it anyways.)

Otherwise it’s like tossing the dice and hoping my command is still applicable at the time of their action.

Being a concentration spell makes it worse as it limits my actions enough as it is without the added pain of losing a turn as the animals do something not what needed to be done.

Thanks very much! Adrml S.

Is a dismissed familiar still regarded as conjured?

In the wording of the Flock of Familiars spell, we find:

You temporarily summon three familiars – spirits that take animal forms of your choice. Each familiar uses the same rules and options for a familiar conjured by the Find Familiar spell. All the familiars conjured by this spell must be the same type of creature (celestials, fey, or fiends; your choice). If you already have a familiar conjured by the Find Familiar spell or similar means, then one fewer familiars are conjured by this spell.

Meanwhile, in the Find Familiar spell, we’re given:

As an action, you can temporarily dismiss your familiar. It disappears into a pocket dimension where it awaits your summons. Alternatively, you can dismiss it forever. As an action while it is temporarily dismissed, you can cause it to reappear in any unoccupied space within 30 feet of you.

Of interest, conjure is synonymous to summon, which is antonymous to dismiss.

If I were to dismiss my familiar from Find Familiar and cast Flock of Familiars at level 2, would I expect to summon two or three new familiars? If three, could my initial familiar then be summoned back on top of those already present?

Is there generally enough time to Planar Bind a creature conjured by a spell regardless of that spell’s duration?

While answering this question about Planar Binding (PHB 265) my first intuition was to answer the question with the last sentence clause as Ben Sutton did in their answer, but I thought that the wording is unclear and that Jeremy Crawford’s tweet says how he would rule it as DM; it doesn’t show whether this position is supported by any rules or by design intent.

Giant Insect (PHB 245) merely transmutes creatures for a duration of 10 minutes. The transmuted creatures are also not of the correct type which is a celestial, an elemental, a fey, or a fiend.

All spells that summon creatures have a Duration (PHB 203) of up to an hour:

  • Conjure Animals (PHB 225): / 1 action / 1 hour.

    Conjure Celestial (PHB 225): 1 minute / 1 hour.

    Conjure Elemental (PHB 225): 1 minute / 1 hour.

    Conjure Fey (PHB 226): 1 minute / 1 hour.

    Conjure Minor Elemental (PHB 226): 1 minute / 1 hour.

    Conjure Woodland Beings (PHB 226): 1 action / 1 hour.

    Infernal Calling (XGtE 158): 1 minute / 1 hour.

    Summon Greater Demon (XGtE 166): 1 action / 1 hour.

    Summon Lesser Demons (XGtE 167): 1 action / 1 hour.

This duration of up to an hour seems to be by design, and Planar Binding works regardless of the last sentence due to the durations rules as explained here.

But what if I allowed a homebrew spell such as SeriousBri’s Magnificent Summoning: 1 action / 1 minute.

This spell has a duration of 1 minute that is far less than an hour, would Planar Binding count the “another spell” in this case as SeriousBri’s Magnificent Summoning, thus extending its duration to match the duration of Planar Binding?

At the completion of the casting, the target must make a Charisma saving throw. On a failed save, it is bound to serve you for the duration. If the creature was summoned or created by another spell, that spell’s duration is extended to match the duration of this spell.

So is there generally enough time to Planar Bind a creature conjured by a spell regardless of that spell’s duration?

Does an Inverted Magic Circle prevent a Conjured Creature from vanishing at the end of its spell’s duration?

Magic Circle (which takes a minute to cast but lasts an hour) can be used in an inverted way :

When you cast this spell, you can elect to cause its magic to operate in the reverse direction, preventing a creature of the specified type from leaving the cylinder and protecting targets outside it.

Many planar entity conjuration spells, such as Conjure Woodland Beings, last up to exactly an hour, at which point the creature vanishes :

A summoned creature disappears when it drops to 0 hit points or when the spell ends.

Imagine the following scenario : Bob the Druid casts Conjure Woodland Beings, which makes DM-decided fey creatures (let’s say 2 quicklings) appear, and maintains concentration on it. After 30 minutes, Dylan the Wizard decides to cast an Inverted Magic Circle around one of the feys, which Bob orders to stand still. After that, Bob drops concentration on Conjure Woodland Beings. What I’m wondering here is what takes priority between “disappears when the spell ends” and “preventing a creature from leaving the cylinder”.

Does an Inverted Magic Circle prevent a Conjured Creature to vanish at the end of its spell’s duration ? If so, that means that the now-trapped fey is no longer friendly to / controlled by Bob, but remains there until the Magic Circle itself ends (total of 1h31). If not, that means that the fey disappears as soon as Bob’s concentration ends, regardless of the Magic Circle (total of 31min).

Is there enough time to Planar Bind a creature conjured by a one hour duration spell?

Many planar entity conjuration spells, such as Conjure Woodland Beings, last up to exactly an hour, at which point the creature vanishes :

A summoned creature disappear when it drops to 0 hit points or when the spell ends.

The Planar Binding spell normally takes exactly an hour to cast, but lasts a long time (24 hours by default, more if you upcast it) :

With this spell, you attempt to bind a celestial, an elemental, a fey, or a fiend to your service. The creature must be within range for the entire casting of the spell. At the completion of the casting, the target must make a Charisma saving throw. On a failed save, it is bound to serve you for the duration. If the creature was summoned or created by another spell, that spell’s duration is extended to match the duration of this spell.

Imagine the following scenario : Bob the Druid Readies a Conjure Woodland Beings for when Dylan the Wizard says “go”. Dylan the Wizard says “go”, and so, one or more DM-determined fey creatures appear as a result of the released Conjure Woodland Beings (let’s say two quicklings), and right after saying “go”, Dylan starts casting Planar Binding on one of the feys (here, a quickling). Both spells were cast at almost the same time (same turn), and both last an hour. What I wonder here is whether Dylan will have enough time to Bind the creature before it vanishes, or whether he’ll be “one second short”.

Is there enough time to Planar Bind a creature conjured by a one hour duration spell ? (discarding techniques to reduce Planar Binding’s casting time, such as Wishing it, and techniques to extend the base duration of the Conjuration spell, such as the Extended Metamagic option)