TCP congestion control problem

Suppose that the maximum transmit window size for a TCP connection is 12000 bytes. Each packet consists of 2000 bytes. At some point in time, the connection is in slow-start phase with a current transmit window of 4000 bytes. Subsequently, the transmitter receives two acknowledgments. Assume that no packets are lost and there are no time-outs. What is the maximum possible value of the current transmit window?

A)4000 bytes

B)8000 bytes

C)10000 bytes

D)12000 bytes

In congestion control algorithm, when we are in slow start phase, after 1RTT(round trip time) if window size is exceeding the threshold on doubling, we set cwnd(current window size)=threshold or cwnd=2*cwnd?

how to solve this problem?

Which topics should be included in Access Control Documentation?

I am preparing documentation of Access Control for my employer. I need to know what are the best practice or must, to prepare an access control documentation.

Here are some things to narrow down the answer,

  • We are working on healthcare industry
  • Compliance we are following (HIPAA, SOC, HiTRUST)

I need some specific guidance, procedure and inspiration.

If my necromancer dies, do my animated dead stay under my control?

From what I understand the undead created via animated dead are under my PC’s control indefinitely. So if I had commanded them to kill enemies of mine (insect things that were fighting our group so I commanded them to attack the bugs) would they follow that command after I die, or become uncontrolled and attack my party members too?

I had assumed that they became uncontrolled, and they attacked the party (which teleported away), but after looking while they were figuring out what to do next, I had re-read animated dead to figure out if that was correct.

The other thing that I was curious is do they stay under my control when brought back to life too?

If they do go uncontrolled after death, that would mean any necromancer PC would be a group wipe if they die.

I’ve been looking for an answer to this on the internet and the D&D books.

Control EIP with ASCII values

I’m trying to overwrite the EIP to cause a buffer overflow. I can write values to the EIP but I’m only able to write ASCII values and I need to redirect the execution to a high stack address e.g. 0xbfff4a60

I can overwrite by using AAAA which will convert to 0x41414141. I have sixteen bytes available to write to. Is there anyway of doing this with ASCII, or unique assembly tricks entered using ASCII?

thanks

EDIT: Entering extended ascii values doesn’t work such as ÿ

Command and control versus intelligent assistants for senior citizens

I have a zero-configuration call screening program that targets/protects senior citizens from robocallers and other miscreants and scams. The program runs on low-end dev-boards and interfaces with telco landlines using an USB modem. I want to provide a way to modify a running configuration, but I don’t want to require a desktop computer or smartphone.

Reading indicates voice commands can help senior citizens. See, for example, Voice Recognition Innovation and the Implications for Seniors and Usability of Voice User Interfaces for Senior Citizens.

Given a voice interface is helpful, that leaves the “how” for seniors. I feel like “command and control” is a better interface for this particular application, but folks who build voice engines say “intelligent assistants” is a better interface in general. From CMU Pocket Sphinx project:

For command and control, it was popular to use a finite state grammar for a long time. However, we do not recommend this approach nowadays. It’s way better to employ a medium vocabulary recognizer with a semantic analysis framework on top to improve the users’ experience and let them use more or less natural language. In short, don’t build command and control, build intelligent assistants instead.

For intelligent assistants you do not only need the recognition, but also intent parsing and database knowledge. For more details on how to implement this you can check Lucida powered by OpenEphyra. Dialog systems will require a framework for user feedback as well.

When I started researching and designing the voice interface, the use cases I envisioned include the following. The use cases are driven by the low resource constraints, and fall into “command and control” interface.

  • “Callman, block call”
  • “Callman, block caller”
  • “Callman, allow call”
  • “Callman, allow caller”

(I also have a whimsical grammar. “Callman, yuk yuk” means the caller is bad and should be moved to a blacklist. “Callman, yum yum” means the caller is good and should be moved to a whitelist).

I think I need to better understand the intersection of “command and control” with seniors. I need to know if the voice command implementation is going to confuse them (more than normal?). My questions are:

  • are there empirical results that indicate “intelligent assistants” are [far?] superior to “command and control” when used with seniors?
  • are there empirical results that indicate “command and control” is ineffective with seniors?

Is the Kineticist’s Aether Utility Talent: Dual Telekinetic Control a multiple attack?

Is the Kineticist’s Aether Utility Talent: Dual Telekinetic Control a multiple attack?

Dual Telekinetic Control

Element(s): aether; Level: 1; Type: utility (Su); Burn

Prerequisite(s): telekinetic blast

You can use your telekinetic blast with two objects simultaneously. This has no effect on the blast’s damage, and their combined weight cannot exceed the normal weight limit for telekinetic blast. The objects must remain within the same space as one another for the duration of the blast, and if thrown, must be thrown at the same target.

And

Telekinetic Blast

Element(s): aether; Type: simple blast (Sp); Level: —; Burn 0 Blast Type: physical; Damage: bludgeoning, piercing, or slashing

You throw a nearby unattended object at a single foe as a ranged attack. The object must weigh no more than 5 pounds per kineticist level you possess. If the attack hits, the target and the thrown object each take the blast’s damage. Since the object is enfolded in strands of aether, even if you use this power on a magic weapon or other unusual object, the attack doesn’t use any of the magic weapon’s bonuses or effects; it simply deals your blast damage. Alternatively, you can loosen the strands of aether in order to deal damage to both the object and the target as though you had thrown the object yourself (instead of dealing your normal blast damage).

You substitute your Constitution modifier for your Strength modifier if throwing the object would have added your Strength modifier on the damage roll, and you don’t take the –4 penalty on the attack roll for throwing an object that wasn’t designed to be thrown. In this case, the object’s special effects apply (including effects from its materials), and if the object is a weapon, you must be proficient with it and able to wield it with one hand; otherwise, the item deals damage as a one-handed improvised weapon for a creature of your size.

If so….

1) Does mean one or separate attack roll for both projectiles?

2) Does both projectiles deal damage to the target or the first attack that hits?

3) Can it be used in tandem with Foe Throw Infusion?

Foe Throw

Element(s): aether; Type: infusion; Level: 3; Burn 2 Associated Blasts: telekinetic

Saving Throw: Fortitude negates; see text

Your telekinetic blast can throw a Large or smaller creature instead of an unattended object; you can increase the burn cost by 1 to affect a creature of a larger size. If the creature you attempt to throw succeeds at a Fortitude save, it negates the blast entirely.

Otherwise, if your blast hits, both the thrown creature and the target take the full amount of damage from your telekinetic blast, and the thrown creature falls prone in the last unoccupied space along its path. If your blast misses, the thrown creature can choose to occupy any space within 30 feet of the target, it doesn’t fall prone, and it takes half the normal amount of damage from your blast. The movement doesn’t provoke attacks of opportunity.

Exchanging control of a mount

This is a situation that came up recently in a game I play in. Two player characters were riding an elephant in combat. The elephant was acting as a controlled mount under control of one of the riders, who was higher in initiative order than the second. During their turn, the controlling rider had the elephant move part of its speed and take the Dodge action. They then handed the reins to the other rider and dismounted.

What should the second rider be able to do on their turn? In our game, the second rider had the elephant move the remainder of its speed and didn’t give it a new action. I feel this is reasonable, but I’m curious whether the rules can be read to give more specific guidance for situations where the controller of a mount changes during combat. In particular, does the initiative order of the first controller, the second controller, and the mount affect what can happen, and how?

When do objects take damage from being inside the Whirlpool option of the Control Water spell?

The control water spell allows you to create a whirlpool which includes the following in its description:

[…] The first time each turn that an object enters the vortex, the object takes 2d8 bludgeoning damage; this damage occurs each round it remains in the vortex.

I understand that an object takes damage on any turn that it enters the vortex, even if it does so multiple times in a single round. But when exactly is “each round”; when does the re-occurring damage for remaining in the vortex actually happen; when does an object inside of a whirlpool actually take the 2d8 bludgeoning damage?


Note, that if they instead had said “each turn” then these objects would be taking damage multiple times per round. I hesitate a guess that some of the unusual wording here comes from the fact that objects don’t even have turns of their own so they couldn’t have used the wording they usually do for creatures.