What counts as a “debilitating condition”?

In the discern health spell it talks about the ability to identify a debilitating condition.

The name of the creature’s debilitating condition (ability drained, confused, fatigued, etc.).

What would be classified as a debilitating condition? Would any other detrimental effect (eg. Dominate person, charm person, disease, poison) be identifiable by this spell?

What counts as willing movement?

So this is something I just found out about that I find odd:

  • Opportunity attacks—trigger off of movement that uses the creatures movement (action, move action, bonus action, reaction.)
  • Sentinel—Whenever a creature within 5 ft of you makes an attack at a creature other than you.
  • Booming blade—If the target willingly moves.
  • Mental Prison spell—if it moves, attacks through it, or reaches any part of body out of it.

So the “willingly” is different than other rulings for how effects related to movement works. However what exactly fits willing?

  • Cause fear—nope magic is having them move.
  • Dissonant whispers—same thing. They have to immediately move.

So the creature has to want to move completely of its own accord.

  • Crown of Madness—Humanoid creature you choose must make a wisdom saving throw. On a fail it is charmed by you. (Next is flavor text so skipping.) While charmed in this way the target must make an attack on a creature other than itself that you mentally choose on each of its turns before moving. It can act normally if you choose no creature or if none are within reach.

Crown of madness isn’t making them move but doesnt specifically say willing. And if the ruling for willing is movement not caused by magic what about magic causing situations where you take damage if you don’t move. Would a creature shimmering with evocation energy be spared because he moved out of the magical blender that is cloud of daggers? If no, then what is the go-to rule for willing movement that I should be using?

In short, what movement counts as willing, and where can it be found? Is moving out of obvious danger caused by magic, willing? Is moving away from an ally so you don’t hit them, willing?

If there isn’t any actual ruling on willing, that’s fine; I’ll go back to running it with my interpretation, so that it has same wording as AOO. If there is an actual 5e term or explanation for willing (that isn’t Sage Advice), please let me know. I just don’t see why it was necessary to put a term in the spell that isn’t used anywhere else. I understand it could have been overlooked since it was in a splatbook or has just been ignored since most people probably assume that there is “Forced ” and “Willing” movement, with the willing being defined as: any movement from an action, move action, bonus action, or reaction. In same way AOO work.

What counts as “end your movement”?

The Pack Master PP (Dragon 364) gets this as the 11th level feature:

When you end your movement 2 squares from an enemy, you can shift 1 square as a free action.

If I need to approach an enemy with threatening reach this is very handy.

  1. If I shift one from adjacent as a move action (so I am now 2 squares away), can I shift another?
  2. If an attack power like Nimble Footwork1 lets me shift, can I shift another?
  3. If I charge the bodyguard, can I shift one before or after the attack, to get close to the guarded controller?
  4. If I stand up (ending my move action) can I shift 1 if an enemy happens to be 2 squares away where I was prone?

1) Warlord 1 (Martial Power), lets you shift 1 if you hit

What counts as being “wounded” for the purpose of the rules on recovering a point of Hope?

In The One Ring game, players are allowed to recover a point of Hope if their Fellowship focus is not wounded during the session. The issue is that the rules don’t seem to state if they mean the Wounded condition (which involves a successful edge hit with armor failing to overcome injury), or simply having taken damage.

What counts as a disease?

Do any books contain a rules definition of what is and is not a disease.

Here are some examples of aliments I, the DM, would like to see if they match the definition if such a thing exists. I put a broad range of aliments here and included things like Kidney Failure to try to illustrate what I would like to compare to the definition.

Examples:

  • Down Syndrome
  • Diabetes
  • Kidney Failure
  • Malaria (Dormant or Active)

What counts as a “specific goal, event, or activity” for the Divination spell?

The divination spell states:

Similar to augury but more powerful, a divination spell can provide you with a useful piece of advice in reply to a question concerning a specific goal, event, or activity that is to occur within 1 week.

I’m not sure what limitations the language about “a specific goal, event, or activity” imposes. The immediate motivation for this comes from a Kingmaker campaign that I’m currently running. After an attack on their capital, my players came up with the idea of casting divination once a week to ask “Will anything attack our kingdom this week?”

I’m trying to figure out if this is specific enough, and if not, what would be specific enough. On one hand, it’s not a specific event – they aren’t expecting any particular attack. On the other hand, it’s arguably a specific goal – keeping their citizens safe from large-scale threats.

Also, I expect my players to use divination many times during this campaign, so I’d like to know how this language limits the spell beyond this one case.

What determining the DC to notice an invisible enemy during combat, what counts as “in combat” or “not moving”?

What modifiers should be applied when when determining the Perception DC to locate an invisible creature during common combat situation?

As per the Core Rulebook, the base DC is 20, and to pinpoint the exact square is another +20. There are various additional modifiers on this DC, but three that are of particular relevance to me are:

  • -20 if the creature is in combat or speaking
  • +20 if the creature is not moving
  • -10 if the creature is moving at full speed

I’m curious exactly what constitutes as “in combat” or “not moving”, as I can’t seem to get a consistent answer from the rules or various discussion threads on invisibility.

Let me illustrate with a few scenarios, where we assume that a PC has cast Greater Invisibility on themselves, and a few rounds later, has attacked NPC 1. Later that round, NPC 2 (who was not attacked by the PC), wants to locate the invisible PC.

  • Scenario 1: The PC begins their turn adjacent to NPC 1 and spends a full round action to attack NPC 1 before ending their turn with no other actions performed (thus did not take a move action and remained in their square). NPC 2 now tries to locate the PC.

  • Scenario 2: As above, but this time the PC takes a 5-foot-step away from NPC 1 in an unknown direction after attacking. NPC 2 now tries to locate the PC.

  • Scenario 3: As above, but this time the PC only uses a standard action to attack NPC 1, before taking a move action to move at their full speed away from NPC 1 in an unknown direction. NPC 2 now tries to locate the PC.

And finally, for a slightly different scenario from above

  • Scenario 4: The PC is no longer performing melee attacks, and is not standing adjacent to any enemies. Instead, they begin their turn by taking a potion and drinking it. NPC 2 now tries to locate the PC.

Which modifies would you apply in each scenario? My interpretation of the DC to pinpoint the exact square would be

  • Scenario 1: In Combat, Not Moving => DC = 40 – 20 + 20 = 40
  • Scenario 2: In Combat => DC = 40 – 20 = 20
  • Scenario 3: In Combat, Moving at full speed => DC = 40 – 20 – 10 = 10
  • Scenario 4: In Combat, Not Moving => DC = 40 – 20 + 20 = 40

However I’m unsure of the modifiers in italics are applied correctly.

Does Not Moving here specifically refer to taking a move action, or is it anything other than standing completely still? Is swinging a weapon equivalent to drinking a potion when it comes to this?

Does In Combat specifically refer to having rolled initiative as part of an encounter? Or does it mean actively participating with aggressive actions?

Any help clarifying RAW or RAI would be appreciated!

(Note: I’m aware that in these combat situations, NPC 1 can easily locate the PC as they were the target of an attack. I’m also aware that invisibility only removes vision of the invisible creature, and that the PC could be located by other means – including environmental factors or being told by an ally to target a particular square. I’m specifically interested in the scenario where there’s no additional stimulus, and another NPC is rolling perception to pinpoint the PC’s location)

What counts as “helping slay an elemental” for a Ring of Elemental Command?

The various Rings of Elemental Command in the DMG (p. 190) all have basic abilities that start working as soon as you attune them, but there are other abilities that only start working if you “help slay [an] elemental” of the same type that the ring commands.

As the DM of our current campaign, I’m considering having one of these rings be available to the group, but I’m curious how strict I should be in the interpretation of that “help slay” part. Most of the scenarios I can think of boil down to a version of:

Does dominating an elemental that’s otherwise been minding its own business and having it stand between me and (subsequently get eaten by) the dragon that’s chasing me count as “helping slay” that elemental?

My inclination is that this is perfectly acceptable but I’m curious if there’s a rules clarification on what counts as “slaying” in this case.

What counts as “loose earth” for the Mold Earth spell?

The Mold Earth cantrip offers the following option:

You choose a portion of dirt or stone that you can see within range and that fits within a 5-foot cube. You manipulate it in one of the following ways:

  • If you target an area of loose earth, you can instantaneously excavate it, move it along the ground, and deposit it up to 5 feet away. This movement doesn’t have enough force to cause damage.

(plus some other options)

What is loose earth?

For example, which of the following would meet this criteria:

  • Top soil of a recently plowed field
  • Digging a 10 ft hole in the middle of said same field
  • Digging a 10 ft hole with a mixture of dirt, gravel, clay
  • Digging a 10 ft hole in a cobblestone road
  • Digging a 10 ft hole in solid stone
  • Digging a 10 ft hole under the foundation of a building

As an analogy, would it be accurate to say that this spell would work on anything in minecraft that I can use a wooden shovel on (with the exception of snow)?

See also: Is it possible to create a sink hole with mold earth and a portable hole?