Are undead and creatures immune to charm excluded from the HP count of Sleep?

From the spell description:

Sleep (…) Creatures within 20 feet of a point you choose within range are affected in ascending order of their current hit points (ignoring unconscious creatures). Starting with the creature that has the lowest current hit points,(…) Subtract each creature’s hit points from the total before moving on to the creature with the next lowest hit points. A creature’s hit points must be equal to or less than the remaining total for that creature to be affected. Undead and creatures immune to being charmed aren’t affected by this spell. (PH p.276)

Now, to build the ascending order of their current hitpoints, the spell instructs to count everyone in area of effect, but only ignore unconscous creatures. Then later on it says that Undead and creatures immune to being charmed aren’t affected.

Are those two latter kinds of creatures excluded from the roll of current HP by default? Following the “if they were it would say so” philosophy of Sage Advice, it doesn’t seem so to me.

How does multiple creatures sharing a turn interact with once-per-turn abilities?

This question was brought to mind upon reading one of the bullet points in this answer (regarding a Marilith’s ability to take a reaction every turn), which reads:

  • This limits you to one attack per group for certain implementations of group initiative, as well as for groups of summoned monsters that share a turn

This is noticeable in many of the "Conjure …" spells which share this common line (emphasis mine):

The summoned creatures are friendly to you and your companions. Roll initiative for the summoned creatures as a group, which has its own turns.

The language reads "a group…has its own turns", not "the summoned creatures…have their own turns", which lends to the idea that the summoned creatures are not just sharing an initiative, but actually sharing the turn. This Q&A brings up other cases as well, so it does not seem out of the ordinary that multiple creatures could share a turn. My question is: how does that interact with once-per-turn abilities such as the Marilith in the question referenced above, the Cavalier Fighter’s Vigilant Defender, or monsters’ legendary actions.

Does the shadow sorcerer Eyes of the Dark feature negate sunlight sensitivity for creatures like drow in 5e?

The shadow sorcerer feature at 1st level known as Eyes of the Dark reads: From 1st level, you have darkvision with a range of 120 feet.

I would like to play a Drow character, does this negate sunlight sensitivity since you are getting superior darkvision from a new source that does not provide sunlight sensitivity?

I have heard that the warlock’s Devil’s sight provides a similar effect that negates sunlight sensitvity, would this also apply to the shadow sorcerer?

What creatures exist (besides the Githzerai) that associate psionics with anything besides Intelligence?

My understanding of psionics in D&D is that it is usually tied to Intelligence.

Going by player classes, the UA Mystic class was Intelligence-based, and going by monsters, many of them who are capable of psionics appear to be Intelligence-based as well, such as the Mind Flayers (MM, p. 222):

Innate Spellcasting (Psionics). The mind flayer’s innate spellcasting ability is Intelligence

However, I am aware that the Githzerai, both the playable race and the monsters, use Wisdom instead.

The playable race, from MToF (p. 96):

Githzerai Psionics.Wisdom is your spellcasting ability for these spells.

And an example of one of the "monsters", a Githzerai Monk (MM, p. 161):

Innate Spellcasting (Psionics). The githzerai’s innate spellcasting ability is Wisdom

Even the Githyanki (both playable race and monsters) use Intelligence, like most of the other psionic creatures in D&D. As far as I can tell, it’s just the Githzerai who are different in this regard.

I really want to ask "why do the Githzerai use Wisdom for psionics when everyone else uses Intelligence?", but that’s off-topic due to being a designer-reasons question. So instead, I will check my assumption, since I’m assuming that the Githzerai are the only ones who buck this trend, simply because I’ve not managed to find any further examples (i.e. "all swans are white").

Question

Are there any other creatures who have psionic abilities (and the ability must be called out, either in lore or with the psionics tag, as being psionic; not just any old source of psychic damage or similar effects) that are not tied to Intelligence? If so, what creatures don’t follow this pattern, and what do they use instead of Intelligence (if anything)? Or is it literally just the Githzerai who buck this trend?


My understanding is based on D&D 5e, but I’d be interested in answers that consider psionics throughout all editions of D&D if that wouldn’t be asking too much (and if such a question would even make sense, given how the rules change between editions). If such a question would be too broad, or wouldn’t make sense, I’m happy to reduce the scope back to "just D&D 5e".

One PC Grappling multiple creatures

In my campaign i’m playing a Barbarian that I’ve focused on grappling and pulling enemies around the battlefield. I’m unsure whether I can grapple multiple enemies at once(one in each hand for example) and if I can, can i force drag both at the same time(is it still half speed or quarter). I’ve found multiple sources contradicting whether it does or doesn’t work. This is for a 5e campaign.

What happens when a caster targets an object that looks like a creature with a spell that targets only creatures?

There are many spells which explicitly target creatures:

Choose one creature within range

The target creature is normally supposed to make a saving throw in this case.

What happens when the caster chooses a creature, that is actually an object? For instance, a scarecrow, a mannequin, an illusion, or a corpse.

Examples:

  • An evil mage is hiding in the bushes. He casts an illusion of himself on the road, using the Silent Image spell. A PC sorcerer walks down the road, sees the illusion and casts Magic Missile on it.

  • A cleric is standing near a pile of dead bodies. He has suspicions that a few corpses are actually undead creatures. He casts Sacred Flame on every corpse, see which if them succeed, hence, reveals the undead.

  • A wizard casts Acid Splash on a mannequin, trying to damage it with acid.

Possible outcomes I can think of are:

  1. The caster cannot even try to cast the spell, regardless of their information about what the target actually is.
  2. The caster tries to cast the spell, the casting fails, not expending the spell slot.
  3. The caster casts the spell, it expends the spell slot, then fails.
  4. The caster casts the spell, but it hits the original and not the illusion.
  5. The caster casts the spell, it flies to the target illusion but deals no damage to it (passes through it).

References in the rules and Sage advice

I was trying to investigate, but it didn’t make things clearer:

  • Does magic missile hit silent image's illusory creature? has an answer, that Magic Missile won’t hit. It says nothing about if it can be targeted at all, it leaves it up to the DM.

  • Magic Missile automatically finds the original, even when the caster targets an illusion. At least when the illusion was created by the Mirror Image spell. Now confirmed by Jeremy Crawford. This supports the counter-intuitive option 4.

on the other hand

  • Casters don’t automatically know when a spell fails, if there were no perceivable effects (let’s say you can try to cast the Command spell on an illusion). That assumes that casters can waste their spells on illusion, which means they at least can target it. This supports options 3 and 5.

Awaken on creatures that are not animals or trees

The party druid wants to cast Awaken on a magical beast friend it made. Because magical beasts are not animals or trees, I said no, but it got me thinking… is it possible?

Suppose the druid made a bunch of potions of Aspect of the Wolf (CL 14). That spell specifically changes the target’s type to Animal. Each potion would last 140 minutes per use. Awaken is a 24 hour casting. So, if the hippogriff must be an animal throughout the casting, that is at least 11 potions.

Questions:

  1. By RAW, would this work?
  2. Would the hippogriff need to be an animal throughout the entire casting? Or only for the last 140 minutes when the spell is finally cast?
  3. Does this seem overly complex? Might there be an easier way? A hippogriff is very close to an animal. It even has animal intelligence. But, I want to be careful about allowing this. The last thing I want is for them to hunt down a tarrasque, feed it some potions, spend 250 XP, and have an intelligent colossal killing machine as a friend.

Do creatures immune to poison still make saving throws?

At 11th level, monks gain immunity to poison. The Poison Healer feat lets you restore hit points when you “succeed on a Fortitude save against a poison”. Can monks chug poison to heal themselves, or do they not actually make the saving throw?

(There seem to be similar questions for other editions, but I can’t find one specifically for 3.5e)

How many creatures can go to the Ethereal Plane via Etherealness cast at 8th level?

The spell etherealness allows you (the caster) to travel to the Ethereal Plane for the duration of the spell (8 hours). It has a range of Self, so you cannot target someone else if cast at its base level (7th level).

However, if you upcast it with an 8th level spell slot, it says (PHB, p. 238):

At Higher Levels. When you cast this spell using a spell slot of 8th level or higher, you can target up to three willing creatures (including you) for each slot level above 7th. The creatures must be within 10 feet of you when you cast the spell.

Where it says “including you”, does this mean that:

  1. you can only target two other creatures, because one of these three creatures must be you, or
  2. you can target three other creatures, but you’re going with them (i.e. you can’t just dump these three creatures on the Ethereal Plane whilst you remain on the plane you were all on moment ago)?

Since I’m a cleric in a party of 4, I want to know if I can bring the entire party (me plus my 3 allies) into the Ethereal Plane or whether one of my allies has to be left behind…