Can my familiar reload my crossbow for me?

I’ve seen at least one online character optimization guide suggesting that low-level alchemists should acquire a familiar for action efficiency with crossbows – specifically that you could have the familiar reload your crossbow for you, thus allowing you to consistently get off two shots per turn (you command, you fire, familiar reloads, you fire, familiar reloads). This seems dubious to me, but I realize that my grasp of the rules is still imperfect. Does this work?

Can you fire a pre-loaded hand crossbow one-handed? [duplicate]

I’ve always thought the answer was ‘duh, obviously’ but I’m hard-pressed to find RAW evidence all of a sudden.

Assume you have a hand crossbow, loaded, in one hand, while your other hand is occupied (holding a sword or a very important relic or even missing for that matter). Can you fire that single shot from the crossbow before having to drop it for something more practical?

Ammunition Drawing the Ammunition from a Quiver, case, or other container is part of the Attack (you need a free hand to load a one-handed weapon).

Emphasis mine. That part might imply that the loading (and thus the hand requirement) is to happen as part of the attack.

Then again, when later referring to using a Loading weapon for a melee attack,

A sling must be loaded to deal any damage when used in this way.

This could imply the sling (and by extension other loading weapons) can be pre-loaded. Or that it needs proper loading, ammo etc. even as an improvised melee weapon.

Is there a solid RAW answer on this?

Strictly RAW, is punching someone with a crossbow a melee attack with a ranged weapon? [duplicate]

I’m exploring ways to combine the Crusher feat with a melee rogue-paladin, and have come into a conundrum- without using my busy bonus action to two-weapon-fight with a club, is there a way to get bludgeoning damage with a melee rogue?

This is my best attempt- using Tavern Brawler to punch people with a crossbow as the strangest of Improvised Weapons. As this is just a rules exploration unlikely to see the light of day, RAI isn’t very relevant here.

RAW, will punching someone with a crossbow allow it to be a melee weapon attack with a ranged weapon, letting me use sneak attack and smite?

Edit for clarity: Unlike questions regarding thrown improvised weapons which outside of being improvised weapons notably lack the finesse or ranged properties, crossbows clearly have the ranged property. This question isn’t about if improvised weapons give it a new property, but rather if they retain them.

Is there a mechanical benefit to using a light crossbow over a long bow or short bow?

A long bow (1d8, 150/600 range), and a short bow (1d6, 80/320 range) benefit from "Extra Attack".

A light crossbow (1d8, 80/320 range), or a hand crossbow (1d6, 30/120 range), do not benefit from "Extra Attack".

A light crossbow is worse in terms of range, and damage (with Extra Attack) than the long bow. A light crossbow is on par for range with the shortbow, and worse for damage (with Extra Attack).

I understand that with Crossbow Expert Feat, you can make 3 attacks with hand crossbows at still a very short range of 30 feet.


Mechanically, I don’t see any benefit to a light crossbow if you have an Extra Attack. Is there some benefit to using a light crossbow I am missing?

With Crossbow Expert feat – can you Bonus Action attack on your turn, and then use a readied action to attack on someone else’s turn?

I am playing a crossbow expert ranged rogue and trying to maximize my sneak attack capabilities in order to remain competitive with regard to DPR (Paladin and Fighter in the group).

I am wondering if by RAW, I can use the bonus action attack provided by this feat first and then if it is successful, ready my regular attack to trigger on someone else’s turn – essentially allowing me a chance at two sneak attacks within the round.

I am solo-classed, so I don’t have access to Extra attack and not looking to abuse Haste. I am wondering if this is in DM-rule territory or if there is some source I can point to that would allow something like this?

Can a character with the Extra Attack feature and the Crossbow Expert feat shoot a hand crossbow 4 times in the same turn?

In D&D 5e, can a 5th-level fighter shoot a hand crossbow 4 times per turn using the Crossbow Expert feat?

The fighter’s Extra Attack feature says (PHB, p. 72):

Beginning at 5th level, you can attack twice, instead of once, whenever you take the Attack action on your turn.

The Crossbow Expert feat says (PHB, p. 165):

  • You ignore the loading quality of crossbows with which you are proficient.

  • […]

  • When you use the Attack action and attack with a one-handed weapon, you can use a bonus action to attack with a loaded hand crossbow you are holding.

Is the following statement valid?

The fighter is holding a hand crossbow. He begins his turn. He takes an Attack action; using his Extra Attack feature along with the first benefit of Crossbow Expert, he shoots twice during this action. Then he takes a bonus action. Using the last benefit of Crossbow Expert, he makes this an Attack action. He is limited to using a hand crossbow during this action. He shoots twice using his Extra Attack feature. (Assume he can do this with the same hand crossbow.)

It is ambiguous whether "you can use a bonus action to attack" means "you can use a bonus action to take exactly one shot" or "you can use your bonus action for the round as an Attack action". Or even if it does mean "you can use a bonus action to take one shot", it is ambiguous whether it means "an Attack action in which you use a one-handed weapon gives you an opportunity to shoot during your bonus action" or "a one-handed weapon attack made during an Attack action gives you an opportunity to shoot during your bonus action". (One bonus shot per Attack action, or one bonus shot per attack within the Attack action?)

Bonus action before Action for Crossbow Expert?

The Crossbow Expert feat says:

When you use the Attack action and attack with a one-handed weapon, you can use a bonus action to attack with a hand crossbow you are holding.

While I am aware that in general, the order of action/bonus action is irrelevant. My question is: does the wording of the feat require the action before the bonus action?


Compare and contrast with:

  • Monk’s Martial Arts

When you use the Attack action with an unarmed strike or a monk weapon on your turn, you can make one unarmed strike as a bonus action. For example, if you take the Attack action and attack with a quarterstaff, you can also make an unarmed strike as a bonus action, assuming you haven’t already taken a bonus action this turn.

  • Monk’s Flurry of Blows

Immediately after you take the Attack action on your turn, you can spend 1 ki point to make two unarmed strikes as a bonus action.

  • Shield Master Feat (relevant question)

If you take the Attack action on your turn, you can use a bonus action to try to shove a creature within 5 feet of you with your shield.

What is the damage done by Deflect Missile when deflecting a Crossbow Bolt?

Similar to this question, but way simpler.

The Monk Deflect Missile feature states:

If you catch a missile in this way, you can spend 1 ki point to make a ranged attack with the weapon or piece of ammunition you just caught, as part of the same reaction. You make this attack with proficiency, regardless of your weapon proficiencies, and the missile counts as a monk weapon for the attack.

The question is: assume a Monk is hit by a Crossbow Bolt and manages to nullify the damage. The same Bolt can be used by three different Crossbows (Hand, Light or Heavy), to deal 1d6, 1d8 or 1d10.

Does the damage used by the Deflect Missile depend on the weapon that was used to attack the Monk in the first place? That seems very weird, since the difference is pretty much only the speed that the crossbow fires the bolt – which is meaningless once the Monk has stopped the shot.

In particular, the text states the missile counts as a monk weapon for the attack. Does it mean we should use the damage from the Monk Dice?

You can roll a d4 in place of the normal damage of your unarmed strike or monk weapon. This die changes as you gain monk levels, as shown in the Martial Arts column of the Monk table.

The problem here is that it says you can replace the weapon damage for the Monk Dice (this is how I call the dice from the column), but not necessarily has to.

So, what dice do I roll?

Why do ranged weapons in D&D have two numbers to show their range e.g light crossbow 80/320?

You can use a ranged weapon from 5ft to it’s full range without there being a disadvantage and I know that the second number, in this case 320, is how far it can shoot, but what is the first number for? Are you at a disadvantage when you use the light crossbow cloaser than 80ft away from your target?