When does a Sea Sorcerer choose to use Curse of the Sea’s additional effect?

The Sea Sorcerer’s Curse of the Sea features states:

[…] Once per turn when you cast a spell, you can trigger the curse if that spell deals cold or lightning damage to the cursed target or forces it to move. Doing so subjects the target to the appropriate additional effect below, and then the curse ends if the spell isn’t a cantrip…

Cold damage. If the affected target takes cold damage from your spell…

Lightning Damage. If the affected target takes lightning damage from your spell…

Forced Movement. If the target is moved by your spell…

It’s unclear to me when the Sorcerer actually chooses to use this ability as it has unusual wording compared to other features such as the Evocation Wizard’s Overchannel feature which states:

When you cast a wizard spell of 5th level or lower that deals damage, you can deal maximum damage with your spell.

In the question “When must the wizard choose to overchannel?” this feature was ruled that it is used when you cast a spell, not when the spell actually deals damage. However, the Curse of the Sea feature uses different wording and I’m unsure how (if at all) this impacts the feature’s timing.

Does the Sorcerer decide to use the feature when casting the spell or when the spell actually deals damage / forces movement?

One time it matters:
If you used this feature when you cast a spell and chose to do so, and then the creature turned out to be immune to cold damage, the additional effect would not occur.

How does character death/resurrection work in Curse of Strahd?

While I was asking some questions in general chat about death in the Curse of Strahd adventure, @Derpy brought up an interesting point (that might contain loose spoilers).

Correct me if I am wrong, but I think the rulebook/guide itself makes it clear that

Is this true, and if so, where in the campaign guide does it say so?

In the wan oracle curse description what does “inflict spell” mean

From Pathfinder SRD (emphasis mine)

Wan [3PP]

Source Oracle’s Curse, copyright 2014 by RJ Grady, published by Tripod Machine.

You are pale, sickly, and languorous, with one foot in death’s door.

EFFECT

You have the fatigued condition, but are immune to the exhausted condition.

At 5th level, you learn the “inflict” spell of any level spell you can cast.

At 10th level, add ray of exhaustion to your spells known.

At 15th level, add waves of exhaustion to your spells known.

I was skimming through the oracle curses list on pathfinder srd and found the curse quoted above. I’m confused by the wording is there a spell called inflict I’m not aware of or is it a method of delivery. Maybe it’s referring to inflict light wounds and inflict moderate wounds. That’s my best guess but I’m likely wrong on that.

Does the Kenku racial curse prevent the Awakened Mind class feature and similar telepathy effects from helping them communicate?

A Great Old One warlock is granted awakened mind at first level — a limited form of conversational telepathy that allows communication (with range limitations) with any being that can understand at least one language.

Kenku, however, are under a racial curse that prevents them from speaking except via mimicry of sounds they’ve heard in the past (as if a talking crow or myna had the intelligence to carry on a conversation with its mimicked words). Obviously, a Kenku could be a target of this ability from another being, because they understand speech — but could the Kenku reply other than by mimicry of words and phrases he’d heard? Beyond this, could a Kenku Great Old One warlock use this ability to carry out one-on-one conversation without having to dig through his memory for words or phrases that fit the need?

Note: most upvoted vs. accepted answer here; there seems to be some conflict yet on whether awakened mind is even two-way…

Will this creature from Curse of Strahd reappear after being banished?

In Curse of Strahd, my cleric cast Banishment on the (possible spoiler):

At the end of Banishment’s duration, will the creature return? I don’t know what plane it’s native to. Our DM seemed unsure, himself. Our party has reason to believe that this creature is:

I don’t have any confirmation, but I believe that the creature actually is:

Is this statue in Curse of Strahd what I think it is?

I just read this question which made me discover the funny anecdote of The Head of Vecna (Note that apart from the hand and eye artifacts in the DMG, I had never heard of Vecna before).

Therefore I start reading a bit about this Vecna character, and learn that he became a god of secrets.

Now I’m currently preparing to run the Curse of Strahd adventure, and this started ringing a bell in my mind (Warning : CoS spoilers):

Is there any official source that links this CoS element with the Head of Vecna anecdote or am I just linking two unrelated stories ?