Troika! How is enemy damage from weapons and super weapons rolled?

In the Troika! SDR page 67 are the enemies Troll and Ven. The Troll does damage as Weapon and the Ven as Super Weapon. But there are no generic damage tables for those.

The Zoanthrop for example does damage as a Modest Beast which is listed in the table of Beastly Weapons on page 70.

How is enemy damage for (Super) Weapon calculated?

What is the damage done by Deflect Missile when deflecting a Crossbow Bolt?

Similar to this question, but way simpler.

The Monk Deflect Missile feature states:

If you catch a missile in this way, you can spend 1 ki point to make a ranged attack with the weapon or piece of ammunition you just caught, as part of the same reaction. You make this attack with proficiency, regardless of your weapon proficiencies, and the missile counts as a monk weapon for the attack.

The question is: assume a Monk is hit by a Crossbow Bolt and manages to nullify the damage. The same Bolt can be used by three different Crossbows (Hand, Light or Heavy), to deal 1d6, 1d8 or 1d10.

Does the damage used by the Deflect Missile depend on the weapon that was used to attack the Monk in the first place? That seems very weird, since the difference is pretty much only the speed that the crossbow fires the bolt – which is meaningless once the Monk has stopped the shot.

In particular, the text states the missile counts as a monk weapon for the attack. Does it mean we should use the damage from the Monk Dice?

You can roll a d4 in place of the normal damage of your unarmed strike or monk weapon. This die changes as you gain monk levels, as shown in the Martial Arts column of the Monk table.

The problem here is that it says you can replace the weapon damage for the Monk Dice (this is how I call the dice from the column), but not necessarily has to.

So, what dice do I roll?

Do Crossbows add Dex to damage?

My long-term RPG instinct is to say “clearly they don’t”. (Pathfinder, 3.5, AD&D, etc.)

Looking at some NPCs seems to be back this up. The Veteran (MM 350) deals a straight 1d10 with their Heavy Crossbow, despite having Dex+1, and the Scout (MM 349) deals 1d8+Dex with their Longbow.

However, I cannot actually find where this is detailed in the PHB…

  • Section on Dexterity (PHB 176) does not have any exception for the crossbow.

    You add your Dexterity modifier to your attack roll and your damage roll when attacking with a ranged weapon, such as a sling or longbow.

  • Crossbow features are Ammunition and Loading, but neither of these seem to address damage. (PHB 146-9])
  • The sections on “Making an attack” (PHB 196-8) don’t mention anything about damage modifiers at all.

Also, I cannot find any mention in the latest errata (v1.1) (Oct 2015).

Does anyone else have a RAW for “crossbows don’t add Dex to damage?”.


UPDATE: the MM has a few other examples that are not consistent with “Dex on damage”, but in general, most are accurate. The answer below seems to back my findings, crossbows do add Dex modifier to damage.


UPDATE 2: the MM errata (2015-12) corrects the Veteran example.

RAW, when using the Abjuration Wizard’s Projected Ward, who takes “any remaining damage”?

The Abjuration Wizard’s 2nd level ability Arcane Ward reads:

Starting at 2nd level, you can weave magic around yourself for protection. When you cast an abjuration spell of 1st level or higher, you can simultaneously use a strand of the spell’s magic to create a magical ward on yourself that lasts until you finish a long rest.

In the context of this ability, the wizard is the "warded creature", obviously.

The 6th level ability, Projected Ward, reads:

Starting at 6th level, when a creature that you can see within 30 feet of you takes damage, you can use your reaction to cause your Arcane Ward to absorb that damage. If this damage reduces the ward to 0 hit points, the warded creature takes any remaining damage.

To use Projected Ward, you must already have your Arcane Ward active, thus before using your reaction, you are definitely "the warded creature". In the description for Projected Ward, it says you are using "your ward", as in the ward that is warding you, to absorb the damage.

In the context of this ability who is the "warded creature", the wizard or the creature who took the damage that triggered the reaction?

The RAI seems obvious here, but I would prefer a RAW focused ruling.

Is there a way to deal damage to a target without them knowing?

I’m playing a sneaky Poison Dusk Lizardfolk who dabbles a lot in poisons. I want to use a blowgun to inflict poisons on my targets, but I don’t want them to know they’ve been damaged. Basically, imagine someone walking down the road, and then suddenly being paralyzed. I know there’s rules for "sniping," or making a ranged attack and then hiding, but that doesn’t stop the opponent from knowing they’ve been damaged. It just stops them from finding who did it.

With Form Of A Beast, if you use Strength Of A Bear, what damage do your attacks do?

The 2D20 Conan spell Form Of A Beast says that you “gain a Natural attack of 4 dice”, but in the various iterations of the spell (such as Strength Of A Bear and Body Of A Wolf), it says you “gain its attacks”, which would appear to do less base damage than 4 dice (if you subtract the bonus the creature gains from its own Brawn).

For example, a Bear’s Bite is listed at doing 6 dice of damage, but presumably this takes into account the Bear’s listed Brawn of 12, which would add 3 of those dice, meaning the base damage of the Bite is actually 3…

So what would the actual damage be when assuming those forms and gaining their attacks (instead of just casting the base form of the spell and getting a natural attack of 4)?

How does resistance/vulnerability/immunity interact with carryover damage after reducing a Polymorphed (or Wild Shaped) form to 0 HP?

A caster casts polymorph on another creature. Let’s say the polymorphed creature has 10 HP in its new form, but takes 30 piercing damage and its current form is reduced to 0 HP. This causes it to revert back to its original form, with 20 more piercing damage that would carry over. However, its original form is resistant to piercing damage.

How much damage would the new form actually take? Would its original form’s resistance to the damage type apply to the carryover damage?

The same question can be extended to the original form having immunity or vulnerability, as the answer would ostensibly use the same logic.


The druid’s Wild Shape ability also works similarly to polymorph in this regard (if you reduce the new form to 0 HP, then any remaining damage carries over to its original form), so I suspect the answer would be similar for a similar question about Wild Shape.

Is DR/magic weak to all spells, or does it resist spells that cause physical damage?

Ok, so one of the characters in our game is getting DR and is arguing that any damage caused by any spell bypasses the DR.

A creature with this special quality ignores damage from most weapons and natural attacks. Wounds heal immediately, or the weapon bounces off harmlessly (in either case, the opponent knows the attack was ineffective). The creature takes normal damage from energy attacks (even nonmagical ones), spells, spell-like abilities, and supernatural abilities.

The rest of the group is in agreement though that if a spell causes physical damage as opposed to energy or straight magic (like magic missile), then DR should apply. He gave the example of bombardment, saying that because the rocks are created by magic that it counts as a magical damage. The spell doesn’t specifically say a damage type, but obviously the damage is caused by the rocks falling, and not any sort of magic (since it references a non-magical avalanche in the spell). But if you conjure a non-magical animal, that animal’s attacks don’t automatically become magical because it was summoned magically. So, should DR reduce the physical types of damage from spells, or would throwing a rock with a spell count as magic damage as well? *note, the DM already ruled in favor of DR reducing bludgeoning, slashing, etc from spells, so it doesn’t actually effect the rest of us and if he gets his own character killed then so be it. I would actually just like clarification on it because I can’t find anything about it.