Does the Abjurer have to activate the Projected Ward before or after damage is rolled?

Does the Abjurer have to activate the Projected Ward before or after damage is rolled?

For example, if another player is at 10hp, can the wizard wait to see if 10hp damage is done before choosing to use the Projected Ward on that player?

Projected Ward: Starting at 6th level, when a creature that you can see within 30 feet of you takes damage, you can use your reaction to cause your Arcane Ward to absorb that damage. If this damage reduces the ward to O hit points, the warded creature takes any remaining damage.

D&D3.5e — Damage Reduction — DR/Unholy vs DR/Evil

We’ve got a party with a Celestial Mystic (Book of Exalted Deeds), and I was reading about his level 9 ability, which grants him DR 10/Unholy. Would this be different from DR/evil, as in it would only be breached by unholy weapons, and not attacks from evil outsiders?

I’m asking this because I haven’t seen any monsters or anything that have things like DR/Unholy, Holy, Axiomatic, etc… it’s usually just Good/Evil/Lawful/Chaotic. Has anyone seen any material throughout the books like this? My intuition tells me it’s a typo and should be DR 10/evil, but the errata doesn’t say anything about this.

Thanks!

Damage Reduction — DR/evil vs DR/unholy [closed]

we’ve got a party with a Celestial Mystic (Book of Exalted Deeds), and I was reading about his level 9 ability, which grants him DR 10/Unholy. I got confused because it’ll usually be DR/good or DR/evil.

Would DR/unholy be different from DR/evil, as in it would only be breached by unholy weapons, and not attacks from evil outsiders? Or is this a typo of some sort and it should be DR 10/evil?

Thanks!

Can Death Ward save you from death due to damage from falling?

I am curious about ways of using Death Ward and wondered what happens if you cast Death Ward on yourself and then throw yourself off a great height.

For example, would it be possible to cast Death Ward and jump off a very high cliff (enough to kill the PC), fall and hit the ground, where the outcome is that she/he ends up with 1 HP instead of being dead?

This question provides an answer to dying as a result of a spell like Disintegrate:

Is there a difference between “When you are reduced to 0 hit points” and “when you would be reduced to 0 hit points”?

But, I would like a specific answer to how “Death Ward” interacts with damage done from falling from a greath height.

Thanks for your expertise with this.

How does Contingency with Cure Wounds work with incoming damage?

If a bard selects contingency as a magical secrets pick, and casts a 5th level cure wounds with the trigger “when I drop to 1 hitpoint”, how does the incoming damage work?

Say he is at 5 hit points. Then he gets hit with 30 damage. Does the extra 25 damage take away from the 5th level cure wounds that gets triggered?

Would a monk using Shocking Grasp chance double damage?

I think this might be answered here, but I’m not quite sure I understand this spell’s wording.

I have a monk who focuses on making her actions the most effective, be it dealing the most damage, gaining the best intel beforehand, increasing the odds, or using trickery to avoid a fight altogether.

On that last note, I was considering if Magic Initiate would have an awesome combo to increase her bag of tricks, as Prestidigitation and Minor Illusion are already taken care of, and right now, I am trying to consider how she’d use the Shocking Grasp cantrip:

Lightning springs from your hand to deliver a shock to a creature you try to touch. Make a melee spell attack against the target. You have advantage on the attack roll if the target is wearing armor made of metal. On a hit, the target takes 1d8 lightning damage, and it can’t take reactions until the start of its next turn.

From what I read, the player’s hand would stop short from actually touching the person, but I know my monk would have to do so intentionally, seeing this as a HUGE missed opportunity. Like Morphius says “Stop trying to hit me and hit me!” so she’d most likely prepare the spell and lash out with every intent to perform an unarmed strike expecting 3 possible results:

  1. She swings and misses, but the lighting doesn’t.
  2. She swings and hits, but the cantrip is a dud.
  3. She swings and hits, but also having the lightning shock the enemy a microsecond before.

As far as I can tell, since the spell doesn’t state that the target flinches out of the way or that “you failed to touch”, I don’t see why using this to double the damage on a punch wouldn’t be allowed, but I can understand the argument that (in scenario 3) she would end up technically using a spell AND an unarmed attack at the same time (totaling 4 possible hits with 1d8 and 3d4 using 2 ki points).

So I’d like to ask for clarification if “Try to touch” means a guaranteed fail, or it has potential to do even more damage?

What happens when non-aggravated damage does not fit in the Health Chart?

Suppose my character is wounded (4 damage levels taken). Then, another attack hits for another 4 lethal damage levels. I record damage until Incapacited (3 levels), what I do with the remaining damage level?

I used to assume that the exceeding damage sends you to torpor, but reading the way the text is written I’m not sure any more, at least following RAW.

V20, page 282-283: Incapacited: The stage immediately before torpor, incapacitation differs from unconsciousness in that your character collapses from the combined effects of physical trauma and pain. She falls to the ground and may do nothing except spend blood points to heal damage. Further damage suffered by an incapacitated vampire sends her into torpor or, if the damage is aggravated, inflicts Final Death on her.

The text says further damage sends you to torpor if you are already Incapacitated. In this case seems a bit ambiguous, but later text seems to reinforce me that idea.

V20, page 285: If your character falls to Incapacitated and then takes another level of bashing damage, she enters torpor (p. 283). If your character falls to Incapacitated due to bashing damage but then takes a level of aggravated damage, she meets Final Death

This way the text is written seems to imply you first fall to Incapacitated, and then you receive more damage (from another attack). If this new attack is bashing damage, you fall into torpor; if it’s aggravated, you die.

V20, page 285: When your character’s Health boxes fill to Incapacitated and she takes a further level of lethal damage, she enters torpor (p. 283). If your character is reduced to Incapacitated via lethal damage, and she takes a further level of aggravated damage, she meets Final Death.

This quote seems to imply exceeding damage sends you directly to torpor, but the text is not clear enough to me. That further level of damage can be in the same attack that filled the Incapacitated box, or you had it filled and then received a new attack?

I know in Second Edition exceeding damage is subtracts blood points. I have read several Revised and 20th Anniversary World of Darkness books, but I find similarly ambiguously (at least to me) descriptions.

I must note that I’m not a native English speaker (or reader), if it’s still not obvious to anyone reading me, but I have found the same doubts in the books translations to my language.

The questions are: What happens to exceeding damage that not fit in the Health Chart? Does it sends you to torpor? Is is it discarded?

By RAW could I save a level 1 character that took damage exceeding twice its HP?

Yesterday I DMed a session with a party of four level 1 characters: druid, sorcerer, monk, barbarian, and a level 1 warlock whose player was absent.

I played Dragon of Icespire Peak, Dwarven Excavation

The party encounter an ochre jelly and the sorcerer is hit.

I roll for 2d6 + 2 bludgeoning damage plus 1d6 acid damage, and roll three 6, for a total of 20 damage.

The sorcerer being level 1 with Constitution 14 has 6+2=8HP, so this is insta-death.

Without resorting to some sort of Deus Ex Machina, is there a way to save it?

Apart their spells, the party only own a few potions of healing and the only NPCs presents are two commoner dwarves.

Note: since the player is fond of his character and they are involved in a long term campaing in which this char has a great intro, I did save it (in a reasonable, but not RAW, way) but wonder if I could have handle it differently.

What protects me better from damage: Plate armour and a Shield, or Dodge?


What protects me better from damage: Plate armour and a Shield, or Dodge?

I am playing a Cleric mainly but I took one level in Rogue as it helped me with the Expertise. Now I am thinking about taking one more level as a Rogue. I want to know what has more potential to reduce damage for my PC. In the party I tend to have a balance of doing damage and doing some healing. My character is one PCs that tends to take quite a lot of the brunt of the fight and I want to reduce the overall damage I get.

Currently I am wearing Studded Leather and Shield, with a +4 Dex bonus = AC 18. I have been thinking of trading in my Studded Leather and using Plate Armour and a Shield instead to reduce damage. I have proficiency in Heavy Armour and Shields, so I could have an AC 20. I could take a level in Cleric which would give me +2 on an ability, which I could use to bring my Strength up to 15 so that I can wear Plate armour.

But, recently in a fight I was getting quite low on Hit Points and I chose to use Dodge as my main action a few times. This reduced the damage I got a lot; I got hit less times because of the disadvantage on the mobs’ attack rolls.

I am now considering taking the extra level as a Rogue as it would give me Cunning Action so I could attack or heal as my main action and then use Dodge as my bonus action to minimise damage.

Cunning Action

Starting at 2nd level, your quick thinking and agility allow you to move and act quickly. You can take a bonus action on each o f your turns in combat. This action can b e used only to take the Dash, Disengage, or Hide action.

(PHB p.145)

In my situation, is Dodge more effective at reducing overall damage than having an increase of +2 to my AC from having Plate armour and a Shield?

Please provide an example of the damage reduction in your anwer.

Thanks for you help with this.

What is the most damage that can be done in one round to a single target….with spells

I’m new here, but I scrolled through and did not see this question answered.

I would love to see your theory-craft at work!

What is the most damage you can do to a single opponent in one round, with spells of any class.

Rules:

I play RAW, so if you are going to use any UA please have a separate category for it. No 3rd party stuff please.

  • No set up round

  • Damaged from anything summoned counts, as long as it attacks on your initiative

  • No outside help, this is about you.

  • Target is not restrained, or vulnerable, or resistant, unless you find a way to make him that way.

  • No crits unless you have a way to guarantee them.

  • Assume that you automatically hit, and that creatures fail saving throws.. but bonus points if you can give reasons why you have a better chance at it.

  • The opponent is generic, so you can’t tailor the spell to a specific monster for more damage.

  • Use any feat, including dragonmarks to get an epic boon…

  • Level max is 20 using any race, class, or combination of classes

  • Use any magic item (as many as you like)

  • Spells that include a weapon attack are allowed (like booming blade)

  • Flame blade or spiritual weapon are also allowed

  • This calculation is about what you can inflict on someone intentionally. So no reaction spells. However damage that is done on the opponents turn in the same round can be added like that from booming blade.

I can’t wait to see what you guys come up with, I’ll add my own as well!