How does supernatural light interact with magical darkness, and vice versa?

Let’s say a character has the exalted feat Nimbus of Light which makes him shed light:

Your radiance sheds light as a common lamp: bright light to a radius of 5 feet and shadowy illumination to 10 feet. You can extinguish this radiance at will and reactivate it again as a free action.

What would happen if he enters the area of a Darkness spell?

Normal lights (torches, candles, lanterns, and so forth) are incapable of brightening the area, as are light spells of lower level. Higher level light spells are not affected by darkness.

Since the light is supernatural (all exalted feats are supernatural) it doesn’t qualify as "normal", it could qualify as a spell, but supernatural abilities don’t have "levels", and often, as in this case, they don’t emulate the effect of a spell like most spell-like abilities do.

So, what would be the proper way to resolve this situation?

  1. Should the DM assign a virtual level to the supernatural ability by comparing it to similar spells?
  2. Since supernatural abilities can’t be dispelled and are not subject to spell resistance would it be reasonable to assume supernatural light behaves like "normal" non-magical light, and it doesn’t shine inside magical darkness?
  3. Does any supernatural light trump over all kinds of magical darkness?

What happens when a Shadow Blade on which Darkness has been cast disappears?

The darkness spells states the following:

If the point the darkness spreads from is an object you’re holding or one that isn’t being worn or carried, the darkness comes from and moves with the object.

However, there is no prescription for what happens if the object that the darkness is following is broken (What happens to the darkness spell if it is cast on an object that then breaks?) or destroyed, such as when shadow blade disappears after being let go of by the wielder/caster. What would happen to the darkness spell and its positioning? What would happen if the same object were to reappear in space, as is in this case suggested by the phrasing of the shadow blade spell (emphasis mine):

While the spell lasts, you can use a bonus action to make the sword reappear in your hand.

To me, the most reasonable outcome in the event of the object outright being removed from existence is that the darkness stops being emitted, as the darkness is stated to ‘come from’ the object. The darkness would then reappear should the same object reappear, provided that the spell hasn’t ended (no trigger for which has been activated).

Buying Automatic Successes In World of Darkness

Shadowrun 5e allows players to, with GM approval, buy Hits by trading dice on a 4:1 basis.

I was wondering if there were any published guidelines, or robust, well-thought-out house rules for doing this in World of Darkness (any product, oWoD or nWoD). I’ve read a lot of WoD books, and I’m not aware of any such guidance, so I’m reaching out to you guys.

The intent is to

  • Manage large dice pools
  • Potentially eliminate rolling for NPCs ala Numenera.

Edit / Clarification

WoD products sometimes have a terminology issue. Success could mean that a single die has rolled the requisite target number (e.g. 6), or it could mean that a given roll has generated enough Successes to exceed a required number of Successes, and therefore the roll itself can be declared a Success.

The rules for Automatic Success in the WoD books refer to automatically succeeding at a roll. Again we face the terminology issue, because elsewhere an automatic success can be defined as automatically receiving credit for one die having hit the target number, without having to roll that die. This rule is used in oWoD games where 1 temporary Willpower spent equals 1 automatic success, but doesn’t necessarily mean you have succeeded at the roll.

For clarity, I am looking for a way to trade dice for automatic successes as if I had spent 1 Willpower in oWoD.

My thoughts so far are that I might say that 3 dice equals 1 automatic success, because in nWoD 1 Willpower buys you 3 dice. It may be important to note that I am not using moving target numbers, all target numbers on all rolls are the same number.

How can I tell which version a classic World of Darkness book is for? [duplicate]

I’m a novice in the World of Darkness games. Most of my books are purchased piece-meal through game stores. This answer has been incredibly helpful in laying out the various games and editions that exist.

I have around 30 books of various classic World of Darkness product lines – Vampire, Hunter, Werewolf, etc. However, most of the books don’t explicitly say what version of the game they are for (1st, 2nd, revised, x20, V5, etc.). This leaves me confused about which materials are appropriate for which games – and where to put them on my shelf!

How can I tell whether my books are intended for 1st, 2nd, revised, x20, or some other edition? Are there tradedress somewhere I should be observing? Or unique mechanical elements that differ?

How do all the World of Darkness and Chronicles of Darkness RPGs connect?

I just got my kick-starter copy of Changeling the Lost 2nd Ed and are starting to dip my toe back into the World of Darkness after a long absent. And I found out that it is confusing as hell trying to figure out which versions and editions of the different versions goes with which.

You have old world of darkness, new world of darkness or chronicles of darkness. A couple of editions of vampire the masquerade, a couple of editions of vampire gehenna, a vampire the masquerade 20th years anniversary edition and a 5th edition VtM that doesn’t seem to have anything to do with the rest of world of darkness besides the White Wolf logo on the back.

Same thing with my favourite game of Changeling. My 2nd edition should technically be the 4th edition if you count number of changeling rpg core books instead of numbering after settings. I think.

Seriously, it feels like you’d need some sort of flowchart just to figure out which games are connected and which are compatible with each other from a rules and from a meta plot perspective.

And that’s not even counting all the different historical spin-offs.

So can someone please explain which versions and editions of the different world of darkness core settings are connected? (Gold star if you use an actual flowchart.)

How is miss chance calculated if a caster has Entropic shield active and is inside Darkness spell?

My question is simple. I have a warlock that has following invocations:

Darkness:

“This spell causes an object to radiate shadowy illumination out to a 20-foot radius. All creatures in the area gain concealment (20% miss chance). Even creatures that can normally see in such conditions (such as with darkvision or low-light vision) have the miss chance in an area shrouded in magical darkness.”

Entropic warding:

“A magical field appears around you, glowing with a chaotic blast of multicolored hues. This field deflects incoming arrows, rays, and other ranged attacks. Each ranged attack directed at you for which the attacker must make an attack roll has a 20% miss chance (similar to the effects of concealment). Other attacks that simply work at a distance are not affected.” Devil’s Sight: “You gain the visual acuity of a devil for 24 hours. You can see normally in darkness and magical darkness out to 30 feet.”

Devil’s Sight:

You gain the visual acuity of a devil for 24 hours. You can see normally in darkness and magical darkness out to 30 feet.

With entropic warding I get 20% miss chance on ranged attacks as deflection. In addtion, Darkness grants 20% miss chance if the caster is in it. If I am inside darkness and I have entropic warding on, do my miss chances stacks up to 40% (given I get ranged attack) or do I roll miss chance twice as twice with 20% with each roll.

Does this errata allow vision out of an area of Darkness?

I thought this was a moot point, settled and done, but a recent errata opens up the question for me again.

Vision and Light (p. 183). A heavily obscured area doesn’t blind you, but you are effectively blinded when you try to see something obscured by it.

This corrects the following rule:

A heavily obscured area–such as darkness, opaque fog, or dense foliage–blocks vision entirely. A creature effectively suffers from the blinded condition (see appendix PH-A) when trying to see something in that area.

Now, this errata implies to me that being within a heavily obscured area does not prevent one from seeing OUT of the area, merely from seeing INTO the area. For instance, a rogue in an area of deep shadow would be heavily obscured to the guard standing by the streetlamp, but the rogue could easily see the guard. (Substitute thick foliage and elf for a less light based situation.)
On the other hand, the rogue would be effectively blinded to anything else in the same area of darkness.

So, what in the Darkness spell specifically prevents one from seeing OUT? The only indication I can see is that “A creature with darkvision can’t see THROUGH” it and that doesn’t really convince me. Can Darkness be interpreted as simply a mobile, impenetrable shadow?

Merits of Dresden Files over World of Darkness

For someone who is already moderately familiar with the World of Darkness (not Chronicles of Darkness) setting and its lore, what are, if any, rationales for jumping ship to Dresden Files instead? Now, before someone misreads this as an invitation to start a subjective ‘my favourite game is best’ contest, I would like to add a few clarifications and scope-narrowers to my question:

  • Of course being fully familiar with more settings gives one more options and is better than knowing only few or one, but getting deeply acquainted with settings takes investment, whether one is a GM or player, and so it’s best to know what one is signing up for.
  • I’m looking for comparisons specifically about setting/lore, not cruch/systems.
  • I’m looking at advantages that while may contain an element of subjectivity, are generally observable and rationally explainable, and likely to be applicable to many people. For example, being better suited for certain types of plots, or enabling certain types of character concepts (that WoD doesn’t support as well), or having rich and deep characterisation of setting elements (that are bland in WoD). That sort of stuff.
  • WoD is something of a default go-to Wainscot Fantasy setting for RPGs, while DF seems to be a newcomer trying to fight for the same niche, so I’m treating the former as an incumbent and the latter that may need ‘selling points’. Thus I’m asking primarily about the merits of DF and not about its downsides. But if someone wants to includes downsides for completeness, that’s not useless information, just less important than merits.
  • While right now I’m looking at this from the PoV of my own investments, I suspect if I end up acquainting myself with DF, I may end up in a position where I’m the one ‘selling’ people onto it from WoD circles.

How does the Celestial Brilliance interact with the Deeper Darkness spell?

I am in doubt about what happens when two area effects that influence a place’s light interact with one another.

Celestial Brilliance (Book of Exalted Deeds, p. 94) is a 4th-level spell and reads, in part:

Celestial brilliance brought into an area of magical darkness (or vice versa) is temporarily negated, so that the otherwise prevailing light conditions exist in the overlapping areas of effect.

Celestial brilliance counters or dispels any darkness spell of equal or lower level, such as deeper darkness.

Does this mean that if I cast Deeper Darkness as a 3rd-level spell within Celestial Brilliance‘s area, then both neutralize?

What I do not understand is if it is a matter of spell level or timing (i.e. which spell is cast first).

Also, is there any difference – other than the damage – between the light produced by Celestial Brilliance and Daylight? The first one says “light brighter than bright sunlight”; the other one says “light as bright as full daylight”. Does this difference in phrasing imply anything?