What DC should a Skeleton’s Explosive Death ability be?

What DC should a Skeleton’s Explosive Death ability be? I’ve just been using the standard DC for a level equal to the skeleton, which is fine for the Skeletal Champion but that poses some problems for the Skeleton Guard (which is level -1). The Bestiary (at least, Bestiary 1, the only one I have) doesn’t seem to offer guidance on this, but I could be missing it.

Can spells that stabilize you when you would die protect you from death by massive damage?

Characters die from damage when their health is reduced below their negative Constitution score. However, some spells stabilize you when you would die. Can these spells save you from the massive damage rule?

For example, Shadow Endurance says:

If you are reduced below 0 hit points or rendered unconscious, shadow endurance immediately discharges, shunting your injured body into a hidden alcove on the Shadow Plane.

You immediately stabilize, but cannot awaken or take any further actions until the second duration expires.

Nine Lives does something similar:

Rejuvenate: The target uses this ability when it is reduced to 0 or fewer hit points. The target is instantly healed 3d6 points of damage. If enough hit points are regained to bring the target to positive hit points, it does not fall unconscious. If it is not enough to leave the target with positive hit points, the target automatically stabilizes. Both of these effects work even if the damage was originally enough to kill the target.

Can spells that stabilise you when you’d die overrule death from massive damage?

Characters can die from massive damage when their health is reduced below their negative endurance score. However, some spells stabilise you when you’d die. Can these spells stabilise you even from massive damage?

For example, Shadow Endurance says:

If you are reduced below 0 hit points or rendered unconscious, shadow endurance immediately discharges, shunting your injured body into a hidden alcove on the Shadow Plane.

You immediately stabilize, but cannot awaken or take any further actions until the second duration expires.

Nine Lives does similar:

Rejuvenate: The target uses this ability when it is reduced to 0 or fewer hit points. The target is instantly healed 3d6 points of damage. If enough hit points are regained to bring the target to positive hit points, it does not fall unconscious. If it is not enough to leave the target with positive hit points, the target automatically stabilizes. Both of these effects work even if the damage was originally enough to kill the target.

I feel it’s made fairly clear in the case of nine-lives that you wouldn’t die, but it’s less clear for me whether it’d work the same way in the case of Shadow Endurance. How spells that stabilise you from death interact with death from massive damage? Can they successfully stabilise you, or do you die anyway?

Do you make death saving throws out of combat?

Death saving throws are made on each turn where you are dying and not stable. However, the rules specifically talk about making saves during combat rounds – so what about after combat? Two PCs are up, three are dying, and the lich is defeated. For the three that are dying:

  1. Do combat turns continue as normal until all are either stable are dead?
  2. Since combat is over, do the dying PCs make their saves consecutively until they are dead/stable without interference from other PCs? (a combat round in which a save is normally made is only 6 seconds)
  3. Do the PCs automatically stabilize?

I think the closest interpretation is option 1, but at my home game we’ve house-ruled to work with option 3 (barring exigent circumstances like a PC dying alone somewhere in a trap) because we assume that in the majority of cases a party can easily stabilize their companion or the PC will make their save.

I’m looking for a rule stating explicitly how death saves work outside of combat, or a wiser interpretation than my own.

Can I twin cast a cantrip used with reaper from the death domain?

Assuming I multiclass as a death domain cleric and a sorcerer. Can I use my Twinned Spell metamagic to cast a necromantic cantrip, in conjunction with the Death Domains Reaper ability?

Reaper At 1st level, you learn one necromancy cantrip of your choice from any spell list. When you cast a necromancy cantrip that normally targets only one creature, the spell can instead target two creatures within range and within 5 feet of each other.

Twinned Spell When you Cast a Spell that Targets only one creature and doesn’t have a range of self, you can spend a number of sorcery points equal to the spell’s level to target a second creature in range with the same spell (1 sorcery point if the spell is a cantrip). To be eligible, a spell must be incapable of targeting more than one creature at the spell’s current level. For example, Magic Missile and Scorching Ray aren’t eligible, but Ray of Frost is.

My reading of this says that Reaper is an effect that happens to the cantrip the same as Twinned spell. SO both would happen simultaneously, which circumvents the Twinned spell stipulation that it can only effect one target.

How do the Death Ward spell and the half-orc’s Relentless Endurance racial trait interact?

What happens when you cast Death Ward on a half-orc? Do the effects of the spell and the half-orc’s Relentless Endurance racial trait stack?

If so, and you get reduced to 0 HP more than once, can you go back up to 1 HP a second time? Or does only one of them take effect and you can only be brought back to 1 HP once?

My DM thinks the latter.

If you’re unconscious and making death saving throws, and an attack from within 5 feet of you hits you, does it cause 2 failed death saves?

In the PHB, it says that three death saving throw failures means you die; taking any damage causes 1 failure, and a critical hit causes 2 failures. But the unconscious condition says that attacks against an unconscious character have advantage and auto-crit if they’re within 5 feet.

That seems really tough — it almost guarantees that you’ll die if hit twice if one is melee, and on top of that if you’re hit once and not stabilized on your next turn you have a 45% chance of getting your third failure from the saving throw.

Am I correctly reading the rules? If you’re unconscious and making death saving throws, and an attack from within 5 feet of you hits you, does it cause 2 failed death saves?

Do Summoned creatures trigger “on death” effects?

Taking Leshies as an example, they can be summoned with the Summon Plant or Fungus spell. They also have the Verdant Burst ability (abbreviated):

When a leaf leshy dies, a burst of primal energy explodes from its body

The entry is slightly different for each form of Leshy, but they all give an instantaneous healing effect to nearby plant creatures, and most cause the area to become difficult terrain for 24 hours or permanently.

However, they also gain the Summoned trait, which states:

They are automatically banished if reduced to 0 Hit Points or if the spell that called them ends.

Which of these triggers first? What if the leshy is killed by massive damage? Is there a distinction between the instantaneous healing and the lingering difficult terrain (if the healing occurs, is the terrain then banished with the Leshy)?

Can a focused practitioner throw a death curse?

Wizards are explicitly able to throw a death curse, in the events of their deaths in this setting. The "Your Story" also describes this "wizard ability".

However, if the players kill a powerful enough focused practitioner: is it possible that this practitioner could throw a curse at one of them as well, if they have the opportunity? Assuming that the focused practitioner has some sort of ritual ability focus, considering that a death curse is mechanically a ritual of sorts, as opposed to an evocation sorcerer.

Or is it wizard exclusive by the universe/rpg rules?

What I have found in the rulebook appears to suggest that, but I may have missed something.

White Screen of Death

I have been trying to resurrect my wordpress site after a plugin upgrade went bad. I do not know which plugin caused the issue.

Things I have tried.

  • Renaming plugins and themes folders
  • define(‘WP_DEBUG’, true); and define(‘WP_DEBUG_LOG’, true); These do not seem to produce any output or logs on the filesystem
  • Removing all references to CACHE in wp-config
  • define(‘WP_MEMORY_LIMIT’, ‘1024M’);
  • in /etc/php/7.2/fpm/pool.d/www.conf (php_admin_value[memory_limit] = 128M)

I am still getting a white screen with nothing in the page source. Also my mysql, nginx and php logs do not show any errors.

Any help so very much appreciated!