Does the Avatar of Death make “attacks” for the purposes of resistance or immunity?

The Avatar of Death is an undead summoned by one of the bad cards in the Deck of Many Things.

It has the Reaping Scythe action as its only way to deal damage to other creatures, and it has no feature to make its attacks magical or silvered.

Reaping Scythe. The avatar sweeps its spectral scythe through a creature within 5 feet of it, dealing 7 (1d8 + 3) slashing damage plus 4 (1d8) necrotic damage.

If a Werewolf (which is immune to slashing damage from nonmagical, nonsilvered attacks) is targeted, does it take 11 damage or only the 4 necrotic?

Alternatively, if a Black Pudding (which is immune to slashing) is targeted, does it take 11 damage or only the 4 necrotic?

What happens when the additional Avatars of Death are defeated?

The Skull card from the Deck of Many Things summons an avatar of death, which attempts to face its summoner in single combat. The description states:

The avatar fights until you die or it drops to 0 hit points. If anyone tries to help you, the helper summons its own avatar of death.

DMG p.164

Suppose that a character (Alice) draws the Skull card, and her friend (Bob) tries to intervene in the fight. As a result, both Alice and Bob now have avatars to fight. If Bob’s avatar is defeated first, and he resumes helping Alice, is an additional avatar summoned?

I can see two possible interpretations:

  • Bob is considered to be “helping” during the entire time he’s fighting his own avatar. Thus, when he defeats it, he has not begun to help again, so to speak, and no new avatar is summoned.
  • The intent of this clause is that the avatar should never be outnumbered in combat. Whenever Bob attempts to help and does not currently have an avatar of his own, a new avatar is summoned for him (regardless of whether he has previously defeated one.)

Points in the first interpretation’s favor are that it is comparatively simple, and allows for a more literal English reading of the description. I am curious if I am missing something that makes the answer definitive, however.

If I learn Chill Touch from the Death Cleric’s Reaper ability, does it count as a Cleric cantrip?

The first level feature of the Death Cleric, called Reaper, does the following:

At 1st level, you learn one necromancy cantrip of your choice from any spell list.

If the Death Cleric takes Chill Touch from the Sorcerer/Wizard/Warlock spell list, does Chill Touch become a Cleric cantrip that uses WIS as the spellcasting ability?

Scrying on a Paladin that has become a Death Knight?

So, the players that I DM for have been amassing allies for a final large battle. One of these allies is an Oath of Conquest Paladin that has transformed into a Death Knight since they last saw him. Upon learning that the Paladin is unavailable to help they might try to scry on him to find out what’s going on (they have been scrying a lot lately).

From the Monster Manual Death Knights entry:

When a paladin that falls from grace dies without seeking atonement, dark powers can transform the once-mortal knight into a hateful undead creature. A death knight is a skeletal warrior clad in fearsome plate armor. Beneath its helmet, one can see the knight’s skull with malevolent pinpoints of light burning in its eye sockets.

The Scrying spell states:

You can see and hear a particular creature you choose that is on the same plane of existence as you.

The computer I am currently on has sage advice blocked, but I remember seeing something about the spell showing the caster the corpse of the creature if it has died.

If the caster chooses the Paladin, does the Scrying spell work and show them the Death Knight?

Does Assassin’s Death Strike double the Damage from Poison?

Let’s say you coat your weapon with poison transmitted by injury from DMG. As we know the damage from poison is not tied to attack roll but to a CON save so the damage dice are not doubled on crit. But how does it work with Death Strike? Should I double the damage rolled anyway?

The Death Strike feature states:

[…] When you attack and hit a creature that is surprised, it must make a Constitution saving throw (DC 8 + your Dexterity modifier + your proficiency bonus). On a failed save, double the damage of your attack against the creature.

How do immortals deal with a mortal cheating death?

So D&D characters come back from the dead all the time during campaigns through use of magic, and no one really raises too much of a fuss about it. That’s fine.

But if a character (and I’m more thinking of an NPC or a villain more than PC/good guys, if that matters) repeatedly extended their life through unnatural magic, wouldn’t some immortal beings take notice of a soul that refused to move on? Would those beings be Gods (maybe with the grave domain), and if so, which ones and how would they deal with the situation?

Does a creature Shapechanged into a Balor activate the Death Throes feature when reduced to 0 Hit Points?

Say a PC casts Shapechange on himself to turn into a Balor. This grants him some sweet abilities, such as:

Death Throes. When the balor dies, it explodes, and each creature within 30 feet of it must make a DC 20 Dexterity saving throw, taking 70 (20d6) fire damage on a failed save, or half as much damage on a successful one. […]

The player character drops to 0 Hit Points. Does this trigger this ability?

I’m guessing the answer is a no, unless the PC would actually die, since the character doesn’t die when dropping to 0—they simply change form—as per the spell:

If you revert as a result of dropping to 0 hit points, any excess damage carries over to your normal form.

Could anyone confirm or correct my guess?

Does death cure all ills?

In a previous answer, I mentioned the possibility of killing a character and restoring them to life as a possible method of removing conditions from them. On reflection, I have no idea whether this works or not, and I can’t find anything in my books to prove or disprove it.

Are some or all conditions removed when a character dies? If the answer is some, which ones?

Does repeatedly using the Long Death monk’s Touch of Death feature let you stack up temporary hit points?

I’m building a ghostwise halfling monk of the Way of the Long Death, and was thinking about the 3rd-level Touch of Death feature (SCAG, p. 130):

When you reduce a creature within 5 feet of you to 0 hit points, you gain temporary hit points equal to your Wisdom modifier + your monk level (minimum of 1 temporary hit point).

Is it legal to kind of ‘whack-a-mole’ some monster… say a goblin? In other words, knock it out to 0 hp, stabilize it back to 1, hit it again, rinse and repeat to stack loads of temporary hit points?

How are concentration checks for Death Ward calculated when at low HP?

I have a player whose character has been using Death Ward constantly. This on it’s own is not a problem, but every time he takes a large chunk of damage while at low health, he tries to argue that he’s only taking the amount of damage that reduces him to 1, thereby reducing his concentration save. For example, if he has 11hp, and takes 50 damage, he believes all the damage beyond the first 10 is negated when it stops at 1hp, giving him a concentration DC of 10. Is that right? Or should he still have a concentration DC of 25?