Deleted Partition and backing up data on Windows

so in order to make partition to install Ubuntu I have deleted my whole partition on hard disk and I thought all my data was lost. Then I come around notion that my data should be there even if I have deleted partition by mistake. So, I installed third party software and recovered data and transferred to another hard drive. Now, I can see that data is back uped but the size of the files are 0 kb. The directory structure is same as previous stored in drive. Any insights on this would be helpful and suggestion to retrieve this data again.

delete node from linked list (lang w/GC) -should deleted item ‘next’ be set to null

Regarding: delete a node from a linked list algorithm,in procedural languages with garbage-collection. Should there be a step in the algorithm, of setting the removed-node-next-pointer to null ?

(Several high-school-CS-teachers in my area teach YES, while others teach NO)

What is the right approach?

/thanks ran

Can any file be recovered if a new USB fully encrypted first then formatted and copied and deleted without encryption?

I read some advices that, FDE for new USB before using it against to recover deleted data. It’s clear. Assume that I fully encrypt a new USB before copying any file, then format it and then copy personal data without using encryption. In this case, any deleted file can be recovered if it’s deleted normal way or it’s securely erased?

How can I get item’s workflow details/workflow history where workflow association has been deleted?

We have lots of list items where workflow instance is not showing on workflow details page. After researching i found that in sharepoint 2013, completed/suspended/terminated workflow instances will be automatically removed by auto clean up timer job and workflow manager after 30 days.

Due to this we can’t able to get log history/error details of that items. So my question is, Can we get item’s workflow details/history where workflow association has been deleted?

Any help will be appreciated. Thanks

Restore Deleted Site Collection

I’m trying to restore a site collection that has somehow been marked ‘Deleted’. I’ve been unable to restore it, as we’re unable to reference it with any of the following options:

  • Restore-SPDeletedSite <GUID>
  • Get-SPDeletedSite <GUID>, just running Get-SPDeletedSite returns null
  • Checking for it in the Central Admin recycle bin (unsure if this would work)
  • Dismounting and re-mounting the content database
  • Creating a new Site Collection with a subsite, and remounting the old content database

The last option ended up creating a new site collection in our old content database that’s just an empty site collection. Our other sites are still accessible (eg .../sites/Archive), but the root site collection and its subsites are inaccessible.

We know it’s been deleted in some fashion because after going to the SQL server and running a query on the Site Collection in question. The query was:

SELECT [Id],[Deleted]  FROM [Content_Intranet_DB].[dbo].[AllSites]  WHERE ID='DD1CC06F-8BCC-4A0E-B8D1-96A25047BFB4' 

Which returned the following results.

enter image description here

Is there any way to make the root site collection re-accessible/undeleted except for the above attempts?

We don’t have a backup of this, as it’s a UAT/testing environment but there was some people doing development work on it before it disappeared. It looks like all of the content is still present (the database is the same size as before, the site looks like it’s just a toggled deleted flag, etc).

SharePoint 2010 Alert Me Not Sending Alerts when Item Deleted

I have an alert setup on a list:

  1. Send e-mail
  2. Only send me alerts when: All changes
  3. Send me an alert when: Anything changes
  4. Send notification immediately

I received an alert when the item was added but not when the user deleted it.

Does this have to do with the user who deleted the item (which was the user who created the item)?

Why would I not receive notification that the item was deleted?

user_roles getting deleted from wp_options table in wordpress

I would like some advice on how to troubleshoot a problem on WordPress/Apache/PHP/MySQL

I am looking at the following: select * from wp_options opt where option_name like ‘%wp_user_roles%’ order by option_name

Yesterday, for some reason, all the user roles except the ones for a specific plugin was deleted. (all-in-one-event-calendar). (including the administrator role, which meant that I couldn’t get into wp-admin.) I found the problem, and restored the entry from a backup of that table entry, which got things working again. However, a day later, the roles were deleted again.

What are the steps I should take to troubleshoot this? Have done the following:

  1. I checked all the Apache access logs and error logs at around the time it happened (both times). I can almost pinpoint the time it occurs because the deletion of the roles causes my site to give a white screen and no response. Once it happens, my access logs shows that all responses to WordPress pages have a size of 0MB. Therefore, the time that the Apache responses become size 0, should be the approximate time that the deletion occured.

    I can’t see any suspicious activity around the time the deletions happened.
    I’ve geolocated the ip addresses, and checked them against stopforumspam and projecthoneypot databases to see if there were any bad ips around that time. Also, the access logs just show some GETS to normal pages and files. I don’t see any bad POSTS or malformed urls. This is an imperfect solution, since manually looking over logs is difficult.

  2. I’ve also checked the php errors, but haven’t found any issues.

  3. I’ve turned on MySQL binary logs. Hopefully, next time something updates the wp_options table, I will see the exact query that did it.

  4. I’ve updated WordPress core, and all plugins.

  5. I’ve audited the code for the plugin whose access rights haven’t been deleted.

  6. I’ve disabled that plugin just in case.

  7. I’ve updated my antivirus on that machine, and did a fulls scan (no results).

  8. I used WordFence security scanner scan all my files for infection (no results).

  9. I’ve used Wordfence to block ALL countries outside of the U.S. (we don’t do business outside).

From the access logs, I see no evidence that anyone made any attempts to log in, which is good. Wordfence shows that the only login attempts for my Admin accounts are from my local ip (and no excessive failed attempts).

Are there any other steps that I should take to find the root cause of the roles being deleted? If I just have to keep restoring the roles, it’s a nuisance. But I am worried that this is some sort of attack.