Translate different ports on the same hostname/server, to their own host names [closed]

For example, if I have Jonathan-PC.local, how would I translate Jonathan-PC.local:81 to wordpress.Jonathan-PC.local, Jonathan-PC.local:82 to joomla.Jonathan-PC.local, and Jonathan-PC.local:83 to drupal.Jonathan-PC.local? Is this Network Address Translation? Would a DNS Server be involved in this translation?

Can a warlock use Pact of the Blade to restructure a magical pact weapon into a different form?

I don’t have the exact text, but I’m going to be running a Fey Warlock for an upcoming campaign. I remember this for Pact of the Blade at level 3: You may create your pact weapon in any form you wish, and you have proficiency with your weapon.

I don’t have the exact wording, but I know that you can make a magical weapon your pact weapon by spending some time with it, which can be done as part of a short rest.

My question is:

Let’s say the party finds a magical axe that let’s say its a +1 axe. If I make that weapon my pact weapon, then I summon it: can I choose what form it comes in? For instance, taking a magical axe, making it my pact weapon, and then reforming it as, a rapier instead. Or finding a magical weapon with an elemental-alignment, and restructuring it into a weapon better suited for the character?

The only time I could think that you would consider trying this with the Pact of the Blade is if you’re running a dex-based magical warrior, but it was an interesting idea that popped into my head. Does this work?

In 5e, are there two versions of a ‘shove’, and if so, what further effects do the different versions possibly allow?

As I see it there are two versions of ‘shoving’ in 5e: a physical verion and a magical version.

The physical version allows pushing an opponent backwards OR knocking them prone, while the magic version moves them towards you or away from you but does not mention possibly knocking them prone.

The physical version is described on p. 195 (PHB) as follows,

"Using the Attack action, you can make a Special melee Attack to shove a creature, either to knock it prone or push it away from you. If you’re able to make multiple attacks with the Attack action, this Attack replaces one of them. The target must be no more than one size larger than you and must be within your reach. Instead of Making an Attack roll, you make a Strength (Athletics) check contested by the target’s Strength (Athletics) or Dexterity (Acrobatics) check (the target chooses the ability to use). If you win the contest, you either knock the target prone or push it 5 feet away from you."

The Shield Master feat (p.170 of PHB) allows for this physical version as well.

The Telekinetic feat in Tashas C. of E. (p.81) is described this way,

"As a bonus action, you can try to telekinetically shove one creature you can see within 30 feet of you. When you do so, the target must succeed on a Strength saving throw (DC 8 + your proficiency bonus + the ability modifier of the score increased by this feat) or be moved 5 feet toward or away from you. A creature can willingly fail this save.

Certain spells and other magical abilities, such as thorn whip and the eldritch invocation Grasp of Hadar, move opponents closer to, or farther from the caster, but do not mention the possibility of knocking the opponent prone.

I can imagine a reasonable explanation for why/how there are two versions: the physical is a crashing, concussive impact, while the magical is perhaps more like a tractor beam or magnetic attraction or repulsion and–possibly–not as abrupt.

But if there are two versions, does that lead to further issues?

Perhaps it’s a separate question, but I ask here to highlight why/how answers to my initial question might matter:

Is the telekinetic (magic) version of a shove something that could reasonably be a surprise to an opponent–would/should that give some disadvantage on the opponent’s chance to resist being shoved?

If an opponent were magically shoved from behind, when they didn’t think anyone was there, would that be a reasonable basis for giving advantage to anyone attacking them from the front?

I’d appreciate any thoughtful input on this–whether directly answering the initial question or just focusing on other aspects. I want to understand how ‘shove’ can be used and haven’t seen much online that explores the topic. Of course each DM could rule as they see fit, and talking about this ahead of time to flesh out some aspects of the spell would be wise (I just emailed my DM to do so), but I’m glad for any input here, as well.

Can you choose a different ability for Hex when changing its target?

As a corollary to “Does reactivating Hex have any spell Components?,” is the player allowed to choose a different ability when cursing a new creature as a bonus action? RAW, it reads as a no, but a RAI argument could support a yes.

The warlock isn’t recasting Hex after the initial contact dies; instead, he maintains concentration on the spell and shifts the focus of the spell to a new target via a bonus action on a subsequent turn. The spell doesn’t say it must be shifted on the subsequent turn following the death of the target. Rather, it may be moved on a subsequent turn. Relevant text of Hex follows:

Also, choose one ability when you cast the spell. […] If the target drops to 0 hit points before this spell ends, you can use a bonus action on a subsequent turn of yours to curse a new creature. (PHB p.251, emphasis mine)

Query returns different result in postgresql

I am working on one project in which I am using postgresql.

I have following values

A     B -------------- 18815   0 29187   0 29494   0 28995   0 0       0 25762   3517 29291   0 29612   0 29331   0 30004   0 

Following query I am using to get my result.

select to_char(interval '1 second'*(A+B),'HH24:MI') as resulthours  For Example - select to_char(interval '1 second'*(18815+0),'HH24:MI') as resulthours (it gives result = 05:13) 

same way I got following result for all the values from both columns A and B

Result  05:13 08:06 08:11 08:03 08:07 08:08 08:13 08:08 08:20 

total – 70:29

now the issue is, expected result should be 70.55 , but I am getting gives 70:29

Do Continuous effects in an array remain after you switch to a different power?

Note: This is different to What happens when you use a continuous power in an array and then switch to a different power? as that covers 2nd edition, and I’m focused on 3rd.

Say you have an array with two powers: one is a Create effect with Increased Duration (Continuous) extra, the other is an attack of some kind. You use the former to create a box, and then switch to the other. Does the box remain, or does it vanish?

The rules are ambiguous on this point, and there is a strong argument for either position from both a rules and a thematic perspective

The description for Alternate Effect states:

Alternate Effects cannot be used or maintained at the same time as other Alternates in the same array; they are mutually exclusive

The description for the Continuous duration states:

The effect lasts as long as you wish, without any action required on your part. Once active, it stays that way until you choose to deactivate it

From a rules perspective, one could argue that since one is not maintaining the effect, one would be permitted to swap between powers without dismissing the effect. On the other hand, one could argue that the effect being in place at all counts as the power being ‘used’.

From a thematic perspective, one could argue for effects remaining with the following example: Imagine a superhero, let’s call her Sue. Sue has the power to fire Ice Beams, with two applications: as an attack, or to build ice constructs. Since both rely on her firing Ice Beams, and she can only use the beams for one at a time, it makes sense that they would be an array. In addition, once her constructs are created, she doesn’t need to sustain them (ignoring ice melting for this example). As such, it would make sense for the constructs to be Continuous. If she were to build a construct one round, then attack with her beams the next, it would make little sense for the construct to suddenly disappear, as they were not reliant on her in any way. However, one could argue that the two effects being able to be applicable at the same time violates the concept of an array.

I’ve checked the forums, and there is a solid 3 pages of discussion there with no consensus, so I’m looking for an official ruling on this if there is one at all. Thanks in advance.

What does svirfnebli mean, and how is it different to svirfneblin?

A recent answer to a question has led me to obtain an e-book for The Dark Elf Trilogy, and the section I am reading uses the word svirfnebli as well as svirfneblin, but I am unsure if it is a printing issue (or possibly a scanning issue) or an actual word, and I can’t really tell why is it different from svirfneblin.

Examples:

When the svirfneblin guards ushered him in

Scores of svirfnebli rushed about their posts

Both seem to be referring to multiple deep gnomes, so I am unsure, but this is the first time I have read the word svirfnebli, and it is used multiple times in the short part of the book I have read so far. Does anyone know what it means and how it should be used?

If possible, I would like to know if the use of the words have changed through the editions, maybe in 3rd edition they both had a use and it was simplified for more recent editions?