How can a low level adventurer magically disguise an item?

I have a character who is bound to a certain set of wind chimes, which they can’t be separated from for long due to plot-related reasons. However, these wind chimes are very valuable to some very sketchy people, and my possession of it puts my character in constant danger.

While hiding this item on my person will work most of the time (taped or strung together, to avoid making a sound), it will be unavoidable that I will have to take it out in the open for others to see. There may also be times that I won’t have the item on my person. Due to the high degree of danger of even taking this item out, in both cases, I would like the item to be visually hidden.

The essence of what I want to do is cast a “disguise self”-like effect on these wind chimes, so that it is disguised in the same way a creature would be — that is, if the chimes were a creature that could cast disguise self, that would be perfect. Of course, the chimes are inanimate, so this solution is not viable. Is there another way I can achieve this?

When the item is held, the one who holds it will probably learn there’s an illusion on the thing, but onlookers wouldn’t know unless they held or inspected the item themselves.

I don’t have access to 3rd level spells or higher. What spells, abilities, items, or other effects can produce what I want?

If a high level spell or rare item can do what I want, it’s still useful to mention it. I just wouldn’t have access to that, but I would know to watch out for it.

Does Disguise Self end if the caster falls unconscious?

In one of my groups, I play a squishy sorcerer focused on deception, including having a number of false identities. Last week, we were infiltrating an enemy’s base and my sorcerer used disguise self to look like she belonged.

The session had to end in the middle of the infiltration, but afterwards we were discussing what could already be going wrong. One possibility that was tossed around was the possibility of the sorcerer getting knocked unconscious, either through spells or through simply having very few hit points.

This led to us trying to figure out whether disguise self ends when the caster is unconscious. I know alter self would end, because it is a concentration spell, but would disguise self?

(I asked about this in chat a while ago but went looking for a q&a on this site about it and found none, so I wrote one.)

What spell can disguise a PC as a particular Yuan-ti?

We killed a Yuan-ti. Now we want to infiltrate their base disguised as one of the Yuan-ti we killed.

The PHB Page 211, Alter Self spell states:

You assume a different form. When you cast the spell, choose one of the following options, the effects of which last for the duration of the spell. While the spell lasts, you can end one option as an action to gain the benefits of a different one.

Change Appearance. You transform your appearance. You decide what you look like, including your height, weight, facial features, sound of your voice, hair length, coloration, and distinguishing characteristics, if any. You can make yourself appear as a member of another race, though none of your statistics change. You also can’t appear as a creature of a different size than you, and your basic shape stays the same; if you’re bipedal, you can’t use this spell to become quadrupedal, for instance. At any time for the duration of the spell, you can use your action to change your appearance in this way again.

One would assume that Yuan-ti’s are a "different" form due to the snake torso.

Disguise Self is also too limited. Polymorph only covers beasts.

What can be done if, as a wizard, you are trying to disguise yourself as a particular Yuan-ti you met on an adventure (that is now dead)?

How many scrolls do I need to keep the spell Disguise Self all the time?

I plan to create a dragonborn wizard disguising as an elf as the society there is racist towards anyone but elves.

Constraints:

  • The character is level 1.
  • I can’t have any feat.

As far as I know, I have two slots of level 1 spells, and the spell disguise self lasts for 1 hour.

If I wanted to keep my slots for other spells, How many scrolls of Disguise self do I need if I want to keep my elf form for 30 days?

Can a Human Disguise Self into a Grung?

I want to pretend I’m the grung goddess Nangnang, and I thought of using Disguise Self to make that illusion. My party will support me with Daylight, Minor Illusion, yelling Grung phrases into a horn that amplifies and distorts them, Fog Cloud and a Griffon for a stylish landing, and an invisible Imp touching the Grung King as I pretend to touch him from a distance (to avoid physical inspection).

Disguise Self states that

You make yourself look different until the spell ends. You can seem 1 foot shorter or taller and can appear thin, fat, or in between. You can’t change your body type, so you must adopt a form that has the same basic arrangement of limbs. Otherwise, the extent of the illusion is up to you.

Now, Grungs are fairly different from regular humans, but they are still humanoid, have similar limbs, etc. I would become a very big Grung, but that is to be expected, I’m a damn Goddess! Is this plan feasible?

Is there any way for a character to create a magical disguise that wouldn’t be automatically defeated by a creature with Truesight?

I’m attempting to come up with a solution to the question in the title, but have been unsuccessful thus far.

Some monsters have the Truesight ability which states the following (emphasis mine):

A monster with truesight can, out to a specific range, see in normal and magical darkness, see invisible creatures and objects, automatically detect visual illusions and succeed on saving throws against them, and perceive the original form of a shapechanger or a creature that is transformed by magic. Furthermore, the monster can see into the Ethereal Plane within the same range.

This seems like it’d be nearly impossible to utilize any kind of magical disguise against this creature, however a means to thwart players’ using Truesight would be to rely on additional coverage via the Nondetection spell, which says:

For the duration, you hide a target that you touch from divination magic. The target can be a willing creature or a place or an object no larger than 10 feet in any dimension. The target can’t be targeted by any divination magic or perceived through magical scrying sensors.

and Alter Self’s Change Shape option, which says:

You transform your appearance. You decide what you look like, including your height, weight, facial features, sound of your voice, hair length, coloration, and distinguishing characteristics, if any. You can make yourself appear as a member of another race, though none of your statistics change.


As written, this spell combination would defeat players taking advantage of True Seeing spells. However, monsters do not follow the same rules as players, so I don’t think this would work if the players were to attempt to deceive a monster with the True Sight sense as the ability is not inherently divination magic (to my knowledge).

My question is twofold. Are there any rules which specifically state that the monster True Sight ability is considered a magical divination effect that could be countered by Nondetection? If not, is there another combination of spells that could be used to counter a monsters’ True Sight ability for the purposes of effectively passing off a magical disguise?

How does the Hashalaq Quori’s Disguise Self work?

The Hashalaq Quori is an aberration that looks very different from the humanoids that typically get access to disguise self. It is unclear to me what forms are available to them when they use this spell.

The key restriction from the spell is:

You can’t change your body type, so you must adopt a form that has the same basic arrangement of limbs.

But the hashalaqs have no “basic arrangement of limbs”:

In their natural form, hashalaqs are composed of hundreds of translucent tendrils. They can compress and configure these tendrils to form a wide range of simple shapes.

As well, the creatures don’t have the line of text that allows the lamia, for example, to use humanoid forms.

How, then, should ability be interpreted? Can the hashalaq reconfigure its natural form to be humanoid in shape, allowing it to take the form of a humanoid with disguise self? Can it only transform into a different-looking amorphous creature? Or is there a different interpretation that works better here?