If there were to be a character that used either a clockwork arm or a necrograft limb, to replace an existing arm or leg, could an enemy that wanted to disable the ability or affects of that magic item target it with a sunder?
If they can, what happens to the limb, and how does damage apply?
What would happen if somebody tried to dispel Mage’s Magnificent Mansion while it was occupied with people? What would happen to the people inside? Would they be transported to the place in the material plane where the Mage’s Magnificent Mansion was set before, be lost on a random plane, or something else?
The rules for dispelling say:
A Dispelling test is the dispeller’s Counterspelling + Magic [Astral] v. spell’s Force + caster’s Magic (+ amount of Karma spent on quickening the spell, if any) […] Every net hit reduces the number of hits the caster had in casting the spell.
Our mage cast a Force 10 illusion with 8 magic (6 + 2-Force focus). She had 8 hits in her spellcasting test. An enemy mage would like to dispel that illusion.
If I understood the rules correctly, that means the enemy needs at least 19 hits on their dispelling test to even start to affect the spell. The enemy mage has 6 dispelling and 6 magic, so they can’t possibly hope to succeed. On top of that, the attempt will cost them the drain of the 10-Force spell.
Is my understanding of the rules right? Is Dispelling really that weak?