Analysis of dependent double for

Here is the algorithm:

int sum = 0 for (int i = 2N; i > 0; i = i / 4) {   for (int j = 0; j < i; j+=2) {     sum++   } } 

I figured this would be linearithmic, but it’s just linear. I would appreciate seeing a formalized summation and not a qualitative explanation. I have tried doing this but I fail to get linear runtime.

Would a monk using Shocking Grasp chance double damage?

I think this might be answered here, but I’m not quite sure I understand this spell’s wording.

I have a monk who focuses on making her actions the most effective, be it dealing the most damage, gaining the best intel beforehand, increasing the odds, or using trickery to avoid a fight altogether.

On that last note, I was considering if Magic Initiate would have an awesome combo to increase her bag of tricks, as Prestidigitation and Minor Illusion are already taken care of, and right now, I am trying to consider how she’d use the Shocking Grasp cantrip:

Lightning springs from your hand to deliver a shock to a creature you try to touch. Make a melee spell attack against the target. You have advantage on the attack roll if the target is wearing armor made of metal. On a hit, the target takes 1d8 lightning damage, and it can’t take reactions until the start of its next turn.

From what I read, the player’s hand would stop short from actually touching the person, but I know my monk would have to do so intentionally, seeing this as a HUGE missed opportunity. Like Morphius says “Stop trying to hit me and hit me!” so she’d most likely prepare the spell and lash out with every intent to perform an unarmed strike expecting 3 possible results:

  1. She swings and misses, but the lighting doesn’t.
  2. She swings and hits, but the cantrip is a dud.
  3. She swings and hits, but also having the lightning shock the enemy a microsecond before.

As far as I can tell, since the spell doesn’t state that the target flinches out of the way or that “you failed to touch”, I don’t see why using this to double the damage on a punch wouldn’t be allowed, but I can understand the argument that (in scenario 3) she would end up technically using a spell AND an unarmed attack at the same time (totaling 4 possible hits with 1d8 and 3d4 using 2 ki points).

So I’d like to ask for clarification if “Try to touch” means a guaranteed fail, or it has potential to do even more damage?

Dancing double weapons

Let’s assume my character has 6 BAB. He can make two attacks per turn with a basic one handed sword.

His wizard friend wants to create an Urgosh with the dancing propriety. As far as I know, dancing weapons use their owner’s BAB, so they can perform iterative attacks.

However, an Urgosh has a special propriety called “double”. It means they can be used as two weapons when it comes to two-weapon combat rules.

Here are my questions:

  • Does it mean a Dancing Urgosh can attack three times per round when it flies above my character’s head?
  • If so, how about the penalties? My character has the Two-Weapon Fighting feat.

I didn’t find anything useful in that regard in the dancing dancing property rules:

As a standard action, a dancing weapon can be loosed to attack on its own. It fights for 4 rounds using the base attack bonus of the one who loosed it and then drops. While dancing, it cannot make attacks of opportunity, and the activating character it is not considered armed with the weapon. The weapon is considered wielded or attended by the activating character for all maneuvers and effects that target items. While dancing, the weapon shares the same space as the activating character and can attack adjacent foes (weapons with reach can attack opponents up to 10 feet away). The dancing weapon accompanies the activating character everywhere, whether she moves by physical or magical means. If the activating character has an unoccupied hand, she can grasp it while it is attacking on its own as a free action; when so retrieved, the weapon can’t dance (attack on its own) again for 4 rounds. This special ability can only be placed on melee weapons.

Thank you.

Can I get a double layer protection if I use both desktop & browser based VPN?

Let’s say, if I use both NordVPN’s own software (random VPN location) and its Google Chrome VPN extension (random VPN location), does this add an extra layer of protection/encryption – means hiding internet activity from ISP and/or from your network plus an encryption- ?

Or connecting to the VPN server via NordVPN software plus Epic browser’s VPN, what kind of protection is that?

Is it double layer or just connecting to different ports?

Can the feat Two-Weapon defense be taken with a double weapon?

Note: This question has been answered for D&D 4e, but I’m asking if this also works in D&D 3.5 since the systems tend to differ significantly over different editions. ( Does a Double Weapon work with Two-weapon feats? )

So can a Two-weapon feat be used with a double weapon in 3.5? Same question also goes for the feat “Ambidexterity”.

Does Assassin’s Death Strike double the Damage from Poison?

Let’s say you coat your weapon with poison transmitted by injury from DMG. As we know the damage from poison is not tied to attack roll but to a CON save so the damage dice are not doubled on crit. But how does it work with Death Strike? Should I double the damage rolled anyway?

The Death Strike feature states:

[…] When you attack and hit a creature that is surprised, it must make a Constitution saving throw (DC 8 + your Dexterity modifier + your proficiency bonus). On a failed save, double the damage of your attack against the creature.

With Great Weapon Fighting, is this analysis of the Double Scimitar’s damage correct?

Traditionally, the Greatsword and Greataxe are considered the strongest two-handed weapons (unless you take the Polearm Master feat, where Glaives and Halberds rock out). Barbarians and Half-Orcs benefit more from the Greataxe’s 1d12, while others prefer the Greatsword’s 2d6.

I want to compare the new Eberron’s Double Scimitar with other swords.

A double-bladed scimitar is a martial weapon, weighing 6 pounds and dealing 2d4 slashing damage on a hit. It has the two-handed property and the following special property:

  • If you attack with a double-bladed scimitar as part of the Attack action on your turn, you can use a bonus action immediately after to make a melee attack with it. This attack deals 1d4 slashing damage on a hit, instead of 2d4.

For a Fighter or a Paladin with Great Weapon Fighting, I was able to build a graph that compared the Greatsword with it. Since Fighters have ASI at levels 4 and 6, they can usually reach a +5 STR modifier very early, and the Greatsword only becomes the strongest weapon at level 20, when the Fighter does 4 attacks per turn.

enter image description here

If you accept feats, the Double Scimitar is not eligible for Great Weapon Master (no Heavy property) or Polearm Master, which could drastically change the average damage output graph of other two-handed weapons. However, without feats, is my graph correct, and does the Double Scimitar outperform other options?