My D&D 3.5 paladin took the Dragon Cohort feat in order to obtain the services of a gold dragon (and negotiate being allowed to use the cohort as a mount from time to time) but now I’m not sure what kind of dragon mount is allowed.
Given these premises:
- paladin character level 9
- lawful good alignment
- charisma modifier +4
- no Leadership feat
- no cohorts or followers lost
- no paladin mount (I took the Weapon Bond ACF instead)
- significant regional reputation (DM willing to add +1 to my Leadership score)
… I would expect my Leadership score to be 9 + 4 + 1 = 14. according to the Draconomicon p 139, table 3-14, a very young gold dragon is ECL 16 (although I expected ECL 17 based on the HD and LA listed in the srd) or ECL 13 with the Dragon Cohort feat.
Does this mean my paladin can have a sometimes-ridable very young gold dragon as a cohort or am I overlooking something?
I am not sure about the rideable part because the Draconomicon has one chapter on Dragons as Cohorts (referencing the Dragon Cohort feat, awesome) and one on Dragons as Mounts (referencing the Dragon Steed feat, terrible). However I’m not interested in the special mount summoning ability nor in arranging for a dragon lair on a celestial plane.
This question already has an answer here:
- What happens when Wild Shape/Polymorph runs out in a space that's too small? 2 answers
What would happened after the polymorph ends?
Does a dragon stay a tiny sized dragon forever bcz there was a size limitation to enlatge more then tiny creature?
Does a dragontear the cell apart when he becomes huge dragon again? In such case, how many damage he got? And what if the cell is made with adamantium? The same result or not?
What would happened in case it is not a mice cell, but an adamantium box with thin wall?
It looks like that one of these assumptions is the real answer.
What abilities can hex target on a white adult dragon? Which would you target?
Is Dragon Breath Ability?
You place a curse on a creature that you can see within range. Until the spell ends, you deal an extra 1d6 necrotic damage to the target whenever you hit it with an attack. Also, choose one ability when you cast the spell. The target has disadvantage on ability checks made with the chosen ability.
It looks like that Sorcerer of the Dragon’s Soul got all class abilities just from dragon ancestor.
But does such ancestor provide sorcerer with a unusual, dragonorigined body, like ancestors usually does?
Or maybe sorcerer’s soul and spirit are dragonorigined, but his body isn’t?
What would happen with theseabilities after sorcerer’s body reincarnation?
The Waterdeep: Dragon Heist adventure (in a sidebar on p. 6) gives details of
In it it states:
Of specific interest are the way(s) a dragon can get permission:
This makes it pretty clear that a dragon who has been so permitted may move through the city freely. It leaves silent what happens to a dragon who has this permission rescinded while they are still in the city.
Is there any lore from previous editions or elsewhere that describes what happens in such an event?
So what happens if one of my PC’s casts True Polymorph to turn into an adult gold dragon, concentrates on the spell for the full hour to make it permanent, then uses the the dragons Change Shape feature to turn into some random humanoid. Would True Sight see only the original form of the PC, only the dragon form, or would it see both the dragon form and the original PC?
True Polymorph says (emphasis mine)
… If you concentrate on this spell for the full Duration, the transformation becomes permanent. …
and then you add on another Magical Polymorph
Change Shape: The dragon magically polymorphs into a humanoid or beast…
Which means that the PC is now double Polymorphed, but since True Sight says
… and perceive the original form of a Shapechanger or a creature that is transformed by magic.
To me the wording of True Sight means that it sees only the original PC even if the transformation is permanent since it’s still a magical effect, but I’m curious what either an official ruling has said and what you all think.
I’m creating a campaign for my group and I need to know if dragons (metallic and chromatic) can enter and exit the feywild?
The following art, Walking Statue of Waterdeep by Sidharth Chaturvedi, was made as interior art for the Waterdeep: Dragon Heist adventure.
However, there doesn’t seem to be any consensus in Reddit discussions on which of the Walking Statues this is. Which one is it?
If a party was Water Breathing and under a ship at night, could they use Dragon Breath (Acid) to make a hole in the haul of a ship?
I’m planning on starting a campaign of Waterdeep: Dragon Heist tomorrow, but it’s looking like we may only have two players (plus me as DM) for it. The other published adventures I’ve used (Lost Mine of Phandelver and Storm King’s Thunder) each say a recommended party size for them, which we haven’t always had but helped me figure out how much I needed to adjust the included encounters when we had fewer players. But I can’t find within Dragon Heist the party size that it’s designed for. Due to it being more of an intrigue-based campaign than a hack-and-slash style, does it work just as well if you have two PCs or six?