What kind of action is it to put away a shield without dropping it?

I am currently playing a sword and board slayer how likes to switch his warhammer to two-handed or back in a pinch.

However, it is not clear to me how I can do this without dropping the shield. He is currently using a heavy shield.

Case 1: Warhammer two-handed, switching to one-handed use and equiping the shield

Case 2: Warhammer and Shield in hand, switching to two-handed use while putting away the shield without dropping it

Case 1 seemed clear at first:

FAQ

Two-Handed Weapons: What kind of action is it to remove your hand from a two-handed weapon or re-grab it with both hands? Both are free actions. For example, a wizard wielding a quarterstaff can let go of the weapon with one hand as a free action, cast a spell as a standard action, and grasp the weapon again with that hand as a free action; this means the wizard is still able to make attacks of opportunity with the weapon (which requires using two hands). As with any free action, the GM may decide a reasonable limit to how many times per round you can release and re-grasp the weapon (one release and re-grasp per round is fair).

So switching from two-handed grip to one-handed grip with a one-handed weapons should also be a free action.

Ready or Drop a Shield

Strapping a shield to your arm to gain its shield bonus to your AC, or unstrapping and dropping a shield so you can use your shield hand for another purpose, requires a move action. If you have a base attack bonus of +1 or higher, you can ready or drop a shield as a free action combined with a regular move. Dropping a carried (but not worn) shield is a free action.

So if have my shield on me, say over my shoulder, I take a free action to switch my grip to one-handed, a move action to ready my shield, an I have standard action left to attack.

Is that right?

Case 2: There is no mention of putting away or stowing a shield as far as I can see. So I have to look elsewhere.

Draw or Sheathe a Weapon

Drawing a weapon so that you can use it in combat, or putting it away so that you have a free hand, requires a move action. This action also applies to weapon-like objects carried in easy reach, such as wands. If your weapon or weapon-like object is stored in a pack or otherwise out of easy reach, treat this action as retrieving a stored item.

Is a shield a weapon-like object? It would be carried in easy reach, over the shoulder or on a hook somewhere I suppose. A shield can be a weapon if using a shield bash. That would make it a move action to put the shield away, free action to switch grips, which leaves a standard action to attack.

Manipulate an Item

Moving or manipulating an item is usually a move action. This includes retrieving or putting away a stored item, picking up an item, moving a heavy object, and opening a door. Examples of this kind of action, along with whether they incur an attack of opportunity, are given in Table: Actions in Combat.

Or do I have to take a move action to unstrap (without the dropping part) and another move action to put away an item? That would mean, that I couldn’t attack. So it would be quite important to know how it’s done right. This might also mean for Case 1, that I first need to retrieve the "stored" shield with a move action, and then ready it with another mode action.

Now I looked at the quickdraw shield:

Quickdraw Shield

If you have a base attack bonus of +1 or higher, you may don or put away a quickdraw shield as a swift action combined with a regular move. If you have the Two-Weapon Fighting feat, you can draw a light or one-handed weapon with one hand and a quickdraw shield with the other in the time it would normally take you to draw one weapon. If you have the Quick Draw feat, you may don or put away a quickdraw shield as a free action.

Finally a mention of putting away a shield, no drop required. However, it talks about donning the shield which takes me to the armor and shield section.

Getting into and out of armor

Don: This column tells how long it takes a character to put the armor on. (One minute is 10 rounds.) Readying (strapping on) a shield is only a move action.

Remove: This column tells how long it takes to get the armor off. Removing a shield from the arm and dropping it is only a move action.

So donning seems to equal readying.

Does this mean, that the only way to put away a shield is to use a quickdraw shield (which might be a good idea anyway), or is there something I missed? Do I need two move actions and cannot attack in the round in which I switch from sword-and-board to two-handed?

Thanks in advance!

Dropping weapons to cast immediate spell with somatic components

While holding a quarterstaff, can you cast an immediate action spell with somatic components (such as Saving Finale) while ending his turn holding the staff in two hands?

I have a player that claims that you’re able to, the logic being that you can switch to from a two-handed to holding it in one hand as a free action and you can take "one or more free actions while taking another action normally" according to D20pfsrd and switching from a two-handed to a one-handed stance is a free action according to FAQ.

The logic behind not being able to do it is that you’re not able to begin casting the spell if you don’t have a free hand.

Whats the damage for dropping a 3,600lb tortle 30ft onto someone? [duplicate]

Dnd 5e. I’m a 450lb tortle that can cast enlarge on myself and become a 3,600lb large creature. A fellow party member can telekineticly move a willing large creature 30ft. Obviously we immediately did this to try and crush enemies and broke our DM. What’s a good damage/save for this tortle bomb?

Is dropping a weapon “free”, in terms of action cost?

I’ve seen many people on StackExchange and other forums mention that you can drop something as a free action, but I’ve never seen it sourced, or come across support for it in the Player’s Handbook. The "Other Activity on Your Turn" section (p. 190) makes no mention of dropping items.

I’ve personally been ruling that dropping an item counts as an "interaction with the environment", but seeing how frequently I’ve seen people say otherwise I’m assuming I’m missing something.

Reverse Gravity: dropping concentration mid fall

When you cast the spell Reverse Gravity, creatures start falling upwards into the air. Assuming that there is nothing in their way the spell must somehow halt their momentum when they reach the top of it, as the spell says "If an object or creature reaches the top of the area without striking anything, it remains there, oscillating slightly, for the duration." If it didn’t halt their momentum somehow, they would fall up into normal gravity for another 100 feet or so, and then almost all the way back to the ground (with real world physics anyway; air resistance would be the only thing that slowed them down, and that would only remove about 5 feet worth of momentum per 100ft fall- I did the math).

Because of this I’m assuming that the spell stops momentum when the creatures hit the top of the spell area somehow.

But what happens if you drop concentration on the spell while they are falling upwards? The condition "If an object or creature reaches the top of the area without striking anything" no longer applies, as the spell isn’t in effect anymore. Physics tells us that the creature falling upwards 100 feet in a reversed gravity field would then have enough momentum to ‘fly’ another 100 feet upwards beyond that until slowing to a stop and falling back down (discounting air resistance). So lets say you dropped concentration just before they reached the top of the spell area; would they then fly up to a height of 200ft off the ground before then falling to the ground for 20d6 damage?

I know you can drop concentration as a free action anytime, but this spell doesn’t seem to indicate how it works exactly regarding the momentum gathered while falling upwards. I’m wondering if the above interpretation is reasonable.

Dropping a Throwing Weapon & Range Increment

If you drop a throwing weapon from a height onto an enemy, does that incur range increment penalty, and if so, how much? I am asking, because a question in our group came up whether gravity or higher ground rules apply to "Throwing" a weapon downward, but we could not find anything.

For instance: My Paladin Sir Isaac, is standing on a bridge, and there is a goblin below him, 60 ft. He attempts to drops an alchemist flash on top of the Goblin’s head.

Need advice on dropping whole party to 0 hp in dnd 5e [closed]

So I’m a new DM running the Lost Mine of Phandelver for the first time, and the party somehow all got dropped to 0 by the ruffians in the Tresandor Manor. They entered the manor through the tunnel that Carp found which leads to area 8. The whole party was level 2. After the battle with the nothic, they suffered some damage and pressed on to to area 10, where they somehow kept missing their attacks and kept taking damage from the drunk ruffians in there. The characters have all passed one death saving throw, so I assume they are considered unconscious. I’m not sure what to do at this point. Can someone give me ideas?

attach with gdb after dropping privileges

Under Ubuntu 16.04 LTS, I cannot seem to debug a once-privileged process for love or money as an unprivileged user.

The file is setgid (mode 2755). It forks, and the child:

  1. releases its capabilities
  2. calls setgid(getgid())

Yet, gdb cannot attach to it when running under the same uid and gid.

$   cat /proc/sys/kernel/yama/ptrace_scope 0  $   echo $  (id -nu) $  (id -ng) jklowden jklowden  $   ps -p 18272 -o user,group,euser,egroup USER     GROUP    EUSER    EGROUP jklowden jklowden jklowden jklowden  $   gdb -q -p 18272 Attaching to process 18272 Could not attach to process.  If your uid matches the uid of the target process, check the setting of /proc/sys/kernel/yama/ptrace_scope, or try again as the root user.  For more details, see /etc/sysctl.d/10-ptrace.conf ptrace: Operation not permitted. 

What am I missing?

I have also tried to attack this by raising my own capabilities, with some success, although I’m not sure it’s the “right” answer.

$   cat /etc/security/capability.conf CAP_SYS_PTRACE jklowden  $   sudo setcap CAP_SYS_PTRACE=pe  $  (which gdb) 

That allows gdb to attach to the process. But it does so by increasing what gdb can do, not decreasing what the process requires.

In case it’s interesting, the file’s setgid id is not root, but an unprivileged group that gives it access to a group-writable directory. Users of the application similarly belong to the same group, but forked child processes don’t require access to that directory.

Rolling 7 stats of 4d6R1R2-L and dropping lowest one in AnyDice

Rolling an individual (N)PC stat of 4d6, rerolling 1s and 2s, and dropping the lowest gives a modal average of 15 with a range of 9-18.  The AnyDice code to produce the graph for that is simple enough (and there are multiple ways to code this):

output [highest 3 of 4d{3..6}] 

What I’d like to do is roll 7 sets of these and drop the lowest sum (thus obtaining a standard 6 D&D stat scores, but specifically the highest 6 sums out of 7).
     How might I tell AnyDice to show me how this affects the scores in contrast to a standard 6 rolls of 3d6?