Can you foresee any balance issue with a Stars Druid using the Cleric spell list instead of the Druid’s?

Homebrewed campaign where tinkering with class mechanics is encouraged to suit your character, I just want to make sure it isn’t horribly unbalanced.

I have an idea for a divination/stars/universe/fate obsessed character, lumbering, slow, strong, wise, warm. Heavy armour melee/mid-field support. However, I don’t really like the Twilight Domain’s Channel Divinity.

The Stars Druid subclass abilities seem like a good match but the spell list leans towards the terrestrial/battlefield control/summoning rather than astral/divination and I don’t see this character ever using wildshape.

Ideas:

  • make a Stars Druid that uses the Cleric spell list and loses wildshape etc

  • make a Twilight Cleric and swap the Channel Divinity (twice per rest resource for most of the game) for one of the Stars Druids abilities?

  • your idea?

Any input and ideas welcome. When homebrew is encouraged I like to troubleshoot for balance.

Can a Circle of the Stars Druid roll a natural d3 (or other odd-sided die) to bias their Cosmic Omen roll?

The sixth level Circle of the Stars feature, Cosmic Omen, allows the druid to, for the remainder of a day, use their reaction to either help their allies or hinder their foes:

Whenever you finish a long rest, you can consult your Star Map for omens. When you do so, roll a die. Until you finish your next long rest, you gain access to a special reaction based on whether you rolled an even or an odd number on the die:

Weal (even). Whenever a creature you can see within 30 feet of you is about to make an attack roll, a saving throw, or an ability check, you can use your reaction to roll a d6 and add the number rolled to the total.

Woe (odd). Whenever a creature you can see within 30 feet of you is about to make an attack roll, a saving throw, or an ability check, you can use your reaction to roll a d6 and subtract the number rolled from the total.

Cosmic Omen, Tasha’s Cauldron of Everything, pg. 38

Note, however, that in the description of this feature, the player is simply instructed to roll "a die", without qualifying what kind of die it has to be. This poses no issue for the "standard issue" dice used in 5e D&D, since the d4, d6, d8, d10, d12, and d20 all have an even number of sides, and therefore an [assumed, with fair dice] equal probability of rolling an even or odd number.

However, there are dice that have odd numbers of sides. In this situation, a player could pick up a three-sided die, for example, and they’d have a 2/3rds chance of rolling an odd number, biasing their feature towards hindering enemies.

Is there any rule in 5th Edition D&D that forbids a player from choosing to do this?

Tasha’s Druid Circle of the Stars Cosmic Omen

I have a question about Circle of the Stars 6th level feature:

Cosmic Omen
When you reach 6th level, you learn to use your star map to divine the will of the cosmos. Whenever you finish a long rest, you can consult your Star Map for omens. When you do so, roll a die. Until you finish your next long rest, you gain access to a special reaction based on whether you rolled an even or an odd number on the die:
Weal (even). Whenever a creature you can see within 30 feet of you is about to make an attack roll, a saving throw, or an ability check, you can use your reaction to roll a d6 and add the number rolled to the total.
Woe (odd). Whenever a creature you can see within 30 feet of you is about to make an attack roll, a saving throw, or an ability check, you can use your reaction to roll a d6 and subtract the number rolled from the total.
You can use this reaction a number of times equal to your proficiency bonus, and you regain all expended uses when you finish a long rest.

I’m not sure whether I have to use my reaction before I know the score the enemy/party member rolled or I can do it after I know what their score is.

Can a Wildshaped Druid trigger Dive Attack twice in a turn?

So I have a lizardfolk moon druid and I was curious about the interaction between his bonus action Hungry Jaws ability and the Dive Attack ability of the Quetzalcoatlus.

"Dive Attack. If the quetzalcoatlus is flying and dives at least 30 feet toward a target and then hits with a bite attack, the attack deals an extra 10 (3d6) damage to the target."

"Hungry Jaws. In battle, you can throw yourself into a vicious feeding frenzy. As a bonus action, you can make a special attack with your bite. If the attack hits, it deals its normal damage, and you gain temporary hit points (minimum of 1) equal to your Constitution modifier, and you can’t use this trait again until you finish a short or long rest."

Now if I Dive Attack I can use my action to bite and receive the Dive Attack bonus damage.

My question is if I also use my bonus action Hungry Jaws to bite does it also benefit from the Dive Attack bonus damage?

Can a Circle of the Shepherd druid in Wild Shape still communicate with beasts using the Speech of the Woods feature?

The Circle of the Shepherd druid has the Speech of the Woods feature (XGtE, p. 23):

You learn to speak, read, and write Sylvan. In addition, beasts can understand your speech, and you gain the ability to decipher their noises and motions.

One of the restrictions of the Wild Shape feature is:

You can’t cast spells, and your ability to speak or take any action that requires hands is limited to the capabilities of your beast form.

Related question: Can a druid speak while in wild-shape?

Depending how you parse Speech of the Woods, either you can speak Sylvan and beasts can understand you when you speak Sylvan (at which point this question is moot) – or you can speak Sylvan, and separately, beasts can understand your speech, presumably in any language you choose.

So if the druid wild shapes into a wolf, they can only speak “like a wolf” (fairly limited). But they can also decipher the noises and motions of a wolf, and wolves can understand their “speech”, however that is defined.

Am I trying too hard to suggest that the druid can communicate with other beasts when in beast form? Or at least other beasts of the same species?

How would a druid protect their campsite for the night?

I am currently playing a level 6 Circle of the Shepherd Druid, and planning how they would deal with having to spend time in a dangerous area overnight.

A wizard would use all sorts of rituals to set alarms, case the area with detect magic, use their familiar to scout the wider area and then guard the area overnight, and create a tiny hut to stay safe for the night (at the very least).

What spells and features does a level 6 Circle of the Shepherd Druid have access to that can be used to aid their nightly routine to help ensure a safe nights rest for a party of 4?

This can include spells that have a specific impact, plus spells that add flavour which a DM might rule have some kind of useful effect, as long as you can explain why they would be beneficial so I can make that argument to my DM. Any class features of Circle of the Shepherd can be taken into account, and my race is Tortle if that helps. Any published official source is applicable.

For the purposes of this you can assume that I took any relevant cantrips (max 3), but please don’t suggest shenanigans like building a fort out of mold earth. Bonus points if you can expand your list to things that I can look for as I gain levels, but that isn’t necessary, and things such as multi-classing and learning new spells via feats are not required since I won’t be doing that with my build.

For the purposes of the answers you can assume any kind of useful terrain is nearby, my companions are no help, and that my character is very paranoid because he knows life can be pretty deadly!

My current list (not in any specific order) is:

  1. Ritual cast detect magic to try and ensure the area isn’t too obviously dangerous
  2. Cast goodberry so I can have breakfast ready without using a spellslot in the morning (this isn’t needed as part of an answer, but added for completeness – and I also only cast this once because I don’t like shenanigans such as using all my leftover spell slots on it)
  3. Use my Speech of the Woods class feature to ask the local wildlife if we are camping somewhere that something dangerous lives, or if dangerous creatures often traverse the area, feeding them a goodberry if needed
  4. Cast conjure animals if I have spell slots left and create 8 different local animals of various movement types. Send them off for a wander / fly / burrow / swim with instructions to return if there is any danger (this is more RP than helpful, but I can certainly see how it could be argued that 8 scouts which I can speak to and understand is helpful to warn us of impending danger)
  5. Ritual cast animal messenger to make sure anyone who might care (if applicable and in range) knows where I am
  6. Cast darkvision to make sure I am not blind in the dark

Is a Wild Shaped druid effectively immune to the Detect Thoughts spell?

For standard usage of the Detect Thoughts spell,

"If the creature you choose has an Intelligence of 3 or lower or doesn’t speak any language, the creature is unaffected" (PHB, pg 231).

Additionally one may use the Detect Thoughts spell to detect the presence of creatures they can’t see, however

"You can’t detect a creature with an Intelligence of 3 or lower or one that doesn’t speak any language" (231).

The description for Wild Shape states,

"your ability to speak or take any action that requires hands is limited to the capabilities of your beast form" (67).

Apart from the crow, no non-awakened beast has the ability to speak (the crow specifically has the Mimicry abilty and notably has no languages listed on its stat block).

So it begs the question, can a Wild Shaped druid be affected by the Detect Thoughts spell?

Going one step further, would a druid with the ability to speak telepathically while Wild Shaped be affected any differently by the spell?

Related questions:

  • Does the Detect Thoughts spell work against an Intellect Devourer?
  • In what ways can a druid’s Wild Shape be detected?
  • Can a druid speak while in wild-shape?
  • Can I Wild Shape or Polymorph into an Awakened Beast?

This question was inspired by the Telepathic feat from Tasha’s Cauldron of Everything.

If wild shape ends by falling to 0 hp, does the druid lose concentration? [duplicate]

A druid that is wild shaped reverts "when" they drop to 0 hit points. Does that mean other effects that occur when a creature drops to 0 hit points also occur (though possibly in any order of the druid’s choice)? Specifically, if the druid were concentrating on a spell, would dropping to 0 hp – even momentarily – suffice to cause the druid to lose concentration by being incapacitated?

I can’t figure out what RAW or RAI is on this one – does anybody have any pointers (e.g. a rule or rule interaction I missed, or some sage advice)?