Heat Metal on Animated Armour – Can something be both an object and a creature? [duplicate]

Heat metal says (Emphasis mine) :

Choose a manufactured metal object, such as a metal weapon or a suit of heavy or medium metal armor, that you can see within range. You cause the object to glow red-hot. Any creature in physical contact with the object takes 2d8 fire damage when you cast the spell. Until the spell ends, you can use a bonus action on each of your subsequent turns to cause this damage again.

The target in this case was Animated armour (which is a construct).

In our session we did rule that it could work just because it fit well with the story. We played it out that the metal was melting and deforming so the joints wouldn’t work. However the issue we had comes down to:

Can something be both an object and a creature?

The armour needs to be a manufactured object for the spell to work (and it specifically mentions a suit of metal armour) but also needs to be a creature to take the damage.

How does the Fighter’s Interception style work against attacks with multiple damage types? [duplicate]

The Fighter’s Interception fighting style reads:

When a creature you can see hits a target, other than you, within 5 feet of you with an attack, you can use your reaction to reduce the damage the target takes by 1d10 + your proficiency bonus (to a minimum of 0 damage).

How does this work against attacks that deal more than one type of damage? Does it matter if the extra damage is "gated" behind a failed saving throw?

Can you fire a pre-loaded hand crossbow one-handed? [duplicate]

I’ve always thought the answer was ‘duh, obviously’ but I’m hard-pressed to find RAW evidence all of a sudden.

Assume you have a hand crossbow, loaded, in one hand, while your other hand is occupied (holding a sword or a very important relic or even missing for that matter). Can you fire that single shot from the crossbow before having to drop it for something more practical?

Ammunition Drawing the Ammunition from a Quiver, case, or other container is part of the Attack (you need a free hand to load a one-handed weapon).

Emphasis mine. That part might imply that the loading (and thus the hand requirement) is to happen as part of the attack.

Then again, when later referring to using a Loading weapon for a melee attack,

A sling must be loaded to deal any damage when used in this way.

This could imply the sling (and by extension other loading weapons) can be pre-loaded. Or that it needs proper loading, ammo etc. even as an improvised melee weapon.

Is there a solid RAW answer on this?

Can you cast Thunderwave and then Misty Step on the same turn in that order? [duplicate]

Imra the wizard is cornered! Surrounded by multiple foes, she casts Thunderwave in an attempt to push her enemies back. One of them succeeds on the saving throw!

Knowing that moving out of their range might trigger an attack of opportunity, can she cast Misty Step in the same turn?

I’m asking this because the rules under Casting a Spell states that

A spell cast with a Bonus Action is especially swift. You must use a Bonus Action on Your Turn to cast the spell, provided that you haven’t already taken a Bonus Action this turn. You can’t cast another spell during the same turn, except for a cantrip with a Casting Time of 1 action.

Does the order of spells casted matter? The wording makes it seem like you can’t cast a Bonus Action spell and then an Action spell, but you can do it the other way around.

How does the Detect Magic spell see any creature that knows at least one cantrip? [duplicate]

The detect magic spell states (emphasis mine):

you sense the presence of magic within 30 feet of you. If you sense magic in this way, you can use your action to see a faint aura around any visible creature or object in the area that bears magic

And the definition of a cantrip in the PH is (emphasis mine):

A cantrip i s a spell that can be cast at will […]. Repeated practice has fixed the spell in the caster’s mind and infused the caster with the magic needed to produce the effect over and over.

Is a visible creature that knows and can cast at least one cantrip detected as "bearing magic" by the spell detect magic?

Strictly RAW, is punching someone with a crossbow a melee attack with a ranged weapon? [duplicate]

I’m exploring ways to combine the Crusher feat with a melee rogue-paladin, and have come into a conundrum- without using my busy bonus action to two-weapon-fight with a club, is there a way to get bludgeoning damage with a melee rogue?

This is my best attempt- using Tavern Brawler to punch people with a crossbow as the strangest of Improvised Weapons. As this is just a rules exploration unlikely to see the light of day, RAI isn’t very relevant here.

RAW, will punching someone with a crossbow allow it to be a melee weapon attack with a ranged weapon, letting me use sneak attack and smite?

Edit for clarity: Unlike questions regarding thrown improvised weapons which outside of being improvised weapons notably lack the finesse or ranged properties, crossbows clearly have the ranged property. This question isn’t about if improvised weapons give it a new property, but rather if they retain them.

Does the alchemist artificer casting cure wounds through his spell storing feature benefit from the alchemical savant feature? [duplicate]

Related: Does casting a spell from an item allow you to apply class abilities that are used when casting a spell?

Alchemical Savant reads:

You develop masterful command of magical chemicals, enhancing the healing and damage you create through them. Whenever you cast a spell using your alchemist’s supplies as the spellcasting focus, you gain a bonus to one roll of the spell. That roll must restore hit points or be a damage roll that deals acid, fire, necrotic, or poison damage, and the bonus equals your Intelligence modifier (minimum of +1).

Spell-Storing Item reads:

At 11th level, you learn how to store a spell in an object. Whenever you finish a long rest, you can touch one simple or martial weapon or one item that you can use as a spellcasting focus, and you store a spell in it, choosing a 1st- or 2nd-level spell from the artificer spell list that requires 1 action to cast (you needn’t have it prepared).

While holding the object, a creature can take an action to produce the spell’s effect from it, using your spellcasting ability modifier. If the spell requires concentration, the creature must concentrate. The spell stays in the object until it’s been used a number of times equal to twice your Intelligence modifier (minimum of twice) or until you use this feature again to store a spell in an object.

So does a cure wounds cast using the spell-storing feature, and using the alchemist’s supplies to store the spell, benefit from alchemical savant? I think to answer this question a few sub questions need to be answered:

Does producing the spell’s effect from the spell-storing item count as casting a spell? Because casting the spell is requisite for the alchemical savant feature to take effect.

Another requirement for benefiting from alchemical savant is that you cast the spell using your alchemist’s supplies as the spellcasting focus. In spell-storing item’s case, you would be casting the spell using your alchemist’s supplies as the ‘spellcasting focus used to store the spell’, according to the requirements set forth by the spell-storing item feature. However, does alchemical savant require that you cast the spell using your alchemist’s supplies as the ‘spellcasting focus used in place of material components’? because being cast from an item means that there are no material components.

Some magic items allow you to cast a spell from the item. The spell is cast at the lowest possible spell level, doesn’t expend any spell slots, and requires no components, unless the item’s description says otherwise.

Why does the Sentinel Feat include this condition? [duplicate]

In D&D 5e, the last part of the Sentinel feat contains this text:

When a creature within 5 feet of you makes an attack against a target other than you (and that target doesn’t have this feat), you can use your reaction to make a melee weapon attack against the attacking creature

  1. Thematically, why shouldn’t you get the opportunity attack if the target has Sentinel? I can’t think of any flavor/narrative reasons why your ally having an ability would prevent you from using your own ability.

  2. If that clause was included strictly to prohibit combos among fellow sentinels, is there an official source that says as much?

What are the game playing impacts of allowing players to take turns out of initiative order? [duplicate]

As per a previous question I asked RAW do not allow players to go later in initiative order in 5E as they could in earlier editions of DnD and other roleplaying systems.

What are the potential things to consider if I choose to home brew changes to this behavior as part of my own rules?

The rule I am considering is as follows.

In a players turn they may either hold an action based on a trigger as per RAW or they can choose to delay there entire turn until after another stated players turn. A player may only delay once per round and cannot name a player Or NPC higher in initiative order to wait for. E G a 5 character combat 4 players and NPC roll initiative and are in order players 1 to 4(high to low) with the NPC sitting after player 3

Player 1 can choose to delay their turn and take it after players 2-4, or the NPC, they state they will go after player 3

On player 3 go they may choose to either go after player 4 or now, they cannot decide to go directly after player 1

Player 1 now takes their turn and must have a turn they may not choose to delay again.

Next round the players return to original initiative order.

In order to stick to stack guidelines I am looking for specific examples from players and GMs who have tried this rather then opinions.