Wizard’s Battleshaping: Extending duration & Considered magic?

Wizards School (transmutation), sub-school (Shapechanging), from the Advanced Player’s Guide.

You are granted a power replacement for Telekinetic Fist called Battleshaping, which allows you to grow some natural weapons for a short time. It stats that this ability grants you a +1 (or greater) enhancement bonus to your claws. Does simply having a generic enhancement bonus allow it to be considered a magical weapon?

Follow up, is there any known way to increase its duration past 1 round without having to spend a swift action each turn?

When does a duration spell end naturally? [duplicate]

This question already has an answer here:

  • Do effects with the duration of one minute end at the beginning or the end of your turn? 1 answer

If you’ve cast a spell with a duration of, let’s say 1 minute, when does the spell stop after that minute?

Is it at the end of the caster’s 10th turn? Or is at the start of their 11th turn? Or is it something else?

Is there generally enough time to Planar Bind a creature conjured by a spell regardless of that spell’s duration?

While answering this question about Planar Binding (PHB 265) my first intuition was to answer the question with the last sentence clause as Ben Sutton did in their answer, but I thought that the wording is unclear and that Jeremy Crawford’s tweet says how he would rule it as DM; it doesn’t show whether this position is supported by any rules or by design intent.

Giant Insect (PHB 245) merely transmutes creatures for a duration of 10 minutes. The transmuted creatures are also not of the correct type which is a celestial, an elemental, a fey, or a fiend.

All spells that summon creatures have a Duration (PHB 203) of up to an hour:

  • Conjure Animals (PHB 225): / 1 action / 1 hour.

    Conjure Celestial (PHB 225): 1 minute / 1 hour.

    Conjure Elemental (PHB 225): 1 minute / 1 hour.

    Conjure Fey (PHB 226): 1 minute / 1 hour.

    Conjure Minor Elemental (PHB 226): 1 minute / 1 hour.

    Conjure Woodland Beings (PHB 226): 1 action / 1 hour.

    Infernal Calling (XGtE 158): 1 minute / 1 hour.

    Summon Greater Demon (XGtE 166): 1 action / 1 hour.

    Summon Lesser Demons (XGtE 167): 1 action / 1 hour.

This duration of up to an hour seems to be by design, and Planar Binding works regardless of the last sentence due to the durations rules as explained here.

But what if I allowed a homebrew spell such as SeriousBri’s Magnificent Summoning: 1 action / 1 minute.

This spell has a duration of 1 minute that is far less than an hour, would Planar Binding count the “another spell” in this case as SeriousBri’s Magnificent Summoning, thus extending its duration to match the duration of Planar Binding?

At the completion of the casting, the target must make a Charisma saving throw. On a failed save, it is bound to serve you for the duration. If the creature was summoned or created by another spell, that spell’s duration is extended to match the duration of this spell.

So is there generally enough time to Planar Bind a creature conjured by a spell regardless of that spell’s duration?

Does an Inverted Magic Circle prevent a Conjured Creature from vanishing at the end of its spell’s duration?

Magic Circle (which takes a minute to cast but lasts an hour) can be used in an inverted way :

When you cast this spell, you can elect to cause its magic to operate in the reverse direction, preventing a creature of the specified type from leaving the cylinder and protecting targets outside it.

Many planar entity conjuration spells, such as Conjure Woodland Beings, last up to exactly an hour, at which point the creature vanishes :

A summoned creature disappears when it drops to 0 hit points or when the spell ends.

Imagine the following scenario : Bob the Druid casts Conjure Woodland Beings, which makes DM-decided fey creatures (let’s say 2 quicklings) appear, and maintains concentration on it. After 30 minutes, Dylan the Wizard decides to cast an Inverted Magic Circle around one of the feys, which Bob orders to stand still. After that, Bob drops concentration on Conjure Woodland Beings. What I’m wondering here is what takes priority between “disappears when the spell ends” and “preventing a creature from leaving the cylinder”.

Does an Inverted Magic Circle prevent a Conjured Creature to vanish at the end of its spell’s duration ? If so, that means that the now-trapped fey is no longer friendly to / controlled by Bob, but remains there until the Magic Circle itself ends (total of 1h31). If not, that means that the fey disappears as soon as Bob’s concentration ends, regardless of the Magic Circle (total of 31min).

Is there enough time to Planar Bind a creature conjured by a one hour duration spell?

Many planar entity conjuration spells, such as Conjure Woodland Beings, last up to exactly an hour, at which point the creature vanishes :

A summoned creature disappear when it drops to 0 hit points or when the spell ends.

The Planar Binding spell normally takes exactly an hour to cast, but lasts a long time (24 hours by default, more if you upcast it) :

With this spell, you attempt to bind a celestial, an elemental, a fey, or a fiend to your service. The creature must be within range for the entire casting of the spell. At the completion of the casting, the target must make a Charisma saving throw. On a failed save, it is bound to serve you for the duration. If the creature was summoned or created by another spell, that spell’s duration is extended to match the duration of this spell.

Imagine the following scenario : Bob the Druid Readies a Conjure Woodland Beings for when Dylan the Wizard says “go”. Dylan the Wizard says “go”, and so, one or more DM-determined fey creatures appear as a result of the released Conjure Woodland Beings (let’s say two quicklings), and right after saying “go”, Dylan starts casting Planar Binding on one of the feys (here, a quickling). Both spells were cast at almost the same time (same turn), and both last an hour. What I wonder here is whether Dylan will have enough time to Bind the creature before it vanishes, or whether he’ll be “one second short”.

Is there enough time to Planar Bind a creature conjured by a one hour duration spell ? (discarding techniques to reduce Planar Binding’s casting time, such as Wishing it, and techniques to extend the base duration of the Conjuration spell, such as the Extended Metamagic option)

Google Sheets Duration Input issue

We have been using Apple Numbers which seems to have this duration thing figured out a little better than Google, (either that or I’m missing something). In Numbers if I type into a cell with a “duration” format: 90m, it will automatically convert it to: 1h 30m,

In Google Sheets when I type in 90m, it appears to convert the input to “text” and bumps it to the left of the cell. If I type in: 1h 30m same thing happens. If I type in: 00:90:00, it converts it to: 1h 30m, 1:30, also yields the same result. If you type in 1h 30m, the exact display that it is supposed to show it will not recognize it as a duration. but as text.

Here is a quick example of what I am talking about: Typed was formatted as ="****" so that it would preserve exactly how I typed it in the right column

So we input hundreds of lines of this a day. inputting it all in the xx:xx format is a huge pain in the butt. Is there anyway to have Google Sheets recognize 90m, as 90 minutes, and put it in the format it is programmed to?

Thanks for any thoughts on this. Thanks.

Is it normal to be granted 1 year as duration of stay for a b1/b2 visitor to the US?

I am currently visiting the US as a tourist.

At the port of entry the visa officer(CBP immigration officer) asked me a couple of questions and then he gave me 12 months as duration of stay in the US.

I went and checked my online i-94, which also reflects the same fact of me being granted 1 year. I came to the US 4th April 2018, the visa officer has given my last date to stay till 2nd April 2020 for this visit.

Does that mean I can stay for almost 12 months and leave. Or do i have to leave around 6 months like everyone else.

Will fast duration visit user with happy experience can lower my page ranking?

Hello I’m currently running page wish has regular traffic, this page has made only for linking or referring to other websites, The users can find what they looking for in my page, but the user bounce rate, of course, is too low because as I said it refers to other websites/articles

Will that reduces my page ranking on google?

Or Google can count it as good behavior and upper my page.

waiting for your experience

Do I need Croatian visa with Multiple entry Schengen with granted stay duration < less than intended stay in Schengen+Croatia

I am planning to travel to Austria, Hungary and Croatia (total 14 days), in the mentioned sequence. I was issued multiple entry Schengen visa (‘C’ visa) by Embassy of Austria with validity covering the entire duration of the trip.

But my visa mentions duration of stay as 10 days, whereas my total duration of intended stay is 14 days, which includes 7 days in Schengen (Austria + Hungary) & 7 days in Croatia.

Do I need separate Croatia visa since my duration of stay in Croatia is less than granted duration of stay (excluding no. of days stayed in Schengen), as per my Visa

Please help. My travel date is approaching near.

Thanks, Ankur

Investiture of Flame’s Action’s Duration

I have always interpreted Investiture of Flame as having a flamethrower effect, similar to Aganazzar’s Scorcher, but one of my players pointed out a different interpretation.

Here is the relevant segment of the spell:

You can use your action to create a line of fire 15 feet long and 5 feet wide extending from you in a direction you choose. Each creature in the line must make a Dexterity saving throw. A creature takes 4d8 fire damage on a failed save, or half as much damage on a successful one.

My player pointed out that the spell as a whole is Concentration, up to 10 minutes, while no duration has been specified for the line of fire. That has led them to believe the lines of fire stick around.

I believe this is just poor wording by the writers, who were assuming the reader would interpret it as an instantaneous effect, rather than a hazard-creating spell because such spells almost always have the clause “deal n damage when a creature begins its turn there or enters it for the first time on its turn.” Nevertheless, I wanted to double-check to make sure I wasn’t severely underpowering this 6th-level spell.