Is the Echo of a Echo Knight actually a creature?

I’ve always been certain that the echo created by an Echo Knight fighter using their 3rd-level feature Manifest Echo is not defined in game terms as a creature, since the description of the echo never explicitly tells it is a creature. But the presence of people believing the echo to be a creature in lieu of the fact that it is immune to all conditions and might make saving throws (game characteristics typically associated with creatures only) brought this doubt to my mind.

This tweet from Jeremy Crawford implies it is just an image and not a creature, further confirming that the feature should tell you, but this other tweet implies that the echo is an object whilst the feature doesn’t explicitly say so.
(Included for reference and insight, since tweets are not eligible as official ruling)

Is the echo a creature?

Can an Echo Knight’s Echo ever fail a saving throw?

In an unsurprising turn of events the wording on the Echo Knight’s wording continues to cause confusion.

The description of the Echo states the following:

If [the Echo] has to make a saving throw, it uses your saving throw bonus for the roll.

The overwhelming consensus is that the Echo Knight’s Echo is not a creature, as it is simply "an image". Every spell or ability that requires a saving throw, as far as I know, targets creatures. Take for example, the spell Fireball.

Each creature in a 20-foot radius Sphere centered on that point must make a Dexterity saving throw. A target takes 8d6 fire damage on a failed save, or half as much damage on a successful one.

The Echo is not a creature, therefore it can never take damage from Fireball. Are there any saving throws that the Echo can actually fail?

After reviewing the wording on several monster abilities and spells I’m left scratching my head as to whether a character set on destroying an Echo really has any options besides simply hitting it via the attack action.

Does an Echo provoke an opportunity attack when it moves?

The echo knight feature Manifest Echo says (emphasis mine):

At 3rd level, you can use a bonus action to magically manifest an echo of yourself in an unoccupied space you can see within 15 feet of you. This echo is a magical, translucent, gray image of you that lasts until it is destroyed, until you dismiss it as a bonus action, until you manifest another echo, or until you’re incapacitated.

Your echo has AC 14 + your proficiency bonus, 1 hit point, and immunity to all conditions. If it has to make a saving throw, it uses your saving throw bonus for the roll. It is the same size as you, and it occupies its space. On your turn, you can mentally command the echo to move up to 30 feet in any direction (no action required). If your echo is ever more than 30 feet from you at the end of your turn, it is destroyed.

Attack of Opportunity mentions (emphasis mine):

You can make an opportunity attack when a hostile creature that you can see moves out of your reach. To make the opportunity attack, you use your reaction to make one melee attack against the provoking creature. The attack occurs right before the creature leaves your reach.

The description does not state that the echo is a creature, so am I correct to conclude that the echo wouldn’t trigger an attack of opportunity?

When using the War Caster feat and an Echo Knight Fighter’s Manifest Echo where does the spell originate from?

Inspired by the following question:

  • Can an Echo Knight with the War Caster feat use cantrips for opportunity attacks made by their Echo?

The Echo Knight’s Manifest Echo feature states (emphasis mine):

[…] When a creature that you can see within 5 feet of your echo moves at least 5 feet away from it, you can use your reaction to make an opportunity attack against that creature as if you were in the echo’s space. […]

And the War Caster feat states (emphasis mine):

[…] When a hostile creature’s movement provokes an opportunity attack from you, you can use your reaction to cast a spell at the creature, rather than making an opportunity attack. […]

I am aware that the spell cast using War Caster does not count as an Opportunity Attack. And this makes me unsure what happens when a creature provokes an Opportunity Attack from the Echo and the Fighter chooses to use War Caster.

Is the spell cast from the Echo’s space because the Opportunity Attack would have been made from that space?
Is the spell cast from the Fighter’s space because the Maifest Echo feature only allows Opportunity Attacks to be made from the Echo’s space and not spells?
Is something else the case?

Can an Echo Knight with the War Caster feat use cantrips for opportunity attacks made by their Echo?

The Echo Knight has the following ability:

When a creature that you can see within 5 feet of your echo moves at least 5 feet away from it, you can use your reaction to make an opportunity attack against that creature as if you were in the echo’s space.

The Warcaster feat has the following benefit (emphasis mine):

When a hostile creature’s movement provokes an opportunity attack from you, you can use your reaction to cast a spell at the creature, rather than making an opportunity attack.

If an Echo Knight has the War Caster feat and knows a cantrip like, say, Booming Blade, can they use the cantrip for opportunity attacks made from the position of the Echo?

Does Ancestral Guardians make enemies attack my Echo or me?

Let’s say I have three levels in Barbarian and three in Fighter.

As a Barbarian I take the Path of the Ancestral Guardian subclass, so I have Ancestral Protectors:

While you’re raging, the first creature you hit with an attack on your turn becomes the target of the warriors, which hinder its attacks. Until the start of your next turn, that target has disadvantage on any attack roll that isn’t against you, and when the target hits a creature other than you with an attack, that creature has resistance to the damage of the target’s attacks.

I also choose to be an Echo Knight as my Fighter subclass:

When you take the Attack action on your turn, any attack you make with that action can originate from your space or the echo’s space. You make this choice for each attack.

My question is this:

If my first attack originates from the echo’s space, i.e. the echo attacks, would the Ancestral Protectors direct the enemy to attack the echo, or to attack my character? And if it directs to the echo, does the effect remain even after it is dispersed so the baddy still attacks other targets with disadvantage?

Or do I just use the echo to make me a super annoying ranged tank that forces enemies to choose between attacking with both disadvantage and target resistance, and trying to chase me down?

Running PHP echo $_SERVER [‘DOCUMENT_ROOT’]; Shows Apache Default Path

Trying to get set up and running on a new hosting company after the old one announced they are discontinuing their service at the end of the year, I am having difficulty getting the sites to run. I narrowed it down to Apache’s DocumentRoot for each domain showing the Apache default path rather than showing the path to the individual site’s file location. In other words, when I run echo $ _SERVER ['DOCUMENT_ROOT']; in a test script, it shows the path as /etc/apache2/htdocs when it should show /home/username/public_html/domain.com. They seem unable to fix it so can DocumentRoot be changed through cPanel for each domain?

Echo Knight Legion of One movement clarification

Upon reaching 18th level as an Echo Knight Fighter you gain the ability Legion of One.

You can use a bonus action to create two echoes with your Manifest Echo feature, and these echoes can coexist. If you try to create a third echo, the previous two echoes are destroyed. Anything you can do from one echo’s position can be done from the other’s instead.

Can you move both echos 30′ each or is it just a shared 30′ of movement between the two?

Echo Knight multiclass damage calculations

I am currently working on a new character concept for an upcoming game and was unsure about what damages the Echo Knight’s echo would actually be able to do.

For this scenario, the build will be a Minotaur Zealot Barbarian 5 / Echo Knight Fighter 3 with the Great Weapon Fighting fighting style and Great Weapon Master feat.

Unleash Incarnation

You can heighten your echo’s fury. Whenever you take the Attack action, you can make one additional melee attack from the echo’s position.

Hammering Horns

Immediately after you hit a creature with a melee attack as part of the Attack action on your turn, you can use a bonus action to attempt to shove that target with your horns. The target must be no more than one size larger than you and within 5 feet of you. Unless it succeeds on a Strength saving throw against a DC equal to 8 + your proficiency bonus + your Strength modifier, you push it up to 10 feet away from you.

Great Weapon Master

You’ve learned to put the weight of a weapon to your advantage, letting its momentum empower your strikes. You gain the following benefits: On your turn, when you score a critical hit with a melee weapon or reduce a creature to 0 hit points with one, you can make one melee weapon attack as a bonus action. Before you make a melee attack with a heavy weapon that you are proficient with, you can choose to take a -5 penalty to the attack roll. If the attack hits, you add +10 to the attack’s damage.

Great Weapon Fighting

When you roll a 1 or 2 on a damage die for an attack you make with a melee weapon that you are wielding with two hands, you can reroll the die and must use the new roll, even if the new roll is a 1 or a 2. The weapon must have the two-handed or versatile property for you to gain this benefit.

So, there’s a few parts to this question

  1. If my character is currently raging when he manifests his echo would attacks made through the echo be able to apply rage and divine fury damage?
  2. When making the attack via the echo would the attack penalty and damage increase from Great Weapon Master be applicable?
  3. When rolling the damage for the attack would Great Weapon Fighting rerolls be applicable?
  4. Would the Minotaurs Hammering Horns ability to push the target?