Would the Gust spell be able to move someone under the effect of the Levitate spell?

I am playing an air genasi storm sorcerer. Air genasi have the Mingle with the Wind racial trait, which lets them cast the levitate spell once per long rest (with no material components).

The description of the levitate spell says:

One creature or object of your choice that you can see within range rises vertically, up to 20 feet, and remains suspended there for the duration. The spell can levitate a target that weighs up to 500 pounds. An unwilling creature that succeeds on a Constitution saving throw is unaffected.

The target can move only by pushing or pulling against a fixed object or surface within reach (such as a wall or a ceiling), which allows it to move as if it were climbing. You can change the target’s altitude by up to 20 feet in either direction on your turn. If you are the target, you can move up or down as part of your move. Otherwise, you can use your action to move the target, which must remain within the spell’s range.

The description of gust states:

You seize the air and compel it to create one of the following effects at a point you can see within range:

  • One Medium or smaller creature that you choose must succeed on a Strength saving throw or be pushed up to 5 feet away from you.

  • You create a small blast of air capable of moving one object that is neither held nor carried and that weighs no more than 5 pounds. The object is pushed up to 10 feet away from you. It isn’t pushed with enough force to cause damage.

  • You create a harmless sensory affect using air, such as causing leaves to rustle, wind to slam shutters shut, or your clothing to ripple in a breeze.

I wanted to use the gust cantrip to move myself 5 feet in a direction, but my GM said it wouldn’t work, as levitate only allows the target to move by physical means as the spell states, and I couldn’t cast gust to target myself anyways.

I didn’t argue at the time, but having reread the spells, I’m not sure why it wouldn’t work.

Is it possible to cast levitate on yourself, then use gust to move yourself 5 feet?

What effect does learning a spell have for a sorcerer?

I’ve read and reread Learn a Spell several times, and I just don’t understand it.

For a wizard, it makes sense – the wizard adds the spell to their spellbook. But for both of the other options, I don’t understand what effect it has.

From the feat:

If you have a spellbook, Learning a Spell lets you add the spell to your spellbook; if you prepare spells from a list, it’s added to your list; if you have a spell repertoire, you can select it when you add or swap spells.

if you prepare spells from a list

What classes does this apply to? Cleric? Surely if a character prepares spells from a list, then that character has access to the entire tradition’s spell list – what benefit does learning a spell have for a class like Cleric or Druid?

if you have a spell repertoire, you can select it when you add or swap spells.

For a class like Sorcerer, as I understand it their repertoire can only ever contain as many spells as the number of spell slots they have.

So let’s say at level 1, a draconic sorcerer uses the Learn a Spell activity to learn Fear, a spell in the Arcane tradition. They don’t have Fear in their repertoire already, and they succeed at the check. If I’m right, then can’t use that spell until they level up, or spend downtime swapping another spell in their repertoire out for that spell.

But this doesn’t make sense to me either – the way the spell repertoire feature is phrased, it makes it sound like the sorcerer would be able to swap out one of the spells in their repertoire for any spell of the same level in the Arcane tradition’s spell list (Fear included) anyway when they level up – so what was the point of learning it?

Is there a subset of tradition spells that a sorcerer knows, which is somehow distinct from the sorcerer’s repertoire?

Or is the activity purely intended to allow spontaneous casters to add uncommon-or-rarer spells to their repertoire?

If someone can explain this to me, I’d really appreciate it!

Does plant growth’s 8 hour effect stack? [duplicate]

If you cast Plant Growth for its 8-hour version to

[…] enrich the land. All plants in a half-mile radius centered on a point within range become enriched for 1 year. The plants yield twice the normal amount of food when harvested.

and then come back the next day and cast it again the same way for the third time, would the total crops harvested be doubled, and then, quadrupled, and then octupled?
The campaign I am in is measured in years, so the impact of a druid (or in this case, nature cleric) who can spend 8 hours to double a 1/2 mile radius circle of food would be super helpful, but I need to know if I can prioritize one spot to make the growth exponential, vs going and casting in a different spot every day to just have a net double.

If a spell has an instantaneous duration, but an effect that lingers, can that effect be stacked?

I’ve seen this popping up for quite a few specific spells in the past, so lets get a general clarification down.

Overlapping effects says:

The effects of different spells add together while the durations of those spells overlap. The effects of the same spell cast multiple times don’t combine, however. Instead, the most potent effect–such as the highest bonus–from those castings applies while their durations overlap, or the most recent effect applies if the castings are equally potent and their durations overlap.

The part that seems to be tripping up most askers is the "while the durations overlap" text, since some spells have a duration of Instantaneous.


One of the classic examples would be Booming Blade, which has the effect of dealing a bit of damage, and then leaving a lingering effect that deals extra damage if the target moves voluntarily on their turn. Lets say we’re a sorcerer who cast Booming Blade on an enemy, and then for good measure, we cast it again with Quickened Spell Metamagic. Then our Eldritch Knight ally decides that he really wants to be sure, and strikes with Booming Blade himself, then Action Surges to do it again. Is our poor foe subject to 4 instances of Booming Blade if it so dares to move voluntarily?

Or another example, let’s say that our Cleric has cast Ceremony, and chooses Wedding (+2AC, 7 days), then casts it again on both of the newlyweds, and chooses Dedication (+1d4 to saves, 24 hours). Does our newly married and dedicated couple gain both benefits?

So to put it plainly, since instantaneous effects have a duration of, well, Instantaneous, should the spells listed duration be taken as the effects duration in regards to stacking, or should any additional duration listed in the spell, be it 1 round or 1 year, be what is primarily considered?

If it’s the latter, are there any that specifically break this rule?

When extra damage dice are listed in a critical effect, do they apply to crit-immune targets?

In the immunity rules, we read:

Immunity to critical hits works a little differently. When a creature immune to critical hits is critically hit by a Strike or other attack that deals damage, it takes normal damage instead of double damage. This does not make it immune to any other critical success effects of other actions that have the attack trait (such as Grapple and Shove).

My interpretation of this rule is that the normal doubling of damage does not occur, but any other listed affects of a critical success do occur. I believe this is the accepted interpretation of the rule, as well.

Now, about the spell Hydraulic Push. This spell reads a bit unusual, because it normally does 3d6 damage (and 5 feet of knockback), but has a listed critical effect that instead does 6d6 damage (and 10 feet of knockback). This is notably different from the standard/basic critical effect of rolling normal damage and then doubling it.

When Hydraulic Push crits against a crit-immune creature, how much damage does it do? And more generally, are extra damage dice listed under a critical effect applied to crit-immune targets?

Is the effect of a mending cantrip a continuous spell?

Suppose I have split a stone brick in two, hollowed it out, packed it full of contraband, and then sealed it shut with a Mending cantrip. How does the spell effect work? Is it a one-and-done, ending when the affected object is repaired, or does it continuously keeping the object’s pieces together?

Will Detect Magic pick up the brick?

Could the brick be opened by a Dispel Magic?

Would the effect cease inside an Antimagic Field? Will it resume once the brick is out of the field?

Does a spell with verbal components that is cast because of Contingency take effect in a Silence spell?

I GM a campaign where the main villain is a 20th level wizard called EM (short for Evil Mage), with the spells contingency and dimension door. EM has a contingency spell, set to go off when xe drops to below 1/3 of xer max HP, with dimension door as the contingent spell (teleporting xem 450 feet straight up, although the destination really doesn’t matter).

Today, one of the players cast silence on EM, preventing xem from casting spells (they were in a space where EM couldn’t move out of the silenced area), and eventually the other players brought EM to 1/3 of xer max HP.

However, when I said that xe flashed away, the player argued with me, saying that the silence spell prevented casting spells with a verbal component, and because dimension door has a verbal component, it can’t be cast in the silenced area, even if it was cast by contingency. I said that no, the spell was already cast when the contingency was cast, so it didn’t need verbal components and silence didn’t prevent it from going off.

Does a silence spell prevent a spell with verbal components cast through contingency from going off?