Is my homebrew melee Eldritch Blast cantrip balanced?


Intent

A complaint I often hear about Warlocks is that, unless they choose Pact of the Blade/Hexblade, they are effectively pidgeon-holed into playing a caster that sits in the back, blasting foes from afar.

This homebrew cantrip attempts to remedy that by providing an alternative to Eldritch Blast that is nonetheless compatible with Eldritch Invocations, such that the fantasy of a magical melee warrior is attainable while being usable with a variety of Patrons and Pact Boons, all the while utilizing the full breadth of customization that Eldritch Invocations provide.

Variant: Eldritch Blade

Warlock 1st level feature.

Whenever you learn Eldritch Blast, you can choose to instead learn Eldritch Blade. This cantrip is considered the same cantrip as Eldritch Blast, with the modifications listed below.

Eldritch Blade

Evocation cantrip
Casting Time: 1 action
Range: 5 feet
Components: S, M (a hilt or hilt-like rod worth at least 1 GP)
Duration: 1 minute

You create a blade of crackling magical energy in your hand that lasts for the duration or until the spell is cast again. As part of casting this spell, and as an action for the remaining duration, you can strike at a creature or object within range. Perform a melee spell attack against the target. On a hit, the target takes 1d10 force damage, or 2d6 force damage if you hold the blade in both hands while making the attack.

The magical blade emanates from the hilt used to cast this spell, or wraps around an existing blade if it is attached to the hilt. Using an existing blade confers no additional benefits to the attacks made with this spell. If you release the hilt, the spell ends.

This spell magically amplifies the fervor of your attacks, such that you can attack more than once with this spell when you reach higher levels: two attacks at 5th level, three attacks at 11th level, and four attacks at 17th level. You can direct the attack at the same target or at different ones. Make a separate attack roll for each attack.

Eldritch Invocations

Any Eldritch Invocation with a prerequisite of Eldritch Blast affects Eldritch Blade as if it were the same cantrip. The following Eldritch Invocations have their effects replaced:

Eldritch Spear: when you cast Eldritch Blade, its range is 10 feet.

Grasp of Hadar: Once on each of your turns before attacking with Eldritch Blade, you can magically teleport to an unoccupied space within 5 feet of the target of your attack, provided you can see the creature, and the creature is within 15 feet of you.

Analysis

The characteristics and usage of Eldritch Blade closely follow those of Eldritch Blast, except that the spell can only be cast at melee range.

Components: the hilt component is given a gold cost so that the component cannot be replaced with a spellcasting focus. This is mainly to evoke imagery of a fantasy lightsaber blade that is emitted from the hilt. Additionally, the spell’s wording allows the user to use an existing weapon as the spellcasting component, as if using magic to fuel their attacks. The magical blade cannot be given to an ally, so there’s no room for cheesing the system by giving your allies magically creating blades.

Damage: in order to compensate for the significant reduction of power associated with Eldritch Blade’s reduced range, I’ve given it the option to be wielded with two hands for moderately increased damage. This increase is deliberately similar to the increase in damage from a longsword to a greatsword.

Eldritch Invocations: Eldritch Spear normally provides an ~2x improvement to the range of Eldritch Blast, so I’ve followed the same logic. Grasp of Hadar is more tricky; within 5 feet, you cannot pull a target any closer to yourself, so instead I’ve changed the wording such that a user can move themselves closer to a distant target. The increased utility of teleportation for escaping grapples comes at the cost of reduced safety, as the ability can only be used to teleport next to the target.

How is this different from Pact of the Blade/Hexblade? For starters, this option allows Warlocks to choose a different Pact Boon. This cantrip uses the Warlock’s spellcasting ability, meaning that it uses Charisma for attack rolls. This cantrip is still a spell, so it has none of the benefits of magic weapons (i.e. bonuses on attack and damage rolls, additional effects on hit, etc.), and none of the benefits of Pact of the Blade like its associated Eldritch Invocations.

Conclusion

Is this homebrew spell balanced? I’ve combed through the list of Eldritch Invocations and I’m confident that I’ve identified any potentially strange interactions. Thank you for reading.

Can high level Eldritch blast be used with War Caster?

The final test of the Warcaster Feat is the following

The spell must have a casting time of 1 action and must target only one creature. (PHB 170)

The question I have is whether a spell like Eldritch Blast at character level 5+ qualifies if all of the instances are directed at a single target.

Basically, is the must a restriction on the targeting of the spell, or the selection of the spell itself?

Can you activate charges of Warlock’s Scepter and Gloves of Eldritch Mixture in same round?

Warlock’s scepter mentions:

… a warlock (or any other character capable of invoking an eldritch blast) can choose to spend charges from the scepter to increase the amount of damage his eldritch blast deals.

And Gloves of Eldritch Admixture:

Spending 1 or more charges adds extra damage to the next eldritch blast you make before the end of your turn.

Given they are both swift action to activate, can warlock activate both items in same round and boost its eldritch blast?

Does the Eldritch Knight’s Eldritch Strike feature impose disadvantage on a saving throw against a spell cast before the attack?

Consider the following scenario:

A level 10 Fighter with the Eldritch Knight (EK) archetype (PHB, p. 74-75) is facing a single opponent, and has hold person as a spell available.

  1. EK attacks with both attacks available. If both miss, they try again next turn. If either hits, Eldritch Strike (the level 10 archetype feature) triggers against the target, and EK will proceed to the next step.
  2. (a turn passes)
  3. On EK’s next turn, they cast hold person on the person targeted previously. The target has disadvantage on the save due to Eldritch Strike. If they still pass, EK goes back to square one. Otherwise, EK does the following:
  4. EK Action Surges (Fighter level 2 ability). They use the Attack action to get two attacks with advantage against the target. If either hits, it does critical damage (thanks to the paralyzed rider on hold person), and Eldritch Strike triggers.

The wording in Eldritch Strike is as follows:

When you hit a creature with a weapon attack, that creature has disadvantage on the next saving throw it makes against a spell you cast before the end of your next turn.

Does the target have disadvantage on the save against hold person it makes at the end of its next turn, even though hold person was cast before the triggering of the Eldritch Strike event that would impose disadvantage?

Can an Arcane Trickster or Eldritch Knight who takes the Magic Initiate? [duplicate]

Can an Arcane Trickster or Eldritch Knight who takes the Magic Initiate (Wizard) feat cast the first level spell they pick with their spell slots, like a Bard who took Magic Initiate (Bard) can? Or the Wizard for that matter?

Both AT and EK uses the wizard spell list, so one could assume so, but can they?

This question have not been directly answered when it comes to Arcane Trickster or Eldritch Knight, so please do not close my question, the problem is if it counts for AT and EK.

I repeat, this specifik question needs to be clearly answered 🙂

Can an Arcane Trickster or Eldritch Knight who takes the Magic Initiate (Wizard) feat cast the first level spell they pick with their spell slots? [duplicate]

Can an Arcane Trickster or Eldritch Knight who takes the Magic Initiate (Wizard) feat cast the first level spell they pick with their spell slots, like a Bard who took Magic Initiate (Bard) can? Or the Wizard for that matter?

Both AT and EK uses the wizard spell list, so one could assume so, but can they?

Does the Voice of the Chain Master eldritch invocation let me cast a purely verbal spell through my familiar?

In D&D 5e, as a Pact of the Chain Warlock, I can choose an eldritch invocation that lets me speak in my own voice through my familiar called Voice of the Chain Master (PHB 111):

You can communicate telepathically with your familiar and perceive through your familiar’s senses as long as you are on the same plane of existence. Additionally, while perceiving through your familiar’s senses, you can also speak through your familiar in your own voice, even if your familiar is normally incapable of speech.

Healing word is a spell with only a verbal component (PHB 249):

Components: V

[…]

A creature of your choice that you can see within range regains hit points equal to 1d4 + your spellcasting ability modifier.

The description of verbal components in the rules of spellcasting (PHB 203) says the sound of my voice alone is what causes the magic of this spell to happen:

Most spells require the chanting of mystic words. The words themselves aren’t the source of the spell’s power; rather, the particular combination of sounds, with specific pitch and resonance, sets the threads of magic in motion.

Say my familiar is in another room, no matter how far away. Through my familiar’s eyes, I see a target at 60 feet. From my familiar comes my own magic-infused voice. That particular combination of sounds, with specific pitch and resonance, sets the threads of magic in motion that travel to the target and heal it.

Is this possible?

Eldritch Smite: Can you decide whether the enemy goes prone or do they always go prone?


Once per turn when you hit a creature with your pact weapon, you can expend a warlock spell slot to deal an extra 1d8 force damage to the target, plus another 1d8 per level of the spell slot, and you can knock the target prone if it is Huge or smaller.

Since it says "can knock the target prone." I assumed it was optional, (though you wouldn’t have much reason not to if in melee, within 5 ft.)

Opportunity Attack, Ready Action, & Eldritch Blast/Repelling Blast


Scenario:

A druid ally is in melee range of an enemy berserker and decides to move away, provoking an attack of opportunity from the berserker.

My character has readied an action: Cast Eldritch Blast (with Repelling Blast invocation) on the berserker in question if he attacks the druid.

What I think happens

The druid’s movement is interrupted by the attack of opportunity which is in turn interrupted by the readied Eldritch Blast. Assuming the Eldritch Blast hits, I can push the berserker out of melee range of the druid, thereby negating the attack of opportunity.

Is this correct?

Similar situations

What if, rather, the trigger was the druid moving? What if the trigger was the berserker raising his weapon or rearing back in preparation for an attack?

How does combining eldritch essence and shape with metamagic feats effect the spell level?

In the Complete Arcane, page 9, it indicates:

When a warlock uses both kinds of invocations to alter an eldritch blast, the spell level equivalent is equal to the spell level of the eldritch blast, the level of the eldritch essence invocation, or the level of the blast shape invocation, whichever is higher.

Therefore if a warlock combines Eldritch Chain (Shape – 4th level) as well as Brimstone Blast (Essence – 3rd level), it will be as if casting a 4th level spell if I am understanding correctly since shape and essence levels don’t stack together, and just take the whichever is higher.

Using Maximize spell-like ability on Eldritch blast requires CL to be at least 6 since, Eldritch blast is a 1st level spell and the formula is [(CL/2) – 2].

By that, can a 6th level warlock cast Eldritch Chain with Brimstone essence combined with Maximize spell like ability? Or do I need to re-calculate the spell according to maximize-spell like abilities formula, which would require level 12?