Say an enemy is casting a spell or using an ability that forces the player to make a saving throw or be "conditioned and take X elemental damage".
Does absorb elements go off if the save is failed? Or because of the condition effect, does that mean the reaction can’t be used if you fail the save, take damage, and conditioned? Or even can it be cast before the save (and wasted if the save passes)?
So, im playing DnD on this Westmarch server and im fighting a monster with "Damage resistances: Damage from spells"
my question is. Does elemental adept break the damage resistance or is it beaten out.
For reference, I was using scorching ray with fire elemental adept and Im a draconic sorcerer.
The Alchemist subclass of the artificer has a 5th level feature Alchemical Savant which states (E:RftLW, pg 58)
Whenever you cast a spell using your alchemist’s supplies as the spellcasting focus, you gain a bonus to one roll of the spell. That roll must restore hit points or be a damage roll that deals acid, fire, necrotic, or poison damage, and the bonus equals your intelligence modifier
Elemental Weapon is an Artificer spell gives the option to grant an extra 1d4 of acid/fire damage when the enchanted weapon hits a target. Does this extra damage count as a roll of the spell and so can the roll benefit from the alchemist’s intelligence modifier bonus for a single hit?
The Pyromancer sorcerous origin from Plane Shift: Kaladesh gains the Fiery Soul feature at 18th level. Part of its description says:
[…] any spell or effect you create ignores resistance to fire damage and treats immunity to fire damage as resistance to fire damage.
The Elemental Adept (Fire) feat says (PHB, p. 166):
Spells you cast ignore resistance to fire damage.
Would these two stack together to allow the user to completely ignore fire immunity (so Fiery Soul treats the immunity as resistance, and then Elemental Adept further allows you to ignore that)?
Or would Elemental Adept be useless to a pyromancer at 18th level, as they can already ignore resistances?
I have homebrewed various additional elemental disciplines for the Way of the Four Elements monk subclass. Although many of those are just adding more spells (erupting earth, tidal wave, etc), and others are just reskins of existing disciplines (such as fist of unbroken air, water whip, etc), one unique discipline that I came up with was this:
Water Jet (11th level required). You can spend 2 ki points as an action to unleash a jet of water in a line that is 30 feet long and 5 feet wide. Each creature in the line must make a Strength saving throw, taking bludgeoning damage equal to your Martial Arts die + your Wisdom modifier on a failed save, or half as much on a successful one. In addition, each target that fails its saving throw is pushed up to 20 feet away from you.
However, I wrote this a while ago, and I can’t remember why I decided that it should cost 2 ki (which is typically what the disciplines you have access to at 3rd level cost) but also be capped at 11th level or above. Intuitively, this feels like it would be fine as-is for a 3rd level Wot4E monk to have. Either that, or if it is to have a level cap, the ki cost should match that of the other disciplines capped at that level.
Compared with the RAW elemental disciplines from the Player’s Handbook, would this discipline be balanced if I removed the level requirement?
The Draconic Bloodline Sorcerer’s elemental affinity ability says:
Starting at 6th level, when you cast a spell that deals damage of the type associated with your draconic ancestry, you can add your Charisma modifier to one damage roll of that spell.
The cantrip eldritch blast deals force damage, and force damage does not appear on the Draconic ancestry table.
Nevertheless, the Sage Advice Compendium ruling on elemental affinity states:
Elemental Affinity benefits one damage roll per casting of a spell, even if the spell allows more than one roll. So, for example, the feature improves one of the rays of a scorching ray spell or one of the beams of an eldritch blast spell.
Is this just a case of using eldritch blast as a contextually incorrect choice of category representative of the type of spells this Sage Advice ruling is addressing, or is there a way to modify the damage type of eldritch blast so that it is an actual use case for this ruling on the elemental affinity ability?
Are there symbols representing the Feywild, the Shadowfell, elemental planes? The player’s handbook of the 5th edition contains symbols for outer planes, are there symbols that represent the above planes of existence?
The symbol of the Feywild is of top interest. Perhaps there are any text descriptions?
To preface, I’m making a Hexblade. I saw that Improved Pact Weapon makes your weapon a “+1 weapon.” Does this make it magical and therefore not work with Elemental Weapon?
I’m DMing a campaign themed around monsters based on the elements, so making use of the Elementals naturally came to mind.
Taking a look at the Earth Elemental, it strikes me that there is some very strong potential for making use of incredibly cheap tactics depending on the terrain.
Essentially, the way I see things is that if the Earth Elemental is burrowed, weapon attacks have no way to attack it, and because of the Earth Glide move, it makes sense that the PCs would lose track of the Earth Elemental meaning that when it does attack, it’ll always be able to surprise the PCs and attack at advantage.
Beyond that, because Burrowing does not constitute an action in itself, there’s nothing stopping the Earth Elemental from popping out of burrowing, getting two slams in (one with advantage), before burrowing (admittedly, risking a possible opportunity attack), and thereby depriving the PCs of the chance to attack it.
I’m just wondering if there’s something I missed in the rules to make this tactic unviable, as I see it as a potentially game breaking encounter for a group, especially one with limited spell-casting options.
I noticed that the Elemental Adept feat states (emphasis mine):
[…] when you roll damage for a spell you cast that deals damage of that type, you can treat any 1 on a damage die as a 2. […]
Does this mean the feat applies to spells like flame strike which deal 4d6 fire damage and 4d6 radiant damage?
In other words, would taking Elemental Adept (fire), casting flame strike, and rolling a 1 on a radiant damage die allow me to treat that 1 as a 2 even though its damage type does not match the damage type I chose with Elemental Adept?