Is this variant of Elemental Adept for healing balanced?

I know that most healing does not work on constructs or undead in DnD 5e. However, for various reasons, I would like to subvert that. I was looking over feats to base such a subversion on and stumbled upon the Elemental Adept. Is the following feat likely to either break the game or be underpowered if I include it?

Healing Adept

Prerequisite: the Spellcasting feature and at least one healing spell

Your healing spells work on constructs and undead. In addition, if you roll to see how many hit points you can heal, you may treat any 1 on a die as a 2.

If it’s too weak, I am thinking it’s possible to modify so that it allows Raise Dead and family to resurrect an undead either as itself or as the undead it was. If it’s too strong, I was thinking of taking away the “treat any 1 on a die as a 2”, and possibly forcing you to pick if it works on constructs or on undead.

Is summoning an air elemental with the Censer of Controlling Air Elementals still a concentration spell?

Items that let you cast a spell through them (e.g. wands , staves, etc) use specific wording such as:

While holding it, you can use an action to expend 1 or more of its charges to cast the xxxxxx spell…

The Censer of Controlling Air Elementals states

[…] you can use an action to speak the censer’s command word and summon an air elemental, as if you had cast the conjure elemental spell.

Since it sounds like the air elemental is conjured by the item after uttering a command in 1 action and not by the user casting a spell with a 1 minute casting time, does it still count as a concentration spell for the user?

What counts as “helping slay an elemental” for a Ring of Elemental Command?

The various Rings of Elemental Command in the DMG (p. 190) all have basic abilities that start working as soon as you attune them, but there are other abilities that only start working if you “help slay [an] elemental” of the same type that the ring commands.

As the DM of our current campaign, I’m considering having one of these rings be available to the group, but I’m curious how strict I should be in the interpretation of that “help slay” part. Most of the scenarios I can think of boil down to a version of:

Does dominating an elemental that’s otherwise been minding its own business and having it stand between me and (subsequently get eaten by) the dragon that’s chasing me count as “helping slay” that elemental?

My inclination is that this is perfectly acceptable but I’m curious if there’s a rules clarification on what counts as “slaying” in this case.

Are there any balance issues with allowing Find Familiar to be of the elemental creature type?

The spell find familiar allows a character to summon a familiar, which is a spirit of creature type celestial, fey or fiend. From the spell’s description (PHB, p. 240):

You gain the service of a familiar, a spirit that takes the form of an animal … the familiar has the statistics of the chosen form, though it is a celestial, fey or fiend (your choice) instead of a beast.

Would there be any balance issues with allowing the familiar to be of the elemental creature type instead (meaning, adjusting the above description to read “celestial, elemental, fey or fiend (your choice)” instead)?

Elemental creatures are affected in the same way as celestial/fey/fiend creatures by other spells such as protection from evil and good, forbiddance, and banishment (being permanently banished to their home plane rather than just stuck in a demiplane for 1 minute), etc, so being an elemental shouldn’t allow the creature to bypass that which would affect a RAW find familiar familiar.

That would have been the main thing that I would suspect might affect balance, but I can’t think of a spell that affects only celestials, fiends and fey, but not elementals. And I don’t feel like the concept of an elemental spirit creature being summoned as a familiar goes against the narrative theme of the spell either.

Are there any odd interactions with an elemental familiar that might make it more or less powerful than, say, a celestial familiar? My intention is for this to not affect the balance whatsoever.

What would be a more balanced spell for homebrew adaptation of Elemental Weapon and Flame Arrows?

What would be a more balanced spell for homebrew adaptation of Elemental Weapon and Flame Arrows?

I was thinking of adjusting a couple of existing spells, namely Elemental Weapon (PHB p.237) and Flame Arrows (XGtE p.156), so that it is more versatile for a druid/ranger player.

Version one:

Simply change Elemental Weapon so it can enchant a bow or crossbow, so Elemental Ranged Weapon.

A nonmagical ranged weapon you touch becomes a magic weapon. Choose one of the following damage types: acid, cold, fire, lightning, or thunder. For the duration, the weapon has a +1 bonus to attack rolls and ammunition used with the ranged weapon deal an extra 1d4 damage of the chosen type when it hits.

Version two:

Replace the damage type in Flame Arrows with an optional damage type, so the spell would be Elemental Arrows instead:

You touch a quiver containing arrows or bolts. When a target is hit by a ranged weapon attack using a piece of ammunition drawn from the quiver, the target takes an extra 1d6 elemental damage. Choose one of the following damage types: acid, cold, fire, lightning, or thunder. The spell’s magic ends on a piece of ammunition when it hits or misses, and the spell ends when twelve pieces of ammunition have been drawn from the quiver.

Which one of these spells would be more balanced, or are both options pretty balanced as a homebrew version of these spells?

I am leaning more towards the Elemental Ranged Weapon as it potentially is more useful to a druid/ranger player because it would not be limited to 12 arrows/bolts.

Thank you for your insight.

What happens when you banish an elemental creature that was formed/born on the Material Plane?

Background: In one of our campaigns we have quite a few Elementals that are forming in the material plane, as opposed to forming on an elemental plane. The elementals are otherwise identical to the ones appearing in the Monster Manual.

We are coming up to the levels where some of us can choose the 4th-level spell Banishment as a spell. I was wondering if casting Banishment on an elemental formed on the material plane would a) banish it to an elemental plane and not return or b) be only temporarily banished to a demiplane and appear back onto the material plane when the spell ends.

The way I see it is that it would have to do with the interpretation of what is “native to the plane” and “home plane” in this case.

The description of the Banishment spell (PHB, p. 217) says:

You attempt to send one creature that you can see within range to another plane of existence. The target must succeed on a Charisma saving throw or be banished.

If the target is native to the plane of existence you’re on, you banish the target to a harmless demiplane. While there, the target is incapacitated. The target remains there until the spell ends, at which point the target reappears in the space it left or in the nearest unoccupied space if that space is occupied.

If the target is native to a different plane of existence than the one you’re on, the target is banished with a faint popping noise, returning to its home plane. […]

I suspect it would banish these home-grown elemental creatures to a demiplane in the case of our campaign; unless we were on another plane, in which case it would be banished to the material plane as this is its “home plane”.

There is this question which gives an answer of sorts: What determines a creature's native plane for the Banishment spell?, but I would like a more concrete answer if possible to the scenario I present above.

Conjure (Minor) Elemental into a Hallow spell, does it just fail?

Hallow states “Celestials, Elementals, fey, Fiends, and Undead can’t enter the area…” but it doesn’t say what would happen if someone tried to summon some into the area. Would the spell fail? Would the elementals appear but then be forced to leave?

Would the ruling be the same for both Conjure Minor Elementals and Conjure Elemental? The latter uses a source of the element (e.g. a fire, what if the fire is in the Hallow area?) while the former just makes some minor elementals appear from an unspecified source.

How does the spell “Extract water elemental” interact with the energy substitution class feature of elemental savant?

Basically as the title states.

The elemental savant energy substitution states that any damaging spell of a certain type is converted to a chosen type (in my instance, fire).

Will this spell instead extract a fire elemental somehow if the creature is slain? Or will the substitution not take place since the damage of the spell deals is untyped?

Spell in question: “Extract water elemental” Spell compendium Page 86

Prestige Class Elemental Savant -> 3.5 Complete Arcane page 32-34 Class feature in question: Elemental specialty

What is the correct interaction between the spell and the mentioned class ability?

Can a spell Conjure Elemental be used to make an elemental appear on the other side of a closed door?

The spell states :

You call forth an elemental servant. Choose an area of air, earth, fire, or water that fills a 10-foot cube within range. Blockquote

So lets say a party is standing in front of a closed/barred door and there is a group on the other side getting ready and waiting for them. Could a wizard cast Conjure Elemental spell and choose an area where the elemental will appear in the other side of that closed door (Thus in the midst of the enemies preparing themselves for combat) ?