Can a magic item be activated when someone/thing else is also holding it?

Can magic items that do not require attunement and only specify "While holding it you can…" to activate its effect (such as the Wand of Magic Missiles for example) be used when also held by someone else?

Consider a character doing the following during their turn:

  1. A character stands within reach of an ally holding the item.
  2. They use their object interaction to grab the item in a proper way (while the ally is still holding it).
  3. They activate the item with their action.
  4. They let go of the item (since dropping an item is considered "free"), which is still being held by the ally.

Would this also work if the ally was replaced with an enemy? Or if the item was in a holster or scabbard on either the activating character or someone else, or if it was just stuck in a rock?

Does anyone else think Stone Giant’s 15′ reach greatclub is an error?

All of the basic Monster Manual giants have a melee weapon attack with reach of 10′, which essentially comes from their Huge size. But the Stone Giant has a reach of 15′ with it’s greatclub, which is farther than the reach of a Hill Giant’s greatclub, the Cloud Giant’s morningstar, the Frost Giant’s greataxe, or the Fire or Storm Giant’s greatswords. The huge Cyclops, with 1 more hit die than the Stone Giant (thus at least the same size), also has a greatclub with reach 10′.

I don’t see any reason for this. The Stone Giant is not depicted as having disproportionately long arms, and it’s only in the middle of Giant heights; Frost, Cloud, and Storm Giants are all taller. Nothing in the description mentions Stone Giants carrying a particularly long club or having a talent for swinging it further. Rather, the description talks about their skill at throwing rocks. The only monster I know of that is specified as having longer reach attacks ("long-limbed") is the PC version of the Bugbear in VGtM.

None of the previous editions (AD&D, 3.5 or 4th) give the Stone Giant extra reach with a club.

So my suggestion is that this was a typo that was never caught & corrected. The reach of this attack should be 10′ like that of any other huge Giant.

Do characters know if someone else, who they can see, has failed a saving throw?

Do characters know if someone else, who they can see, has failed a saving throw?

In particular, let’s consider the following cases:

  1. a caster has cast a spell, that requires a saving throw, and that doesn’t require concentration, on an enemy (not a damaging spell, let’s consider the spell Command for example), at the moment of the cast, since this information can influence the strategy of the caster before the command is eventually executed;
  2. an ally is making a death saving throw, this can influence the priorities of the allied of that character.

Do you lose concentration on a Readied spell when you use your reaction for something else?

The War Wizard gets the Durable Magic feature at 10th level which states:

[…] While you maintain concentration on a spell, you have a +2 bonus to AC and all saving throws.

The Ready action states:

[…] When the trigger occurs, you can either take your reaction right after the trigger finishes or ignore the trigger. Remember that you can take only one reaction per round.

When you ready a spell, you cast it as normal but hold its energy, which you release with your reaction when the trigger occurs. To be readied, a spell must have a casting time of 1 action, and holding onto the spell’s magic requires concentration. If your concentration is broken, the spell dissipates without taking effect. […]

Thus a War Wizard with a Readied spell would gain bonuses to their AC and saving throws. But what happens if the Wizard chooses to make an opportunity attack or use their reaction on something else? Do they maintain concentration on fire-bolt or do they drop concentration; Do they continue to benefit from Durable Magic or not?


The only thing I was able to find was that the Sage Advice Compendium document (pdf link) states the following (emphasis mine):

Q. I have a readied action. Can I stop readying to take an opportunity attack? Or is ready a full turn commitment?

A. If you have an action readied, you can make an opportunity attack, which causes you to stop readying.

Notably, this only addresses opportunity attacks and doesn’t give any justification, so part of my question is this: Is there support for the conclusion made in the Sage Advice Compendium anywhere in the rulebooks themselves?

Display/Filter post using if else statement

Here it is: I want to filter my post based on category (Party) If the post with category Party has tag which is ‘event’, it is the one that will display If there is no ”event’ tag, only the recent post of Party category will display

here’s my code:

<?php      $  post_cat = array(             'posts_per_page' => '1',             'cat' => '3'             );     $  post_tag = array(             'posts_per_page' => '1',             'cat' => '3',             'tag' => 'event'             );       $  catquery = new WP_Query( $  post_cat );     $  tagquery = new WP_Query( $  post_tag );          if(has_tag()) :          while($  tagquery->have_posts()) : $  tagquery->the_post();            else if(has_category()) :        while($  catquery->have_posts()) : $  catquery->the_post();          else ?> <?php $  backgroundImg = wp_get_attachment_image_src( get_post_thumbnail_id($  post->ID), 'full' );?> <div class="blog-post-recent" style="background-image: url('<?php echo $  backgroundImg[0]; ?>');">     <div class="wrap">         <div class="blog-post-content">             <div class="blog-post-inner-content">                 <?php the_category();?>                 <div class="blog-post-title"><a href="<?php the_permalink() ?>"><?php the_title( '<h2>', '</h2>' ); ?></a></div>                 <div class="post-date"><?php the_date('F j, Y'); ?></div>                 <?php the_excerpt(); ?>                 <a class="blog-post-btn"  href="<?php the_permalink() ?>"> Read More...</a>';             </div>         </div>     </div> </div> <?php endif;     wp_reset_postdata(); ?> 

Can the Meld Into Stone spell be cast on someone else?

I’ve been puzzled by the usefulness of the spell Meld Into Stone, to a point where I’ve wondered if it can be cast on someone else other than the caster. The description for the spell seems to conflict with its range. The description states:

You step into a stone object or surface large enough to fully contain your body, melding yourself and all the equipment you carry with the stone for the duration. Using your movement, you step into the stone at a point you can touch. Nothing of your presence remains visible or otherwise detectable by nonmagical senses. (my emphasis)

So on one hand, given all the references to “you” and “your“, it seems that the spell is only for the caster. But on the other hand, spells that only affect the caster typically have a range of “Self” whereas Meld into Stone has a range of “Touch“. It could be argued that the touch refers to the stone being touched, but could it also mean a target we touch? Can Meld into Stone be cast on someone else other than the caster?

Show username only if logged in in a else no directly name

Hi I’m looking all over but I don’t find the solution: I have an infobox with: Hi, welcome to our “some text”

Now I’d like to add posibility for logged in users “Hello Tony, welcome to our “some text”

I tried following code snippet:

<div id="infoBox"> <button class="cross" type="button">X</button>   <p> Hello </p> <?php global $  current_user; wp_get_current_user(); ?> <?php if ( is_user_logged_in() ) {   echo 'Username: ' . $  current_user->user_login . "\n"; echo 'User display name: ' . $  current_user->display_name . "\n"; }  else { wp_loginout(); } ?>      <p>  Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consetetur sadipscing elitr, sed diam nonumy eirmod tempor invidunt ut labore et dolore magna aliquyam erat, sed diam voluptua. At vero eos et accusam et justo duo dolores et ea rebum. Stet clita kasd gub    </p> </div> 

but there’s a fatal error in my XAMPP testing environment:

Fatal error: Uncaught Error: Call to undefined function wp_get_current_user() in /opt/lampp/htdocs/wordpress/wp-content/plugins/stoerer/stoerer.php:31 Stack trace: #0 /opt/lampp/htdocs/wordpress/wp-settings.php(377): include_once() #1 /opt/lampp/htdocs/wp-config.php(90): require_once(‘/opt/lampp/htdo…’) #2 /opt/lampp/htdocs/wordpress/wp-load.php(42): require_once(‘/opt/lampp/htdo…’) #3 /opt/lampp/htdocs/wordpress/wp-blog-header.php(13): require_once(‘/opt/lampp/htdo…’) #4 /opt/lampp/htdocs/wordpress/index.php(17): require(‘/opt/lampp/htdo…’) #5 {main} thrown in /opt/lampp/htdocs/wordpress/wp-content/plugins/stoerer/stoerer.php on line 31 There has been a critical error on your website.

True Polymorph and Centaurs: How to make a Pony-Dwarf baby, or something else?

Recently I was polymorphed permanently into a female Centaur and I intend to stay in my new form. I used to be a female Dwarf.

In our campaign there is a high level NPC who is a centraur who has always had a “thing” for me as we pray to the same goddess.

I was thinking of having a baby foal with the centaur, but I wondered what would likely be the result? Centaurs are already a hybrids: humanoid and monstrosity.

There is some mention of hybrid offspring in the origin of Half-Dragons from the Monsters Manual. Interestingly, the polymorphed dragon still provides Dragon lineage despite it being in a humanoid form.

In my case, would the offsprib be a baby foal Centaur, or something else? Would my Dwarven lineage still remain? So that the humanoid part is Dwarven looking maybe?

If you have run or played in a campaign in which you have had a similar situation, even if it was pert of an NPC’s storyline, I would welcome how this was handled.

Related: Can you get pregnant while True Polymorphed? and, How is childbirth handled?

Received email addressed to someone else from themselves

My outlook account received a suspicious email, addressed to somebody else, AW, sent apparently from themselves to themselves.
The sender is not an outlook address, but I guess outlook might be hosting their service.
According to haveibeenpwned my email address has not been pwned, neither has that of the sender.
AW appears to be the name of a university professor. I have never attended that university, nor do I know the person.
An online search for the linked address leads to a lobbying group in the USA. Also some websites in Brazilian Portuguese.
Clearwebstats claims the website with the linked domain name is safe to browse. (is worth 8.95$ and makes 0.15$ per day)

Why / How is this an exploit?
What is the goal of such an exploit?
How does it work?

enter image description here