what happens too both ends of the spell fabricate?

if you cast fabricate and target more raw materials than needed for what you create, what happens to the excess material(casting it on a 120ft cube of forest and turning it into a single chair)? Furthermore, the spell doesn’t specify where the created item would be or any restrictions on it, would the created item have to be within the same 120ft cube or something else? (eg 100 miles in the air, behind a corner, or inside of another creature)

Choose raw materials that you can see within range. You can fabricate a Large or smaller object (contained within a 10-foot cube, or eight connected 5-foot cubes), given a sufficient quantity of raw material.

If the Phantom Steed spell ends because the steed takes damage, do you still have 1 minute to dismount?

The spell states:

When the spell ends, the steed gradually fades, giving the rider 1 minute to dismount. The spell ends if you use an action to dismiss it or if the steed takes any damage.

So, if the steed takes damage, does it still last for 1 minute, or does the spell end automatically if it takes damage?

if you use Enhance Ability: Cat’s Grace on a creature that rolls initiative, does that creature lose the better roll when the spell ends?

Let’s say the caster uses Enhance Ability and chooses Cat’s Grace on themselves and rolls a 13 and a 16 with advantage on initiative, so they take 16. If the caster then loses Enhance Ability in-combat, or ends concentration on that spell, does their initiative roll revert to 13?

If wild shape ends by falling to 0 hp, does the druid lose concentration? [duplicate]

A druid that is wild shaped reverts "when" they drop to 0 hit points. Does that mean other effects that occur when a creature drops to 0 hit points also occur (though possibly in any order of the druid’s choice)? Specifically, if the druid were concentrating on a spell, would dropping to 0 hp – even momentarily – suffice to cause the druid to lose concentration by being incapacitated?

I can’t figure out what RAW or RAI is on this one – does anybody have any pointers (e.g. a rule or rule interaction I missed, or some sage advice)?

If a player casts Hunter’s Mark and the target dies and combat ends, is the spell still functioning for a later combat? [duplicate]

I’m a new DM and new to this forum!

I’m running a game and one of my players is playing a ranger, we’re all still pretty new to the game and ran into a question about how one of her spells, Hunter’s Mark works.

Here’s what happened. We had a short combat in which the player cast Hunter’s Mark on one of the guards. He and the other guards were all eventually killed and combat ended. The players then proceeded to finish sneaking into the house they were trying to break into. A few minutes later, the group ran into another set of guards. So here’s where my question comes into play. Is her former Hunter’s Mark still active?

I thought no, since she did not mark a new Hunter’s Mark target "on a subsequent turn of yours," since the original combat had ended and we had therefore left turns. She thought it was still working, since the duration of the spell is one hour, and that hadn’t passed yet.

Thanks for your insight!

If a flying creature with no swim speed ends up in water, can it fly out?

Assuming there is no magic holding it aloft and it doesn’t have the ability to hover, when a flying creature is knocked prone, it falls.

What happens if the creature was flying over a body of water? Can it effectively use its movement to "stand up" on its next turn and resume flying, or does it end up like that video of the bald eagle swimming, where its feathers are too wet and it can’t reasonably get enough lift to take off again?

Ducks can take off from water, but I would argue that ducks have a swim speed.

When a character with no fly speed ends their turn in the air, when should they start falling?

We had a situation last session where I (sorcerer/monk) ended my turn mid air after striking a flying monster trying to flee. It was already 100 feet high so I used a quickened Thunder Step to teleport 90 feet up on the wall and step of the wind to jump from it and strike the monster with two melee attacks. It wasn’t enough to finish it and I was left mid air.

I thought that I would immediately fall down and be okay since it’s a forced movements and thus does not trigger an Opportunity Attack and thanks to the Slow Fall feat I wouldn’t take too much damages. But The DM ruled it as the monster getting to hit me before I fall since his turn was next so I was knocked unconscious and died of the fall (no Slow Fall when you’re unconscious).

I’m not mad at the DM for making this choice, I knew it was a reckless action when I took it, but it got me thinking when should a character start falling when they ends their turn in the air.