If a player casts Hunter’s Mark and the target dies and combat ends, is the spell still functioning for a later combat? [duplicate]

I’m a new DM and new to this forum!

I’m running a game and one of my players is playing a ranger, we’re all still pretty new to the game and ran into a question about how one of her spells, Hunter’s Mark works.

Here’s what happened. We had a short combat in which the player cast Hunter’s Mark on one of the guards. He and the other guards were all eventually killed and combat ended. The players then proceeded to finish sneaking into the house they were trying to break into. A few minutes later, the group ran into another set of guards. So here’s where my question comes into play. Is her former Hunter’s Mark still active?

I thought no, since she did not mark a new Hunter’s Mark target "on a subsequent turn of yours," since the original combat had ended and we had therefore left turns. She thought it was still working, since the duration of the spell is one hour, and that hadn’t passed yet.

Thanks for your insight!

If a flying creature with no swim speed ends up in water, can it fly out?

Assuming there is no magic holding it aloft and it doesn’t have the ability to hover, when a flying creature is knocked prone, it falls.

What happens if the creature was flying over a body of water? Can it effectively use its movement to "stand up" on its next turn and resume flying, or does it end up like that video of the bald eagle swimming, where its feathers are too wet and it can’t reasonably get enough lift to take off again?

Ducks can take off from water, but I would argue that ducks have a swim speed.

When a character with no fly speed ends their turn in the air, when should they start falling?

We had a situation last session where I (sorcerer/monk) ended my turn mid air after striking a flying monster trying to flee. It was already 100 feet high so I used a quickened Thunder Step to teleport 90 feet up on the wall and step of the wind to jump from it and strike the monster with two melee attacks. It wasn’t enough to finish it and I was left mid air.

I thought that I would immediately fall down and be okay since it’s a forced movements and thus does not trigger an Opportunity Attack and thanks to the Slow Fall feat I wouldn’t take too much damages. But The DM ruled it as the monster getting to hit me before I fall since his turn was next so I was knocked unconscious and died of the fall (no Slow Fall when you’re unconscious).

I’m not mad at the DM for making this choice, I knew it was a reckless action when I took it, but it got me thinking when should a character start falling when they ends their turn in the air.

Does a creature under the effect of Motivational Speech still get advantage on their next attack if the spell ends for them?

The spell motivational speech (Acquisitions Incorporated, pg. 77) says:

For the duration, each affected creature gains 5 temporary hit points and has advantage on Wisdom saving throws. If an affected creature is hit by an attack, it has advantage on the next attack roll it makes. Once an affected creature loses the temporary hit points granted by this spell, the spell ends for that creature.

So when the effected creature is hit by an attack, the spell grants the creature advantage on their next attack. But getting hit by an attack is going to be accompanied by damage – and 5 points seems like it will very often be gone with a single attack.

Does a creature hit by an attack still get advantage on its next attack if that attack dealt 5 or more damage? Or does the spell end for them immediately and they do not get advantage on the next attack?

It just seems like this effect is going to be self-defeating a lot of the time – the thing that grants the advantage is the thing that takes it away. Am I missing something?

Note, temporary hitpoints are always lost first, so no holding on to them while subtracting damage from your standard hitpoint pool. Sorry Jim, it was a clever thought.

Mysql, Getting all rows in which field ends in a specific character, and another field exists that is the same but doesn’t end in that character

I need to get all rows which end in a specific character, P for example, but in which a similar key sans the P exists. I have no idea how to approach this one in MySQL.

This is very small example, my actual data is huge with other columns also.

+------------+ |    key     | +------------+ | value_100  | | value_100P | | value_101  | | value_101  | | value_102  | | value_102P | | value_103P | | value_104P | +------------+ 

The query would output,

+------------+ |    key     | +------------+ | value_100P | | value_102P | +------------+ 

NFA that ends with 0 and doesn’t have 11 after the first 0

So as the title says i m trying to find this NFA. So far i thought to make an NFA that “guesses” what comes after the first 0 and i got this: enter image description here

After some time trying to get rid of all the extra (7 !) states i put in i got to this beauty: enter image description here

But now i cant figure out how to get rid of the one extra state. Also if you have any tips on how to go to simpler NFA’s instead of what i did (like a thought process for this problem) i would appreciate it a lot. Thank you

Can I break concentration with Haste, before it ends, by casting another concentration spell? [duplicate]

Example:

Turn 1: Cast haste. Do things.

Turn 2: Cast invisibility (end haste). Be invisible. No movement, no actions.

Turn 3: Be invisible. No movement, no actions. (Resolve haste)


The section on “Concentration” states:

[…] You lose Concentration on a spell if you cast another spell that requires Concentration. You can’t concentrate on two Spells at once. […]

The haste spell states:

Casting Time: 1 action […]

Duration: Up to 1 minute […]

When the spell ends, the target can’t move or take actions until after its next turn, as a wave of lethargy sweeps over it.

The invisibility spell states:

Casting Time: 1 action […]

Duration: Up to 1 hour […]

The spell ends for a target that attacks or casts a spell. […]