Can a Thief rogue disarm an enemy in combat using Sleight of Hand as a bonus action?

One of my players rolled a Thief rogue. At level three they get the Fast Hands feature:

You can use the extra action granted by your Cunning Action to make Dexterity (Sleight of Hand) checks, use your thieves’ tools to disarm a trap or open a lock, or use an object in the environment.

The player asked mid-fight to use a Sleight of Hand check to disarm a foe. Since this isn’t clear in the PHB, the discussion slowed down the fight considerably. To end this discussion, I ruled that the player could make a Sleight of Hand check contested by the enemy’s Strength (Athletics) check.

I still find it hard to see how a Sleight of Hand check could work to disarm mid-combat, since there’s no way you’d be able to "sneakily" take someone’s weapon out of their hands while fighting.

There is an optional "Disarm" rule as listed in the DMG, which uses a weapon attack against an adversary’s Dexterity (Acrobatics) or Strength (Athletics) check to determine whether or not a disarm action succeeds.

Could a Thief rogue disarm an enemy in combat using Sleight of Hand as a bonus action?

Troika! How is enemy damage from weapons and super weapons rolled?

In the Troika! SDR page 67 are the enemies Troll and Ven. The Troll does damage as Weapon and the Ven as Super Weapon. But there are no generic damage tables for those.

The Zoanthrop for example does damage as a Modest Beast which is listed in the table of Beastly Weapons on page 70.

How is enemy damage for (Super) Weapon calculated?

Rogue sneak attack and what does it mean to be an enemy?

The Rogue can sneak attack if another enemy of the target is within 5 feet of it. What constitutes being an enemy – Hostile intent or hostile actions or just being a passive ally?

  1. An ally of the rogue has the Sanctuary spell up and is within 5 feet of the enemy. The Sanctuary spell continues as long as the warded ally does not attack or casts an attack spell (and maintains concentration). Assuming the warded ally does not attack, would it be considered an enemy for enabling the rogue’s sneak attack?
  2. An ally of the rogue has Gaseous Form active and is within 5 feet of the enemy. Gaseous Form does not allow the ally to attack. Does this enable sneak attack?
  3. What if the ally is a warlock with Cloak of Flies active and damaging the enemy?

When blinded, could I use Detect Evil and Good to target an enemy?

I’m planning on running a Monk/Cleric (14 in Monk and 6 in Cleric, if my character survives that long, I haven’t yet multi-classed into Cleric), and we’ve come across a few enemies that are able to blind members of our group, and as a halfling, I don’t have the benefit of dark vision (which is fine, we have members of the party who are able to light up the room).

But with some of the context out of the way, Detect Evil and Good states:

For the duration, you know if there is an aberration, celestial, elemental, fey, fiend, or undead within 30 feet of you, as well as where the creature is located.

As I wouldn’t be concentrating on another spell, I should be able to make unarmed strikes while using this spell, but that leads to the question:

Would I still have disadvantage on my attack rolls (while blind) as a monk, if I know their location via this spell?

In 5E World of Warcraft, does the Monk’s Superior Martial Arts allow one attack vs every enemy in the area of effect?

The Windwalker Monk’s ‘Superior Martial Arts’ states:

“As an action, you may spend 2 Ki and deal your unarmed damage as an area of effect (expending any number of attacks). You may choose to make it a 5-foot-burst around you (Hurricane Kick), a 10-foot cone (Fists of Fury), or a 15-foot line (Flying Serpent Kick).”

Does this mean the Monk makes a separate attack roll vs every target in the area of effect?

It also goes on to say:

“This action counts as if you made an unarmed attack strike for the purposes of your Martial Arts feature and Flurry of Blows ability.”

Does that mean no matter how many attack rolls you make during the Superior Martial Arts attack, it still counts as having made one attack (out of however many you might be entitled to as part of an Attack action) and you still get to make an Extra Attack (if you have it) plus the bonus unarmed strike from Martial Arts?

Enemy explosion offSet is displaced away from desired point of origin

In the game, when the enemy is hit and explodes the explosion animation appears offset to the bottom right corner of the dead enemy’s center point.

I ran tests to adjust the explosion positioning with no luck. The debugger says that “this.offSet.y” & “this.offSet.x” are -100. I can’t seem to know how to adjust that as well.

Image example:

enter image description here

Here are the code snippets & CSS for bonus:

Explosion JS

class Explosions {     constructor (assetName) {         this.count = 0;         this.offSet = undefined;         this.setOffSet(assetName);      }      setOffSet(assetName) {         let asset = GameManager.assets[assetName];         this.offSet = new Point ((asset.width/2)*-1, (asset.height/2)*-1);     }  createExplosion(position) {     let div = document.createElement("div");         div.classList.add("explosion");         let divId = 'explosion_' + this.count;         div.id = divId;         console.log(position);         div.style.left = (position.x + this.offSet.x) + 'px';         div.style.top = (position.y  + this.offSet.y) + 'px';         $  (GameSettings.gameAreaDiv).append(div);         setTimeout(function() {             $  ('#' + divId).remove();         }, GameSettings.explosionTimeout);          this.count++; }  } 

Explosion CSS

@keyframes explosion {     0%   {background-image: url("../../assets/explosion/smallexplode1.png");}     10%   {background-image: url("../../assets/explosion/smallexplode2.png"); }     20%   {background-image: url("../../assets/explosion/smallexplode3.png"); }     30%   {background-image: url("../../assets/explosion/smallexplode4.png"); }     40%   {background-image: url("../../assets/explosion/smallexplode5.png");}     60%   {background-image: url("../../assets/explosion/smallexplode6.png");opacity: 0.9;}     80%   {background-image: url("../../assets/explosion/smallexplode7.png");opacity: 0.8;}     90%   {background-image: url("../../assets/explosion/smallexplode8.png");opacity: 0.5;}     100%   {background-image: url("../../assets/explosion/smallexplode9.png");opacity: 0.3;} }  .explosion {   width: 100px;   height: 100px;   position: absolute;   left: 500px;   top: 300px;   animation-name: explosion;   animation-duration: 0.8s;   background-repeat: no-repeat;   z-index: 20; } 

Any indication what the cause is?

Let me know if there are any other snippets that needs adding, and if you can please be patient with me since I’m student programmer that is still learning.

Thank you

How to describe that an enemy can avoid opportunity attacks?

I’m the DM of my group. When we are playing I try to describe the effects and actions of enemies and npcs without spelling out exactly what they are to keep some mystique to the actions. Like describing that “the mage shoots a large electrical beam” instead of calling it lighting bolt outright.

I want to add a Flyby effect to a soon to be boss enemy, the description of Flyby is

Flyby: The [creature] doesn’t provoke Opportunity Attacks when it flies out of an enemy’s reach.

However I don’t want to make it seem as if the enemy is avoiding opportunity attacks just because, but neither I want to spell the effect out so they still have to think about it.

How then can I describe an enemy that has immunity to Opportunity Attacks without saying it exactly like that?

Can the Shield spell be cast in response to being hit by an invisible enemy?

Let’s say I have a PC with the shield spell. I’m not surprised, and an invisible enemy hits me with an attack. My DM has not yet told me the attack roll number, so I am in a position to cast shield if I choose to.

However, the enemy is invisible, so would I be able to cast shield in response to an attacker I can’t see? Let’s assume the attacker is permanently invisible, like they’re using the greater invisibility spell. On the one hand, the shield spell simply says:

1 Reaction*
* – which you take when you are hit by an attack or targeted by the magic missile spell

There’s no mention of needing to see the creature.

On the other hand, it seems wrong to me that I can react to an attack I can’t see coming.

Are there any rules I’ve missed that would prevent the shield spell from being cast in this scenario?