How to work with Portent for replacing enemy rolls

It seems like, RAW, if a Divination Wizard is in the party then the DM would have to ask that player whether they want to interrupt the roll … on every single roll that any NPC makes.

That’s going to be really tedious 🙁 It could also sometimes include rolls that the players might not otherwise know had been made.

Clearly allowing the Wizard to make the call after the roll is known would be hugely broken, as would making a judgement as a DM as to whether they likely want to use it.

How do DMs normally handle that?

Is there any balanced way to apply Portent after the initial roll?

throwing a halfling at an enemy

I am playing as a 2ft 6in halfling bard college of swords. I want to have a goliath barbarian in our party throw me at an enemy with my dual scimitars drawn. I believe this can be done. I asked my dm, who wasn’t sure but was willing to let me do some research and math to find out whether or not it will work. So my question is Can a goliath barbarian throw a 45lbs halfling into the air to attack and enemy?

Should a Bugbear PC take damage when holding an enemy on the other side of a Wall of Fire with Grapple?

Bugbears have long arms, allowing them to grapple enemies 10 ft. away.

The Bugbear’s square is not in the effect range of the Wall of Fire. However, about 5 ft. worth of one of the Bugbear’s hands is supposedly in a square that is.

Mechanically, should the Bugbear take damage? If so, simulationally, how do we reconcile that such a small fraction of the player being in the square and taking just as much damage as a character residing fully in the area of effect?

Does Brace trigger when an enemy enters my echo’s reach?

The subclass feature Manifest Echo explicitly covers attacking from the Echo’s location when taking the Attack action or when taking a specific reaction:

  • When you take the Attack action on your turn, any attack you make with that action can originate from your space or the echo’s space. You make this choice for each attack.

  • When a creature that you can see within 5 feet of your echo moves at least 5 feet away from it, you can use your reaction to make an opportunity attack against that creature as if you were in the echo’s space.

My Echo Knight picked the fighting style Superior Technique with the Combat Maneuver Brace. This gives my fighter a new trigger for using a reaction:

When a creature you can see moves into the reach you have with the melee weapon you’re wielding, you can use your reaction to expend one superiority die and make one attack against the creature, using that weapon. […]

If I understand correctly, this would mean when an enemy enters my Echo’s reach, it does not trigger Brace, because it isn’t mentioned as possible scenario’s for attack from the Echo’s location. Is this interpretation correct?


Related:

  • Does an Echo Knight fighter's echo provoke an opportunity attack when it moves?
  • Does turning around count as moving for triggering Brace?

Help! My PCs polymorphed my boss enemy! What do I do?

Our Druid has recently gotten access to the polymorph spell and has started polymorphing the opponents I so lovingly crafted for our (well, mostly my) enjoyment. (So far, he has been turning them into rabbits, not yet killer whales.)

Now, the canonical response to a polymorph is to reduce the polymorphed creature to 0 HPs, upon which it will transform back. Or to attempt to break the spellcaster’s concentration.

However, polymorph is a 4th level spell, not a cantrip. It does not seem all that likely the target’s allies know the spell, can connect the dots when their friend suddenly turns into a bunny, and start to attack the bunny, or the spellcaster. It seems more likely that they will just blink upon seeing their friend transformed into a bunny, shrug, write him off, and continue battling the PCs as before. Which would essentially take the target out of the fight.

I have been thinking about allowing the target’s allies an Arcana check each, against some reasonable DC (e.g., 14, which is 10 plus the spell level of polymorph). On a success, they recall hearing about the Polymorph spell and about the two possible remedies. On a failure, they don’t. In which case the target will remain polymorphed, until it gets hit by a stray fireball or some such. I might even allow the target itself an Arcana check, and on a success, it will try reducing its own HPs. Well, this might at least make for some fun.

It looks to me like polymorph might be a bit overpowered against opponents whose allies only consist of non-spellcasters, because they will likely not know what steps to take to break the effect. Is there a better way to role-play what happens to a polymorphed enemy?

Can you send an enemy flying by dealing damage?

I seem to remember a "build" for D&D 3 or 3.5 that if you damaged an opponent, they would have to make a Strength check vs the amount of damage done or be sent flying in 5 or 10 foot increments, and if their travel was hindered by someone or an object, the character and the object would take 1d6 damage for each range increment impeded, and if the object broke due to damage, the enemy would continue flying until the increments…

I’m trying to remember this was primarily for "large" or larger creatures… But my google fu is has failed me…

It might be from a 3pp that I’m remembering, but I don’t think so… Any leads and help would be greatly appreciated!

Dex Save Vs Enemy Attack Roll

My party and I were battling a group of orcs and my character turns invisible but doesn’t move. The orc I was facing starts randomly swinging his blades in my general direction. I was in range but my DM made me roll a dex save rather than have the orc make an attack roll. Is this the correct call and for future reference how do you know when a dex save or attack roll should be made?

If your target has an enemy within 5ft, can you sneak attack without using a finesse or ranged weapon?

A rogue and fighter are engaged in melee combat with a goblin. The rogue is unarmed. Can the rogue activate Sneak Attack?

The rules for Sneak Attack state:

Beginning at 1st level, you know how to strike subtly and exploit a foe’s distraction. Once per turn, you can deal an extra 1d6 damage to one creature you hit with an attack if you have advantage on the attack roll. The attack must use a finesse or a ranged weapon.

You don’t need advantage on the attack roll if another enemy of the target is within 5 feet of it, that enemy isn’t incapacitated, and you don’t have disadvantage on the attack roll.

The question arises from the difficulty in parsing the bolded sentence. I have heard 2 interpretations:

  1. You can sneak attack if (you have advantage and the attack is made using a finesse or ranged weapon) or (an enemy of the target is within 5ft, etc).
  2. You can sneak attack if ((you have advantage) or (an enemy of the target is within 5ft, etc)) and the attack is made using a finesse or ranged weapon.

The first interpretation hinges on the idea that when the second paragraph says "on the attack roll" it is still talking about the same "attack" as in the first paragraph. The second interpretation hinges on the idea that the first interpretation is bizarre and unnatural – if that was the intent, there are many ways that it could have been worded to be clearer.

Thematically, I am leaning towards the first – not having a finesse or ranged weapon shouldn’t stop the rogue from exploiting a distracted foe.

Considering RAW only (no twitter please), how should this feature be interpreted?

Eldritch Smite: Can you decide whether the enemy goes prone or do they always go prone?


Once per turn when you hit a creature with your pact weapon, you can expend a warlock spell slot to deal an extra 1d8 force damage to the target, plus another 1d8 per level of the spell slot, and you can knock the target prone if it is Huge or smaller.

Since it says "can knock the target prone." I assumed it was optional, (though you wouldn’t have much reason not to if in melee, within 5 ft.)