what happens when an Erinyes uses different ropes to entangle?

The Erinyes devil has the extraordinary ability to Entangle an opponent, it reads:

Each erinyes carries a stout rope some 50 feet long that entangles opponents of any size as an animate rope spell (caster level 16th). An erinyes can hurl its rope 30 feet with no range penalty.

However, the entry is not specific about the type and properties of the rope (stout and some 50 feet long are hardly very specific) and I could totally imagine a devil with a fondness for tying up its victims to not use a standard piece of rope. Probably it would use a 2 inch diameter rope of 50 feet or a 3 inch diameter rope of 32 feet, or maybe even a piece of rare bloodvine rope. Now, such ropes could be animated by a 16th level caster like the Erinyes, but the Animate Rope spell assumes a standard 1 inch diameter piece of hempen rope is used.. How would hit points, break DC, escape artist DC and spellcasting Concentration DC change for ropes of different diameter or for bloodvine rope when used for Animate Rope?

What happens when Restrained creatures are removed from the area of effect of Entangle?

The victims of an Entangle spell are Restrained and cannot move themselves; but can be moved by others. I had always assumed that moving them out of the Area of Effect of the spell would free them; but a close reading of the spell now has me questioning this.

Grasping weeds and vines sprout from the ground in a 20-foot square starting from a point within range…A creature in the area when you cast the spell must succeed on a Strength saving throw or be restrained by the entangling plants until the spell ends. A creature restrained by the plants can use its action to make a Strength check against your spell save DC. On a success, it frees itself.

As written, there are only two things which explicitly end the restrained condition; the end of the spell and a successful strength check by the victim.

Contrast this with the Web spell.

On a failed save, the creature is restrained as long as it remains in the webs or until it breaks free.

There, a creature that leaves "the webs" (=VoE?) is explicitly free of restraint.

However, note that with Entangle, the "entangling plants" themselves are limited to the initial 20 foot square (not cube), and while there they "sprout from the ground". Under the 5e principle that there is no flavor text in spells, it could be that the vines can only Restrain one while they are connected to the ground, and leaving the area does not take the plants along.

Note that if the vines wrap around anything, it is only the feet and legs – a Restrained character cannot move themselves, but they can still attack and cast spells. Restrained does not mean Incapacitated.

So, do these plant restraints remain tightly coiled around one’s legs, keeping one restrained even if moved away from the original ground, or do the restraints fall away once the plants are ripped from the ground?

Related: If you are pushed out of Evard's black tentacles while restrained, are you still restrained?

Allowing Allies to free one from Entangle and Web

SZEGA pointed out an error on my part – I am currently editing this question

Among spells that restrain creatures, most require those restrained to free themselves while others expressly allow allies to free them or to assist.

I suggest that allies be explicitly allowed to free restrained creatures from both entangle and web.

Spells that provide an explicit mechanic for allies to free those restrained: Ensnaring strike (1st), Snare (1st)

Spells that allow one to free oneself on an ability check rather than a save: Entangle (1st), Maximilian’s Earthen Grasp (2nd), Web (2nd)

Spells that require those restrained to free themselves without assistance: Evard’s Black Tentacles (4th), Flesh to Stone (6th), Imprisonment (9th), Mental Prison (6th), Prismatic Spray (7th), Prismatic Wall (9th), Telekinesis (5th), Watery Sphere (4th), Whirlwind (7th level), Wrath of Nature (5th)

The problem I have with the second category, those in which using the Help action is an option, is that it relegates the Help

The webbing of the giant spider monster permits allies to cut free those restrained – this seems like a good model for the web spell.

The net weapon allows allies to either pull one free or cut one free – this seems like a good model for the entangle spell.

Am I missing a balance issue, a design intent, or an errata?
Or am I correct that entangle and web should have been written like other first and second level spells to allow restrained creatures to be freed by allies?

A comment including any spells that restrain that I have missed would be appreciated as well.

When the Entangle spell ends, do the plants disappear after they “wilt away”?

The description of the entangle spell reads:

Grasping weeds and vines sprout from the ground in a 20-foot square […]

When the spell ends, the conjured plants wilt away.

Does “wilt away” mean they just wither and die like regular plants, and so the ground is covered in dead vegetation to mark where the spell was cast? Or do they fully disappear, as magically as they first appeared?

Does entangle require vegetation?


!!!This question will contain spoilers about LMOP!!!

I’m a first time DM for first-time players, playing LMOP. I was very afraid of them all dying really early on because I read that the encounters can be very hard, and they are only 4 players instead of the usual 5. Also because they all have very low HP’s (7, 8, 10 and 15). I’ve had goblins one shot some of my players on the very first turn of a combat…

But the opposite turned out to be the case: the level 1 druid is the star of the game (and her true strength at level 2, Wild Shape, didn’t even come to play yet…). Mainly the Entangle spell seems VERY strong to me. In Cragmaw Hideout, when they entered the Goblin Den with Yeemik (6 goblins total), she simply entangled a few of them and the party barely took any damage at all…

Same thing happenned with Klarg. He was supposed to be a big boss with a lot of HP and damage, yet she simply entangled him, and they all had their turns attacking him…

I googled around a bit, because I might have missed something that made this spell so overpowered. One thing I found on a few forums was people saying that Entangle requires vegetation being in the neighborhood to work (and no one disputing this statement).

It is a strong druid spell, but it is limited.

First, you need vegetation. That makes it pretty useless in a city or dungeon. Many natural settings also will not allow entangle to work: deserts, tundra, etc …

This would indeed make the spell useless in the Cragmaw Hideout and a lot of other scenes in LMOP, but I can find this in any (official) spell description?

Grasping weeds and vines sprout from the ground in a 20-foot square starting from a point within range. For the duration, these plants turn the ground in the area into difficult terrain. A creature in the area when you cast the spell must succeed on a Strength saving throw or be restrained by the entangling plants until the spell ends. A creature restrained by the plants can use its action to make a Strength check against your spell save DC. On a success, it frees itself. When the spell ends, the conjured plants wilt away.

The way I interpret this, it just says that plants sprout out of the ground, even if none were there.

So… is vegetation required for entangle to work?

(And maybe a semi-related question: is there anything I’m missing about entangle that might make it incredibly overpowered? I’m afraid it might spoil the fun of the campaign for my other players, because they haven’t really been challenged yet…)

Can a levitating creature be effected by Entangle?

In my last session, I pit my party against a demilich. The demilich has a movement speed like so: Speed 0 ft., fly 30 ft. (hover).

During this combat, the party’s druid summoned pixies and used one of them to cast Entangle on it. Entangle reads like this:

Grasping weeds and vines sprout from the ground in a 20-foot square starting from a point within range. For the duration, these plants turn the ground in the area into difficult terrain.

A creature in the area when you cast the spell must succeed on a Strength saving throw or be restrained by the entangling plants until the spell ends. A creature restrained by the plants can use its action to make a Strength check against your spell save DC. On a success, it frees itself.

When the spell ends, the conjured plants wilt away.

I personally wasn’t sold on the idea that a flying/hovering creature could be effected by Entangle’s restraining effects. It seems to me that if the plants were capable of growing enough to reach a flying/hovering creature, there wouldn’t be much chance to succeed the STR saving throw, as the plants could easily be above the creature’s head on all sides.

I let my player have his moment as it didn’t much effect many of the demilich’s abilities, but I was curious if anyone had some info on this.