Does doubling up on Rope and Manacles increase DC or just take multiple checks to escape?

My D&D group is new and we are all still getting used to playing the game and are running through the Starter Set adventure.

During this adventure we end up capturing a Wizard and we bound and gag him. My character being paranoid made sure to attach manacles to him and also to use two different lengths of 50ft rope to ensure that he would not be able to break free. During the return back to town the DM had him keep rolling strength checks against the manacles and rope and one by one he kept breaking through them and I ended up having to borrow the entire party’s supply of rope to keep him secure because he kept breaking through them. By the time I was able to deliver him he was wrapped in 200 ft of rope and looked like more rope than man after breaking my manacles and two different lengths of rope.

I know that the rules say that the DC of Hempen rope is 17 but I still think that in any real world sense it is ridiculous to think that this Wizard can Samson his way through each individual rope while also being held by several other lengths of rope and a set of manacles. One would think that the weight of the ropes alone would keep him in check.

I guess my question is that is there any precedent for the DC being raised when you are attaching multiple different factors into keeping a prisoner secure or are you just supposed to roll each rope individually?

Edit: My DM has responded to my post and it looks like I didn’t have all of the information originally

“I rolled 2 rolls per day of travel. This was his daily attempt to free himself from his bindings with disadvantage. He got 2 Nat 20’s the day he broke the manacles and a 19 & 20 to break free of the rope. His Str modifier is -1, but 18 still clears the rope’s DC. He had disadvantage due to the leather armor and sheer volume of rope around him He also had to break the manacles before he could even start trying to work at the rope, since you did put those on him first”

Can you escape a grapple during a time stop (without teleporting or similar effects)?

Some context: during our last game a hidden creature charged and grappled (with improved grab) one of the PCs (a 20th-level Sha-ir/Cleric/Dweomerkeeper) during the surprise round. After that this same PC won initiative and the first thing he did was casting time stop. We decided to stop the game there for several reasons, it was already time, one other player had already left and this was an important encounter he didn’t want to miss, and I wasn’t really sure how to rule this situation yet.

So regarding the question itself, say you’re in a grapple with another creature, and during your turn you cast time stop (since it only has verbal components you can cast it while grappling with a DC 29 Concentration check), but you’re inside the area of a forbiddance spell, so you can’t just teleport out.

Could you escape the grapple while time is stopped using the normal method (by making a grapple or escapism check)? I’m guessing that since the opponent can’t move or be moved he can’t make a grapple check either so you can’t even try the opposed check.

Would casting freedom of movement be of any help at all? You automatically succeed on the grapple check to free yourself, but I don’t think you can make that check to begin with.

What other methods could you use to escape before the time stop ends?

Is it possible to escape from a wall of stone spell on the turn it is cast by flying?

The spell wall of stone allows those that might be trapped by it a chance to escape during the action in which it is ‘springing into existence’.

If a creature would be surrounded on all sides by the wall (or the wall and another solid surface), that creature can make a Dexterity saving throw. On a success, it can use its reaction to move up to its speed so that it is no longer enclosed by the wall.

Consider a caster making a wall with a roof to enclose a creature with flying movement capability.

Suppose the horizontal distance from the creature to any point outside the wall is greater than its speed so that even a successful Dex save will not allow it to escape enclosure.

Further suppose that because the wall is wider and longer than it is high, the creature is capable of moving outside the wall vertically, if it is allowed to use its flying speed.

Does "its speed" in the spell description include flying speed?

It seems common sense that if a flying creature could walk out of the area enclosed by the wall as a reaction, it could also fly out of the area, but does RAW allow this? If I understand correctly, using "speed" does not subsume all forms of speed, but means walking speed only, sensu stricto.

"Speed" (PHB) (emphasis mine)

Every character and monster has a speed, which is the distance in feet that the character or monster can walk in 1 round.

"Speed" (MM 8) (emphasis mine)

SPEED A monster’s speed tells you how far it can move on its turn. For more information on speed, see the Player’s Handbook.
All creatures have a walking speed, simply called the monster’s speed. Creatures that have no form of ground-based locomotion have a walking speed of 0 feet.
Some creatures have one or more of the following additional movement modes
FLY
A monster that has a flying speed can use all or part of its movement to fly.

If the description of the wall of stone spell allows only a creature’s speed to be used in its reaction, does "speed" mean only its walking speed since it is not otherwise specified? Although the creature has a flying speed, this is an ‘additional movement mode’ that is not designated by the spell’s permitted use of speed?

Suppose that flying speed may be used to escape the wall. The trigger for permitting the creature’s reactive movement is it being "surrounded on all sides" [sic]. If not surrounded, then, it appears that no reaction is permitted. Thus, if flying movement is permitted, does making the wall of stone appear without a roof mean that the creature is not surrounded by the wall, and thus is not permitted its reaction to attempt to escape?

Of course, without a roof the creature could then fly out on its next turn, but a lot could happen between the caster’s turn and the creature’s turn. Interestingly, if flying movement was a permitted form of reaction, the caster could then make a much smaller wall to still enclose the creature. The horizontal distance to the walls could now be made within the distance the creature could walk, and it would still not be allowed a reaction, since leaving off the roof would mean that it was not surrounded.

Is it possible to escape a roofed wall of stone on the turn it is cast by flying?
If so, can this escape be prevented by casting the wall without a roof?

How can I prevent my players from teleporting out to escape any dungeon?

My high-level party now has 2 casters able to cast teleport. They can now run into any dungeon and just escape freely when things get dangerous. Forbiddance does not prevent you from teleporting out and Antimagic Field is a 10ft radius spell that requires concentration.

How can I prevent my players from pulling off this cheesy strategy against smart opponents who have witnessed this strategy multiple times and can plan beforehand?

So far, I’ve only come up with Darkness spells (to prevent players from seeing each other to teleport) or Counterspells at the time of cast. Both are fairly unsatisfactory solutions, PCs can just run into another room, or behind a pillar, and teleport there. Is there any RaW way to protect the entire dungeon?

Can input value escape a JSON object?

I am passing value from input filled directly into a script function inside a JSON object. I was thinking, is it possible that this input can escape this object and can lead to XSS or something.

<script> ... function doSomething(item) { data = {'content':item} } ... </script>  <input id="search" type="text" value="" oninput="doSomething(this.value)"/> 

Can you escape from Dimensional Shackles as easily as by polymorphing?

The intent of Dimensional Shackles (which block all kinds of teleportation or interplanar travel on their victim) is clearly to prevent spellcasters from escaping.

But what happens if a Dimensional-Shackled spellcaster casts polymorph on himself (and then drops his concentration)? Is he then free from the Shackles and thus able to teleport away? Or are the Shackles somehow linked to him and will still be applied to him, still preventing him from teleporting/planeshifting/etc. until he actually escapes by succeeding on the DC 30 Strength check?

What are the differences between “Escape” and a common task to get free?

The Explorer special ability Escape (2 Speed point), as stated in the (old) Cypher System Rulebook is used to get free (p. 41):

You slip your restraints, squeeze through the bars, break the grip of a creature holding you, pull free from sucking quicksand, or otherwise get loose from whatever is holding you in place. Action.

But this is already possible using a common Might or Speed (or even Intellect) task, as stated in example in the description of the Giant (p. 295):

If a giant attacks a single target, she can choose to do regular damage or to grab hold of her victim, dealing 4 points of damage instead. On his turn, the victim can attempt a Might defense roll to struggle out of the grip, a Speed defense roll to slip out, or an Intellect-based task to distract the giant.

So what’s the difference between Escape and a common defense roll?

How can a character escape after being engulfed by a shambling mound?

A shambling mound will be attacking the party I DM for during tonight’s session, and I am unsure about how to deal with the monster’s Engulf feature.

The shambling mound’s multiattack action states (MM p. 270):

The shambling mound makes two slam attacks. If both attacks hit a Medium or smaller target, the target is grappled (escape DC 14), and the shambling mound uses its Engulf on it.

So if both slam attacks hit the target, the target is grappled, and then the shambling mound immediately engulfs it. As I understand it, this all happens on the same turn, since it is part of the multiattack action.

The Engulf action states:

The shambling mound engulfs a Medium or smaller creature grappled by it. The engulfed target is blinded, restrained, and unable to breatheā€¦

How would the target escape once it is engulfed? The DC of 14 in the multiattack description is for escaping the grapple, does it also apply to escaping after being engulfed? Or would a contest make more sense (shambling mound’s strength vs. target’s strength/dexterity)?

Further complicating the matter is the fact that the target is blinded (automatically fails all ability checks relying on sight). Would being blinded impact the target’s ability to escape, e.g. would the target be so disoriented that it would not know which way is up or down without sight?