Can I shadowstep to the Ethereal Plane if I can see into it?

I am currently playing a Way of Shadows Monk in D&D 5e and now have the Robe of Eyes. I am loving the MadMage campaign.

Since the Robe of Eyes says

You can see Invisible creatures and Objects, as well as see into the Ethereal Plane, out to a range of 120 feet.

And Shadowstep says

When you are in dim light or darkness, as a bonus action you can teleport up to 60 feet to an unoccupied space you can see that is also in dim light or darkness.

Does this mean that I can use Shadowstep to enter the Ethereal plane, scout around and then Shadowstep back in on the following round?

Can channel divinity affect a fiend in the ethereal plane?

In a fight with a Night Hag coven one hag uses the Heartstone to become ethereal, I know that divine sense can’t reach into the ethereal plane and sense her. But can a Channel Divinity affect her?

For example, the Oath of the Ancients paladin has this Channel Divinity option:

Turn the Faithless. You can use your Channel Divinity to utter ancient words that are painful for fey and fiends to hear. As an action, you present your holy symbol, and each fey or fiend within 30 feet of you that can hear you must make a Wisdom saving throw. On a failed save, the creature is turned for 1 minute or until it takes damage.

A turned creature must spend its turns trying to move as far away from you as it can, and it can’t willingly move to a space within 30 feet of you. It also can’t take reactions. For its action, it can use only the Dash action or try to escape from an effect that prevents it from moving. If there’s nowhere to move, the creature can use the Dodge action.

If the creature’s true form is concealed by an illusion, shapeshifting, or other effect, that form is revealed while it is turned.

Will it make the hag turned?

How many creatures can go to the Ethereal Plane via Etherealness cast at 8th level?

The spell etherealness allows you (the caster) to travel to the Ethereal Plane for the duration of the spell (8 hours). It has a range of Self, so you cannot target someone else if cast at its base level (7th level).

However, if you upcast it with an 8th level spell slot, it says (PHB, p. 238):

At Higher Levels. When you cast this spell using a spell slot of 8th level or higher, you can target up to three willing creatures (including you) for each slot level above 7th. The creatures must be within 10 feet of you when you cast the spell.

Where it says “including you”, does this mean that:

  1. you can only target two other creatures, because one of these three creatures must be you, or
  2. you can target three other creatures, but you’re going with them (i.e. you can’t just dump these three creatures on the Ethereal Plane whilst you remain on the plane you were all on moment ago)?

Since I’m a cleric in a party of 4, I want to know if I can bring the entire party (me plus my 3 allies) into the Ethereal Plane or whether one of my allies has to be left behind…

What happens when the target of Ensnaring Strike enters the Ethereal Plane?

Ensnaring Strike states the following (abridged for brevity):

The next time you hit a creature with a weapon attack before this spell ends, a writhing mass of thorny vines appears at the point of impact, and the target must succeed on a Strength saving throw or be restrained by the magical vines until the spell ends. If the target succeeds on the save, the vines shrivel away.

Ensnaring Strike has a duration of Concentration, up to 1 minute.

What happens if the target of Ensnaring Strike enters the Ethereal Plane? They might accomplish this through methods such as the Etherealness spell.

Specifically:

  • Do the effects of the spell remain while they’re in the Ethereal Plane?
  • Can they pass through the vines that are holding them while in the Ethereal Plane?
  • Are the effects of the spell restored when they return from the Ethereal Plane?

At what level does a Horizon Walker Ranger’s Ethereal Step cast the Etherealness spell?

The Ethereal Step conclave ability of a Horizon Walker Ranger is described as such:

At 7th level, you learn to step through the Ethereal Plane. As a bonus action on your turn, you can cast the Etherealness spell with this feature, without expending a spell slot, but the spell ends at the end of the current turn.

And Etherealness is a 7th level spell, with the following included in the description (Emphasis mine):

At Higher Levels. When you cast this spell using a spell slot of 8th level or higher, you can target up to three willing creatures (including you) for each slot level above 7th. The creatures must be within 10 feet of you when you cast the spell.

My question is: does this mean that the spell will always be cast at the 7th level anytime this ability is used, or is there something that can be done to cast it at a higher level? I’m currently playing in a party with 2 other player characters, and an ability that could transport the 3 of us together this way would be very useful.

Thanks for the responses.

What happens when you drop an item in the ethereal plane under the effects of the Etherealness spell, then end the spell?

This is a follow up to my question about whether items are carried with you into the Ethereal Plane while under the effects of the Etherealness spell

Basically, my player wants to use his bonus action to cast Etherealness using the Horizon Walker Ranger’s Ethereal step ability, stick his daggers into an enemy’s brains, then end Etherealness to stick the daggers in the monster’s brains. He cites the part of the spell:

When the spell ends, you immediately return to the plane you originated from in the spot you currently occupy. If you occupy the same spot as a solid object or creature when this happens, you are immediately shunted to the nearest unoccupied space that you can occupy and take force damage equal to twice the number of feet you are moved.

(Emphasis theirs)

They cite that it says specifically that you are the one forced out of their space, not any items that you dropped. However, it would seem to me that by the same argument only you would re-enter the material plane, not any dropped items.

So the question is, do dropped items in the ethereal plane phase back in when the spell ends, and if they do, do they also get forced out of any items that they are in?

What happens to items worn when stepping into the Ethereal Plane using the “Etherealness” spell?

Etherealness reads:

You step into the border regions of the Ethereal Plane, in the area where it overlaps with your current plane (PHB, page 238)

This never specifies whether worn items become ethereal along with yourself, but it also includes that

You ignore all objects and effects that aren’t on the Ethereal Plane, allowing you to move through objects you perceive on the plane you originated from. (PHB, page 238)

So, would any worn or carried items such as weapons or clothes become ethereal with you, or would they stay behind?