How does anyone ever die with a Cleric

I’m relatively new to the game and DMing a group who are all also new to the game, so maybe this is something obvious that we just don’t know. Last session the party was beset upon by a group of assassins in the night. In the ensuing fight, at two seperate times a character was brought below 0hp. Both times, the cleric immediately either healed or cast Spare The Dying on them before they had to make a single death saving throw.

I’m not sure how to proceed because I feel like the way things shook down really undermined any feeling of danger, it seems like the only real way for anyone to die would be Disintegration (or something similar that insta-kills), or for the cleric to be the first to go (though he’s usually quite good about staying out of range)

Am I missing something here, or is it just hard to kill a party member when they have a cleric?

EDIT:

To be clear, I don’t want to go out of my way to kill any players, but I feel like combat is beginning to feel very low stakes, even when up against challenging enemies due to what is described above

Pointers on making my first ever video [closed]

I have had a love for video games for years. Hack and slash, rpg, mmorpg, racing, first and thrid person shooters, and open world, story driven games. I’m looking to start in making my own and first ever game. I will be doing this by myself, on my own time, and my own money, so I’m doing this for mainly practice and honing my skills, so no big, overly ambitious ideas yet, but I’m looking for what would be a good program to start breaking ground in training myself in making video games and being able upload them.

What kinds of Metallic Dragons were ever shown in D&D products? [closed]

Everyone knows the iconic metallic dragons that come in almost every single core monster book, Gold, Silver, Bronze, Copper, Brass. Let’s call those the “core five”

There were some others, like dunno Steel, Iron, Platinum, Electrum, Uranium(?), and what else…

What kinds of metallic dragons other than the “core five” were shown in D&D products?
What were their ecologies and demeanors?
In what worlds did they debut/existed?

Was the Monster Lore Compendium ever updated after April 6th, 2008?

Was the Monster Lore Compendium ever updated after April 6th, 2008? If so, where can it be found?

I have read that it was going to be added to the d20pfsrd (yes, d20pfsrd, even though this is a 3.5e resource), though I don’t think that ever happened.

I know it was put into a spreadsheet here but I don’t believe that any updates were added.

In lore has Annam ever returned in previous editions/stories

I am working on a campaign setting idea where Annam returns and then triggers a series of cataclysmic events.

Much of my inspiration for this is the initiation of Ghehenna in the world of darkness series and there is a strong possibility my campaign setting will be brought to a total end, or at least be forever changed.

My question is, in the history of DnD and the many published stories, adventures and campaign settings defined has the potential/actual return of the God of giants, and what the potential outcomes of it could be?

Has a demon ever switched sides in the blood war?

Within the background of the blood war the Demon Graz’zt is presented as a former devil who switched alignments and joined the demon ranks.

Is there any example within the lore of DnD (from any edition) of a demon doing the equivalent? Switching sides to become a devil, is this possible in terms of what a demon is how it is formed and maintains its existence?

Just to clarify I am looking for an example of a powerful being, named character etc as opposed to a generic type of creature (for instance succubi)

Can an Echo Knight’s Echo ever fail a saving throw?

In an unsurprising turn of events the wording on the Echo Knight’s wording continues to cause confusion.

The description of the Echo states the following:

If [the Echo] has to make a saving throw, it uses your saving throw bonus for the roll.

The overwhelming consensus is that the Echo Knight’s Echo is not a creature, as it is simply "an image". Every spell or ability that requires a saving throw, as far as I know, targets creatures. Take for example, the spell Fireball.

Each creature in a 20-foot radius Sphere centered on that point must make a Dexterity saving throw. A target takes 8d6 fire damage on a failed save, or half as much damage on a successful one.

The Echo is not a creature, therefore it can never take damage from Fireball. Are there any saving throws that the Echo can actually fail?

After reviewing the wording on several monster abilities and spells I’m left scratching my head as to whether a character set on destroying an Echo really has any options besides simply hitting it via the attack action.

Can the Suggestion to “sleep” during combat *ever* be “reasonable” as required by the spell? [closed]

The question “NPC casting Suggestion on PC: who decides it's reasonable?” gets at the issue of who decides what is reasonable when a Suggestion spell is cast.

Other questions try to get at “How do I decide what is a "reasonable" Suggestion?” – but the level of abstraction of the discussion seemed to leave it as relying on too much opinion to have an allowed answer.

As a result, we are attempting to ask a question on Suggestion for a specific scenario to see if a more definitive answer can be reached.

We recently faced a band of five Yuan-ti which can cast Suggestion 3x per day. The DM used this cache of fifteen Suggestion spells to tell our party over multiple rounds to “sleep” in order to capture us. It was overwhelming. We didn’t have enough Counterspells and Dispel Magic spells to resist.

In an upcoming session, our party is soon going to enter the Yuan-ti’s lair. It is almost inevitable we will face this tactic again with even more Yuan-ti with even more Suggestion spells. In some ways, we were lucky last time because the Yuan-ti let us escape. This time, they won’t let us live. There is a risk of a TPK.

Suggestion as a spell says that the action must be considered reasonable.

Is the Suggestion to “sleep” during combat ever reasonable? Technically a PC probably cannot fall asleep at will – so the PC will simply try to sleep – but the effect is the same in that they are taken out of combat.

Adding to that risk is the inability to reverse it even if the risk increases. Jeremy Crawford has ruled that the suggestion only has to be reasonable at the time it was cast. Thus the PC will be trying to get to sleep until they can for up to the next eight hours (see Sage Advice).

Is there agreement that Suggestion can always be worded in such a way that it is reasonable for a PC (or NPC) to be taken out of combat (i.e. despite definite risk to life and limb) by trying to sleep?

Or is there agreement that in all cases where a clear connection between definite risk to life and limb can be drawn that a Suggestion to try to sleep is not reasonable? (In which case – we can rule out that “sleep” is a reasonable Suggestion during combat.)

Are the “Touched” feats’ spells ever subject to a spellcaster’s class rules (such as regarding preparation, components, and focuses)?

The Fey Touched and Shadow Touched feats published in Tasha’s Cauldron of Everything each grant the use of two spells. Among other things, they say:

  1. You learn the [spells].
  2. You can cast each of these spells without expending a spell slot [once per long rest].
  3. You can also cast these spells using spell slots you have of the appropriate level.

The spellcasting ability for these spells is specific to the feat, so it may or may not be the same as the ability of the class that granted the spell slots.


My question applies to both feats and all spellcasting classes, but for the sake of clarity consider an artificer who has taken Fey Touched, which grants Misty Step. Artificers must add the M component to all spells they cast using the artificers’ spellcasting feature, but #2 above has nothing to do with their feature so shouldn’t require that. That’s good, because the reason the artificer can teleport is their prior exposure to the Fey, not some magical widget.

However, things get more complicated when they’re casting Misty Step as described in #3, because the artificer’s spell slots do come from their spellcasting feature. In that case, does the artificer simply use the spell slot as “fuel” and otherwise cast the spell exactly as it had been cast for #2? Or is this inherently different, for which we must assume the artificer studied the Misty Step effect and replicated it with a widget?

If the former, we can assume the spell never needs to be prepared; if the latter, it almost certainly does need to be prepared like all artificer spells.

Also, Misty Step is not on the Artificer Spell List, but the Invisibility spell granted by Shadow Touched is. Would that alter the answer in any way?


Potentially Related:

Does Magic Initiate allow the chosen spell to effectively be “always prepared” if the spell is on their spell list?

What makes a spell being cast considered to be a {class} spell?

If a spellcaster’s racial trait grants a spell that requires material components, can they use their class’ focus to cast that spell?

Why would this NPC in Curse of Strahd ever attack Strahd?

In Curse of Strahd, there is an NPC the PC’s may encounter whose weapon explicitly does more damage when he uses it to attack Strahd.

However, said NPC states explicitly that he will not attack Strahd (emphasis mine):

The module says that the players may want to take his weapon; but its description explicitly states that the damage bonus applies when he is wielding it.

The players might try to persuade him to ally against Strahd, but he will refuse.

They might try magical compulsion, but

None of Strahd’s three goals give him a reason to go to the NPC’s location. Unless the players visit the NPC’s location, he will not leave. I suppose players could get him to venture to Strahd’s castle…

but even if the two are brought together, neither has a reason to attack the other.

The only event that will remove the thing preventing him from attacking Strahd,

will also end his life.

Any way I look at it, I can’t see a way that this NPC would ever attack Strahd, so what is the relevance of his weapon doing extra damage to Strahd when he wields it?