How does Expertise work?

Bards get Expertise at level 3. How does this work?

For example, if I have a standard proficiency bonus of +2, and if I have proficiency in Perception with a Wisdom ability modifier of +2, then my Perception is +4. If I choose expertise in Perception, does it double the +4 to Perception +8, or does it double the proficiency bonus only to +4 for a total of Perception +6?

D&D 3.5 Combat Expertise while under a Daze effect?

Question about Combat Expertise in an intense high-level encounter:

To simplify there are 6 creatures in this fight.

Initiative: P1, P2, Dragon, P3, P4, P5

The enemy is a Dragon that has #3 in initiative. The Dragon has the feat Combat Expertise. (p92 PHB)

Round 1: Turn #1 and #2 occurs. On turn #3 the Dragon takes a full attack action and it uses the Combat Expertise Feat with the action. Turn #5-6 occurs.

Round 2: P1 attacks and deals damage. P2 casts Final Rebuke (p 170 Spell Compendium). The Dragon saves the Will Saving Throw and P2 beats the Dragons Spell Resistance. The Dragon is now dazed for 1 round but it avoided ultimate death. (Correct me if I am wrong up to this point)

Dazed p307 PHB.

P3 then attacks the Dragon that used Combat Expertise. Because the Dragon did not take an action while being dazed does Combat Expertise still apply to the Dragons AC?

Thank you for any input!

If a character has Expertise in more skills than they have skill proficiencies, is the extra Expertise wasted?

Let’s say I take 10 levels of Bard and then 10 levels of Rogue.

This would give me the following skill proficiencies:

  • 2 from my background
  • 3 from Bard level 1
  • 1 from Rogue level 1

This is a total of 6 skill proficiencies, and with Bard level 3 and level 10, and Rogue level 1 and level 6, I would have 8 skills to put Expertise into. I can put one of these Expertises into Thieves’ Tools, but there is still one Expertise left to be used.

Is this Expertise simply lost? Must I take one of the skill feats if I want to be able to use this Expertise?

whats Expertise

so I am making a Dragonborn rogue who is not edgy and I got Expertise E x p e r t I s e At 1st level, choose two of your skill proficiencies, or one of your skill proficiencies and your proficiency with thieves’ tools. Your proficiency bonus is doubled for any ability check you make that uses either of the chosen proficiencies. At 6th level, you can choose two m ore of your proficiencies (in skills or with thieves’ tools) to gain this benefit.

In a PvP arena, how can other characters deal with a Rogue with Expertise in Stealth?

I’m running an arena-style fight between a lot of PCs. It’s now getting to the point that there are few enough PCs that they are beginning to take levels to counter one another.

One of the players is a Rogue. At lvl 11, the die roll for ability checks rounds up to 10 when they are proficient – for a rogue with a dexterity of 20 and expertise in Stealth, the minimum Stealth check is 23. Two levels later at 13, it rises to 25, and eventually to 27 at lvl 17.

The first situation is difficult enough for opposing characters, but by lvl 17, only Perception-proficient characters who have good Wisdom even have a chance of spotting the Rogue.

I know some of the casters have their own advantages in class features (Hold Person is pretty lethal), but those all require a save at least. The rogue can shoot from hiding every turn and re-hide, dealing several dozen damage and being near-impossibe to find.

Besides staying in open areas without places to hide, what could any other PCs do to have a chance at winning?

Both numerical and strategic considerations are appreciated. No UA or homebrew is allowed as a source, for obvious reasons.

Is 33 the minimum skill check result for a multiclassed 11 rogue/9 artificer using Reliable Talent, Expertise, Guidance, and Flash of Genius?

  1. Any proficient ability check d20 roll of lower than 10 is set to 10 with the Reliable Talent rogue feature.
  2. +17 from the Expertise rogue feature (12 + ability modifier of +5).
  3. +a minimum of 1 from the guidance cantrip.
  4. +5 from the Flash of Genius artificer feature with 20 Int:

    Flash of Genius

    Starting at 7th level, you gain the ability to come up with solutions under pressure. When you or another creature you can see within 30 feet of you makes an ability check or a saving throw, you can use your reaction to add your Intelligence modifier to the Roll.

    You can use this feature a number of times equal to your Intelligence modifier (minimum of once). You regain all expended uses when you finish a long rest.

= 33? Am I stacking these right?

Expertise from Delve via Graph API

We’re migrating our current intranet employee profiles to Sharepoint / Delve and so far a lot of it seems very promising and the Graph API is great. However there is one field in the Delve UI that I can’t find anywhere in the documentation on how to retrieve or set, but it must be somewhere since users can enter it.

It’s the field for “Expertise”, or Topics. Under the section “Skills and Expertise” it allows you to enter skills. These I know how to get from Graph API. Then the UI continues … “You can also ask me about …” To illustrate, see the image below. enter image description here

The values Volleyball, Transformers, Food, Coffee I can’t find anywhere with the Graph API. Can anyone point me in the right direction please?

Thank you!

Rolling for playing an instrument with instrument proficiency, performance proficiency and expertise?

My character has proficiency with an instrument, she also has expertise with in performance. I know the rules say you add and multiple proficiency once.

The RAW for instrument proficiency states

Musical Instrument: Several of the most common types of musical instruments are shown on the table as examples. If you have proficiency with a given musical instrument, you can add your proficiency bonus to any Ability Checks you make to play music with the instrument. A bard can use a musical instrument as a spellcasting focus. Each type of musical instrument requires a separate proficiency.

Expertise states

Your proficiency bonus is doubled for any ability check you make that uses either of the chosen proficiencies.

At first, I questioned if this meant I don’t roll a performance check for how well I played my instrument. Similar to how picking a lock has you roll dexterity + proficiency / expertise (but only if you are proficient in thieves tools).

Yesterday me and my GM found two different contradicting Sage Advice answers.

This first link here, states that the GM decides whether they use performance or the tool proficiency, or the DM can allow the player to choose which proficiency to use.

But this second one here, states that the player uses both on the same roll.

They are both written by the same person. The RAW and the Sage Advice tweets from Mike Mearls seem to contradict themselves.

My DM and I tried to figure it out, but neither of us could come up with something that did not seem like making it too effective or too ineffective.

  • Using both would mean I could get expertise twice

    We agreed while that’d amount to next to nothing in a combat scenario, on the role play side that would mean my minimum roll at level 3 with a 16 charisma is a 15. It could be argued it balances out since I am only that skilled in that instrument, and it eats up an extra expertise choice.

  • Even without that second expertise it is still a minimum roll of 13.

    It kinda makes sense that someone who has put that much effort into their instrument of choice would never preform less than a 10.

When playing an instrument, do you use your instrument proficiency bonus, your performance skill bonus, or both?


I asked this question a few months back, but it was closed because I could not correctly get across what I was asking about. Now I think I can.