Is the “Way of the Astral Self” Monk’s extra punch useless?

Martial arts for monks states that when you take the attack action you can make 1 unarmed strike as a bonus action. However Astral monks at third level says the same thing: “you can make 1 unarmed strike as a bonus action.”

I know at higher levels that increases but I’m asking about only level 3. Because you only get 1 bonus action does that make that extra attack feature from one or the other useless?

Also, flurry of blows makes 2 strikes as a bonus action so if you use that are both these abilities rendered pointless. Finally, at level 11 of astral monk you can make 2 strikes as a bonus action. Would this make flurry of blows a pointless ability? Have I understood this correctly or would all these abilities stack on top of each other?

My players want extra effects from their attacks. What should I do?

I’m DMing for a group of 4 players. Two of them have played a fair bit of 5e before, and two of them are new. I’m also new to DMing, though generally familiar with the rules of 5e.

One of the new players is trying to get creative in combat, which I think is great! The problem is I’m not exactly sure how I should adjudicate some of her requests in a way that won’t break the game. Some examples of what I mean:

Can I make an unarmed strike and use my talons to scratch the enemy’s eyes and blind them?

I attack them in their Achilles’ heel and cripple them so they can’t walk?

Now I know that the RAW answer is "No, you can’t try that." But that’s such a boring answer and I really hate to feel like I’m shutting down anything that isn’t just plain and simple attacks. In general, any time I say "No, you can’t do this", I feel like I’m shutting down my players fun.

Like I said, I like that she’s trying to be creative in combat, but if an unarmed strike can potentially blind an enemy, that’s incredibly strong. And if the PCs can do this to enemies, it’s fair game for enemies to do this to PCs as well. I can think of some house rules to balance it off the top of my head (Higher AC to hit a small target, enemy can make a constitution saving throw to avoid the effect, etc.) but I don’t want to worry about proper balance while we’re in the middle of a combat.

What’s a good way for me to empower my players and make them feel like they actually have these choices in combat rather than shutting them down, but without breaking the game?

If the Bestow Curse spell causes me to do extra damage, does the target’s death trigger the Necromancy wizard’s Grim Harvest feature?

In D&D 5e using a wizard of the School of Necromancy:

If I cast bestow curse on a monster, then kill it with a crossbow, would it trigger the Grim Harvest feature due to the extra 1d8 damage? Does it matter if the monster had 1 HP?

What about if I cast bestow curse, then hit it with magic missile (and kill it with just 1 missile) – would Grim Harvest trigger off the missile or the curse?

What would be the ramifications of replacing Multiattack with Extra Attack?

There are a lot of questions on “Extra Attack vs Multiattack” and it’s become my opinion that the act of separating the two generates more confusion than value as a gameplay and balancing lever.

It seems that the main reason Extra Attack and Multiattack are distinct is because it prevents monsters with Multiattack from utilizing the all-too-common shove/attack sequence that Extra Attack PCs utilize… but seeing as most monsters lack proficiency in Athletics they’ll lose the contest almost any time they attempt it, so I don’t see how that could be a worthy balance consideration.

I’m considering implementing a house rule that treats Multiattacks as Extra Attacks. Any time that a monster is able to attack multiple times, the attacks are treated as separate attacks granted through the Extra Attack feature. Specific text that limits the number of a particular attack per multiattack is still respected (eg. A young red dragon is given three attacks, two of which can be a claw attack, one of which can be a bite attack).

What would be the balance ramifications of this house rule?

Dual Wielding and Extra Attacks [duplicate]

From the Rules (EXTRA ATTACK)

“Beginning at 5th level, you can attack twice, instead of once, whenever you take the Attack action on your turn.”

If I have the EXTRA ATTACK feature (level 5), AND I am using two different light weapons, I’ll get three attacks.

Do the rules ever explicitly stipulate that the two attacks from Extra Attack MUST come from the same weapon in this situation? I can’t find anything saying they must.

Assuming you can make one attack with each weapon, and then a third attack as a bonus action with either weapon (there is no handedness in D&D 5e) the end result would still only be 3 attacks, but might make for a more “fun” 1/2/1 rather than always being the same old 1/1/2 attack sequence.

Assuming using Extra Attack for a 1/2 weapon combo is legal (again- I see nowhere that it’s not), does that mean ASIDE FROM 1/1/2:

1/2/2 is the only other legal combination (the bonus attack must be made with the opposite hand of the first attack when the action was taken).

1/2/1 is the only other legal combination (the bonus attack must be made with the opposite hand of the last attack before the bonus action).

OR since both weapons have been used to attack does the player then have the option of which weapon to use?

Does the Bestow Curse spell’s extra damage apply to the Dragon’s Breath spell?

The bestow curse spell states:

[…] While the target is cursed, your attacks and spells deal an extra 1d8 necrotic damage to the target. […]

I’m wondering how this interacts with the dragon’s breath spell which grants a creature you touch a new action to create a damage-dealing area of effect. Does this count as your spell dealing damage and thus activate hex? If note, does this change if dragon’s breath was originally cast on yourself?

Using Extra Attack feature with two-handed weapon and additional thrown weapon

As the title states, I have a question about how the rules handle using the Extra Attack class feature to make two separate attacks with a two-handed weapon and a thrown weapon.


PHB Errata. Two-Handed (p. 147). This property is relevant only when you attack with the weapon, not when you simply hold it.


PHB Page 190. You can also interact with one object or feature of the environment for free, during either your move or your action. For example, you could open a door during your move as you stride toward a foe, or you could draw your weapon as part of the same action you use to attack.


Not official rule, but this developer Tweet says:

@DnDMontreal [Apr 4, 2015]:

@JeremyECrawford what are the rules on dropping weapons? People are dropping weapons to circumvent only having one ‘Interaction with Object’

@JeremyECrawford [3:20 PM · Apr 4, 2015]:

@DnDMontreal The intent is that letting go of something requires no appreciable effort. But picking it up does.


So, my question is, can I perform this sequence of events during my turn?

  • Start turn with Halberd in both hands
  • Let go of Halberd with one hand (either letting the pole arm hang mid-air in one hand, or propping it up with the butt-end on the ground) using “free action”
  • Draw Javelin from storage, throw said Javelin at one target out of melee range
  • Replace second hand onto halberd to attack second target that IS within melee range
  • Use Bonus Action to do whatever I want (including possibly butt-end attack with Halberd from Polearm Master feat)

This comes up as a result of looking at a handful of other questions, and finding them all not quite capturing my own question:

  • Holding a longbow (or other 2H weapon) and attacking with a shortsword (or other 1H weapon)?
    • This question is only concerned about using one weapon while holding the other and has nothing to do with multiple attacks as main action. It also served as a good baseline for formatting my question 🙂
  • Can you draw and or throw a javelin on one or more successive turns while still using a 2-handed weapon for opportunity attacks?
    • This question focuses on the reactions you can make with a polearm, which are also relevant options my character would want to have available. It has the parts of shifting weapon to one hand and back to two hands, but nothing of multiple attacks.
  • Can you drop one hand from a two-handed weapon to draw and use a single-handed weapon next turn?
    • This is only one small part of my question. It is also how I found the Sage Advice.
  • Can you attack with more than one weapon when using Extra Attack?
    • This answered part of my question as well. I especially love the example given in Dale M’s answer
  • Can you attack with different weapons using Extra Attack?
    • Finally this question also answered part of my question as well.

I apologize for the wall of text, but based on this research, my reading is that the above scenario is allowed per RAW (and a little RAI doesn’t hurt my case). I just want confirmation from the larger community to make sure that I got it right for when I present it to my DM and fellow players.

Does the extra damage from Booming Blade stack if the spell is cast twice on the same target?

The booming blade spell (Sword Coast Adventurer’s Guide, p. 142) says:

As part of the action used to cast this spell, you must make a melee attack with a weapon against one creature within the spell’s range, otherwise the spell fails. On a hit, the target suffers the attack’s normal effects, and it becomes sheathed in booming energy until the start of your next turn. If the target willingly moves before then, it immediately takes 1d8 thunder damage, and the spell ends.

Does the secondary effect of booming blade (which does extra damage if the target moves before my next turn) stack if the spell is cast a second time as a bonus action through the sorcerer’s Quickened Spell metamagic?

If I have Extra Attacks, when can I decide which one is a sneak attack?

So, if a character multiclasses to a point where they have multiple attacks in a round, I assume you can decide once the hit has been confirmed by the DM, but before you roll damage, whether you make the hit a sneak attack?

I ask because you may know an enemy is weak, and don’t want to waste the damage to finish it. I also want to confirm that you cannot declare sneak attack damage after you have already rolled your base damage, to finish off a still standing opponent for example. The “Is it dead? No? Oh! Then sneak attack!” seems dumb and nonsensical to me. I expect it to be like smite, decided on hit, but before damage is rolled.