When I summon a cat familiar, why does it matter if it is a fey or fiend or celestial?

It says in the summoning spell that when you summon an animal it is a fey fiend or celestial (your choice). What does this do? Do they get any abilities or buffs from these like types? Also if my imp familiar holds me as a rat after wildshaping can it turn me invisible with it? It says anything the imp holds turns invisible as well. Also if my imo steals something can I dismiss it and summon it again holding the object?

Who controls a summoned steed’s familiar?

The spell Find Steed allows you to cast a spell and have it also effect your steed.

While mounted on your steed, you can make any spell you cast that targets only you also target your steed.

In the targets section of the Players Handbook it states:

A spells description tells you whether the spell targets creatures, objects, or a point of origin for an area effect. (PHB, pg 204)

With the spell Find Familiar, it’s description clearly denotes that you are the target:

You gain the service of a familiar, a spirit that takes an animal form you choose: bat, cat, crab, frog (toad), hawk, lizard, octopus, owl, poisonous snake, fish (quipper), rat, raven, sea horse, spider, or weasel.

The spell indicates that you can’t have more than one familiar at a time, however in this case that would not be the result.

The PC casts Find Familiar and it’s effect targets the PC and (as per Find Steed) also targets the summoned steed. Tada! Two familiars appear, one bonded with the PC & one bonded the the steed.

Who controls the familiar bonded to the summoned steed, the GM or the Player?

Note: A Paladin with the ritual casting or magic initiate feat would be able to gain access to both spells, Find Steed & Find Familiar.

Can an arcane trickster use a scroll of find familiar

Can an arcane trickster use scrolls of find familiar?

According to Xanathar’s Guide To Everything, page 133, a wizard proficient in arcana with the spell known and prepared with the required components could scribe a scroll of find familiar in a day for 25 gold pieces.

According to Jeremy Crawford’s twitter: “The intent is yes, the Arcane Trickster and the Eldritch Knight can use scrolls with wizard spells on them.”

So.. I would imagine that an arcane trickster or eldritch knight could have a wizard scribe them a find familiar scroll every time they wanted to cast it. It would require some additional time and gold, but it would free up a known spell.

So, could an arcane trickster or eldritch knight, or i suppose even another wizard, use scrolls of find familiar, rather than learning the spell?

Does a wizard need their hands free in order to cause their familiar from the Find Familiar spell to reappear?

Recently, in the first session of a new campaign, my level 1 wizard found himself held captive with his hands and feet tied by rope. The DM made it clear that I could not cast spells/cantrips that required a Somatic component.

However, my familiar was already summoned and was temporarily dismissed using the action specified in the find familiar spell (PHB pg. 240). I wanted to have my familiar reappear within 30 ft. of me as per the reappear action specified in this spell (I wanted it to help me get out of my binds). The DM told me that since the ritual/spell required somatic components, and even though I wasn’t casting it again, if I wanted my familiar to reappear I would need to be able to make a somatic movement (thus I could not make my familiar reappear and help).

Does using the reappear action in find familiar require the use of my hands, or is it purely telepathic?

One of my primary reasons for picking find familiar as a spell was its ability to help escapes by reappearing and disappearing, which is a lot less doable if it requires somatic movement.

Is the ability to telepathically communicate with a Familiar only one-way?

The most recent PHB errata clarified that the Steed generated by Find Steed can communicate telepathically with its summoner.

In the next-to-last paragraph, “communicate with it” is now “communicate with each other.”

However, there was no corresponding change in the text of Find Familiar, which still states that the summoner can “communicate with it.” Does this lack of similar change indicate that the telepathic communication with Find Familiar is one-way?